Definition of restrictive measures

The restrictive measures of the European Union, together with the sanctions adopted by the United Nations Security Council, are the preferred instruments for imposing coercive measures on third countries.

United Nations members, including Luxembourg, are responsible for taking the necessary steps to implement the decisions of the Security Council for the maintenance of international peace and security and to implement them directly and through their action in the United Nations. appropriate international organizations of which they are part.

Luxembourg, as a Member State of the European Union, must also implement the European restrictive measures by adopting the necessary legislation or implementing measures. It is up to the European Union to lead the common foreign and security policy. The autonomous embargoes have a legally binding value for all Member States.

Adoption of restrictive measures on the level of the European Union

In order to define the European Union's position on a particular geographical or thematic issue, the Council adopts decisions (worded "common positions" before the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty).

For matters falling within European competence, such as the interruption or partial or total reduction of economic and financial relations with a third country, a Council implementing regulation is necessary. This Regulation will be directly applicable within the Member States of the Union. It will create rights and obligations for those concerned, ie the Member States but also economic operators and European citizens. These restrictive measures will be subject to judicial review by the Court of Justice and the General Court of the European Union.

Where the restrictive measures incorporated in the Council Decision do not fall within the competence of the European Union, Member States must adopt national measures. This is the case with arms embargoes, as the arms trade remains a national prerogative.

Objectives of the restrictive measures

The restrictive measures of the European Union pursue different and complementary aims. When adopted to protect international peace and security, they implement the international sanctions adopted by the United Nations Security Council. Initially global instruments, also affecting civilian populations, the measures have become more targeted, while they target smaller recipients and spare the civilian population.

For the European Union, the effective use of sanctions is an important means of maintaining and restoring international peace and security in accordance with the principles of the UN Charter and the EU's Common Foreign and Security Policy.

If necessary, the Council may impose "stand-alone sanctions". It may, by adopting UN sanctions, decide on more stringent measures to complement enforcement measures.

Restrictive measures can also respond to the breach of values binding the European Union to third-country partners. The serious ignorance of principles whose respect is generally considered to be in the interest of the international community as a whole. The restrictive measures adopted are in response to this lack of knowledge of universally recognized values on the international scene.

Content of restrictive measures

The content of the restrictive measures is in principle not limited. Measures can therefore take different forms, depending on the objectives pursued and their expected efficiency. It could be:

  • diplomatic sanctions (expulsion of diplomats, severance of diplomatic relations, suspension of official visits);
  • the suspension of cooperation with a third country;
  • boycott of sport or cultural events;
  • financial sanctions (freezing of funds or economic resources, prohibition of financial transactions, restrictions on export credits or investments);
  • prohibition of flights;
  • restrictions on admission;
  • trade sanctions (restrictions on the export and import of certain goods and resources, including arms embargoes and embargoes on equipment that may be used for internal repression).

In particular, arms embargoes aim to stop the flow of weapons and military equipment to conflict areas or regimes that may be used for internal repression or aggression against a foreign country. They usually include:

  • a ban on the sale, supply, transfer or export of armaments and related materials of any kind, including weapons and ammunition, military vehicles and equipment, paramilitary equipment and spare parts;
  • a prohibition on providing financing, financial assistance and technical assistance, brokerage services and other services related to military activities and the supply, manufacture, maintenance and use of weapons and equipment related of any type.

An embargo on dual-use items is applied on a case-by-case basis, particularly where there are risks associated with the manufacture of weapons of mass destruction.

Where an internal enforcement policy is at the origin of the imposition of EU restrictive measures, the Council also imposes restrictions on the material used for internal repression and the related services, such as maintenance and repair.

European embargoes also mention the prohibition to provide technical assistance and other services related to military activities and the delivery, manufacture, maintenance and use of armaments and related materials, a prohibition to provide financing or financial assistance, directly or indirectly, and a prohibition on providing brokerage services as defined in the European Common Position on arms brokering.

Economic and financial sanctions may take the form of prohibitions on exports or imports (which may apply to specific products such as oil, timber or diamonds), bans on the provision of specific services (brokerage, services financial, technical assistance), prohibition of theft, bans on investments, payments and capital movements or deletions of tariff preferences.

