Participating in a retraining programme for jobseekers

Jobseekers who are registered with the National Employment Agency (Agence pour le développement de l'emploi – ADEM) may benefit from a certain number of specific training sessions which are designed to improve their ability to re-enter the job market and facilitate their retraining.

These professional redeployment retraining programmes are generally organised in cooperation with the Ministry of National Education, Children and Youth (Ministère de l'Education nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse – MEN), but they may also be run by local initiatives (associations and/or communes).

The professional retraining programme is a tool which serves to:

  • lead to another professional activity;
  • offer vocational retraining and general education courses aimed at jobseekers and workers threatened with losing their jobs;
  • provide professional and functional retraining and reskilling, which more specifically applies to occupational accidents and people receiving the guaranteed minimum income (GMI).

Who is concerned

Professional retraining programmes are aimed at jobseekers and workers threatened with losing their jobs, regardless of age or nationality.  

Prerequisites

In order to be admitted to a retraining programme, candidates must be:

  • looking for work or about to lose their job;
  • registered as a jobseeker with the ADEM.

How to proceed

Training programmes organised by the ADEM and the MEN

The jobseeker training programme is run in close cooperation with the ADEM and the MEN.

There are 2 distinct types of training programmes:

  • Retraining programmes which serve to train unemployed people in order to generally increase their chances of re-entering the workforce;
  • Supplementary training programmes are put in place with businesses or sectors with a view to directly integrating candidates into the job market.

Professional redeployment training programmes

These training programmes are mainly offered at Continuing Professional Training Centres (Centres de formation professionnelle continue – CNFPC) and consist of professional integration courses in areas such as technical design, electrical engineering, masonry, mechanics, carpentry, welding, computer science, etc.

Those registered benefit from a socio-pedagogical framework and company internships.

Retraining programmes are generally one year long and are intended for people (primarily young people) who are experiencing difficulty entering the workforce.

Also offered at the CNFPCs, professional training and introductory courses are intended for young people aged 15 to 18 who have satisfied the minimum schooling requirement but have not found an apprenticeship, or who left school early.

Supplementary training programmes

These include training programmes leading to a qualification, which are directly organised for a specific sector or business, and dispensed at the request of employers. The training programme content is prepared in conjunction with the prospective employers, who promise, based on an agreement entered between the business, the MEN and the Ministry of Labour, Employment and the Solidarity Economy (ministère du Travail, de l'Emploi et de l'Economie solidaire) to give priority employment to people having successfully completed the training programme. The duration of these training programs generally varies from 6 weeks to 3 months, excluding the internship period. They are always organised according to a work-study model.

Within the framework of its professional integration measures for jobseekers under 30, the ADEM offers internships in the form of an employment support contract or an introductory employment contract.

Acceptance conditions

To be admitted into these various training programmes, candidates must be:

  • jobseekers;
  • registered as such with the ADEM.

Participation in a training programme is generally on the advice of the adviser/placement agent supervising the jobseeker. The registration procedures are carried out in conjunction with the adviser/placement agent, during the various consultations.

Admission based on an application is decided on by the Ministry of Labour, Employment and the Solidarity Economy in cooperation with the ADEM and the MEN.

The following documents should be presented at the time of consultation with the ADEM Vocational Guidance Department (service d'Orientation professionnelle):

  • most recent report cards, diplomas and school certificates;
  • ID card or passport;
  • social security card.

The Beruffsinformatiouns-Zentrum (BiZ) or Professional Training Centre (Centre d'information professionnelle) is part of the Vocational Guidance Department of the ADEM. Adults who must choose a continuing vocational training programme, or who are considering professional retraining, will find a broad range of media at BiZ which they can consult free of charge.

Special return-to-work measures

Special return-to-work measures include association and communal initiatives – notably those put forward by the Objectif Plein Emploi, Forum pour l'Emploi and ProActif associations, which offer training programmes geared towards reintegrating jobseekers, and more specifically unemployed applicants who are difficult to place.

In addition to these 3 main initiatives, there are smaller structures that nevertheless play a key role in the targeted area:

  • initiatives functioning under the aegis of the City of Dudelange and the Social Welfare Office of the City of Ettelbruck;
  • Eng nei Schaff asbl;
  • Défi-job asbl;
  • ICOPA asbl RTPH;
  • Colabor s.c.

Forum pour l'Emploi

The Employment Forum (Forum pour l'Emploi) focuses its activities in the north and west of the country, with its main headquarters in Diekirch.

Its training centre is dedicated to assisting and advising jobseekers in creating their own career plans, and notably offers professional and technical training programmes. The training centre welcomes jobseekers on benefits and people receiving the GMI on a priority basis. At the end of the program at the training centre and upon being evaluated, job seekers can join a team as part of a 'back-to-work' measure of the Forum pour l'Emploi.

