Setting up a non-profit association (association sans but lucratif, asbl)

A non-profit association is a group of people who have united for the purpose of pursuing a common objective, goal, project, or cause (e.g. promoting music), and who have accepted that the formation and operation of their association would be subject to rules established by law.

Non-profit associations may not engage in profit-making activities—i.e., they may not operate with the sole purpose of making a profit or paying its members dividends. It is this which sets non-profit associations apart from commercial companies.

Non-profits pursuing a general-interest goal—be it philanthropic, religious, scientific, artistic, pedagogical, social, sporting or touristic—may also be recognised as public-interest organisations by Grand-Ducal decree.

Who is concerned

Anyone, aged 18 or over, wishing to set up a non-commercial association and contribute to that association as an administrator or member.

A non-profit must be made up of at least 3 people. The decision to set up a non-profit association is dictated, above all, by considerations of legal security. Indeed, in a non-profit association, a clear distinction is made between the assets and responsibilities of the association and those of its members.

Costs

Registration, filing and publication costs can be found on the Rates page of the Trade and Companies Register (Registre de commerce et des sociétés - RCS).

Payment is usually made online, but may exceptionally be made in cash (at the helpdesk of the LBR).

How to proceed

Writing and signing of the articles of association

The wording of the articles of association is unrestricted, but it must specify the following:

  • the association's registered name and registered office. That head office must be in Luxembourg;
  • the purpose or purposes for which the association is being established;
  • the minimum number of associates. This number may be no less than 3;
  • the surnames, first names, occupations, addresses and nationalities of the associates;
  • the conditions for members’ joining and leaving;
  • the duties of and conditions for general meetings, and the conditions in which the resolutions passed at that meeting will be communicated to the associates and third parties;
  • the method of appointment and powers of the members of the board of directors;
  • the maximum rate of contributions or payments to be made by the members of the association;
  • the method of settlement of accounts;
  • the rules that apply if the articles of association are to be altered;
  • the use of the association's assets in case of its dissolution.

These items are listed in a notarial or private deed.

Any amendment of the statutes must be communicated electronically to the RCS within a month, so it can be published in the electronic compendium of companies and associations (Recueil électronique des sociétés et associations – RESA).

Registration in the trade and companies register

In order to set up a non-profit association, a registration form must be filed with the Trade and Companies Register. The form must be duly filled using any data entry method. It must be completed in one of the 3 official languages, i.e., Luxembourgish, French or German.

The list of data to be recorded in the RCS includes:

  • the organisation's name;
  • its purpose;
  • the length of time for which the association is set up, if not indefinite;
  • the exact address of its head office;
  • the identity and exact private or work address of the people authorised to manage, administrate and sign on behalf of the association, or the members of the board of directors for public establishments, stating the nature and extent of their powers, the date of their appointment and the date of expiry of their mandate:
    • in the case of natural persons, their surnames, first names, date and place of birth, or;
    • for legal persons not registered in Luxembourg's trade and companies register: the company name, their legal form and their registration number in the trade and companies register abroad, if the legislation of the State in which the entity is based requires a registration number, and the name of the register if applicable, or;
    • for legal persons registered in the Luxembourg's trade and companies register: simply the registration number;
  • where applicable, the start and end dates of the organisation's financial year.

The general information leaflet on non-profits specifies the details that need to be provided and the documents that need to be filed with the RCS. Another brochure (filing procedure), for its part, explains how to fill in the application (registration) forms.

Lodging with the RCS

Filing consists of electronically submitting, to the Trade and Companies Register (RCS), the documents that are legally required to be filed, for their inclusion in the file on the non-profit association held by the RCS.

The documents to be filed must be in 1 of the 3 official languages, i.e., Luxembourgish, French or German.

The following are to be filed with the RCS:

  • the application form (registration, amendment and withdrawal);
  • the instrument of constitution of the non-profit (its statutes);
  • non-statutory amendments affecting the details registered with the RCS;
  • amendments to the articles of association registered with the RCS (e.g. change of the association's name).

