Application for early retirement due to corporate restructuring

Last update 21.08.2018

Early retirement due to corporate restructuring is a social programme. Employers may resort to its use when winding up a business or to avoid dismissals due to job cuts as part of a restructuring programme, or job transformations further to technological changes.

The law allows for early retirement due to corporate restructuring for businesses that have been declared bankrupt, businesses placed under controlled management, and companies undergoing compulsory liquidation.

Early retirement should not be confused with early old-age pension: old-age pension falls within the scope of pension insurance, while early retirement, limited to a term of 3 years, is a mechanism to prevent unemployment. Early retirement is therefore considered to be years of insurance contributions that count toward the old-age pension.

Who is concerned

In certain conditions, if a business closes, or to avoid dismissals due to job cuts as part of a restructuring programme, or job transformations further to technological changes, the employer may apply for approval for their staff to be allowed to take early retirement due to corporate restructuring, through an agreement entered into with the Minister for Employment.

Early retirement due to corporate restructuring, therefore, is reserved for the employees of a business which has been authorised to implement the measure under an agreement between the employer and the Minister of Labour, Employment, and the Social and Solidarity Economy (Ministre du Travail, de l'Emploi et de l'Economie sociale et solidaire), after consultation with the Economic Committee.

Agreements on early retirement due to corporate restructuring are generally for a period of one year.

However, for businesses which have entered into a job protection plan or redundancy plan, the duration of validity of the individual early retirement agreement may be equal to the period of validity of that plan.

For further information, contact the Ministry of Labour, Employment and the Social and Solidarity Economy ( Ministère du Travail, de l'Emploi et de l'Economie sociale et solidaire), Department in charge of early retirement, either by telephone (247-86115, morning only) or fax (247-86325).

Prerequisites

To qualify for early retirement due to corporate restructuring, the employee must:

  • be at least 57 years of age;
  • have been employed in the business in question for at least 5 years. If the business has been declared bankrupt or placed in compulsory liquidation, the minimum number of years of employment in the business is reduced to one year;
  • be eligible to receive an old age pension, or an early old-age pension, no later than 3 years after taking early retirement;
  • on penalty of losing the right to the early retirement allowance, undertake not to engage in a paid activity which, on a monthly basis, exceeds half the applicable social minimum wage in a calendar year.

Persons in receipt of unemployment benefits paid by ADEM may be eligible for early retirement due to corporate restructuring on condition that their last employer was eligible for the programme and that they lost their job as a result of:

  • collective redundancy; or
  • dismissal for reasons not related to the individual themselves; or
  • bankruptcy on the part of the employer; or
  • liquidation of the employer.

Deadlines

An employer applying for approval to implement early retirement due to corporate restructuring is required to file the application with the Minister for Employment no later than 15 days before the Economic Committee meets.

The secretariat of the Economic Committee will investigate the company's eligibility for the early retirement programme.

A copy of the application may be sent directly to the secretariat of the Economic Committee.

Individual applications for approval for early retirement due to corporate restructuring submitted after the signing of the aforementioned agreement must be sent by the employer to the Ministry, preferably before the planned date of early retirement.

How to proceed

Filing an application

To qualify for early retirement due to corporate restructuring, the employee must file an application with their employer.

Along with the application, they must submit their pension entitlement certificate, issued by the National Pension Insurance Fund (Caisse nationale d'assurance pension), stating the dates on which the worker becomes eligible for old-age pension or early old-age pension.

If early retirement is accepted, the end of the normal working relationship is documented in a declaration of departure issued by the employer and sent to the Joint Social Security Centre (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale – CCSS). In this declaration, the employer cites "early retirement" as the reason for the worker's departure.

The employer then needs to register the worker with the CCSS anew as a worker having taken early retirement (new incoming declaration).

Amount of allowance

The monthly allowance for early retirement is calculated on the basis of the gross annual salary (both fixed and variable) which the employee actually received over the course of the 12 months immediately prior to the start of their early retirement benefit.

The following must be included in the reference pay used to calculate the monthly benefit:

13th-month payments are taken into account at a rate of one twelfth per month.

Bonuses are taken into account at a rate of one twelfth per month, based on the mean amount of payments received over the past 3 years.

Overtime pay and allowances for incidental expenses are not taken into account in this calculation.

The early retirement allowance may not exceed the monthly ceiling for pension insurance contributions (which amounts to 5 times the social minimum wage).

However, the monthly allowance for early retirement is equal to the full unemployment benefit, provided the employee meets the eligibility conditions for early retirement over the period when they are receiving unemployment benefit, in the event of:

  • collective redundancy; or
  • dismissal for reasons not related to the individual themselves; or
  • termination of the working relationship due to the employer's bankruptcy or compulsory liquidation.

