Calculating early retirement allowance

Update in progress

Acceptance for early retirement implies payment of an early retirement benefit to the employee, calculated on the basis of various criteria.

Who is concerned

Acceptance for early retirement and the related rights (such as the right to early retirement benefit) are only applicable to private-sector employees (except for early retirement of shift workers and night workers) meeting conditions for early retirement and employed by a business eligible for a form of early retirement.

For more information, please contact the Early Retirement Department at the Ministry of Labour and Employment and the Social and Solidarity Economy (ministère du Travail, de l'Emploi et de l'Economie sociale et solidaire), on Tel: (+352) 2478 6115 (mornings only) or fax: (+352) 2478 6325.

Prerequisites

By receiving an early retirement benefit, employees agree not to carry out any activity through which they earn more than half the social minimum wage per month applicable to them, otherwise they forfeit the right to the benefit.

How to proceed

How early retirement benefit is calculated

The monthly early retirement benefit is calculated using the gross monthly pay actually received by the employee in the 3 months immediately preceding their early retirement.

However, for workers affected by collective redundancy or dismissal for reasons not related to them, or cessation of a working relationship due to an employer's bankruptcy, who become eligible for early retirement during their period of unemployment, the monthly early retirement benefit is equal to the amount of the legally determined full-time unemployment benefit.

For employees who, on an exceptional basis, are granted early retirement for company restructuring starting 1 January of the third year preceding the one in which they qualify for an old-age pension or a premature old-age pension, the monthly early retirement benefit is calculated using the gross monthly pay to which the employee was entitled for the month in which they become eligible for early retirement in accordance with the first sub-paragraph of Article L. 582-2 of the Luxembourg Labour Code.

The same is also true when an employee is entitled to a pay rise taking effect less than 3 months prior to the granting of early retirement – i.e. scaled salary increases (two-yearly, promotions, recalculations of personnel salaries, implementations of collective agreements), provided the employee is actually on staff at the business at the time of the pay rise.

The following must be included in the reference pay used to calculate the monthly benefit:

  • sick pay;
  • standard incentives and extras;
  • bonuses and the 13th month at the level of one 12th per month.

Overtime pay and allowances for incidental expenses are not taken into account in this calculation.

For salaried employees whose pay includes a fixed and a variable portion, the early retirement benefit must be calculated based on a 12-month reference period for the variable portion of the gross pay received during this period, when this method of calculation is more favourable to the employee. On request, the reference period may be increased to 18 months.

In the case of gradual early retirement, the amount of early retirement benefit is adapted proportionally to the reduction of the employee's working time.

When the first payment of early retirement benefit is made, the employer will provide the beneficiary with a detailed account of the way in which the benefit has been calculated.

The early retirement benefit must be adapted to changes in the cost of living, in accordance with the provisions of Article 11, paragraph (1) of the Law of 22 June 1963, as amended, setting the procedure for remuneration of civil servants.

Early retirement amount

The early retirement benefit must not exceed the monthly amount of the cap for contribution to pension insurance – i.e. 5 times the social minimum wage.

In the case of gradual early retirement, the benefit is adapted in proportion to the reduction of the employee's working time.

Duration of early retirement

The duration of early retirement cannot exceed 3 years, and the payment is spread out over this period with a progressive annual decrease of 5 %. Thus, the benefit is equal to:

  • 85 % of the gross monthly pay received by the employee in the 3 months immediately preceding the allowance period for the initial 12-month period;
  • 80 % of that amount for a second 12-month period;
  • 75 % of that amount for the remaining until the expiry of the right to early retirement.

Employees who request and obtain early retirement do not qualify for legal severance pay.

Social security and tax contributions

Since it is not a pension, the early retirement allowance is subject to social security and tax charges generally applicable to remuneration and salary except for premiums due to the Accident Insurance Association (Association d’assurance contre les accidents - AAA) and the Children's Future Fund (Caisse pour l'avenir des enfants - CAE).

In principle, the early retirement benefit should be paid in advance by the employer; If the employer is having significant financial difficulties, the Employment Fund (Fonds pour l'emploi) will cover the payments.

Expiry of right to early retirement benefit

Entitlement to early retirement benefit automatically ends:

  • on the day when the concerned party becomes eligible for an old-age pension or a premature old-age pension, starting from 60 years of age;
  • on the day when the person entering early retirement becomes eligible, at their request, for a premature old-age pension or a disability pension;
  • on the day when the person in early retirement dies;
  • if they carry out or resume activity earning more than half the social minimum wage over one year.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Double click to activate the map
Double click to activate the map
Last update

Calculer son indemnité de préretraite

En cours de mise à jour

L’admission à la préretraite implique notamment le versement au salarié bénéficiaire d’une indemnité de préretraite, calculée selon différents critères.

Personnes concernées

L’admission à la préretraite ainsi que les droits qui en découlent (comme le droit au versement d'une indemnité de préretraite) concernent en principe uniquement les salariés du secteur privé (sauf pour la préretraite des salariés postés et de nuit) remplissant les conditions d’ouverture au droit à une préretraite et étant occupés dans une entreprise éligible à une forme de préretraite.

Pour de plus amples informations, contacter le ministère du Travail, de l'Emploi et de l'Economie sociale et solidaire - Service en charge de la préretraite au : 247-86115 (tél : seulement le matin) / 247-86325 (fax).

