Challenging administrative decisions

Last updated more than 5 years ago

Any act by an administrative authority which constitutes a decision liable to adversely affect to a citizen may be the appealed.

Various possible remedies are available to people affected by a decision by a State body, a commune or a public institution.

Some of the explanations below, which are based on hypothetical scenarios, are of limited use and only partially represent or simplify reality. In all cases, it is strongly recommended that you consult a professional advisor before drawing conclusions about your actual legal situation.

Who is concerned

Anyone who believes that they have been adversely affected following a decision made by the Luxembourg authorities may challenge the administrative decision.

Preliminary steps

Before bringing an action before the administrative courts, persons who disagree with an administrative decision that adversely affect them always have the option of filing an internal appeal (or a non-contentious appeal) with the authority to have it modify its initial position with regard to the applicant.

How to proceed

Non-contentious appeals

Non-contentious appeals are filed with the person who took the contested administrative decision or their hierarchical superior. It need not be in any specific format and need not be drafted by a lawyer.

The appeal itself is not subject to any time limit: it can be filed at any time. However, to ensure that the option of bringing an action before the Administrative Tribunal is not lost if a non-contentious appeal is not successful, the non-contentious appeal should be filed before the expiry of the time limit for appeals to the Administrative Tribunal (3 months from the date of notification of the decision, or from the day on which the applicant became aware of the decision).

In fact, within that period, a non-contentious appeal is unique in that it suspends the time limit for filing an appeal with the Administrative Tribunal and sets a new time-limit which starts when notice is given of the new decision.

If no response is made to a non-contentious appeal, the time limit for a legal appeal is not, however, indefinitely suspended. If more than three months have elapsed since the filing of the non-contentious appeal without a new decision, the time limit for bringing a legal appeal begins at the end of the three-month period.

Example

A civil servant was denied promotion by ministerial decision. The civil servant then sends a registered letter to the relevant minister, requesting that the latter reconsider their position.

Legal appeal

As a general rule, appeals to the Administrative Tribunal must be filed within 3 months of the day on which notice was given of the decision to the applicant, or on the day on which the applicant became aware of the decision.

Legal appeals must be made in writing.

Examples

  • A person applies for a building permit, but the permit is refused by the mayor. Since the notice of refusal is, in principle, sent to the applicant by registered letter, the time limit for taking action starts from the day of notification by letter.
  • A building permit is granted. However, the neighbours were not necessarily notified of this decision by the mayor. For them, therefore, the time limit for bringing legal proceedings begins on the day the building permit is posted on the building site.

Although the ability to challenge an administrative decision is not limited to the direct addressee of the measure, not just any third party may challenge an administrative decision: a third party must be personally affected by the administrative act.

Except in the case of direct contributions, any application before the Administrative Tribunal must be signed by a court lawyer.

The purpose of appeals before the administrative courts is:

  • to seek the annulment of the contested decision: the judge merely declares the act illegal and it is the administration's responsibility to decree a new act, drawing lessons from the judicial decision issued;
  • in cases where the law expressly provides for it (such as disputes involving foreigners or the civil service), to seek the reversal of the administrative act: reversal goes further than annulment in that administrative judges do not, as the case may be, merely annul the contested decision but replace them with their own decision by acting in the stead of the authority and redressing the initial defects of the act.

Time limits

By law, the procedure before the administrative courts is a written procedure which operates within very strict time limits.

As a result, at the first instance, the investigation of the case lasts 7 months. Then the Tribunal hands down its judgement. In appeal proceedings before the Administrative Court, the court generally hands down its judgement within 5 months of the judgement of the lower court.

In the case of decisions taken by the social security institutions, there are specific internal appeal procedures for each branch of the social security system—which may be classified as amicable remedies—prior to any legal proceedings phase.

Who to contact

Last update

Contester une décision administrative

Cet article a plus de cinq ans

Tout acte qui émane d’une autorité administrative et qui constitue une décision de nature à causer un grief à un citoyen est susceptible de faire l’objet d’un recours.

Différentes voies de recours possibles s’offrent aux personnes affectées par une décision émanant d’un organisme étatique, d’une commune ou d’un établissement public.

Certaines explications ci-après, basées sur des hypothèses, sont soumises à des limites et ne représentent qu'imparfaitement ou simplifient la réalité. Dans tous les cas, il est fortement recommandé de consulter un conseiller professionnel avant de tirer des conclusions quant à votre situation juridique concrète.

