Getting help from SOLVIT Luxembourg to settle disputes with foreign administrations

SOLVIT Luxembourg is part of an informal cooperation network that was set up in 2002. It covers all of the countries in the European Union (EU) plus the three countries of the European Economic Area (EEA), i.e., Norway, Iceland, and Liechtenstein. Its purpose is to facilitate the resolution of problems related to the improper application of EU law by public authorities.

SOLVIT Luxembourg helps private individuals resolve cross-border issues involving an administration of another Member State of the EU or the EEA (social security, taxes, labour law, residence permits, etc.).

SOLVIT Luxembourg is dedicated to finding amicable solutions to problems that are submitted to it.

Who is concerned

Any Luxembourg citizen who has a problem with an administration in another EU or EEA Member State may call upon the services of SOLVIT Luxembourg.

Prerequisites

To be considered for processing through the SOLVIT network, a complaint must satisfy several eligibility requirements:

  • it must be a problem with a cross-border component;
  • it must be related to the improper application of a law pertaining to the EU internal market;
  • the entity that is the subject of the complaint must be a public administration of an EU Member State;
  • an amicable resolution of the problem must still be possible (there must be no pending legal proceeding concerning the dispute).

How to proceed

Submitting a complaint to SOLVIT Luxembourg

Any Luxembourg citizen may submit their complaint:

The complaint must be accompanied by:

  • a summary of the events that are considered in breach of EU Internal Market rules;
  • supporting documents such as letters and disputed administrative decisions.
SOLVIT Luxembourg will check the admissibility of the complaint submitted by the Luxembourg citizen in respect of an administration of another EU or EEA Member State and will forward it, through an electronic database, along with a legal analysis, to the SOLVIT Centre in the country where the problem occurred (the SOLVIT 'lead centre').

Finding a solution

In general, the lead centre will confirm within one week whether it agrees with SOLVIT Luxembourgh's analysis and whether it will accepts the case or not. If the case is accepted, the lead centre will attempt to find a solution to the problem within 10 weeks.

The SOLVIT procedure is a separate procedure whose purpose is to resolve disputes amicably. However, if an interested party wishes to reserve the right to pursue legal action in the country in which the disputed decision was issued, in case for example that the solution proposed by SOLVIT is not satisfactory or takes too long, it is important for the applicant to observe the official time limits for taking legal action in the country in question (the legal time limits maybe longer or shorter depending on the State). Indeed, the SOLVENT procedure has no impact on the time limits for taking legal action.

However, if the lead centre is unable to find a solution to the problem, or if the proposed solution is unacceptable to the plaintiff, the latter may pursue legal action by lodging a formal appeal under the national rules of the Member State that issued the decision under dispute.

 

Forms / Online services

SOLVIT : formulaire de plainte en ligne

To complete your application, the information about you collected from this form needs to be processed by the public administration concerned.

That information is kept by the administration in question for as long as it is required to achieve the purpose of the processing operation(s).

Your data will be shared with other public administrations that are necessary for the processing of your application. For details on which departments will have access to the data on this form, please contact the public administration you are filing your application with.

Under the terms of Regulation (EU) 2016/679 on the protection of natural persons with regard to the processing of personal data and on the free movement of such data, you have the right to access, rectify or, where applicable, remove any information relating to you. You are also entitled to withdraw your consent at any time.

Additionally, unless the processing of your personal data is compulsory, you may, with legitimate reasons, oppose the processing of such data.

If you wish to exercise these rights and/or obtain a record of the information held about you, please contact the administration in question using the contact details provided on the form. You are also entitled to file a claim with the National Commission for Data Protection (Commission nationale pour la protection des données), headquartered at 1, Avenue du Rock'n'Roll, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette.

By submitting your application, you agree that your personal data may be processed as part of the application process.

Online procedure

Go to the procedure

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Faire appel à SOLVIT Luxembourg pour régler les litiges avec les administrations étrangères

SOLVIT Luxembourg fait partie d’un réseau informel de coopération qui a été mis en place en 2002 dans tous les pays de l’Union européenne (UE) ainsi que dans les trois pays de l’Espace Economique Européen (EEE - composé de la Norvège, de l'Islande et Liechtenstein), afin de faciliter la résolution de problèmes liés à la mauvaise application de la législation communautaire.

SOLVIT Luxembourg s’adresse notamment aux particuliers dans le cadre des problèmes à caractère transfrontalier qui peuvent se poser dans leurs relations avec les administrations d’un Etat membre de l’UE ou de l'EEE (sécurité sociale, fiscalité, droit du travail, permis de séjour, etc.).

