Resolving a dispute between a tenant and landlord on the setting of rent and/or additional rental expenses

On occasion, disagreement may arise between the landlord and the tenant on the setting of rent and/or additional rental expenses. In most cases, the two parties are able to come to an amicable arrangement.

However, when the parties are unable to reach an agreement, the landlord may decide to lodge an application to increase the rent with the Rent Committee of their commune. The tenant, for their part, may apply to the same Committee to reduce the rent.

Considered as conciliation bodies, the Rent Committees set up at the communal administration offices are a useful tool in amicable conflict resolution. Indeed, they are highly useful in practical terms, because many disputes conclude with an agreement, rather than having to be pursued through the courts.

Who is concerned

This procedure is applies to all tenants or landlords of residential property. The following types of properties are excluded:

  • those subject to commercial lease agreements;
  • those subject to administrative lease agreements;
  • those subject to industrial lease agreements;
  • rental agreements for artisanal use or for the exercise of a freelance/liberal profession.

The following property types are also excluded:

  • secondary residences;
  • premises that are not attached to a housing unit (such as a garage not attached to a house);
  • hotel rooms;
  • shelters for temporary accommodation of foreigners for the purpose of their reception and integration in Luxembourg;
  • furnished or unfurnished dwellings in special accommodation facilities (old people's homes, integrated centres for the elderly, geriatric centres, centres for the disabled, etc.);
  • furnished or unfurnished dwellings made available to natural persons as part of a social assistance programme implemented by a commune, an association of communes, a non-profit association or a foundation involved in the field of housing.

Prerequisites

Before being able to apply to the Rent Committee, though, the claimant (be it the landlord or the tenant) must first notify the other party of their intention to do so, in writing—it is advisable to send the notification by registered letter—, failing which the application will not be accepted.

This notification is considered to be an attempt to reach agreement prior to taking the case to the Rent Committee.

If no agreement has been reached within a month of that notice being served, then the claimant can send a request to the board of the mayor and aldermen of the commune where the building in question is located. That board of the mayor and aldermen will then forward the application to the appropriate Rent Committee.

How to proceed

Conditions and procedure

The Rent Committee can only hear disputes relating to the setting of rent and additional rental expenses.

Applications to the Rent Committee to increase or decrease rent submitted during the first 6 months of the lease will not be accepted. (In calculating that period, it is not the date of signing of the lease which is taken into account, but the first 6 months of the rental relationship). Thus, a tenant having accepted a certain level of rent at the time of signing the lease cannot, immediately after signing that lease, apply to the Rent Committee for a reduction of the rent.

Although the procedure with the Rent Committee is not a a judicial procedure, but rather a procedure to seek conciliation between the parties, there are a minimal number of rules which must be observed:

1) After the claimant has sent the request to the board of the mayor and aldermen of the commune where the building is located, the tenant and landlord are summoned to appear before the Rent Committee, by registered letter with acknowledgement of receipt, containing:

  • the date, time and place to appear before the Rent Committee;
  • a copy of the claimant's original request.

The parties must appear in person or be represented by proxy—a person with the authority to act with power of attorney on behalf of the other, such as a lawyer—before the Rent Committee, at the time and date indicated in the summons, and will present their testimony.

2) The Rent Committee may visit to the rented property. It may bring in an expert/consultant to clarify one or other of the issues raised before the Rent Committee. The fees incurred by such an expert assessment are not borne by the Committee, but by the parties, depending on the outcome of the matter. The claimant, however, must advance these fees.

3) Following the submission of a dispute to the Rent Committee, several scenarios are possible:

  • in case of conciliation, the Committee's written report setting out the conditions of the arrangement must be signed by the parties (or their representatives) and by the chairman of the Committee;
  • in case of non-conciliation or failure to appear by one of the parties, the Committee will determine the rent falling due and/or the advances on fees;
  • when the parties have asked the Rent Committee to arbitrate, the decision will be binding on the parties and come into effect immediately.