Personnes concernées

Peut contester une décision administrative toute personne qui estime avoir subi un grief suite à une décision rendue par l’administration luxembourgeoise.

Démarches préalables

Avant de saisir les juridictions administratives, la personne qui est en désaccord avec une décision administrative lui faisant grief a toujours la possibilité d’introduire un recours interne (ou recours gracieux) à l’administration pour qu’elle modifie sa position initialement adoptée à l’égard du requérant.

Modalités pratiques

Le recours gracieux

Il s’agit du recours qui est porté devant l’auteur de la décision administrative contestée ou devant son autorité hiérarchiquement supérieure. Il n’est soumis à aucune forme particulière, et n’a pas besoin d’être formulé par un avocat.

En soi, le recours n’est soumis à aucune condition de délai : il peut toujours être intenté. Toutefois, afin de ne pas perdre la possibilité de saisir le Tribunal administratif pour le cas où le recours gracieux n’aboutirait pas, il convient d’intenter le recours gracieux avant l’expiration du délai imparti pour un recours au Tribunal administratif (3 mois à partir du jour de la notification de la décision ou du jour où le requérant a pu prendre connaissance de la décision).

En effet, formé endéans ce délai, le recours gracieux a la particularité de suspendre le délai de recours au Tribunal administratif et de faire courir un nouveau délai à partir de la notification de la nouvelle décision.

A défaut de réponse au recours gracieux, le délai du recours contentieux n’est cependant pas indéfiniment suspendu : si un délai de plus de 3 mois s’est écoulé depuis la présentation du recours gracieux sans qu’une nouvelle décision ne soit intervenue, le délai du recours contentieux commence à courir à partir de l’expiration du troisième mois.

Exemple

Un fonctionnaire d’Etat s’est vu refuser une promotion par décision ministérielle. Le fonctionnaire évincé s’adresse alors par courrier (recommandé) au ministre concerné en lui demandant de bien vouloir reconsidérer sa position.

Le recours judiciaire

En règle générale, le recours devant le Tribunal administratif doit être formé dans les 3 mois du jour où la décision a été notifiée au requérant ou du jour où le requérant a pu en prendre connaissance.

Le recours judiciaire doit se faire sous forme écrite.

Exemples

  • une personne sollicite une autorisation de construire, mais se voit opposer un refus par le bourgmestre. Comme la décision de refus est en principe notifiée au requérant par courrier recommandé, le délai pour agir court à partir de la notification du courrier.
  • une autorisation de construire est accordée. Or, les voisins ne se voient pas nécessairement notifier cette décision par le bourgmestre. A leur égard, le délai pour agir en justice commence dès lors à courir à partir de l’affichage de l’autorisation de construire sur le chantier.

Bien que la qualité pour attaquer une décision administrative n’appartienne pas uniquement au destinataire direct de l’acte, n’importe quel tiers n’est cependant pas admis à contester une décision administrative : le tiers doit se voir personnellement affecté par l’acte administratif.

Sauf en matière de contributions directes, toute requête devant le Tribunal administratif doit obligatoirement être signée par un avocat à la Cour.

L’objet du recours devant les juridictions administratives est :

  • l’annulation de la décision attaquée : le juge se limite à déclarer l’acte comme illégal et il appartient à l’administration d’édicter un nouvel acte, en tirant les enseignements de la décision judiciaire rendue ;
  • dans les cas où la loi le prévoit expressément (p. ex. le contentieux des étrangers ou de la fonction publique, etc.) la réformation de l’acte administratif : la réformation va plus loin que l’annulation, en ce que les juges administratifs ne se limitent pas, en cas de besoin, à annuler la décision attaquée, mais à y substituer leur propre décision en se mettant aux lieux et place de l’administration pour redresser les défauts initiaux de l’acte.

Délai

De par la loi, la procédure devant les juridictions administratives est une procédure écrite qui est enfermée dans des délais très stricts.

Ainsi, en première instance, l’instruction du dossier dure 7 mois. Ensuite le Tribunal rend son jugement. En instance d’appel devant la Cour administrative, l’arrêt de la cour intervient en général dans un délai de 5 mois à partir du jugement de première instance.

En matière de décisions prises par les organismes de sécurité sociale, il existe pour chaque branche d’assurance des voies de recours internes spécifiques pouvant être qualifiées de recours amiables, préalables à toute phase contentieuse.

Organismes de contact

Dernière modification le