Benefiting from a collective agreement

Last updated more than 5 years ago

A collective agreement is a contract which pertains to working conditions and relations. It establishes a legal framework which uniformly applies to employees in a specific business sector.

Any collective agreement which is applicable to the business must be mentioned in employees' employment contracts.

Furthermore, the employment contract cannot contain provisions that are less favourable to the employee than those in the collective agreement.

Who is concerned

This concerns employees with private-law status (formerly 'employees' and 'private workers'/'communal workers') whose employers have signed a collective agreement or are members of a professional employer organisation who have signed a collective agreement.

Accordingly, this excludes employees who have a different specific status, such as civil servants and government employees, apprentices and students/pupils working during school holidays.

How to proceed

Entering a collective agreement

A collective agreement may be entered by and between one or more trade union organisations which meet the legal conditions, and:

  • one or more professional employer organisations;
  • a specific business;
  • a group or set of businesses whose production, activity or profession are of the same nature;
  • a group or set of businesses which constitute an economic and social unit, if the parties entitled to sign a collective agreement decide to do so. An economic and social unit is defined as a set of entities with one or more elements which qualify them as not being independent and/or autonomous units, but rather having a concentration of managerial powers and identical or complementary activities, or a community of employees linked by identical, similar or complementary interests, and who have comparable social status. The existence of entities with distinct legal personalities or the existence of a franchise does not prevent them from being qualified as an economic and social unit.

The provisions of the collective agreement thus apply both to an employer having negotiated with a trade union and to an employer who is a member of a professional employer organisation which has negotiated with such a trade union.

Mandatory declaration of a collective agreement

Any collective agreement which conforms to the legal provisions may be declared mandatory. Thus, a simple collective agreement becomes compulsory for all employers and employees in the profession, activity, line or economic sector in question.

This mandatory declaration procedure is triggered upon request from a professional employer organisation in the sector concerned, or from a trade union with general national representation, or representation in a sector that is particularly important to the Luxembourg economy, which must then send the request to the Minister of Labour. The mandatory declaration is made in the form of a grand-ducal regulation published in the Official Journal (Mémorial).

Application of a collective agreement

By establishing a unique scheme for private/communal workers and private employees (salariés), the principle of uniqueness of the collective agreement (convention collective de travail – CCT) remains in effect; in other words, there is one CCT per business or per sector.

However, when the unique status was written into Luxembourg legislation, the intention was not for workers hitherto not covered by a collective agreement to automatically be included in the scope of such an agreement. Therefore, a transitional period was planned from 1 January 2009, when the act on unique status took effect, to 31 December 2013, during which it would still be possible for employees and workers to enter distinct collective agreements.

Consequently, social partners may decide to enter one collective agreement for workers and another for employees, or not to enter a collective agreement for either of the two categories of staff. Therefore, automatic inclusion of all employees who are not yet covered by a collective agreement is precluded.

All CCTs entered before 1 January 2009 remain in effect and unchanged.

If there is any issue about application of the CCT and its conditions, employees may contact the staff delegate for their business.

Provisions relating to the collective agreement

As of 1 January 2014, communal businesses and employers may only enter a single collective agreement for all of their employees.

However, the principle of the uniqueness of the collective agreement was relaxed by the act on unique status.

Thus, it is now possible, where there are objective reasons, for social partners to exclude management and support duties that are not directly linked to the business'/sector's main activity from certain provisions contained in the collective agreement, or to set out different conditions.

The provisions of the collective agreements for which it is possible to exclude management and support duties as indicated above, or to create exceptions, are as follows:

  • the terms of hiring and firing employees, including the appropriate measures for welcoming and preparing them for the tasks they will perform;
  • the duration of work and its organisation, overtime, and daily and weekly rest periods;
  • public holidays;
  • the applicable leave arrangement, including annual leave in particular;
  • the remuneration system, as well as the components of salary by professional job category;
  • additional pay for night work;
  • premiums for difficult, dangerous and unsanitary work;

The aim here is to enable social partners to better take account of the peculiarities of certain sectors, businesses and roles within businesses.

Last update

Bénéficier de l'application de la convention collective

Cet article a plus de cinq ans

Une convention collective est un contrat relatif aux relations et aux conditions de travail. Elle permet de déterminer un cadre juridique qui s'applique de manière uniforme aux salariés du secteur d'activité visé.

L’existence d’une convention collective applicable à l’entreprise doit être mentionnée dans le contrat de travail des salariés.

De plus, le contrat de travail ne peut contenir de dispositions plus défavorables au salarié que celles contenues dans la convention collective.

Personnes concernées

Sont concernés les salariés ayant un statut de droit privé (anciennement "employés" et "ouvriers privés" / "ouvriers communaux") dont l’employeur a signé une convention collective ou est membre d’une organisation professionnelle d’employeurs ayant signé une convention collective.

De ce fait, sont exclus les salariés ayant un statut particulier autre, tels les fonctionnaires et employés d’Etat, les fonctionnaires et employés communaux, les apprentis ainsi que les élèves et étudiants qui travaillent pendant les vacances scolaires.