The association acquires its civil personality—i.e., it is legally recognised and protected—once its statutes are published in the RESA.

The statutes are published in the RESA within 15 days of the filing of those statutes with the RCS. The specific date of publication may be chosen.

The documents which have been filed are kept together in a dossier held for every non-profit. A full or partial copy of that dossier may be obtained, subject to administrative fees. The whole file on a non-profit can be viewed for free on the RCS website, or on the interactive terminals available at the RCS offices.

Other documents filed without publication

Other documents to be filed, but which will not be published:

  • the list of members of the non-profit association, which must be submitted annually;
  • any amendment to the list of members;
  • the annual financial statements, in certain conditions;
  • any change in the members of the association's board of directors (notified by filing the amendment form).
In practice, associations often file their articles of association with the local authorities in the commune where their head office is located. This is recommended if the non-profit hopes to obtain subsidies from the local authority. It also ensures that local communal archives are kept up-to-date. Finally, with the association's articles of association, the Communal Council will be able to discuss the new association at one of its meetings, and ascertain that it does not represent a threat to public order, peace and moral standards.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Créer une association sans but lucratif

L’association sans but lucratif (asbl) est un groupement de personnes qui se sont réunies en vue de réaliser un objet, un but, un projet, une cause en commun (par ex. promouvoir la musique) et qui ont accepté de soumettre la création et le fonctionnement de leur association à des règles déterminées par la loi.

L’asbl n’a pas le droit de poursuivre un but lucratif, c'est-à-dire d’exercer son activité dans l’unique but de réaliser un profit, un bénéfice ou de procurer un dividende à l’un de ses membres. Elle se distingue ici des sociétés commerciales.

Les asbl qui poursuivent un but d’intérêt général à caractère philanthropique, religieux, scientifique, artistique, pédagogique, social, sportif ou touristique peuvent en outre être reconnues d’utilité publique par arrêté grand-ducal.

Personnes concernées

Toute personne, âgée de 18 ans minimum, désireuse de créer une association dans un but non-commercial et de s’investir dans cette association en tant qu’administrateur ou membre.

Une asbl doit être composée d’au moins 3 personnes. La décision de créer une asbl est avant tout dictée par des considérations de sécurité juridique. En effet, l’asbl permet de faire une distinction entre le patrimoine et les responsabilités de l’asbl et ceux des membres.

Coûts

Les frais d’enregistrement, de dépôt et de publication sont disponibles sur la page Tarifs du registre de commerce et des sociétés (RCS).

Le paiement s'effectue en principe par voie électronique, mais peut exceptionnellement être fait au comptant (dans le bureau d'assistance du LBR).

Modalités pratiques

Rédaction et signature des statuts

La rédaction des statuts est libre mais elle doit contenir les éléments suivants :

  • la dénomination et le siège de l’association. Ce siège doit se trouver au Luxembourg ;
  • l’objet ou les objets en vue desquels elle est formée ;
  • le nombre minimum des associés. Il ne pourra être inférieur à 3 ;
  • les noms, prénoms, professions, domiciles et nationalités des associés ;
  • les conditions d’entrée et de sortie des membres ;
  • les attributions et le mode de convocation de l’assemblée générale ainsi que les conditions dans lesquelles ses résolutions seront portées à la connaissance des associés et des tiers ;
  • le mode de nomination et les pouvoirs des administrateurs ;
  • le taux maximum des cotisations ou des versements à effectuer par les membres de l’association ;
  • le mode de règlement des comptes ;
  • les règles à suivre pour modifier les statuts ;
  • l’emploi du patrimoine (avoir social) de l’association dans le cas où celle-ci serait dissoute.

Ces mentions sont constatées dans un acte authentique ou sous seing privé.

Toute modification aux statuts doit être transmise par voie électronique au registre de commerce et des sociétés dans le mois de sa survenance, aux fins de publication au Recueil électronique des sociétés et associations (RESA).

L’inscription au RCS

Afin de créer une asbl, un formulaire d’immatriculation est à déposer par voie électronique au registre de commerce et des sociétés. Le formulaire doit être dûment rempli par tout moyen mécanographique. Il doit être complété dans l’une des 3 langues officielles, en l’occurrence le luxembourgeois, le français ou l’allemand.

La liste des données à inscrire au RCS comprend :

  • la dénomination ;
  • l’objet ;
  • la durée pour laquelle l’association est constituée, lorsqu’elle n’est pas illimitée ;
  • l’adresse précise du siège ;
  • l’identité, l’adresse privée ou professionnelle précise des personnes autorisées à gérer, administrer et signer pour l’association ou des personnes membres de l’organe de gestion pour les établissements publics avec indication de la nature et de l’étendue de leurs pouvoirs ainsi que la date de nomination et la date d’expiration du mandat :
    • s'il s’agit de personnes physiques, leurs nom, prénoms, date et lieu de naissance ou ;
    • s'il s’agit de personnes morales non immatriculées au registre de commerce et des sociétés de Luxembourg, leur dénomination ou leur raison sociale, leur forme juridique et le numéro d’immatriculation au registre de commerce et des sociétés, si la législation de l’Etat dont la personne morale relève prévoit un tel numéro ainsi que le nom du registre le cas échéant ou ;
    • s’il s’agit de personnes morales immatriculées au registre de commerce et des sociétés de Luxembourg, le seul numéro d’immatriculation ;
  • le cas échéant, la date de début et de clôture de l'exercice social.

La brochure d'informations générales sur les ASBL informe sur les données à inscrire et les documents à déposer au RCS. Une autre brochure (formalisme de dépôt) explique quant à elle comment remplir les formulaires de réquisition (immatriculation).

Le dépôt au RCS

Le dépôt consiste en la remise au registre de commerce et des sociétés (RCS), par voie électronique, des documents soumis à l’obligation de dépôt, en vue de leur classement dans le dossier de l’asbl tenu par le RCS.

Les documents destinés au dépôt doivent être rédigés dans l’une des 3 langues officielles, en l’occurrence le luxembourgeois, le français ou l’allemand.

Sont à déposer au RCS :

  • le formulaire de réquisition (immatriculation, modification et radiation) ;
  • l’acte constitutif de l’asbl (statuts) ;
  • les modifications non statutaires qui portent sur les données inscrites au RCS ;
  • les modifications des statuts qui portent sur des données inscrites au RCS ( exemple : changement de dénomination des l'asbl).

La personnalité civile (juridiquement reconnue et protégée) de l’asbl est acquise au moment de la publication des statuts au Recueil électronique des sociétés et associations (RESA).

La publication des statuts au Recueil électronique des sociétés et associations est effectuée dans les 15 jours suivant le dépôt des statuts au RCS, la date de publication pouvant être choisie.

Les documents qui sont déposés sont réunis en un dossier tenu pour chaque asbl, dont une copie intégrale ou partielle peut être obtenue, moyennant paiement des frais administratifs. L’ensemble du dossier d’une asbl est également consultable gratuitement sur le site internet du RCS ou sur la borne interactive, disponible dans les locaux du RCS.

Autres dépôts sans publication

Les autres dépôts, sans publication :

  • la liste des membres de l’asbl est à déposer annuellement ;
  • la modification de la liste des membres ;
  • les comptes annuels, sous certaines conditions ;
  • les modifications des membres de l’organe de gestion de l'asbl (via le dépôt du formulaire de modification).
Dans la pratique, les associations déposent souvent leurs statuts à la commune où se trouve leur siège. Ce dépôt est recommandé si l’asbl souhaite obtenir des subsides communaux. Il est aussi intéressant pour compléter les archives communales. Enfin, il permet au Conseil communal de discuter, au cours de l’une de ses réunions, au sujet   de la nouvelle association et de vérifier qu’elle ne heurte pas l’ordre public, la tranquillité publique et les bonnes mœurs.

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le