Third-country nationals may be subject to a ban on entry into the EU, as Member States must take all necessary measures to prevent the entry or transit of on the list.

Implementation of restrictive measures in Luxembourg

The restrictive measures implemented by the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg in commercial matters against certain States, political systems, persons, entities and groups may include:

  • the prohibition or restriction of commercial, industrial, economic, technical and scientific activities of any kind;
  • the prohibition or restriction of providing technical assistance, brokerage services, financing or financial assistance in connection with a State, a political regime, a natural or legal person, entity or group to which this Act applies; and the regulations made in its execution;
  • complete or partial interruption of economic relations and of rail, sea, air, road, river, postal, electronic and other means of communication;
  • the prohibition of admission to the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg or transit through the same territory.

They impose themselves:

  • to natural persons of Luxembourg nationality who reside or operate on or from the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg or from abroad; and
  • to legal persons having their registered office, a permanent establishment or their decision-making center in the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and operating on or from the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg or from abroad; and
  • to all other natural and legal persons who operate on or from the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

They are adopted by Grand-Ducal regulation. This regulation designates the States, political regimes, natural and legal persons, entities or groups subject to the restrictive measures.

The Grand-Ducal Regulation also determines the measures that apply.

Pending the formal taking of decisions in the United Nations or the European Union, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg may, by Grand-Ducal Regulation, impose a restrictive measure against States political regimes, individuals, entities and groups, to defend national and foreign security or the vital interests of the country. These Luxembourg sanctions will be valid for a maximum period of 60 days, and its effects expire automatically at the end of such period, except for a duly justified extension for periods of 30 days respectively.

In the Grand-Ducal Regulation of (date) on export control, all restrictive measures are listed in Annex 1, structured in different points for the respective countries (starting with Afghanistan in point 1 and ending with Zimbabwe, point 21°).

The approach chosen is the following. For restrictive measures falling within the competence of the European Union, Annex 1 is limited to a reference to the Regulation of the Council of the European Union adopted pursuant to the Council's political decision. For restrictive measures falling within the competence of the Member States, Annex 1 indicates the Luxembourg national measure necessary to apply the measures decided by the Council to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

As the restrictive measures are regularly updated at the level of the Council of the European Union, the implementation at the level of the Luxembourg legislation requires regular modifications of Annex 1.

The restrictive measures applicable by country can be consulted by consulting the schematic "country" forms (see section "More information" below).

Penalties

Whoever does not respect a restrictive measure is likely to be punished with imprisonment of 8 days to 5 years and/or a fine of EUR 251 to EUR 250,000.

Where the offense has resulted in a substantial financial gain, the fine may be increased to four times the amount of the offense.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Définition des mesures restrictives

Les mesures restrictives de l’Union européenne constituent, ensemble avec les sanctions adoptées par le Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies, les instruments de prédilection pour imposer des mesures de coercition aux pays tiers.

Il appartient aux membres des Nations Unies, dont le Luxembourg, de prendre les mesures nécessaires à l’exécution des décisions du Conseil de sécurité pour le maintien de la paix et de la sécurité internationales et de les exécuter directement et grâce à leur action dans les organismes internationaux appropriés dont ils font partie.

Le Luxembourg, en tant qu’Etat membre de l’Union européenne, doit également mettre en œuvre les mesures restrictives européennes en adoptant la législation ou les mesures de mise en œuvre nécessaires. Il appartient en effet à l’Union européenne de conduire la politique étrangère et de sécurité commune. Les embargos autonomes ont une valeur juridiquement contraignante pour tous les Etats membres.

L’adoption des mesures restrictives au niveau de l’Union européenne

Pour définir la position de l’Union sur une question particulière de nature géographique ou thématique, le Conseil adopte des décisions (libellées "positions communes" avant l’entrée en vigueur du traité de Lisbonne).

Pour les matières qui relèvent de la compétence européenne, telles que l’interruption ou la réduction partielle ou totale des relations économiques et financières avec un pays tiers, un règlement d’application du Conseil est nécessaire. Ce règlement sera directement applicable au sein des États membres de l’Union. Il créera des droits et obligations pour ceux qu’ils concernent, c’est-à-dire les États membres mais aussi les opérateurs économiques et les citoyens européens. Ces mesures restrictives feront l’objet d’un contrôle juridictionnel de la Cour de justice et du Tribunal de l’Union européenne.