Modalités pratiques

Conclusion d’une convention collective

Une convention collective peut être conclue entre une ou plusieurs organisations syndicales de salariés remplissant les conditions légales, et :

  • une ou plusieurs organisations professionnelles d'employeurs ;
  • une entreprise particulière ;
  • un groupe d'entreprises ou un ensemble d’entreprises dont la production, l'activité ou la profession sont de la même nature ;
  • un groupe d’entreprises ou un ensemble d’entreprises qui constituent une unité économique et sociale et si les parties ayant le droit de contracter une convention collective le décident. Une unité économique et sociale est définie comme un ensemble d’entités qui présentent un ou plusieurs éléments permettant de conclure qu’il ne s’agit pas d’unités indépendantes et/ou autonomes, mais qu'elles révèlent une concentration des pouvoirs de direction et des activités identiques et complémentaires, respectivement une communauté de salariés liés par des intérêts identiques, semblables ou complémentaires, avec un statut social comparable. L’existence d’entités ayant des personnalités juridiques distinctes ou l’existence d’une franchise ne s’oppose pas à la qualification d’unité économique et sociale.

Les dispositions de la convention collective s’appliquent donc tant à l’employeur qui a lui-même négocié avec une organisation syndicale qu’à l’employeur membre d’une organisation professionnelle patronale qui a elle-même négocié avec une organisation syndicale.

Déclaration d’obligation générale de la convention collective

Toute convention collective conforme aux dispositions légales peut être déclarée d’obligation générale. Par cette procédure, une simple convention collective devient contraignante pour l’ensemble des employeurs et des salariés de la profession, de l’activité, de la branche ou du secteur économique concernés.

Cette procédure de déclaration d’obligation générale est enclenchée à la demande d’une organisation professionnelle des employeurs du secteur concerné ou d’un syndicat bénéficiant de la représentativité nationale générale ou de la représentativité dans un secteur particulièrement important de l’économie luxembourgeoise, qui doit alors adresser sa demande au ministre du travail. La déclaration d'obligation générale se fait dans la forme d'un règlement grand-ducal publié au Mémorial.

Application de la convention collective

Avec l’instauration d’un régime unique pour les ouvriers privés / communaux et employés privés (sous la dénomination de "salarié"), le principe de l’unicité de la convention collective de travail (CCT) reste en vigueur, c’est-à-dire une CCT par entreprise ou par secteur.

Cependant, le législateur luxembourgeois n’a pas souhaité qu’en raison de l’introduction du statut unique, les salariés non couverts jusqu’à présent par une CCT soient inclus d’office dans le champ d’application de ces dernières. Ainsi, il a été prévu une période transitoire allant du 1er janvier 2009, date d’entrée en vigueur de la loi sur le statut unique, au 31 décembre 2013, durant laquelle il est encore possible de conclure des conventions collectives distinctes pour les employés et les ouvriers.

Dès lors, les partenaires sociaux peuvent décider de conclure une convention collective pour le personnel ouvrier et une convention pour le personnel employé, ou de ne pas conclure de convention collective pour l’une des 2 catégories de personnel. De ce fait, une inclusion d’office de tous les salariés qui ne sont pas encore couverts par une convention collective est exclue.

Toutes les CCT conclues avant le 1er janvier 2009 restent en vigueur de manière inchangée.

En cas de question sur l’application de la CCT et ses conditions, le salarié peut s’adresser au délégué du personnel de son entreprise.

Dispositions relatives à la convention collective

A partir du 1er janvier 2014, les entreprises et employeurs communaux ne pourront conclure qu’une seule convention collective pour l’ensemble de leurs salariés.

Toutefois, le principe d’unicité de la convention collective a été assoupli par la loi sur le statut unique.

Ainsi, il est désormais possible aux partenaires sociaux, et ce pour des raisons objectives, d’exclure les fonctions d’encadrement et de support non directement liées à l’exécution de l’activité principale de l’entreprise ou du secteur de certaines dispositions contenues dans la convention collective ou de prévoir des conditions divergentes.

Les dispositions des conventions collectives pour lesquelles il est possible d’exclure les fonctions d’encadrement et de support telles qu’énoncées ci-dessus ou de déroger sont les suivantes :

  • les conditions d’embauchage et de congédiement des salariés, y compris les mesures appropriées d’accueil et de préparation aux tâches à exécuter ;
  • la durée de travail et son aménagement, le travail supplémentaire et les repos journaliers et hebdomadaires ;
  • les jours fériés ;
  • le régime des congés applicables, dont, notamment, le congé annuel ;
  • le système des rémunérations ainsi que les éléments de salaire par catégories professionnelles ;
  • les majorations pour travail de nuit ;
  • les majorations de salaire pour travaux pénibles, dangereux et insalubres.

Il s’agit ici de permettre aux partenaires sociaux de mieux tenir compte des spécificités de certains secteurs, de certaines entreprises et de certaines fonctions dans les entreprises.

Dernière modification le