Protection of pregnant women against dismissal

Women who are expecting babies or who have just given birth are covered by specific labour law provisions, particularly with regard to protection against dismissal. These provisions are frequently asked about at the "Guichet" support centre.

The protection of pregnant women against dismissal begins with the delivery of a medical certificate (by registered letter or hand delivery with signature required) informing the employer of the pregnancy, and ends 12 weeks after the birth. This protection is extended in the event of parental leave.

If a pregnant woman is dismissed before delivering the medical certificate of pregnancy, she may still retroactively benefit from the protection, by sending the certificate proving her pregnancy to her employer by registered letter within 8 days of receipt of the letter of dismissal.

Scope of protection for pregnant women

Pregnant women are protected against dismissal with notice – i.e. against a dismissal based solely on the employee's abilities or the company's operational needs.

On the other hand, pregnant women are not protected against dismissal with immediate effect – i.e. dismissal due to serious misconduct rendering continuation of the working relationship immediately and definitively impossible. However, in that case, the employer is required to follow specific procedures. The employer must immediately suspend the employee and ask the court for authorisation to dismiss her.

Procedure for nullifying a dismissal

A pregnant woman who is dismissed must request annulment of the dismissal within 15 days of the letter of dismissal being sent (not received).

Sending a medical certificate within 8 days following the dismissal does not reset the starting point for the limitation period, which still begins to run when the dismissal letter is sent.

In the event of an unfair dismissal or a dismissal that occurs during the period of protection, the dismissal will be declared null and the employee will remain with or be reinstated at the company.

Application for damages

Moreover, a pregnant woman may seek compensation for the harm suffered due to an unfair dismissal in the form of monetary damages within 3 months of the dismissal.

The pregnant woman may also pursue legal action to nullify the dismissal and/or claim damages.

Restoration of rights

If an employee was already pregnant at the time of her dismissal but was unaware of the pregnancy and allowed the 8-day period for delivering a certificate of pregnancy to elapse, she may ask the court to restore her rights – in other words to authorise her to pursue legal action to nullify the dismissal despite the expiry of the limitation period.

However, the courts retain the right to decide whether or not to grant that request.

Last update

Protection de la femme enceinte contre le licenciement

Les femmes qui attendent un enfant ou qui viennent d’accoucher sont soumises du point de vue du droit du travail à des dispositions particulières, en particulier en ce qui concerne la protection de la femme enceinte contre le licenciement. Ces dispositions font régulièrement l’objet de questions introduites au Centre de support du "Guichet".

La protection de la femme enceinte contre le licenciement commence avec la remise du certificat médical (par lettre recommandée ou remise en main propre contre signature) attestant la grossesse à l’employeur et s’étend jusqu’à 12 semaines après l’accouchement. Cette protection est prolongée en cas de congé parental.

En cas de licenciement avant la remise du certificat de grossesse, la femme enceinte peut toujours bénéficier rétroactivement de la protection en envoyant, dans un délai de 8 jours à compter de la réception de la lettre de licenciement, le certificat justifiant son état à l’employeur par lettre recommandée.

Etendue de la protection de la femme enceinte

La femme enceinte est protégée contre le licenciement avec préavis, c’est-à-dire le licenciement qui est fondé uniquement sur les aptitudes de la salariée ou sur les nécessités du fonctionnement de l’entreprise.

En revanche, la femme enceinte n’est pas protégée contre le licenciement avec effet immédiat, c’est-à-dire celui intervenu en raison d’une faute grave rendant immédiatement et définitivement impossible le maintien des relations de travail. Toutefois, dans ce cas, l’employeur est obligé de suivre une procédure particulière. Il doit mettre à pied immédiatement la salariée et demander au tribunal l’autorisation de licencier.

Procédure d'annulation du licenciement

La femme enceinte licenciée doit demander l’annulation du licenciement dans les 15 jours de l’envoi (et non de la réception) de la lettre de licenciement.

L’envoi du certificat médical dans les 8 jours qui suivent le licenciement ne change pas le point de départ du délai pour agir qui commence toujours à courir avec l’envoi de la lettre de licenciement.

En cas de licenciement irrégulier ou intervenu pendant la période de protection, le licenciement sera déclaré nul et la salariée sera maintenue ou réintégrée dans l’entreprise.

Demande de dommages-intérêts

En outre, la femme enceinte a la possibilité de demander la réparation de son préjudice en cas de licenciement abusif sous forme de dommages-intérêts, dans les 3 mois du licenciement.

La femme enceinte peut ainsi introduire une action en nullité et/ou une action en dommages et intérêts.

Relevé de déchéance

Lorsque la salariée était déjà enceinte au moment du licenciement mais qu’elle l’ignorait et qu’elle a laissé passer le délai de 8 jours pour fournir le certificat de grossesse, elle peut demander au juge le relevé de déchéance, c’est-à-dire l’autorisation d’intenter l’action en annulation malgré l’expiration du délai.

Les tribunaux se réservent cependant la décision de faire aboutir ou non une telle demande.

Dernière modification le