Applying for progressive early retirement

Progressive early retirement is a social welfare tool whereby an employer can offer their employees the option of gradually reducing their working hours.

When an employee agrees to have their full-time position turned into a part-time one, the reduction in working hours frees up a position in the company, which may be filled by a jobseeker registered with the National Employment Agency (Agence pour le développement de l'emploi – ADEM).

Early retirement should not be confused with an early old-age pension: old-age pension falls within the scope of pension insurance, while early retirement, limited to a term of 3 years, is a mechanism to prevent unemployment. Early retirement is therefore considered as insurance years that count toward the old-age pension.

Who is concerned

Any private-sector employee aged 57 or over can apply for early retirement and the payment of an early retirement benefit, on condition that:

  • they have been employed for at least 5 years and in a full-time position for at least 75% of that time in a business which is eligible for progressive early retirement, and
  • they will become eligible for a legal pension no later than 3 years after the start of their early retirement benefits.

Progressive early retirement is only available to employees of a business which has been declared eligible for the scheme under an express stipulation in a collective labour agreement or a special agreement entered into with the Minister for Employment and a specific business, or not covered by a collective agreement, or covered by a collective agreement applicable to the field of activity which does not provide for progressive early retirement.

Entering into the special agreement mentioned above is subject to the approval of the competent employee representative body.

Acceptance for progressive early retirement is an acquired right for employees covered by a collective agreement which provides for progressive early retirement. For other employees, the employer's approval must be sought.

For more information, please contact the Early Retirement Department at the Ministry of Labour and Employment and the Social and Solidarity Economy ( ministère du Travail, de l'Emploi et de l'Economie sociale et solidaire), on Tel: (+352) 2478 6115 (mornings only) or fax: (+352) 2478 6325.

Prerequisites

To qualify for progressive early retirement, the employee must:

  • be at least 57;
  • have been employed for at least 5 years and in a full-time position for at least 75% of that time in a business which is eligible for progressive early retirement;
  • be eligible to receive an old-age pension, or an early old-age pension, no later than 3 years after taking early retirement.

Deadlines

An employee who wishes to apply for progressive early retirement must submit a written request to their employer no later than 3 months before the presumed date of early retirement.

How to proceed

Specific features of progressive early retirement

Progressive early retirement promotes job rotation: it allows an older employee to work part time and the employer to take on a jobseeker registered at the ADEM.

An employee who wishes to take progressive early retirement must agree to have their full-time job converted to a part-time position.

The percentage of time worked may vary depending on the agreement between employee and employer. However, for an employee granted progressive early retirement, the duration of part-time work must be equal to at least 40% and at most 60% of their full-time hours.

The reduction in working hours may be implemented progressively. Where applicable, the percentage of time worked by the employee may be reduced from, for instance, 60% to 50%, and then to 40% of their previous work hours.

Conditions for the Employment Fund to reimburse the employer for the early retirement allowance they have paid

The Employment Fund will reimburse the employer for all of the costs and charges in relation to the payment of the progressive early retirement allowance, including the employer's share of the relevant social contributions, on condition that the employer can prove that they have actually hired, under the terms of a permanent employment contract (either full time or part time) or a training contract:

  • one or more jobseekers on benefits who have been registered for at least 3 months with ADEM and referred to the employer by the latter. At the recommendation of ADEM, the Minister for Employment may decide to take into consideration, in determining the contribution of the Employment Fund, the recruitment of jobseekers who have been registered with ADEM for only 1 month minimum;
  • one or more employees whose fixed-term employment contract has been converted into a permanent one within 6 months either side of the granting of early retirement. This, however, carries the condition that the fixed-term contract was entered into after a period of at least 3 months claiming benefits as a jobseeker registered with ADEM;
  • one or more unemployed jobseekers benefiting from an employment measure (professionalisation training contract, employment reintegration contract, employment support contract, employment initiation contract);
  • one or more employees from a company that has concluded a job protection plan;
  • one or more employees from a bankrupt business or one undergoing compulsory liquidation;
  • one or more employees or apprentices from a business facing economic or structural difficulties and who are at risk of imminent dismissal.