The duration of early retirement cannot exceed 3 years, and the payment is spread out over this period with a progressive annual decrease of 5%. Thus, the allowance is equal to:

  • 85% of the worker's gross monthly salary for the first 12 months;
  • 80% of that amount for the second 12 months;
  • for the period remaining until the day the entitlement to the allowance expires, 75% of that amount.

The early retirement allowance must be adjusted to reflect changes in the cost of living, pursuant to the provisions of Article 11, paragraph (1) of the amended law of 22 June 1963 establishing the compensation scheme for civil servants.

The early retirement allowance is paid for no more than 3 years, and in principle, ceases to be paid on the day before the beneficiary's 63rd birthday.

However, if so stipulated in the agreement between the business and the Minister for Employment, the allowance may be extended to the day before the beneficiary's 65th birthday, provided the amount of the early old-age pension does not exceed the minimum amount of a personal pension. Even in that case, though, the early retirement allowance can only be paid for a maximum period of 3 years.

It should be noted that a worker who has applied for and been granted early retirement allowance is no longer entitled to severance pay should the working relationship with their employer come to an end.        

Financing of benefits

A business that the Government has deemed to be in a balanced financial and economic position (based on the required opinion of the Economic Committee) is required to contribute to the costs resulting from the payment of early retirement benefit.

The rate of contribution is between 30 and 75% of the amount of early retirement benefit, including the employer's share of the related social charges. This rate may be less than 30 % only if a job-protection scheme authorised by the Minister in charge of Employment is implemented.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Double click to activate the map
Last update

Demander la préretraite-ajustement

La préretraite-ajustement est une mesure sociale. Les employeurs peuvent y recourir en cas de fermeture de l'entreprise ou pour éviter des licenciements résultant de la suppression d’emplois engendrée par la restructuration de l’entreprise ou de la transformation d’emplois consécutive à des mutations technologiques.

La loi autorise l’extension du bénéfice de la préretraite-ajustement aux entreprises déclarées en état de faillite, aux entreprises placées sous gestion contrôlée et aux sociétés en voie de liquidation judiciaire.

La préretraite ne doit pas être confondue avec la pension de vieillesse anticipée : la pension de vieillesse relève de l’assurance pension tandis que la préretraite, dont la durée est limitée à 3 ans, constitue un instrument de prévention du chômage. A ce titre, elle est donc assimilée à des années d’assurance qui sont comptabilisées pour la pension de vieillesse.

Personnes concernées

Sous certaines conditions, en cas de fermeture de l’entreprise ou pour éviter des licenciements résultant de la suppression d’emplois engendrés par la restructuration de l’entreprise ou de la transformation d’emplois consécutive à des mutations technologiques, l’employeur peut solliciter l’admission de son personnel à la préretraite-ajustement par une convention conclue avec le ministre ayant l’emploi dans ses attributions.

La préretraite-ajustement est donc réservée aux salariés d’une entreprise qui a été admise au bénéfice de la préretraite-ajustement dans le cadre d’une convention conclue entre l’employeur et le ministre ayant l’emploi dans ses attributions, après consultation du Comité de conjoncture.

Les conventions de préretraite-ajustement sont conclues pour une période d’une année.

Cependant, pour les entreprises qui ont conclu un plan de maintien dans l’emploi ou un plan social, la durée de validité de la convention individuelle de préretraite peut être égale à la durée de validité du plan social ou du plan de maintien dans l’emploi.

Pour de plus amples informations, contacter le ministère du Travail, de l'Emploi et de l'Economie sociale et solidaire - Service en charge de la préretraite au : 247-86115 (tél. : seulement le matin) / 247-86325 (fax).

Conditions préalables

Pour bénéficier de la préretraite-ajustement, le salarié doit :

  • être âgé de 57 ans accomplis ;
  • être occupé dans l’entreprise depuis au moins 5 ans. Si l’entreprise est en faillite ou en liquidation judiciaire, la période d’occupation minimale dans l’entreprise est réduite à une année ;
  • répondre aux critères d’ouverture du droit soit à une pension de vieillesse, soit à une pension de vieillesse anticipée au plus tard 3 ans après le départ en préretraite ;
  • s’engager, sous peine de perte du droit à l’indemnité de préretraite, à ne pas exercer d’activité rémunérée qui, sur une année civile, dépasse par mois la moitié du salaire social minimum qui lui est applicable.

Les bénéficiaires des allocations de chômage versées par l’ADEM peuvent aussi être admis à la préretraite ajustement à condition que leur dernier employeur ait été éligible à la préretraite-ajustement et qu’ils aient perdu leur emploi suite à :

  • un licenciement collectif, ou ;
  • un licenciement pour des motifs non inhérents à la personne, ou ;
  • la faillite de l'employeur, ou ;
  • la liguidation de l'employeur.

