Application for severely disabled allowance

Update in progress

A person may request an allowance for the severely disabled when they have a severe disability and are not able to find professional employment suitable for their particular needs, or are unable to carry out any professional activity owing to the severity of their disability.

Who is concerned

The following may be entitled to severely disabled allowance:

  • a worker recognised as disabled by the Medical Commission (Commission médicale – CM), as a result of a capacity for work reduced by at least 30 % (due to a physical, mental, sensory or psychological deficiency), and deemed able to work but who, for reasons beyond their control, do not have access to salaried employment;
  • persons suffering from capacity for work reduced by at least 30 % and deemed unable to work by the CM.

Prerequisites

To benefit from severely disabled allowance, several conditions must be met. The worker must:

  • be at least 18 years old;
  • exhibit at least a 30 % reduction in capacity for work because of a physical, mental, sensory or psychological deficiency; and/or because of psychosocial difficulties aggravating the deficiency (diagnosed before the age of 65);
  • be completely unable to work due to their state of health;
  • be resident in Luxembourg;
  • be recognised as a disabled worker;
  • not have access to salaried employment for reasons beyond their control;
  • have income lower than the severely disabled allowance.

How to proceed

Application procedures

With the Medical Commission

The concerned party must contact the Secretary of the Medical Commission of the National Employment Agency (Agence pour le développement de l’emploi – ADEM) to obtain the corresponding form and for information on procedures for applying for severely disabled allowance.

The form delivered by the CM must be duly completed and returned with the supporting documentation, such as:

  • A birth certificate or equivalent document establishing the applicant's age;
  • a recent medical report by the primary care doctor as well as a detailed medical report from the ADEM's occupational health practitioner, stating the causes and the degree of reduction of the incapacity for work;
  • a certificate of nationality or equivalent;
  • Documents certifying the status of legal representative if the applicant needs representation in their legal actions.

To make a ruling on the applicant's case, the CM will take account of the reduction in the capacity for work and the state of health of the concerned party.

Where the aforementioned medical conditions are met, the CM will inform the concerned party by registered letter and will send their file to the National Solidarity Fund (Fonds national de solidarité - FNS), which will make a final decision on whether or not the concerned party is entitled to severely disabled allowance.

National Solidarity Fund

The aim of the National Solidarity Fund is:

  • to ensure that applicant's age and residency are compliant;
  • to inform the applicant of the final decision by certified letter within one month;
  • to handle the payment and, if necessary, the refunding of severely disabled allowance.

When the file has been accepted, the severely disabled allowance will be paid to the beneficiary from the time the application is signed and accompanied by the required supporting documentation (the Secretary of the National Solidarity Fund will acknowledge receipt).

A disabled worker who does not have access to salaried employment – severely disabled allowance

A special form is available on request from the Medical Commission of the ADEM.

Payment of the severely disabled allowance

The gross amount of the severely disabled allowance, paid by the FNS, is equivalent to the guaranteed minimum income (revenu minimum garanti – RMG). Premiums for health insurance and long-term care insurance are deducted from this amount.

Provisions against accumulation of this allowance with earned income or replacement benefits from social security also apply:

  • if the concerned party's income is less than the severely disabled allowance, the difference will be repaid to them by the National Solidarity Fund in the form of a compensatory benefit (adapted to the consumer price index and subject to the same social deductions as the severely disabled allowance);
  • If the severely disabled person receives disability benefits, such benefits will be taken into consideration in calculating the severely disabled allowance (there is a 30 % exemption, which may be re-evaluated if the beneficiary's final income is less than the severely disabled allowance).

Revision of decision to grant the severely disabled allowance

Beneficiaries of the severely disabled allowance must immediately declare to the FNS any change in their situation that could affect their right to this benefit.

The FNS will regularly assess whether the conditions for granting the allowance continue to be met. If that is not the case, the entitlement to the allowance will be withdrawn.

If the elements used to calculate the allowance amount have changed or it has been granted in error, the allowance may be increased, reduced or discontinued.

Repayment of severely disabled allowance

In the event of the beneficiary's death

In the event of the beneficiary's death, the FNS can, in some cases, demand repayment of the severely disabled allowance from the beneficiary's heirs, up to a maximum equalling the whole of the inherited estate.

In the case of an error benefiting the claimant

When a beneficiary had additional resources at their disposal, beyond what they would normally have been eligible to receive, the excess amounts paid may be recovered at the expense of the beneficiary or their successors.

In the case of an error on the part of the beneficiary

The allowance must be repaid if the beneficiary provided inaccurate information in order to receive it. Amounts unduly paid must be refunded by the beneficiary or their agents, otherwise legal action may result. Such amounts may be deducted from the allowance or from remaining arrears due to the beneficiary.

The FNS can only make a decision concerning the refund after hearing from the concerned party or their agents, either orally or in writing. In all cases, due reasons must be given for that decision.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Double click to activate the map
Last update

Demander le revenu pour personne gravement handicapée

En cours de mise à jour

Cet article a plus de cinq ans

Une personne peut demander l’obtention du revenu pour personne gravement handicapée lorsqu’elle est atteinte d’un handicap important et ne parvient pas à trouver une occupation professionnelle correspondant à ses besoins particuliers ou se voit dans l’impossibilité d’exercer une quelconque activité du fait de la gravité de ses déficiences.

Personnes concernées

Peuvent avoir droit au revenu pour personne gravement handicapée :

  • le travailleur reconnu comme handicapé par la Commission médicale (CM), car souffrant d’une diminution de capacité de travail d’au moins 30 % (par suite d’une déficience physique, mentale, sensorielle ou psychique), et jugé apte au travail, mais qui, pour des raisons indépendantes de sa volonté, n’a pas accès à un emploi salarié ;
  • les personnes souffrant d’une diminution de capacité de travail d’au moins 30 % et jugées inaptes au travail par la CM.