Conditions préalables

En percevant une indemnité de préretraite, le salarié s’engage à ne pas exercer d’activité rémunérée dépassant la moitié du salaire social minimum par mois qui lui est applicable, sous peine de perte du droit à l’indemnité.

Modalités pratiques

Mode de calcul de l’indemnité de préretraite

L’indemnité mensuelle de préretraite est calculée sur base de la rémunération mensuelle brute effectivement touchée par le salarié au cours des 3 mois précédant immédiatement l’octroi de la préretraite.

Toutefois, pour le salarié qui a fait l’objet d’un licenciement collectif, d’un licenciement pour des motifs non inhérents à sa personne ou d’une cessation de la relation de travail en cas de faillite de l’employeur, et qui vient à remplir les conditions d’admission à la préretraite au cours des périodes d’indemnisation au titre du chômage complet, l’indemnité mensuelle de préretraite est égale au montant de l’indemnité de chômage complet telle que fixée par la loi.

Pour le salarié qui par dérogation est admis au bénéfice de la préretraite-ajustement à partir du 1er janvier de la troisième année précédant celle au cours de laquelle il vient à remplir les conditions d’ouverture du droit soit à une pension de vieillesse, soit à une pension de vieillesse anticipée, l’indemnité mensuelle de préretraite est calculée sur base de la rémunération mensuelle brute à laquelle le salarié a droit pour le mois au cours duquel il vient à remplir les conditions d’admission à la préretraite conformément au premier alinéa de l’article L. 582-2 du Code du travail.

Il en est de même lorsque le salarié a droit à une augmentation salariale prenant effet moins de 3 mois avant l’octroi de la préretraite, c’est-à-dire les augmentations découlant d’adaptations barémiques (biennales, promotions, recalculs du salaire personnel, dispositions de conventions collectives), à condition qu’il fasse effectivement partie du personnel de l’entreprise au moment de la prise d’effet de l’augmentation en question.

Doivent être compris dans la rémunération de référence servant au calcul de l’indemnité mensuelle :

  • les indemnités pécuniaires de maladie ;
  • les primes et suppléments courants ;
  • la gratification et le 13e mois à raison d’un 12e par mois.

Les rémunérations pour heures supplémentaires et indemnités pour frais accessoires ne sont pas prises en compte pour ce calcul.

Pour le salarié dont le revenu est composé d’une partie fixe et d’une partie variable, la partie variable de l'indemnité de préretraite doit être calculée sur base d’une période de référence de 12 mois pour la partie variable de la rémunération brute effectivement touchée au cours de cette période, au cas où ce mode de calcul s’avérerait plus favorable au salarié. Sur demande, la période de référence peut être portée à 18 mois.

En cas de préretraite progressive, le montant de l’indemnité de préretraite est adapté au prorata de la réduction de la durée de travail du salarié bénéficiant de la préretraite progressive.

Lors du premier versement de l’indemnité de préretraite, l’employeur remet au bénéficiaire un décompte détaillé relatif au calcul de la prestation.

L’indemnité de préretraite doit être adaptée aux variations du coût de la vie conformément aux dispositions de l’article 11, paragraphe (1) de la loi modifiée du 22 juin 1963 fixant le régime des traitements des fonctionnaires de l’Etat.

Montant de la préretraite

L’indemnité de préretraite ne peut être supérieure au montant mensuel du plafond cotisable à l’assurance-pension (c'est-à-dire 5 fois le salaire social minimum).

En cas de préretraite progressive, le montant de l’indemnité est adapté au prorata de la réduction du temps de travail du salarié.

Durée de la préretraite

La durée de la préretraite ne pouvant excéder 3 ans, le versement s’échelonne sur cette période avec une perte annuelle progressive de 5 %. Ainsi, l’indemnité équivaut à :

  • 85 % de la rémunération mensuelle brute touchée par le salarié au cours des 3 mois précédant immédiatement la période d’indemnisation pour une 1re période de 12 mois ;
  • 80 % de cette rémunération pour une seconde période de 12 mois ;
  • 75 % de cette rémunération pour la période restant à courir jusqu’au jour où le droit à l’indemnité cesse.

Le salarié qui a sollicité et obtenu l’octroi de l’indemnité de préretraite ne peut prétendre à l’obtention de l’indemnité de départ légale.

Charges sociales et fiscales

Comme il ne s’agit pas d’une pension, l’indemnité de préretraite est soumise aux charges sociales et fiscales généralement prévues en matière de salaires et traitements, à l’exception des cotisations dues à l'Association d’assurance contre les accidents (AAA) et à la Caisse pour l'avenir des enfants (CAE).

En principe, l’indemnité de préretraite est avancée par l’employeur. En cas de difficultés financières importantes de ce dernier, le Fonds pour l’emploi assurera les versements.

Fin des droits à l’indemnité de préretraite

Les droits à l’indemnité de préretraite cessent de plein droit :

  • à partir du jour où l’intéressé a droit à une pension vieillesse ou pension vieillesse anticipée, à partir de l’âge de 60 ans ;
  • à partir du jour où le préretraité a droit, sur sa demande, à une pension de vieillesse anticipée ou à une pension d’invalidité ;
  • à partir du jour du décès du préretraité ;
  • s’il exerce ou reprend une activité lui rapportant un revenu qui, sur une année, dépasse la moitié du salaire social minimum.

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Double click pour activer la carte
Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le