SOLVIT Luxembourg s’efforce, en dehors de toute procédure judiciaire, de trouver une solution à l’amiable aux problèmes qui lui sont soumis.

Personnes concernées

Tout citoyen luxembourgeois qui est confronté à des problèmes avec une administration d’un autre Etat membre de l’UE ou de l’EEE peut recourir à Solvit Luxembourg.

Conditions préalables

Pour pouvoir être traitée par le réseau SOLVIT, toute plainte doit répondre à quelques conditions de recevabilité :

  • il doit s’agir d’un problème ayant un élément transfrontalier ;
  • il doit s’agir d’une application incorrecte de la législation du marché intérieur de l’UE ;
  • l’entité faisant l’objet de la plainte doit être une administration publique d’un Etat membre de l’UE ;
  • la résolution du problème à l’amiable est encore possible (aucune procédure judiciaire concernant ce litige ne doit être en cours).

Modalités pratiques

Soumission d’une plainte à SOLVIT Luxembourg

Le citoyen luxembourgeois peut soumettre sa plainte :

La plainte doit être accompagnée :

  • d'un résumé des faits considérés comme n’étant pas conformes aux règles du marché intérieur de l’UE ;
  • des pièces justificatives comme les courriers et les décisions administratives contestées.
SOLVIT Luxembourg vérifie la recevabilité de la plainte d’un citoyen luxembourgeois vis-à-vis d’une administration d’un autre pays membre de l’UE ou de l’EEE et la transmet via une base de données électronique, accompagnée d’une analyse juridique, au centre SOLVIT du pays à l’origine du problème (le centre SOLVIT "chef de file").

Recherche d’une solution

Le centre chef de file confirmera en général dans un délai d’une semaine s’il partage l’analyse de SOLVIT Luxembourg et s’il accepte ou non le dossier soumis. En cas de réponse positive, il s’engage à résoudre le problème dans un délai de 10 semaines.

La procédure SOLVIT est une procédure à part qui a pour but le règlement du litige à l'amiable, mais si l'intéressé veut se garder la possibilité d'introduire une action en justice dans le pays d'où émane la décision litigieuse, car la solution proposée par SOLVIT n'est pas satisfaisante ou met trop de temps à arriver, il est important de respecter les délais légaux pour agir en justice en vigueur dans le pays en question (les délais légaux peuvent être plus ou moins longs selon les Etats). En effet, la procédure SOLVIT n'a pas pour conséquence de repousser les délais pour agir en justice.

Lorsque le centre chef de file ne réussit pas à dégager une solution au problème ou bien si la solution proposée ne convient pas au plaignant, ce dernier peut lancer une procédure contentieuse en faisant usage de son droit de recours formel en vertu des règles nationales de l’Etat membre qui a rendu la décision contestée.

 

Services en ligne / Formulaires

SOLVIT : formulaire de plainte en ligne

Les informations qui vous concernent recueillies sur ce formulaire font l’objet d’un traitement par l’administration concernée afin de mener à bien votre demande.

Ces informations sont conservées pour la durée nécessaire par l’administration à la réalisation de la finalité du traitement

Les destinataires de vos données sont les administrations compétentes dans le cadre du traitement de votre demande. Veuillez-vous adresser à l’administration concernée par votre demande pour connaître les destinataires des données figurant sur ce formulaire. Conformément au règlement (UE) 2016/679 relatif à la protection des personnes physiques à l'égard du traitement des données à caractère personnel et à la libre circulation de ces données, vous bénéficiez d’un droit d’accès, de rectification et le cas échéant d’effacement des informations vous concernant. Vous disposez également du droit de retirer votre consentement à tout moment.

En outre et excepté le cas où le traitement de vos données présente un caractère obligatoire, vous pouvez, pour des motifs légitimes, vous y opposer.

Si vous souhaitez exercer ces droits et/ou obtenir communication de vos informations, veuillez-vous adresser à l’administration concernée suivant les coordonnées indiquées dans le formulaire. Vous avez également la possibilité d’introduire une réclamation auprès de la Commission nationale pour la protection des données ayant son siège à 1 Avenue du Rock'n'Roll, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette.

En poursuivant votre démarche, vous acceptez que vos données personnelles soient traitées dans le cadre de votre demande.

Démarche en ligne

Accéder à la Démarche

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le