Jobseekers being advidsed within the Forum pour l'Emploi structure are generally first recruited by the ADEM, but they may also make a written or oral request for training. In any case, they must meet the following hiring conditions:

  • be a Luxembourg resident;
  • be 18 or older, regardless of nationality or level of qualification;
  • be registered as a jobseeker with the ADEM;
    • if between 18 and 30 years old: have been registered for at least 1 month;
    • if 30 years old or more: have been registered for 3 months;
  • for communication reasons, job seekers must speak at least one of the 3 official languages of the country (German, French or Luxembourgish).

ProActif

The ProActif association centres its activities in the south, centre and east of the country. Its training centre is a place where jobseekers can benefit from social and technical training as well as socio-professional supervision. The purpose is to develop social, behavioural and technical skills so they can easily be integrated into the workforce. Jobseekers complete an 8-week internship at the training centre, while remaining under the ADEM's authority.

Access to the return-to-work measures run by ProActif is reserved for jobseekers over 18 years of age, who are registered with the ADEM.

In order to ensure equal treatment of all candidates, a hiring commission has been established to recruit people receiving guidance from the association. As required, the commission conducts job interviews with the candidates put forward by the ADEM and candidates who have made a spontaneous application (oral or written), provided they are registered with the ADEM.

Women who wish to re-enter the job market may contact the Female Employment Department (Service Emploi féminin) of the ADEM, which organises information sessions. During these sessions, women are informed about the state of the job market, the different kinds of training on offer, financial support for re-entry, etc. 

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Double click to activate the map
Last update

Participer à une formation de reconversion pour demandeurs d’emploi

Les demandeurs d’emploi inscrits auprès de l’Agence pour le développement de l'emploi (ADEM) peuvent bénéficier d’un certain nombre de formations spécifiques destinées à améliorer leur (ré)intégration sur le marché du travail et à faciliter leur reconversion.

Ces formations de reconversion professionnelle sont organisées en général en collaboration avec le ministère de l’Education nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse (MEN), mais elles peuvent également être l’objet d’initiatives au niveau local (syndicats et / ou communes).

La formation de reconversion professionnelle est un dispositif qui a pour objectif :

  • de conduire à une autre activité professionnelle ;
  • d’offrir des cours de rééducation professionnelle et d’enseignement général à l’intention des demandeurs d’emploi et des travailleurs menacés de perdre leur emploi ;
  • de mettre à disposition des cours de réadaptation et de rééducation professionnelle et fonctionnelle, qui s'adressent plus particulièrement aux accidentés du travail et aux personnes bénéficiant du revenu minimum garanti (RMG).

Personnes concernées

Les formations de reconversion professionnelle s’adressent aux demandeurs d’emploi ainsi qu’aux travailleurs menacés de perdre leur emploi, sans distinction d'âge ni de nationalité.  

Conditions préalables

Pour être admis à une formation de reconversion, il faut être :

  • demandeur d’emploi ou sur le point de perdre son emploi ;
  • inscrit comme demandeur d’emploi à l’ADEM.

Modalités pratiques

Formations organisées par l’ADEM et le ministère de l’Education nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse

La formation des demandeurs d’emploi se fait en étroite collaboration entre l’Agence pour le développement de l’emploi (ADEM) et le ministère de l’Education nationale, de l'enfance et de la Jeunesse (MEN).

On distingue 2 types de formations :

  • les formations de reconversion visent à former les personnes sans emploi afin d’augmenter leurs chances de réinsertion d’une façon générale ;
  • les formations complémentaires sont mises en place avec les entreprises ou les secteurs en vue d’une insertion directe sur le marché du travail.

Formations de reconversion professionnelle

Ces formations sont essentiellement proposées dans les Centres de formation professionnelle continue (CNFPC) et consistent en des cours d'insertion professionnelle et de perfectionnement, dans des domaines tels que le dessin technique, l’électrotechnique, la maçonnerie, la mécanique, la menuiserie, la soudure, l’informatique, etc.

Les personnes inscrites bénéficient d’un encadrement socio-pédagogique et de stages en entreprise.

Les formations de reconversion durent généralement un an et sont destinées aux personnes, majoritairement des jeunes, qui ont des difficultés pour intégrer le marché de l’emploi.

Egalement dispensés dans les CNFPC, les cours d’initiation et d’orientation professionnelles sont destinés à des jeunes de 15 à 18 ans ayant rempli l’obligation scolaire et qui ne trouvent pas de poste d’apprentissage ou qui ont quitté prématurément l’école.

Formations complémentaires

Il s’agit de formations qualifiantes, organisées directement pour un secteur ou une entreprise et qui se déroulent sur demande des employeurs. Les contenus de formation sont élaborés en commun avec ces derniers, qui s’engagent, sur la base d’une convention conclue entre l’entreprise, le MEN et le ministère du Travail, de l'Emploi et de l'Economie solidaire, à donner une priorité d'embauche aux personnes ayant terminé la formation avec succès. La durée de ces formations varie généralement de 6 semaines à 3 mois hors période de stage. Elles sont toujours organisées sur le modèle de l’alternance.

