Rights conferred by international protection

Persons with either the refugee status or the subsidiary protection status are granted several rights.

The present provisions do not apply to persons awaiting a decision because the procedure is still ongoing.

Residence permits and travel documents

Beneficiaries of international protection receive a residence permit "international protection" with a 5-year validity. They are thus admitted to circulate freely in all of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

A travel document for refugees is issued to persons who have obtained such a status and which enables them to travel outside of Luxembourg. Beneficiaries of international protection are not allowed to return to their country of origin on pain of losing their international protection status.

Beneficiaries of subsidiary protection are expected to produce a national passport in order to receive the documents enabling them to travel.

Education, work, accommodation and health care

Beneficiaries of international protection have access to social security benefits, accommodation, education and health care in the same conditions as Luxembourg citizens. Hence, they may profit from the various aids and benefits granted in these areas.

They are also allowed to carry out salaried or unpaid activities provided it is in compliance with the provisions in the sector of activity concerned and in the public services sector.

Luxembourg legislation applies in all matters concerning remuneration, access to social security schemes related to salaried or unpaid activities, as well as all other conditions regarding employment.

Employment training measures for adults, vocational training and professional experiences may also be offered.

Last update

Rechtsfolgen des internationalen Schutzes

Personen, denen die Rechtsstellung als Flüchtling oder subsidiär Schutzberechtigter bewilligt wurde, kommen in den Genuss mehrerer Rechte.

Die hier beschriebenen Bestimmungen gelten nicht für Personen, die auf eine Antwort warten und deren Antragsverfahren noch läuft.

Aufenthaltstitel und Reisepapiere

Personen, denen internationaler Schutz gewährt wurde, erhalten einen AufenthaltstitelInternationaler Schutz“ mit einer Gültigkeit von 5 Jahren. Sie dürfen sich frei auf dem gesamten Staatsgebiet des Großherzogtums bewegen.

Personen, denen die Rechtsstellung als Flüchtling bewilligt wurde, wird ein Reisedokument für Flüchtlinge ausgestellt, mit dem sie sich auch außerhalb des luxemburgischen Staatsgebiets bewegen können. Personen, denen internationaler Schutz gewährt wurde, dürfen nicht in ihr Herkunftsland zurückkehren, da ihnen ansonsten die Rechtsstellung als Person, die internationalen Schutz benötigt, aberkannt wird.

Subsidiär Schutzberechtigte müssen grundsätzlich ihren nationalen Reisepass vorlegen, um die Dokumente zu erhalten, die ihnen das Reisen gestatten.

Bildung, Arbeit, Wohnen und Gesundheitsversorgung

Personen, denen internationaler Schutz gewährt wurde, haben zu den gleichen Bedingungen wie luxemburgische Staatsangehörige Zugang zu Sozialleistungen, Wohnraum, Bildung und Gesundheitsversorgung. Sie können daher die verschiedenen Beihilfen und Leistungen in diesen Bereichen in Anspruch nehmen.

Vorbehaltlich der in der betreffenden Branche und im öffentlichen Dienst geltenden Vorschriften dürfen sie zudem einer Tätigkeit als Arbeitnehmer oder Selbstständiger nachgehen.

Die luxemburgische Gesetzgebung findet Anwendung auf die Entlohnung, den Zugang zur Sozialversicherung für Arbeitnehmer und Selbstständige sowie auf die sonstigen beschäftigungsrelevanten Bedingungen.

Es werden zudem Ausbildungen im Rahmen der Erwachsenenbildung, Berufsbildungsmaßnahmen und Praktika angeboten.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am