Lorsque les mesures restrictives intégrées dans la décision du Conseil ne relèvent pas de la compétence de l’Union européenne, les États membres doivent adopter des mesures nationales. C’est le cas des embargos sur les armes, étant donné que le commerce des armes demeure une prérogative nationale.

Buts poursuivis par les mesures restrictives

Les mesures restrictives de l’Union européenne poursuivent des buts différents et complémentaires. Lorsqu’elles sont adoptées pour protéger la paix et la sécurité internationales, elles exécutent les sanctions internationales adoptées par le Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies. Initialement des instruments globaux, affectant également les populations civiles, les mesures sont devenues plus ciblées, alors qu’elles visent des destinataires plus restreints et épargnent la population civile.

Pour l’Union européenne, le recours effectif à des sanctions constitue un moyen important de maintenir et rétablir la paix et la sécurité internationales conformément aux principes de la Charte des Nations unies et de la politique étrangère et de sécurité commune de l’UE.

Si nécessaire, le Conseil pourra imposer des "sanctions autonomes". Il pourra, en adoptant les sanctions de l’ONU, décider de mesures plus sévères pour venir en complément des mesures d’exécution.

Les mesures restrictives peuvent également répondre à la violation de valeurs qui lient l’Union européenne à des pays tiers partenaires. Les mesures restrictives adoptées s’entendent ainsi en réaction à une grave méconnaissance de principes dont le respect est généralement considéré comme relevant de l'intérêt de la communauté internationale dans son ensemble.

Contenu des mesures restrictives

Le contenu des mesures restrictives n’est a priori pas limité. Les mesures peuvent dès lors prendre différentes formes, selon les objectifs visés et selon leur efficacité attendue. Il peut s’agir :

  • de sanctions diplomatiques (expulsion de diplomates, rupture des relations diplomatiques, suspension de visites officielles) ;
  • de la suspension de la coopération avec un pays tiers ;
  • du boycottage d’événements sportifs ou culturels ;
  • de sanctions financières (gel de fonds ou de ressources économiques, interdiction de transactions financières, restrictions des crédits à l’exportation ou des investissements) ;
  • de l’interdiction de vols ;
  • de restrictions en matière d’admission ;
  • de sanctions commerciales (restrictions à l’exportation et l’importation de certains biens et ressources, dont les embargos sur les armes et les embargos sur le matériel susceptible d’être utilisé à des fins de répression interne).

Les embargos sur les armes visent plus particulièrement à mettre fin à l’acheminement d’armes et d’équipements militaires vers des zones de conflit ou des régimes susceptibles de les utiliser à des fins de répression interne ou d’agression contre un pays étranger. lls comprennent généralement :

  • une interdiction de la vente, de la fourniture, du transfert ou de l’exportation d’armements et de matériels connexes de quelque type que ce soit, y compris des armes et des munitions, des véhicules et des équipements militaires, des équipements paramilitaires et des pièces détachées ;
  • une interdiction de fournir un financement, une assistance financière et une assistance technique, des services de courtage et d’autres services liés aux activités militaires et à la livraison, la fabrication, l’entretien et l’utilisation d’armements et de matériels connexes de quelque type que ce soit.

Un embargo sur les biens à double usage est appliqué au cas par cas, notamment lorsqu’existent des risques liés à la fabrication d’armes de destruction massive.

Lorsqu’une politique de répression interne est à l’origine de l’instauration des mesures restrictives de l’UE, le Conseil impose également des restrictions sur le matériel utilisé à des fins de répression interne ainsi que les services qui y sont liés, tels que l’entretien et la réparation.

Les embargos européens mentionnent également l’interdiction de fournir une assistance technique et autres services liés aux activités militaires et à la livraison, la fabrication, l’entretien et l’utilisation d’armements et matériels connexes, une interdiction de fournir un financement ou une aide financière, et ce de manière directe ou indirecte, ainsi qu’une interdiction de fournir des services de courtage tels que définis dans la Position commune européenne sur le courtage des armes.