Hires within the 6 months either side of the granting of early retirement may be taken into consideration. When the compensating hire is made by means of an apprenticeship contract, the aforementioned period of 6 months is deferred until the beginning of the academic year following the start of the early retirement.

For the employer to be entitled to reimbursement from the Employment Fund, both the full-time employee having taken progressive early retirement and the employee or apprentice hired to replace them, or another job seeker, must be kept in the employer's company for at least two years after the end of the early retirement period.

Filing an application

An employee applying for progressive early retirement must submit a written request to their employer at the latest 3 months before the projected date of early retirement.

Their application should be accompanied by a certificate issued by the competent social security bodies establishing the date they became eligible for old-age pension or early old-age pension.

Once the projected date of early retirement is establishment, the employee's declaration of enrolment with social security must be updated to reflect the reduction of working time. A new declaration of enrolment must also be made when the employee actually takes their early retirement.

Amount of the early retirement allowance

The amount of the progressive early retirement allowance is adjusted proportionally to the reduction in the employee's working hours.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Demander la préretraite progressive

La préretraite progressive est une mesure sociale qui offre à l’employeur la possibilité de permettre à un salarié de réduire progressivement son degré d’occupation.

Lorsqu’un salarié accepte la transformation de son poste à plein temps en emploi à temps partiel, la réduction de la durée de travail libère une place dans l’entreprise qui pourra être occupée par un demandeur d’emploi inscrit à l’ADEM (Agence pour le développement de l’emploi).

La préretraite ne doit pas être confondue avec la pension de vieillesse anticipée : la pension de vieillesse relève de l’assurance pension tandis que la préretraite, dont la durée est limitée à 3 ans, constitue un instrument de prévention du chômage. A ce titre, elle est donc assimilée à des années d’assurance qui sont comptabilisées pour la pension de vieillesse.

Personnes concernées

Tous les salariés du secteur privé âgés de 57 ans accomplis peuvent demander leur admission à la préretraite et le versement de l’indemnité de préretraite à condition :

  • qu’ils soient occupés depuis au moins 5 ans et à raison d’au moins 75 % d’un poste à temps plein dans une entreprise éligible à la préretraite progressive, et
  • qu’ils aient un droit à une pension légale au plus tard 3 ans après le début de l’indemnisation en préretraite.

La préretraite progressive est réservée aux salariés d’une entreprise rendue éligible à la préretraite progressive en vertu d'une stipulation expresse d'une convention collective de travail ou d'une convention spéciale conclue avec le ministre ayant l’emploi dans ses attributions et une entreprise déterminée, soit non couverte par une convention collective, soit couverte par une convention collective applicable à la branche d’activité ne prévoyant pas l’application de la préretraite progressive.

La conclusion de la convention spéciale visée ci-dessus est subordonnée à la présentation de l’avis de la délégation du personnel compétente.

L’admission à la préretraite progressive est un droit acquis pour les salariés couverts par une convention collective qui prévoit l’application de la préretraite progressive. Pour les autres salariés, l’accord de l’employeur est requis.

Pour de plus amples informations, contacter le ministère du Travail, de l'Emploi et de l'Economie sociale et solidaire - Service en charge de la préretraite au : 247-86115 (tél : seulement le matin) / 247-86325 (fax).

Conditions préalables

Pour bénéficier de la préretraite progressive, le salarié doit :

  • être âgé de 57 ans accomplis ;
  • être occupé à 75 % d’un poste à temps plein depuis au moins 5 ans dans une entreprise éligible à la préretraite-progressive ;
  • répondre aux critères d’ouverture du droit soit à une pension de vieillesse, soit à une pension de vieillesse anticipée au plus tard 3 ans après le départ en préretraite.

Délais

Le salarié sollicitant l’admission à la préretraite progressive doit introduire auprès de l’employeur une demande écrite au plus tard 3 mois avant la date présumée de l’admission à la préretraite.

Modalités pratiques

Spécificités de la préretraite progressive

La préretraite progressive incite à la rotation : elle permet un travail à temps partiel pour le salarié âgé et l’embauche d’un demandeur d’emploi inscrit à l’ADEM.

Le salarié qui veut être admis au bénéfice de la préretraite progressive doit accepter la transformation de son emploi à plein temps en emploi à temps partiel.

Le pourcentage du taux d’occupation peut varier, en fonction de l’accord passé entre le salarié et l’employeur. Toutefois, la durée du travail à temps partiel du salarié admis à la préretraite-progressive doit être égale à 40 % au moins et à 60 % au plus de la durée de travail antérieure.

La réduction du temps de travail peut s’échelonner progressivement. Le cas échéant, le degré d’occupation du salarié auprès de l’employeur peut passer par exemple de 60 % à 50 % et puis à 40 % de la durée de travail antérieure.

Conditions du remboursement de l’indemnité de préretraite par le Fonds pour l’emploi

Le Fonds pour l’emploi rembourse à l’employeur l’intégralité des charges résultant pour lui du versement de l’indemnité de préretraite progressive, y compris la part patronale des charges sociales afférentes à cette indemnité, à condition que l’employeur justifie l’embauche effective, sous le couvert d’un contrat de travail conclu à durée indéterminée (à temps plein ou à temps partiel) ou d’un contrat d’apprentissage :

  • d’un ou de plusieurs chômeurs indemnisés ou de demandeurs d’emploi sans emploi inscrits depuis 3 mois au moins et lui assignés par l'ADEM. Le ministre ayant l’emploi dans ses attributions peut, sur avis de l’ADEM, décider de prendre en considération, pour l’attribution du concours du Fonds pour l’emploi, l’embauche de demandeurs d’emploi inscrits pendant seulement 1 mois minimum auprès de l’ADEM ;
  • d’un ou de plusieurs salariés dont le contrat de travail à durée déterminée a été transformé en CDI dans les 6 mois qui précèdent ou suivent l’admission à la préretraite, à condition toutefois que le CDD fasse suite à une période de chômage indemnisé ou à une période d’inscription de 3 mois comme demandeur d’emploi sans emploi auprès de l’ADEM ;
  • d’un ou de plusieurs demandeurs d’emploi sans emploi bénéficiant d’une mesure en faveur de l’emploi (stage de professionnalisation, contrat de réinsertion-emploi, contrat appui-emploi, contrat d’initiation à l’emploi) ;
  • d’un ou de plusieurs salariés qui proviennent d’une entreprise qui a conclu un plan de maintien dans l’emploi ;
  • d’un ou de plusieurs salariés qui proviennent d’une entreprise en faillite ou en liquidation judiciaire ;
  • d’un ou de plusieurs salariés ou d’apprentis provenant d’une entreprise confrontée à des difficultés conjoncturelles ou structurelles et exposés à un risque imminent de licenciement.

Peuvent être prises en considération les embauches effectuées dans les 6 mois précédant ou suivant l’admission à la préretraite. Au cas où l’embauche compensatrice est effectuée moyennant un contrat d’apprentissage, le délai de 6 mois précité est prorogé jusqu’au début de l’année scolaire d’apprentissage suivant le départ à la préretraite.

Le droit au remboursement par le Fonds pour l’emploi est conditionné par le maintien dans l’entreprise, après la fin de la période de préretraite, pendant une période d’au moins 2 ans, tant du poste à plein temps concerné par la préretraite progressive que du salarié ou apprenti ayant fait l’objet de l’embauche compensatrice, sinon d’un autre demandeur d’emploi.

Introduction de la demande

Le salarié sollicitant l’admission à la préretraite progressive introduit auprès de l’employeur une demande écrite 3 mois au plus tard avant la date présumée de l’admission à la préretraite.

Il joint à sa demande un certificat établi par le ou les organismes compétents de la sécurité sociale établissant la date d’ouverture de ses droits à une pension de vieillesse ou à une pension de vieillesse anticipée.

Dès lors que la date de l’entrée en préretraite est établie, la déclaration d’affiliation du salarié doit être mise à jour par rapport à la réduction du temps de travail. Une nouvelle affiliation doit également être effectuée pour l’entrée du salarié en préretraite.

Montant de l’indemnité de préretraite

Le montant de l’indemnité de la préretraite progressive est adapté au prorata de la réduction du temps de travail du salarié bénéficiant de la préretraite progressive.

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le