4) The Committee is required to hand down its decision within 3 months of the date of submission of the application. Decisions by the Rent Committee do not have the status of judicial decisions. Therefore, they cannot acquire the status of res judicata. These decisions are only mandatory because of the express or tacit acceptance of the outcome by the parties.

Appeal against the Rent Committee's decision

If dissatisfied with the Rent Committee's decision, either one of the parties may, within a month, file an appeal with the Justice of the Peace (juge de paix), depending on the location of the building. That 1-month period begins when the decision is notified to the parties by registered letter.

If one of the parties (for example, the landlord) has not taken action against the decision within a month of notification of the Committee's written report, they are deemed to have accepted it (including any of the fees they are instructed to pay). Later, in sub-judice, in the context of an appeal filed against the Rent Committee's decision by the tenant, the landlord cannot decide to increase or alter the rent. Thus, if no appeal has been filed against the decision within the prescribed 1-month period, the Rent Committee's decision is considered to have been accepted fully by the parties.

The decision to set the rent passed by the Rent Committee (or by the Justice of the Peace) may take effect retroactively from the date of the first rent falling due after the date on which the board of the mayor and aldermen received the request to raise or lower the rent.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map

Régler un litige entre locataire et propriétaire sur la fixation du loyer et / ou des charges locatives

Parfois, il existe un désaccord entre le bailleur et le locataire sur la fixation du loyer et/ou des charges locatives. Dans la plupart des cas, le bailleur et le locataire trouvent un arrangement à l’amiable.

Cependant, dans les cas où les parties ne parviennent pas à trouver un accord, le bailleur peut décider d’introduire une demande en augmentation du loyer devant la Commission des loyers de sa commune. Le locataire peut, de son côté, demander à cette même Commission une réduction du loyer.

Considérées comme instances de conciliation, les Commissions des loyers instituées auprès des administrations communales constituent un instrument utile de règlement à l’amiable des conflits. En effet, elles sont d'une grande utilité pratique car beaucoup de litiges se terminent par des arrangements, au lieu de faire l’objet d’un procès en justice.

Personnes concernées

Cette procédure concerne tout locataire ou propriétaire d’un bien immobilier à usage d’habitation. Sont exclus les biens suivant soumis :

  • au bail à usage commercial ;
  • au bail à usage administratif ;
  • au bail à usage industriel ;
  • au bail à usage artisanal ou affecté à l'exercice d'une profession libérale.

Sont également exclus :

  • les résidences secondaires ;
  • les locaux ne formant pas l'accessoire d'un logement (garage indépendant d'un logement) ;
  • les chambres d'hôtel ;
  • les structures d'hébergement réservées au logement provisoire d'étrangers concernant l'accueil et l'intégration des étrangers au Grand-Duché ;
  • les logements meublés ou non-meublés dans des structures d'hébergement spéciales (maisons de retraite, centres intégrés pour personnes âgées, centres de gériatrie, centres pour personnes handicapées etc.) ;
  • les logements meublés ou non-meublés mis à disposition de personnes physiques à titre d'aide sociale par une commune, un syndicat de commune, une association sans but lucratif ou une fondation œuvrant dans le domaine du logement.

Conditions préalables

Avant de pouvoir adresser une requête à la Commission des loyers, il faut cependant que le réclamant (bailleur ou locataire) notifie d’abord son intention à l’autre partie par écrit (il est recommandé de faire la notification par lettre recommandée), sous peine d’irrecevabilité de la demande devant la Commission des loyers.

Cette notification est considérée comme tentative d’arrangement préalable à la convocation de la Commission des loyers.

Si aucun accord n’a pu être trouvé dans un délai d'un mois après cette notification, alors le réclamant pourra adresser une requête au collège des bourgmestre et échevins de la commune où se trouve l’immeuble loué faisant l’objet du litige. Ce collège des bourgmestres et échevins transmettra alors la demande à la Commission des loyers compétente.