Conditions préalables

Pour bénéficier du revenu pour personne gravement handicapée, il faut respecter certaines conditions :

  • être âgé de 18 ans au moins ;
  • présenter une diminution de capacité de travail d’au moins 30 % par suite d’une déficience physique, mentale, sensorielle ou psychique et / ou en raison de difficultés psychosociales aggravant la déficience (constatée avant l’âge de 65 ans) ;
  • présenter un état de santé incompatible avec tout effort de travail ;
  • résider sur le territoire luxembourgeois ;
  • être reconnu comme travailleur handicapé ;
  • ne pas avoir accès à un emploi salarié pour des raisons indépendantes de sa volonté ;
  • avoir un revenu inférieur au revenu pour personne gravement handicapée.

Modalités pratiques

Modalités de la procédure de demande

Auprès de la Commission médicale

L’intéressé doit contacter le secrétariat de la Commission médicale (CM) de l’Agence pour le développement de l’emploi (ADEM) afin de recevoir le formulaire correspondant et de s’informer sur les formalités en vue de l’obtention du revenu pour personne gravement handicapée.

Le formulaire délivré par la CM doit être dûment rempli et renvoyé avec les pièces justificatives, telles que :

  • un certificat de naissance ou une attestation équivalente établissant l’âge du demandeur ;
  • un rapport médical récent établi par le médecin traitant ainsi qu’un bilan médical détaillé du médecin du travail de l’ADEM, indiquant les causes et le taux de la diminution de l’incapacité de travail ;
  • un certificat de nationalité ou une attestation équivalente ;
  • des documents attestant de la qualité de représentant légal si le demandeur a besoin d’être représenté dans ses actes.

Pour statuer sur le cas du demandeur, la CM tient compte de la diminution de la capacité de travail et de l’état de santé de celui-ci.

Dans le cas où les conditions médicales (mentionnées plus haut) sont remplies, la CM informe l’intéressé par lettre recommandée et transmet son dossier au Fonds national de solidarité qui décidera en dernier lieu s’il a droit ou non au revenu pour personne gravement handicapée.

Auprès du Fonds national de solidarité

Le Fonds national de solidarité a pour mission :

  • de vérifier que les critères d’âge et de résidence du demandeur sont bien respectés ;
  • d’informer le demandeur de la décision finale dans un délai d’un mois par lettre recommandée ;
  • de s'occuper du versement et le cas échéant de la restitution du revenu pour personne gravement handicapée.

Lorsque le dossier est accepté, le revenu pour personne gravement handicapée est versé au bénéficiaire à partir du moment où la demande est signée et accompagnée des pièces justificatives requises (le secrétariat du Fonds national de solidarité en accuse réception).

Travailleur handicapé qui n'a pas accès à un emploi salarié - revenu pour personne gravement handicapée

Un formulaire spécial est disponible sur demande à la Commission médicale de l’ADEM.

Paiement du revenu pour personne gravement handicapée

Le montant brut du revenu pour personne gravement handicapée, versé par le Fonds national de Solidarité (FNS), correspond au montant du revenu minimum garanti (RMG). Les cotisations pour l’assurance maladie et l’assurance dépendance sont déduites de ce montant.

Des dispositions anti-cumul avec des revenus professionnels ou des prestations de remplacement de la sécurité sociale sont également applicables :

  • si les revenus de l’intéressé sont inférieurs au revenu pour personne gravement handicapée, la différence lui sera versée par le FNS sous forme d’une indemnité compensatoire (adaptée à l’indice des prix à la consommation et soumise aux mêmes charges sociales que le revenu pour personne gravement handicapée) ;
  • si la personne gravement handicapée bénéficie d’une pension d’invalidité, celle-ci sera prise en compte dans le calcul du revenu pour personnes gravement handicapées (franchise de 30 % qui peut être réévaluée si le revenu final du bénéficiaire est inférieur au revenu pour personnes gravement handicapées).

Révision de la décision d’attribution du revenu pour personne gravement handicapée

Les bénéficiaires du revenu pour personne gravement handicapée sont tenus de déclarer immédiatement au FNS tous changements dans leur situation pouvant modifier leur droit à cette prestation.

De son côté, le FNS examine régulièrement si les conditions d’octroi sont toujours remplies. Si ce n’est plus le cas, le droit au revenu est supprimé.

Si les éléments de calcul du revenu ont été modifiés ou s’il a été accordé par erreur, le revenu peut être tour à tour relevé, réduit ou supprimé.

Remboursement du revenu pour personne gravement handicapée

En cas de décès du bénéficiaire

En cas de décès du bénéficiaire, le FNS peut, dans certains cas, réclamer à sa succession le remboursement du revenu pour personne gravement handicapée, dont le plafond maximum peut atteindre la totalité de l’actif successoral.

En cas d’erreur en faveur du bénéficiaire

Lorsqu’un bénéficiaire a disposé de ressources supplémentaires à ce qu’il aurait dû normalement percevoir, les sommes payées en trop peuvent être récupérées à charge du bénéficiaire ou de ses ayant droit.

En cas d’erreur imputable au bénéficiaire

Le remboursement du revenu est obligatoire si le bénéficiaire a fourni des informations inexactes pour en bénéficier. Les sommes indûment touchées sont à restituer par le bénéficiaire ou ses ayants droit, sans faire l’objet de poursuites judiciaires éventuelles. Elles peuvent être déduites du revenu ou des arriérés restant dus au bénéficiaire.

Le FNS ne peut prendre de décision concernant la restitution qu’après avoir entendu l’intéressé ou ses ayants droit soit verbalement, soit par écrit. Dans tous les cas, cette décision doit être dûment motivée.

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le