Délais

L'employeur sollicitant l'admission de son personnel à la préretraite-ajustement est tenu de présenter la demande au ministre ayant l’emploi dans ses attributions au plus tard une quinzaine de jours avant la réunion du Comité de conjoncture.

Le secrétariat du Comité de conjoncture est appelé à procéder à une enquête qui porte sur l’éligibilité de l’entreprise à la mesure de préretraite.

Une copie de la demande peut être directement adressée au secrétariat du Comité de conjoncture.

Les demandes individuelles d'admission à la préretraite-ajustement après la conclusion de la convention précitée, sont à introduire par l’employeur au ministère, de préférence avant la date prévue pour le départ en préretraite.

Modalités pratiques

Introduction de la demande

Afin de pouvoir bénéficier de la préretraite-ajustement, le salarié doit introduire une demande auprès de son employeur.

Il joint à sa demande un certificat d'ouverture des droits à pension à établir par la Caisse nationale d'assurance pension et qui fixe la date d’ouverture de ses droits à une pension de vieillesse ou à une pension de vieillesse anticipée.

En cas d’admission à la préretraite, la fin de la relation de travail normale est documentée par une déclaration de sortie établie par l'employeur et transmise au Centre commun de la sécurité sociale (CCSS). Dans cette déclaration, l’employeur indique "préretraite" comme motif du départ du salarié.

L’employeur doit ensuite effectuer une nouvelle affiliation du salarié au CCSS en tant que salarié préretraité (nouvelle déclaration d’entrée).

Montant de l’indemnité

L’indemnité mensuelle de préretraite est calculée sur base de la rémunération annuelle brute (fixe et variable) effectivement touchée par le salarié au cours des 12 mois qui précèdent immédiatement le début de l’indemnisation en préretraite.

Doivent être comprises dans la rémunération de référence servant au calcul de l’indemnité mensuelle de préretraite :

Le 13e mois est mis en compte à raison d’un douzième par mois.

Le bonus / la gratification est mise en compte à raison d’1/12e par mois de la moyenne des paiements effectués pour les 3 dernières années.

Les rémunérations pour heures supplémentaires et indemnités pour frais accessoires ne sont pas prises en compte pour ce calcul.

L’indemnité de préretraite ne peut être supérieure au montant mensuel du plafond cotisable à l’assurance pension (qui s’élève à hauteur de 5 fois le salaire social minimum).

Toutefois, l’indemnité mensuelle de préretraite est égale au montant de l’indemnité de chômage complet, si le salarié remplit les conditions d’admission à la préretraite au cours des périodes d’indemnisation au chômage au cas où il a fait l’objet :

  • d’un licenciement collectif, ou ;
  • d’un licenciement pour des motifs non inhérents à sa personne, ou ;
  • d’une cessation de la relation de travail suite à la faillite ou la mise en liquidation judiciaire de l’employeur.

La durée de la préretraite ne pouvant excéder 3 ans, le versement s’échelonne sur cette période avec une perte annuelle progressive de 5 %. Ainsi, l’indemnité équivaut à :

  • 85 % du salaire mensuel brut touché par le salarié pour une 1re période de 12 mois ;
  • 80 % de ce salaire pour une seconde période de 12 mois ;
  • 75 % de ce salaire pour la période restant à courir jusqu’au jour où le droit à l’indemnité cesse.

L’indemnité de préretraite doit être adaptée aux variations du coût de la vie conformément aux dispositions de l’article 11, paragraphe (1) de la loi modifiée du 22 juin 1963 fixant le régime des traitements des fonctionnaires de l’Etat.

L’indemnité de préretraite est versée pendant 3 ans au maximum, et cesse en principe au jour précédent le 63e anniversaire du bénéficiaire de la préretraite.

Cependant, si la convention conclue entre l’entreprise et le ministre ayant l’emploi dans ses attributions le prévoit, l’indemnisation peut aller jusqu’au jour précédant le 65e anniversaire du préretraité, à condition que le montant de la pension de vieillesse anticipée ne dépasse pas le montant de la pension minimum personnelle. Même dans ce cas, l’indemnité de préretraite ne peut être versée que pendant une durée maximum de 3 ans.

A noter que le salarié qui a demandé et obtenu l’octroi de l’indemnité de préretraite n’a plus droit à une indemnité de départ en cas de cessation de la relation de travail avec l’employeur.        

Financement de l’indemnité

Une entreprise jugée par le Gouvernement, sur avis obligatoire du Comité de conjoncture, en situation économique et financière équilibrée, est tenue de participer aux charges résultant du versement de l’indemnité de préretraite.

Le taux de participation se situe en principe entre 30 et 75 % de l’indemnité de préretraite, y compris la part patronale des charges sociales afférentes à cette indemnité. Ce taux ne pourra être inférieur à 30 % que dans le cadre de l’exécution d’un plan de maintien dans l’emploi homologué par le ministre ayant l’Emploi dans ses attributions.

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le