Definition of dual-use items


Dual-use items are goods, technology and software that can be used for both civil and military purposes.

This includes all goods which can be used for both non-explosive uses and assisting in any way in the manufacture of nuclear weapons or other nuclear explosive devices.

They are subject to controls which are applied in a uniform and coherent way throughout the European Union in order to promote the security of the European Union, the international security and equitable conditions of competition for the exports of the European Union.

Examples:

  • a computer or software of a certain capacity, an electronic or mechanical component can enter into the manufacture of technological equipment or missiles;
  • a viral strain that exists naturally (Ebola, etc.) can be used for medical research, but could also be used as a biological weapon;
  • a chemical product sold in large quantities can be used for industrial use or for the production of chemical weapons;
  • a machine tool or equipment may be used for conventional industry or used in the nuclear field.

Certain dual-use items are listed in detail, in order to subject them to restrictive measures regarding their export, import, transit, brokering, technical assistance and intangible transfer of technology.


Dual-use items listed in Annex I to Regulation (EC) 428/2009


These are the items covered by the international agreements on the control of dual-use items, comprising the Wassenaar Arrangement, the Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR), the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG), the Australia Group and the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC).

They are classified in 10 categories:

Category 0 – Nuclear materials, facilities and equipment
Category 1 – Special materials and related equipment
Category 2 – Materials processing
Category 3 – Electronics
Category 4 – Computers
Category 5 – Telecommunications and "information security"
Category 6 – Sensors and lasers
Category 7 – Navigation and avionics
Category 8 – Marine
Category 9 – Aerospace and propulsion

 

DU code: each dual-use item is classified by an alphanumeric reference structured as follows:

Number – Letter – Number – Number – Number
(for example: 1 C 350 or 5 A 002)

The first digit (from 0 to 9) refers to the goods category.
The letter (from A to E) related to the nature of the goods (A for equipment, assemblies, components; B for testing, inspection, control, production equipment; C for materials and material; D for software; E for technologies).
The second digit (from 0 to 4) refers to the non-proliferation group initiating the control (0 for Wassenaar Arrangement; 1 for MTCR; 2 for NSG; 3 for Australia Group; 4 for Chemical Weapons Convention).
The last 2 digits refer to the technical characteristics that make it possible to identify the good (for example, threshold, power, number of axes of rotation, etc.).
For any administrative and customs procedure, the alphanumeric entry must be completed by the corresponding sub-labels (for example: 1 C 351 a 1).
A product may, because of its technical characteristics, be classified in several categories. No category predominates over another.

It is up to the operator to determine for himself whether his product is likely to be classified as a "dual-use item". For this purpose, the operator must compare the technical characteristics of the product with the criteria contained, for each item listed, in Annex I to Regulation (EC) 428/2009.

Customs authorities are not required to accept the tariff code selected by the operator. To obtain the guarantee of a tariff classification valid throughout the European Union, the operator may lodge a binding tariff information request (RTC) with Administration des douanes et accises.

There is no direct link between the CN code (combined nomenclature) of the product and DU codes for dual-use items. However, a correlation table indicates, for each CN code, a list of possible DU codes in which the good concerned may fall. This does not constitute a legally binding document, and the operator needs to review, and provide OCEIT with the relevant documentation, why such a DU code (associated with the CN code in the correlation table I does, or does not, correspond to the characteristics of the good in question.

A good (or a facility) that is not controlled shall be submitted to such a control if it contains a "controlled" component, and if that component is the main element and can in practice be detached and used as a component for other purposes.

Dual-use items listed in Annex IV to Regulation (EC) 428/2009

They are classified in 2 parts:

Part I

  • items of stealth technology;
  • items of the Community strategic control;
  • items of the Community strategic control – Cryptography – category 5 part 2;
  • items of the MTCR technology.

Part II

  • items of the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC);
  • items of the NSG technology.

