Get your school textbooks free of charge

Compulsory textbooks are now free of charge for students enrolled in a public or a private secondary school applying the National Education curriculum.

The fact that the compulsory textbooks are now free of charge has no impact on back-to-school allowances or other financial support measures.

Who is concerned

Students concerned

Students can get their textbooks for free if they:

  • are enrolled in classes of the general and classical secondary education or if they are in the vocational education system of a public secondary establishment in Luxembourg;
  • are enrolled in the European or international classes (International Baccalaureate, A-level) of the public school system;
  • enrolled in classes in private schools that apply the Luxembourg public education programme (Ecole privée Fieldgen, Ecole privée Marie-Consolatrice, Ecole privée Sainte-Anne, Lycée privé Emile Metz, Ecole privée Notre-Dame).

Pupils in preparation classes, reception classes, integration classes for young adults (CLIJA) as well as European and international classes in the public school system receive their free textbooks directly from their schools.

Textbooks concerned

The following books are provided free of charge:

  • mandatory textbooks listed in the school programme;
  • textbooks that secondary establishments have defined as being mandatory;
  • subject to availability, the digital versions of these books;
  • compulsory course material in the form of photocopies (in the absence of a mandatory textbook) received by the school.
If a textbook remains on the programme for several school years, the student is only entitled to one free copy.

Deadlines

Students have until 30 November 2018 to complete the online process and collect their textbooks or to use their voucher. After this date, no free textbooks will be provided.

As of 3 September 2018, students can also contact their school on this subject.

How to proceed

Necessary procedures

Students can visit the MyBooks app via their PC, smartphone and tablet using their personal IAM login.

There, they can access the list of mandatory textbooks to which they are entitled. They can then select the new copies of mandatory textbooks they wish to receive free of charge. The books are displayed in the application with their barcode. Students can then go to one of the bookstores participating in the programme and collect their books using the barcodes displayed in the application or printed out on paper.

Students who are to repeat their school year are also entitled to free textbooks.

Amount

This financial support measure represent the equivalent of EUR 450 per school year and per child, depending on the classes and levels of education (classical secondary, general secondary, vocational education, etc.).

Vouchers

Students who already own or buy the textbooks concerned in the form of a used textbook is entitled to a personal voucher in their name which will allow them to purchase school material with a value equivalent to 50 % of the price of corresponding new textbooks.

This voucher only allows to purchase school supplies (notebooks, pens, etc.) and textbooks that are not available for free but required within the framework of their school education (e.g. dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc.).

Students must ensure that they have picked up all required textbooks from the bookstore before they generate the voucher. AFter having collected their textbooks, they can then go to Mybooks and click on the "voucher" (bon d'achat) button. The printed or saved voucher can be used in one of the partner bookstores.

As with the textbooks, students must make sure they have used the voucher before the deadline of 30 November 2018. After this date, it will no longer be possible to buy school equipment with the voucher.

Repayment of support

In case of fraud or abuse of the programme, or if the documents are falsified, the Ministry of National Education, Children and Youth may demand the repayment of all or part of the aid and take legal action.

In case of loss or theft of textbooks, barcodes for these manuals or of the voucher, no refund or replacement will be provided.

Forms / Online services

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Obtenir ses manuels scolaires gratuitement

Les manuels scolaires obligatoires sont désormais gratuits pour les élèves des lycées publics et des écoles secondaires privées qui appliquent le programme de l’Education nationale.

La gratuité des manuels scolaires obligatoires n’a aucun impact sur les allocations de rentrée scolaire, ni sur d’autres aides financières.

Personnes concernées

Elèves concernés

Peuvent obtenir leurs manuels scolaires gratuitement les élèves :

  • des classes de l’enseignement secondaire général et classique, et de la formation professionnelle des lycées publics luxembourgeois ;
  • des classes européennes et internationales (International Baccalaureate, A-level) de l’école publique ;
  • des classes appliquant le programme de l’enseignement public luxembourgeois au sein des écoles privées (Ecole privée Fieldgen, Ecole privée Marie-Consolatrice, Ecole privée Sainte-Anne, Lycée privée Emile Metz, Ecole privée Notre-Dame).

Les élèves des classes de la voie de préparation, des classes d’accueil, des classes d’insertion pour jeunes adultes (CLIJA) ainsi que des classes européennes et internationales de l’école publique reçoivent leurs manuels gratuits directement dans les écoles.

Manuels concernés

Sont gratuits :

  • les manuels obligatoires figurant au programme ;
  • les manuels que les lycées choisissent comme manuels obligatoires ;
  • les versions numériques de ces manuels, si elles existent ;
  • les supports de cours obligatoires sous forme de photocopies (à défaut d’un manuel obligatoire) reçus dans le lycée.
Si un manuel figure au programme durant plusieurs années, l’élève n’a droit qu’à une seule version gratuite du manuel.

Délais

Les élèves ont jusqu’au 30 novembre 2018 pour effectuer les démarches en ligne et se procurer les manuels ou pour utiliser leur bon d’achat. Au-delà du 30 novembre, aucun manuel scolaire à titre gratuit ne pourra être acquis.

A partir du 3 septembre 2018, les élèves peuvent aussi s’adresser à leur école.

Modalités pratiques

Démarches à effectuer

Les élèves peuvent se rendre sur l’application MyBooks via leur PC, smartphone et tablette numérique grâce à leur login IAM personnalisé.

Ils accèdent à la liste des manuels obligatoires auxquels ils ont droit. Ils sélectionnent les manuels obligatoires qu’ils souhaitent recevoir gratuitement à l’état neuf. Ces derniers s’affichent dans l’application avec leur code-barres. Les élèves se rendent ensuite dans l’une des librairies participant au programme pour les retirer à l’aide des codes-barres affichés dans l’application ou imprimés sur papier.

Les élèves redoublant peuvent également profiter de la gratuité.

Montant

Cette aide financière peut atteindre l’équivalent de 450 euros par année scolaire et par enfant, en fonction des classes et des ordres d’enseignement (secondaire classique, secondaire général, formation professionnelle, etc.).

Bon d’achat

L’élève qui possède ou achète des manuels scolaires d’occasion recevra un bon d’achat nominatif pour du matériel scolaire équivalant à 50% du prix des manuels neufs.

Ce bon d’achat permet d’acheter exclusivement des fournitures scolaires (cahiers, stylos, etc.) et des livres scolaires qui ne sont pas gratuits, mais nécessaires dans le cadre de l’enseignement scolaire (p.ex. dictionnaires, encyclopédies, etc.).

L’élève doit s’assurer d’avoir retiré en librairie tous les manuels scolaires obligatoires dont il a besoin avant de générer le bon d’achat. Il peut alors se rendre sur Mybooks et cliquer sur le bouton ‟bon d’achat″. Il imprime ou sauvegarde ensuite son bon et peut l’utiliser dans une des librairies partenaires.

Comme pour les manuels scolaires l’élève doit s’assurer d’avoir utilisé le bon d’achat avant la date limite du 30 novembre 2018. Passée cette date, il ne sera plus possible d’acheter de fournitures avec le bon.

Restitution de l’aide

En cas de fraude ou d’abus du programme, ou si les documents sont falsifiés, le ministère de l’Education nationale, de l’Enfance et de la Jeunesse peut exiger le remboursement de la totalité ou d’une partie de l’aide et prendre des mesures judiciaires.

En cas de perte ou vol des manuels scolaires, des codes-barres de ces manuels ou du bon d’achat, aucun remboursement ou remplacement n’est prévu.

Services en ligne / Formulaires

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le