Les sanctions économiques et financières peuvent prendre la forme d’interdictions des exportations ou des importations (pouvant s’appliquer à des produits spécifiques tels que le pétrole, le bois ou les diamants), d’interdictions de fournir des services spécifiques (courtage, services financiers, assistance technique), d’interdictions de vol, d’interdictions concernant les investissements, les paiements et les mouvements de capitaux ou de suppressions des préférences tarifaires.

Les ressortissants de pays tiers peuvent faire l’objet d’une interdiction d’admission sur le territoire de l’UE, les Etats membres devant prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires pour empêcher l’entrée ou le passage en transit sur leur territoire des personnes figurant sur la liste.

La mise en œuvre des mesures restrictives au Luxembourg

Les mesures restrictives mises en œuvre par le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg en matière commerciale à l’encontre de certains Etats, régimes politiques, personnes, entités et groupes peuvent comporter :

  • l’interdiction ou la restriction d’activités commerciales, industrielles, économiques, techniques et scientifiques de toute nature ;
  • l’interdiction ou la restriction de fournir une assistance technique, des services de courtage, des financements ou aides financières en relation avec un Etat, un régime politique, une personne physique et morale, entité ou groupe visés par la présente loi et les règlements pris en son exécution ;
  • l’interruption complète ou partielle des relations économiques et des communications ferroviaires, maritimes, aériennes, routières, fluviales, postales, électroniques et des autres moyens de communication ;
  • l’interdiction d’admission sur le territoire du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg ou du passage en transit du même territoire.

Elles s’imposent :

  • aux personnes physiques de nationalité luxembourgeoise, qui résident ou opèrent sur ou à partir du territoire du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg ou de l’étranger, et ;
  • aux personnes morales ayant leur siège social, un établissement stable ou leur centre de décision sur le territoire du Grand-Duché de Luxembourgeois et qui opèrent sur ou à partir du territoire du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg ou de l’étranger, et ;
  • à toutes autres personnes physiques et morales qui opèrent sur ou à partir du territoire du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg.

Elles sont adoptées par voie de règlement grand-ducal. Ce règlement désigne les Etats, régimes politiques, personnes physiques et morales, entités ou groupes qui font l’objet des mesures restrictives.

Le règlement grand-ducal détermine aussi les mesures qui s’appliquent.

En attendant la prise formelle de décisions au sein de l’Organisation des Nations unies ou de l’Union européenne, le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg pourra, par voie de règlement grand-ducal, imposer une mesure restrictive à l’encontre d’Etats, de régimes politiques, personnes, entités et groupes, pour assurer la défense de la sécurité nationale et extérieure ou des intérêts vitaux du pays. Ces sanctions luxembourgeoises seront valables pendant une période de 60 jours maximum, et ses effets expirent de plein droit à l’issue de telle période, sauf prorogation dûment motivée pour des périodes respectives de 30 jours.

Dans le règlement grand-ducal modifié du 14 décembre 2018 relatif au contrôle de l’exportation, toutes les mesures restrictives figurent à l’annexe 1, structurée en points différents pour les pays respectifs (commençant par Afghanistan au point 1° et finissant par le Zimbabwe au point 21°).

L’approche retenue est la suivante. Pour les mesures restrictives relevant de la compétence de l’Union européenne, l’annexe 1 se limite à un renvoi au règlement du Conseil de l’Union européenne pris en application de la décision politique du Conseil. Pour les mesures restrictives relevant de la compétence des Etats membres, l’annexe 1 indique la mesure nationale luxembourgeoise nécessaire pour appliquer au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg les mesures décidées par le Conseil.

Etant donné que les mesures restrictives sont actualisées régulièrement au niveau du Conseil de l’Union européenne, la mise en œuvre au niveau de la législation luxembourgeoise nécessite des modifications régulières de l’annexe 1.

Les mesures restrictives applicables par pays peuvent être consultées par la consultation des fiches schématiques "pays" (voir rubrique "Informations complémentaires" ci-après).

Pénalités

Celui qui ne respecte pas une mesure restrictive est susceptible d’être puni d’un emprisonnement de 8 jours à 5 ans et/ou d’une amende de 251 à 250.000 euros.

Lorsque l’infraction a permis de réaliser un gain financier important, l’amende peut être portée au quadruple de la somme sur laquelle a porté l’infraction.

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le