L'ADEM propose dans le cadre de ses mesures d'insertion professionnelle pour les demandeurs d’emploi de moins de 30 ans des stages d’insertion sous forme de contrat d’appui-emploi ou de contrat d’initiation à l’emploi.

Modalités d’admission

Pour être admis à ces différentes formations, il faut être :

  • demandeur d’emploi ;
  • inscrit comme demandeur d’emploi à l'ADEM.

La participation à une formation s’effectue généralement sur l’avis du conseiller-placeur qui encadre le demandeur d’emploi. Les démarches pour une inscription se déroulent en concertation avec le conseiller-placeur, durant les différentes consultations.

L’admission sur base de dossier est décidée par le ministère du Travail, de l’Emploi et de l'Economie solidaire en collaboration avec l’ADEM et le MEN.

Les documents suivants sont à présenter lors d’une consultation du service d’Orientation professionnelle de l’ADEM :

  • derniers bulletins, diplômes et certificats scolaires ;
  • carte d’identité ou passeport ;
  • carte de sécurité sociale.

Le Beruffsinformatiouns-Zentrum (BiZ) ou Centre d'information professionnelle fait partie du service d'Orientation professionnelle de l'ADEM. Les adultes qui doivent choisir une formation continue, ou qui envisagent une reconversion professionnelle, trouvent au BiZ un large éventail de médias qu'ils peuvent consulter gratuitement.

Mesures spéciales de réinsertion professionnelle

Ces mesures regroupent les initiatives syndicales et communales proposées notamment par les associations Objectif Plein Emploi, Forum pour l'Emploi et ProActif, qui offrent des formations visant la réinsertion des demandeurs d’emploi, et plus spécifiquement des chômeurs difficiles à placer.

A côté de ces 3 initiatives prédominantes, on recense des structures de moindre taille, mais qui occupent néanmoins un rôle important dans le domaine visé :

  • les initiatives fonctionnant sous l’égide de la Ville de Dudelange et de l’Office social de la Ville d’Ettelbruck ;
  • Eng nei Schaff asbl ;
  • Défi-job asbl ;
  • ICOPA asbl RTPH ;
  • Colabor s.c.

Forum pour l'Emploi

L’association Forum pour l’Emploi concentre ses activités dans le nord et à l’ouest du pays, avec un site principal à Diekirch.

Son centre de formation se donne pour missions d'accompagner et de conseiller les demandeurs d'emploi dans la construction d'un projet individuel et de proposer notamment des formations techniques et professionnelles. Le centre de formation accueille prioritairement des demandeurs d'emploi indemnisés et des personnes bénéficiant du revenu minimum garanti (RMG). A la fin de leur parcours au sein du centre de formation et après évaluation, les demandeurs d'emploi peuvent intégrer une équipe au sein de la mesure de réinsertion du Forum pour l'Emploi.

Les demandeurs d'emploi encadrés dans la structure Forum pour l'Emploi sont en général préalablement recrutés par l’ADEM, mais ils peuvent également faire une demande spontanée (orale ou écrite) en vue d’une formation. Ils doivent dans tous les cas remplir les conditions d'embauche suivantes :

  • résidents au Luxembourg ;
  • âgés au minimum de 18 ans, indépendamment de la nationalité ou du niveau de qualification ;
  • inscrits comme demandeur d'emploi à l’ADEM :
    • entre 18 et 30 ans : être inscrit au moins 1 mois ;
    • plus de 30 ans : être inscrit depuis 3 mois ;
  • pour des raisons de communication, les demandeurs d'emploi doivent au moins parler une des 3 langues officielles du pays (allemand, français ou luxembourgeois).

ProActif

L’association ProActif concentre ses activités dans le sud, le centre et l’est du pays. Son centre de formation est un lieu où les demandeurs d’emploi peuvent bénéficier de formations sociales et techniques ainsi que d’un suivi socioprofessionnel. L’objectif est de développer des compétences sociales, comportementales et techniques en vue de faciliter l’insertion sur le marché de l’emploi. Les demandeurs d’emploi effectuent un stage de 8 semaines au centre de formation tout en restant sous l’autorité de l’ADEM.

L’accès aux mesures de réinsertion de ProActif est réservé aux demandeurs d’emploi âgés de plus de 18 ans et inscrits auprès de l’ADEM.

Afin de garantir un traitement égal à tous les candidats, une commission d’embauche a été mise en place pour procéder au recrutement des personnes encadrées par l’association. En fonction des besoins, la commission réalise des entretiens d’embauche avec les candidats proposés par l’ADEM et des candidats ayant fait une demande spontanée (orale ou écrite), à condition qu’ils soient inscrits à l’ADEM.

Les femmes qui souhaitent (ré)intégrer le marché de l’emploi peuvent s’adresser au Service Emploi féminin de l’ADEM, qui organise des ateliers d’information. Lors de ces ateliers, elles sont informées sur le marché de l’emploi, sur les différentes offres de formation, sur les aides financières à la réintégration, etc. 

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le