Modalités pratiques

Conditions et déroulement de la procédure

La commission des loyers ne peut connaître que des litiges relatifs à la fixation du loyer et des charges locatives.

Toute demande en augmentation ou en diminution de loyer devant la commission des loyers est irrecevable pendant les 6 premiers mois du bail (pour le calcul de cette période, ce n’est pas la date de signature du contrat de bail qui est prise en compte, mais les 6 premiers mois de la relation locative). Dès lors, un locataire ayant accepté lors de la conclusion du bail un certain montant du loyer ne peut pas immédiatement après la signature du contrat de bail intenter une action en diminution du loyer devant la Commission des loyers.

Même si la procédure devant la Commission des loyers n’est pas une procédure judiciaire, mais une procédure en recherche d’une conciliation entre les parties, elle doit néanmoins respecter un minimum de règles :

1) Après que le réclamant ait adressé sa requête au collège des bourgmestre et échevins de la commune du lieu de situation de l'immeuble, le locataire et le bailleur sont convoqués par la Commission des loyers par lettre recommandée avec accusé de réception, contenant :

  • le jour, l’heure et le lieu pour se présenter devant la Commission des loyers ;
  • une copie de la requête introductive du réclamant.

Les parties comparaîtront en personne ou par fondé de pouvoir (personne ayant le pouvoir d'agir par procuration pour l’autre, par exemple un avocat) devant la Commission des loyers aux jour et heure indiqués dans la convocation et présenteront leurs observations.

2) La Commission des loyers peut procéder à une visite des lieux loués. Elle peut charger un expert / consultant d'éclaircir l’une ou l’autre des questions soulevées devant la Commission des loyers. Les frais engendrés par une expertise ne sont pas à charge de la Commission, mais à charge des parties selon l’issue de l’affaire. La partie requérante doit cependant faire l’avance des frais.

3) Suite à la saisine de la Commission des loyers, plusieurs options peuvent se présenter :

  • en cas de conciliation, le procès-verbal de la Commission contenant les conditions de l’arrangement doit être signé par les parties (ou leurs fondés de pouvoir) et par le président de la Commission ;
  • en cas de non-conciliation ou de non-comparution de l’une des parties, la Commission déterminera le loyer dû et/ou les avances sur charges ;
  • lorsque les parties ont chargé la Commission des loyers d’une mission d’arbitrage, la décision s’imposera aux parties et sera susceptible d’exécution directe.

4) La Commission est tenue de rendre sa décision dans un délai de 3 mois à partir du jour de la transmission de la demande. Les décisions de la Commission des loyers n’ont pas le caractère d’une décision judiciaire. Par conséquent, elles ne peuvent acquérir l’autorité de chose jugée. Ces décisions ne tirent leur force obligatoire que de l’acceptation expresse ou tacite qui en est faite par les parties.

Recours contre la décision de la Commission des loyers

Contre la décision de la Commission des loyers, chacune des parties peut introduire dans un délai d'un mois un recours devant le juge de paix, en fonction du lieu de situation de l'immeuble. Ce délai commence à courir à partir de la notification de la décision aux parties par lettre recommandée.

Si une des parties (par exemple le bailleur) n’a pas introduit d’action contre cette décision dans le mois de la notification du procès-verbal de la Commission, elle est censée l’avoir acceptée (y compris les frais éventuels à sa charge). Ultérieurement en cours d’instance, dans le cadre d’un recours introduit contre la décision de la Commission des loyers par le locataire, elle ne pourra pas conclure à l’augmentation ou la modification du loyer. L’absence de recours contre la décision dans le délai prescrit d’un mois fait donc présumer de manière catégorique l’acceptation de la décision de la Commission des loyers par les parties.

La décision de fixation du loyer par la Commission des loyers (ou par le juge de paix) peut produire ses effets rétroactivement à partir du premier terme de loyer venant à échoir après la date à laquelle le collège des bourgmestres et échevins a été saisi de la requête en diminution ou en augmentation du loyer.

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte