Applying for an old-age pension as a non-resident (including cross-border workers)

Last update 06.04.2022

Non-resident workers who have paid into a pension insurance scheme in Luxembourg enjoy the same entitlements as do resident workers. In social security matters, the legislation of the country where the person is employed applies.

An insured individual who wishes to receive their pension must apply directly to the relevant institution in their country of residence. That institution will then apply for the pension, on the insured's behalf, to the relevant bodies in the other countries in which they have worked.

If all of the conditions are satisfied, the insured has as many partial pension pots as the number of countries in which they have worked.

Who is concerned

Any worker or self-employed person who has worked and paid into a pension scheme in Luxembourg, but does not live there, is a non-resident.

In general, such people are likely to have worked both in Luxembourg and in one or more other EU Member States. In this context, the umbrella term 'non-resident' covers cross-border workers.

When the person retires, all periods during which they paid into a pension scheme in an EU Member State are added together to calculate the old-age pension to which they are entitled. Through Europe-wide agreements, these rules are extended to Iceland, Norway, Switzerland, Liechtenstein and the United Kingdom.

Prerequisites

Pension from a given State will only be paid if the applicant satisfies the eligibility conditions set forth in that country's legislation. If the insured has paid into pension insurance schemes which mature at different ages, they will begin receiving the pension from the different pots when they reach the age stipulated in the legislation of the country in question.

In order to receive a Luxembourg pension, a non-resident must have worked in Luxembourg for at least one year. If they have worked in Luxembourg for less than a year, then their months of contributions in Luxembourg are taken into account by the country/countries paying towards the pension, but do not entitle the insured to payment from the Luxembourg pension fund.

The eligibility conditions depend on the type of pension being considered:

Deadlines

Pension is not paid automatically. The insured must apply to receive their pension.

If an insured individual:

  • has only ever worked in Luxembourg: they may apply between 2 and 6 months prior to their pension start date;
  • has worked both in Luxembourg and in one or more foreign countries: it is best that they apply at least 6 months prior to the planned start date of their pension.

How to proceed

Filing the application in the country of residence

Non-residents must apply for pension in the country where they live, unless they have never worked in that country. A 'contact organisation' – typically an institution in the country where the non-resident lives – will handle the application.

Exception

If an insured last worked in Luxembourg, they are free to make their application either in Luxembourg or in their country of residence.

The contact organisation will facilitate the exchange of information between the different countries to which the application pertains. Once all of the countries in question have forwarded their decision to the contact organisation, the latter will send the insured a statement listing all of the decisions made.
The insured must provide the necessary supporting documents (certificates or diplomas, formal record of work abroad, etc.) along with their application.

Application processing time

The time taken to process a pension application will depend on the availability and the soundness of the required data. It may range from:

  • a few weeks; to
  • several months, if information needs to be obtained from abroad.

Payment of pension

Each EU Member State in which the person has paid pension insurance contributions for at least one year will pay their old-age pension when they reach the pension age set in that country's legislation.

If, for example, the insured has worked in 3 countries over the course of their career, they will receive 3 different old-age pensions. However, it is important to take account of the fact that the start dates for those pensions may vary depending on national regulations. In such cases, one speaks of a 'hybrid' insurance history.

A non-resident pensioner receiving a Luxembourg pension must declare that pension in their country of residence.

Calculation of pension

Each EU Member State is required to take account of the periods during which contributions were paid in other countries in order to determine pension entitlements and amounts.

This is the principle of aggregation of insurance periods, which guarantees that periods of contribution or work completed in one Member State will be taken into account when determining entitlement to benefits in another Member State.

Work periods in the public sector are also taken into account. On the other hand, certain rules are still domestic, such as the pensionable age.

When the applicant has a hybrid insurance history in at least 2 States, they will receive a partial pension from each State in which they have paid into a pension pot. The amount of each pension is proportional to:

  • the number of insurance years completed; and
  • the relative amount of contributions paid; and
  • the pension calculation rules that apply in the country in question.

Specific case of periods of work outside the European Union: if the insured has worked in one or more countries with which Luxembourg has signed a social security agreement, then the pension is calculated on a case-by-case basis in accordance with each agreement. The same is true if the insured has worked in the EU and in one or more countries with which an agreement is in place.

Each State where the non-resident worker has paid into a pension insurance scheme performs the following calculations:

  • domestic pension: the domestic pension is calculated based on national legislation, and takes into account only those periods worked in the country for longer than the minimum contribution period;
  • theoretical amount: the competent institution calculates the theoretical amount of the old-age pension that would have been payable if the contributor had completed all insurance periods (including those completed abroad) under its legislation;
  • proportional pension: on the basis of the theoretical amount, it determines the actual amount in proportion to the insurance periods actually completed under its legislation.

The appropriate pension fund then pays the higher of the 2 pensions (usually the proportional pension).

We are interested in your opinion

How would you rate the content of this page?

Last update

Demander une pension de vieillesse en tant que non-résident (y compris frontalier)

Dernière modification le 06.04.2022

Le travailleur non-résident qui a payé des cotisations à l’assurance pension au Luxembourg bénéficie des mêmes droits que le travailleur résident. En matière de sécurité sociale, la législation du pays d’emploi est applicable.

Un assuré qui souhaite prendre sa pension introduit directement sa demande auprès de l’institution compétente de son pays de résidence. Cette dernière se charge d’introduire des demandes de pension auprès des organismes compétents des autres pays concernés.

Si les conditions sont réalisées, l’assuré bénéficie d’autant de pensions partielles qu’il y a de pays engagés.

Personnes concernées

Chaque travailleur ou indépendant qui a travaillé et cotisé au Luxembourg, mais qui n’y habite pas, est un non-résident.

