Requesting support at school for basic education

Update in progress

In addition to the identical basic education provided to all pupils between the ages of 4 and 12, specific scholastic support is available in school for children with special needs:

  • educational support during or after school hours for students with learning difficulties;

  • supervised study (or help with homework), provided by some communes after school hours, at which attendance is optional;

  • reception training and classes for foreign and new children arriving in Luxembourg during the school year. In the reception classes, the choice of the languages to teach as well as the follow-up on the languages are decided in accordance with the age of the child and its language skills, the languages known by the parents and the closeness of the child's mother tongue with the first foreign language taught in class.

Who is concerned

Children from 4 to 12 years of age with difficulties in keeping up with the normal pace in class can obtain support in the form of homework help or integration in a special education or support class.

How to proceed

Educational support and differentiation

Primary basic education requires cooperation among teachers at the same level, so that they can adapt their teaching to their pupils' needs.

This is known as 'differentiation'. For example, additional help, called educational support, may be provided to pupils experiencing difficulties: it may be provided individually by the teacher or to a group of pupils having similar difficulties, during or after school hours.

Supervised study (homework help)

A supervised study or homework help service is offered as an option by some communes under the responsibility of the class teacher (the hours may vary from school to school). The homework help service takes place after school hours.

Registration forms with all the practical information are distributed by the class teacher at the beginning of the school year. The form must be signed by a parent or legal guardian and returned to the class teacher (either in person or by post), generally before the end of September. Registration is valid for the entire year.

Depending on the commune, this scholastic support service may be charged.

Reception courses and classes

Newly arrived children between 4 and 5 years of age are integrated in level 1, where they will be taught the Luxembourgish language.

Children between 6 and 11 years of age are integrated in a form class (level 2 to 4) depending on their age, their acquired knowledge (in accordance with the assessments in their country of origin) and the test results obtained in mathematics and in their mother tongue. They will be taught Luxembourgish, German and French and will be enrolled in reception courses.   

Extension of the duration of a school level

In the case of learning difficulties, a level may be extended by one year.

If it is obvious that a child is unable to acquire the required core skills in 2 years, an adapted programme covering a period of 3 years is established by the teaching staff. In these cases, children are not merely held back a year, but receive education adapted to their learning needs.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Demander un accompagnement scolaire pour l'enseignement fondamental

Dernière modification le 18.10.2018

En complément à l’enseignement fondamental, identique pour tous les élèves de 4 à 12 ans, des mesures spécifiques d’accompagnement scolaire sont organisées dans les écoles à l’attention des enfants qui présentent des besoins particuliers :

  • appui pédagogique pendant ou après les heures de cours pour les élèves qui ont des difficultés d’apprentissage ;

  • études surveillées (ou aide aux devoirs), assurées par certaines communes après les heures de cours et dont la fréquentation est facultative ;

  • cours et classes d’accueil à l’intention des élèves étrangers, élèves nouveaux arrivants au Luxembourg en cours d’année scolaire. Dans les cours d’accueil, le choix des langues à enseigner ainsi que la suite des langues sont considérés en fonction de l’âge d’arrivée de l’enfant, de ses acquis antérieurs, des langues connues par les parents et de la proximité de la langue maternelle avec la 1re langue à apprendre.

Personnes concernées

Les élèves de l'enseignement fondamental qui présentent des difficultés à suivre le rythme normal des cours peuvent bénéficier d’un accompagnement scolaire, sous forme d’aide aux devoirs ou d’intégration dans une classe spéciale ou une classe d'appui.

Modalités pratiques

Appui pédagogique et différenciation

L’école fondamentale implique un travail de concertation entre l’instituteur et ses collègues du même cycle, afin de pouvoir adapter leur enseignement aux élèves.

On parle de "différenciation". Ainsi, une aide supplémentaire, appelée appui pédagogique, peut être apportée à l’élève qui a des difficultés : il peut se faire aider individuellement par l’instituteur ou avec un groupe d’élèves aux difficultés similaires, pendant ou après les heures de cours.

Etudes surveillées (aide aux devoirs)

Un service d’études surveillées ou d’aide aux devoirs est offert facultativement par certaines communes sous la responsabilité du titulaire de classe (horaires variables en fonction des écoles). Cette aide aux devoirs a lieu après les heures de classe.

Un formulaire d’inscription est distribué par l’instituteur en début d’année scolaire, qui contient toutes les informations pratiques. Il doit être remis signé au titulaire de classe (en main propre ou par voie postale) par un des parents / tuteurs en principe avant la fin septembre. L’inscription est alors valable pour toute l’année.

En fonction des communes, ce service d’accompagnement scolaire peut être payant.

Cours et classe d’accueil

Les enfants nouveaux arrivants entre 4 et 5 ans sont intégrés dans le cycle 1, où ils apprennent le luxembourgeois.

Les enfants entre 6 et 11 ans sont intégrés dans une classe d’attache (cycles 2 à 4) en fonction de leur âge, de leurs acquis (suivant les bilans du pays d'origine) et des résultats des tests d’évaluation en mathématiques et en langue maternelle. Ils y apprennent le luxembourgeois, l’allemand et le français et y fréquentent le cours d’accueil.   

Allongement de cycle

En cas de difficultés d’apprentissage, un cycle peut être allongé d’un an.

S’il s’avère qu’un élève n’arrive pas à atteindre le socle de compétences en 2 ans, un programme adapté étalé sur 3 ans est établi par l’équipe pédagogique. Dans ce cas, il ne s’agit pas d’un redoublement en tant que tel, mais l’élève reçoit un enseignement adapté à ses besoins d’apprentissage.

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le