Change of employer: is there a non-compete clause?

Throughout the working relationship, employment contracts must be performed in good faith, both by the employer and by the employee.

At the end of the employment contract, employees regain their independence. Even after their contract has ended, and even in the absence of clauses of this type, employees must refrain from acts of disloyalty and unfair competition in respect of their former employer.

Is it possible to refuse to sign a non-complete clause?

Can employers require employees, once their employment contract has ended, not to engage in any form of competition (including by fair means)? Employees cannot be bound by this type of obligation. It is only by mutual agreement that employers and employees may specify in the employment contract that the employee is to be prohibited, for a period of time after leaving the company, from performing similar activities so as not to prejudice the interests of the former employer by operating as a sole proprietor.

What checks should be made before signing a non-compete clause?

At the time of signing, the non-compete clause must satisfy the following conditions for it to be valid:

  • the employee must be 18 years old or more when the agreement is signed;
  • the employee may be prohibited from competing with their former employer as a self-employed worker, but not as an employee of another company. In fact, employees are free to seek employment, and to highlight their previous professional experience, with other companies in the same sector;
  • the clause must relate to a specific professional sector and to activities similar to those of the employer;
  • the clause must be limited to a period of 12 months from the end of the employment contract;
  • it can cover, at most, the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg (the clause must be geographically restricted to localities where the employee can actually compete with the employer, considering the nature of the company and its reach).

What checks should be carried out after leaving the company?

An employee cannot be bound a the non-compete clause after they have left the company if:

  • their yearly salary or earnings at the time of leaving is less than EUR 50,298.38 (index 737.83); or
  • they are dismissed with immediate effect for serious misconduct and the dismissal with immediate effect has been declared unfair by the labour tribunal; or
  • they are dismissed with notice and the employer has failed to give the notice period required by the Luxembourg Labour Code.

To what extent can an employee be bound by an illegal non-compete clause?

An employee cannot be bound, in any way, by a non-compete clause under the following circumstances:

  • if the clause is constituted by an oral agreement; or
  • if the employee was a minor when the clause was signed; or
  • if the employee's annual earnings at the time of leaving is less than EUR 50,298.38 (index 737.83); or
  • if the employee has been dismissed with immediate effect for serious misconduct and the dismissal with immediate effect has been declared unfair by the labour tribunal; or
  • if the employee has been dismissed with notice and the employer has failed to give the notice period required by the Luxembourg Labour Code.

Under the following circumstances, the clause will not be deemed to be null and void in its entirety, but its effect will be reduced:

  • the ban on working as an employee for a competing company, and from competing with the employer as a self-employed worker, will be reduced to a ban on competing with the employer as a self-employed worker, since the non-compete clause must be limited to the area of entrepreneurship and may not prevent the employee from taking up a job with a new employer. Employees are, therefore, entitled to work for a competitor even if they are bound by a non-compete clause prohibiting them from working for another company in the same sector. In this case, the application of the illegal clause would be reduced and its effect would be limited solely to the activities for which the ban is authorised by law, namely, the operation of a sole proprietorship;
  • non-compete clauses that would prohibit employees from working in any sector in Luxembourg would be reduced to a specific professional sector and to activities similar to those carried out by the employer;
  • non-compete clauses that may extend beyond the territory of Luxembourg would be reduced to localities where employees could actually compete with their former employers and, at the most, to the territory of Luxembourg;
  • clauses that may require employees to refrain from competition for a period of more than 12 months would be reduced to a period of 12 months.
Last update

Changement d’employeur : y a-t-il des clauses de non-concurrence à respecter ?

Tout au long de la relation de travail, le contrat de travail doit être exécuté de bonne foi, tant par l’employeur que par le salarié.

A la fin du contrat de travail, le salarié retrouve son indépendance. Cependant, même après la fin de son contrat de travail, et même en l’absence de toute clause en ce sens, le salarié doit s’abstenir de tout acte de déloyauté et de toute concurrence déloyale à l’égard de son ancien employeur.

Est-il possible de refuser de signer une clause de non-concurrence?

L’employeur peut-il imposer au salarié, au-delà de la fin du contrat de travail, que celui-ci ne lui fasse pas du tout concurrence, en excluant même une concurrence par des moyens loyaux ? Le salarié ne peut se voir imposer une telle obligation. Ce n’est que par un commun accord que l’employeur et le salarié peuvent prévoir dans le contrat de travail qu’il sera interdit au salarié, pour le temps qui suivra son départ de l’entreprise, d’exercer des activités similaires afin de ne pas porter atteinte aux intérêts de l’ancien employeur en exploitant une entreprise individuelle.

Quels éléments vérifier lors de la signature de la clause de non-concurrence?

Au moment de sa signature, la clause de non-concurrence doit respecter les conditions suivantes pour être valable :

  • le salarié doit être majeur au moment de la signature de la convention ;
  • il peut être interdit au salarié de faire concurrence à son ancien employeur en tant qu’indépendant, mais non en tant que salarié d’une autre entreprise. En effet, le salarié reste libre de chercher un emploi et de faire valoir son expérience professionnelle auprès d’une autre entreprise du même secteur ;
  • la clause doit se rapporter à un secteur professionnel déterminé et à des activités similaires à celles de l’employeur ;
  • la clause doit être limitée à une période de 12 mois qui suit la fin du contrat de travail ;
  • elle ne peut concerner au maximum que le territoire du Grand-duché du Luxembourg (la clause doit être limitée géographiquement aux localités où le salarié peut faire une concurrence réelle à l’employeur en considérant la nature de l’entreprise et son rayon d’action).

Quels éléments vérifier après le départ de l’entreprise?

Après le départ du salarié, la clause de non-concurrence ne pourra pas lui être imposée :

  • si son salaire ou son traitement annuel versé au moment de son départ de l’entreprise est inférieur à 50.298,38 euros (indice 737,83) ; ou
  • s’il est licencié avec effet immédiat pour faute grave et que le licenciement avec effet immédiat a été déclaré abusif par le tribunal du travail ; ou
  • s’il est licencié avec préavis et que l’employeur n’a pas respecté le délai de préavis prévu par le Code du travail.

Dans quelle mesure le salarié peut-il rester lié par une clause illicite de non-concurrence?

Le salarié n’est aucunement lié par une clause de non-concurrence dans les cas suivants :

  • en présence d’une clause orale ; ou
  • lorsqu'il était mineur au moment de la signature de la clause ; ou
  • le traitement annuel du salarié versé au moment de son départ de l’entreprise est inférieur à 50.298,38 euros (indice 737,83) ; ou
  • s'il a été licencié avec effet immédiat pour faute grave et que le licenciement a été déclaré abusif par le tribunal du travail ; ou
  • s'il est licencié avec préavis, sans que l’employeur ne respecte le délai de préavis prévu par le Code du travail.

Dans les cas suivants, la clause ne sera pas considérée comme nulle dans son intégralité, mais son effet sera réduit :

  • l’interdiction de travailler en tant que salarié pour une entreprise concurrente et de faire concurrence à l’employeur en tant qu’indépendant sera réduite à l’interdiction de faire concurrence à l’employeur en tant qu’indépendant, une clause de non-concurrence devant se limiter au domaine de l’entreprenariat, et ne pouvant interdire au salarié de reprendre un emploi salarié auprès d’un nouvel employeur. Ainsi, le salarié est en droit de travailler auprès d’une entreprise concurrente, même s’il est lié par une clause de non-concurrence qui lui interdit de travailler pour une autre entreprise dans le même secteur. Dans ce cas, l’application de la clause illégale serait réduite et son effet serait limité aux seules activités dont l’interdiction est autorisée par la loi, à savoir l’exploitation d’une entreprise personnelle ;
  • la clause de non-concurrence qui interdirait au salarié de travailler dans tout secteur au Luxembourg serait réduite à un secteur professionnel déterminé et à des activités similaires à celles exercées par l'employeur ;
  • la clause de non-concurrence qui s’étendrait au-delà du territoire luxembourgeois serait réduite aux localités où le salarié pourrait faire une concurrence réelle à son ancien employeur, et au maximum au territoire luxembourgeois ;
  • la clause qui imposerait une obligation de non-concurrence au salarié pendant une période de plus de 12 mois serait réduite à une durée de 12 mois.
Dernière modification le