En général, il s’agit de personnes qui ont travaillé au Luxembourg et dans un ou plusieurs pays membre de l’Union européenne (UE). Le terme "non-résident" englobe ici les "frontaliers".

Au moment de la retraite, toutes les périodes de cotisation réalisées dans un pays membre de l’UE sont totalisées pour l’ouverture du droit et le calcul de la pension de vieillesse. Les accords européens permettent d’étendre ces règles à l'Islande, la Norvège, la Suisse, le Liechtenstein et le Royaume-Uni.

Conditions préalables

La pension d’un État n’est versée que si le demandeur remplit les conditions d’octroi prévues par la législation de ce pays. Si l’assuré a cotisé à des régimes d’assurance vieillesse qui prévoient des âges différents, celui-ci bénéficie des prestations de chaque pays lorsqu’il satisfait à la condition d’âge prévue par la législation du pays concerné.

Pour pouvoir bénéficier d’une pension luxembourgeoise, un non-résident doit avoir travaillé au moins un an au Luxembourg. Si la période est inférieure à un an, les mois cotisés au Luxembourg sont pris en compte par le ou les pays qui paient une prestation, mais ne donnent pas droit à un paiement d’une caisse de pension luxembourgeoise.

Les conditions d’attribution dépendent du type de pension :

Délais

L’attribution d’une pension n’est pas automatique. L’assuré doit obligatoirement introduire une demande.

Si un assuré :

  • a travaillé uniquement au Luxembourg : il peut introduire sa demande entre 2 et 6 mois avant la date de début de pension envisagée ;
  • a travaillé au Luxembourg et dans un ou plusieurs pays en dehors du Luxembourg : il est préférable qu’il introduise sa demande au moins 6 mois avant la date de début de pension envisagée.

Modalités pratiques

Introduction de la demande dans le pays de résidence

Les non-résidents doivent présenter leur demande de pension dans le pays dans lequel ils vivent, sauf s’ils n'y ont jamais travaillé. Un "organisme de contact", normalement une institution du pays dans lequel le non-résident vit, se charge de la gestion de la demande.

Exception

Si un assuré a travaillé en dernier lieu au Luxembourg, il est libre d’introduire sa demande soit au Luxembourg, soit dans son pays de résidence.

L’organisme de contact facilite l’échange d’informations entre les pays concernés par la demande. Une fois que tous les pays concernés ont communiqué leur décision à l'organisme de contact, celui-ci envoie à l’assuré une note qui récapitule les décisions prises.
L’assuré doit accompagner sa demande des documents nécessaires (certificat ou diplôme d’études, relevé de carrière étrangère, etc.).

Délai d’instruction de la demande

La durée d’instruction d’une demande de pension dépend de la disponibilité et de la fiabilité des données. Elle peut varier entre :

  • quelques semaines ; et
  • plusieurs mois, si la collecte d’informations implique des recherches à l’étranger.

Paiement de la pension

Chaque État membre de l’UE dans lequel la personne concernée a été assurée pendant au moins un an verse une pension de vieillesse lorsque l’âge de la pension fixé par ce pays est atteint.

Si, par exemple, l’assuré a travaillé dans 3 pays, il perçoit 3 pensions de vieillesse distinctes. Cependant, il est important de considérer que les débuts de ces pensions peuvent changer en fonction des différentes règles nationales qui existent. Dans de tels cas, on parle de carrière d’assurance "mixte".

Le pensionné non-résident qui perçoit une pension luxembourgeoise doit déclarer cette pension dans son pays de résidence.

Calcul de la pension

Chaque État membre de l’UE est tenu de prendre en compte les périodes d’assurance qui ont été effectuées dans les autres pays pour déterminer le droit et le montant de la pension due.

C’est le principe de la totalisation des périodes d’assurance qui garantit que les périodes d’assurance ou de travail accomplies dans un État membre sont prises en compte pour ouvrir le droit, si nécessaire, à des prestations dans un autre État membre.

Les périodes de travail dans le secteur public sont également prises en compte. Certaines règles restent pourtant nationales, comme par exemple, l’âge d’accès à la pension.

En cas de carrière d’assurance mixte dans au moins 2 États, le demandeur reçoit une pension partielle de chaque État dans lequel il a été assuré. Le montant de chaque pension est proportionnel :

  • au nombre d’années d’assurance accomplies ; et
  • au montant relatif des cotisations payées ; et
  • aux règles de calcul du pays concerné.

Situation particulière en cas de périodes de travail en dehors de l’Union européenne : si l’assuré a travaillé dans un ou plusieurs pays avec lesquels le Luxembourg a signé une convention de sécurité sociale, le calcul de la pension est effectué accord par accord. Il en est de même si l’assuré a travaillé dans l’Union européenne et dans un ou plusieurs pays en convention.

Chaque État où le travailleur non-résident a été assuré procède au calcul suivant :

  • pension nationale : elle est calculée sur base de la législation nationale, en tenant compte uniquement des périodes travaillées dans le pays pendant une durée supérieure à la période minimale d’affiliation ;
  • montant théorique : l’institution compétente calcule le montant théorique de la prestation de vieillesse qui aurait été due si l’assuré avait effectué toutes les périodes d’assurance (y compris celles réalisées à l’étranger) sous sa législation ;
  • pension proportionnelle : sur base du montant théorique, elle fixe le montant effectif au prorata de la durée des périodes d’assurance effectivement réalisées sous sa législation.

La caisse de pension compétente verse alors le montant le plus élevé des 2 pensions (généralement la pension proportionnelle).

Votre avis nous intéresse

Quelle note donneriez-vous au contenu de cette page ?

Dernière modification le