Dual-use items not listed in Annex I or IV to Regulation (EC) 428/2009

Even if they are not listed in Annex I or Annex IV of Regulation 428/2009, dual-use items are subject to certain restrictions regarding their export, import, transit, brokering, technical assistance and intangible transfer of technology.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Définition des biens à double usage

Dernière modification le 22.03.2019


Les biens à double usage sont des produits, technologies et logiciels qui peuvent être utilisés tant à des fins civiles que militaires.

Ils incluent notamment tous les biens qui peuvent à la fois être utilisés à des fins non explosives et entrer de manière quelconque dans la fabrication d’armes nucléaires ou d’autres dispositifs nucléaires explosifs.

Ils font l’objet de contrôles, appliqués de façon uniforme et cohérente à travers l’ensemble de l’Union européenne, afin de promouvoir la sécurité de l’Union européenne, la sécurité internationale et des conditions de concurrence équitables pour les exportateurs de l’Union européenne.

Exemples :

  • Un ordinateur ou un logiciel d’une certaine capacité, un composant électronique ou mécanique peut entrer dans la fabrication d’équipement technologique ou bien de missiles ;
  • Une souche virale qui existe à l’état naturel (Ebola, etc.) peut servir à la recherche médicale, mais pourrait aussi être utilisée comme arme biologique ;
  • Un produit chimique vendu en grande quantité, peut servir à un usage industriel ou à la fabrication d’armes chimiques ;
  • Une machine-outil ou un équipement peut être destiné à l’industrie classique ou servir dans le domaine du nucléaire.

Certains biens à double usage sont énumérés en détail, afin de les soumettre à des mesures restrictives quant à leur exportation, importation, transit, courtage, assistance technique et transfert intangible de technologie.


Biens à double usage listés à l’annexe I du règlement (CE) n° 428/2009


Ce sont les biens visés par les accords internationaux sur le contrôle des biens à double usage, comprenant l’arrangement de Wassenaar, le régime de contrôle de la technologie des missiles (RCTM), le groupe des fournisseurs nucléaires (GFN), le groupe Australie et la convention sur les armes chimiques (CAC).

Ils sont répertoriés en 10 catégories :

Catégorie 0 – Matières, installations et équipements nucléaires
Catégorie 1 - Matières spéciales et équipements apparentés
Catégorie 2 – Traitement des matériaux
Catégorie 3 – Électronique
Catégorie 4 – Calculateurs
Catégorie 5 – Télécommunications et "sécurité de l’information"
Catégorie 6 – Capteurs et lasers
Catégorie 7 – Navigation et aéro-électronique
Catégorie 8 – Marine
Catégorie 9 – Aérospatiale et propulsion

 

Code DU : Chaque bien à double usage est classé par une référence alphanumérique structurée de la façon suivante :

Chiffre - Lettre - Chiffre – Chiffre – Chiffre
(par exemple : 1 C 350 ou 5 A 002)

Le premier chiffre (de 0 à 9) se rapporte à la catégorie de biens.
La lettre (de A à E) se rapporte à la nature des biens (A pour équipements, ensembles, composants ; B pour équipements d’essai, d’inspection, de contrôle, de production ; C pour matériaux et matière ; D pour logiciel ; E pour technologies).
Le deuxième chiffre (de 0 à 4) se réfère au groupe de non-prolifération à l’origine du contrôle (0 pour Arrangement de Wassenaar ; 1 pour MTCR ; 2 pour NSG ; 3 pour Groupe Australie ; 4 pour Convention d’interdiction des armes chimiques).
Les deux derniers chiffres se réfèrent aux caractéristiques techniques permettant d’identifier le bien (par exemple, seuil, puissance, nombre d’axes de rotation etc.).
Pour toute démarche administrative et douanière, la rubrique alphanumérique doit être complétée par les sous-libellés correspondants (par exemple : 1 C 351 a 1).
Un produit peut, du fait de ses caractéristiques techniques, être classé dans plusieurs catégories. Aucune catégorie n’a prédominance sur une autre.

Il appartient à l’opérateur de déterminer lui-même si son produit est susceptible d’être classé comme « bien à double usage ». Pour cela, l’opérateur doit comparer les caractéristiques techniques du produit avec les critères contenus, pour chaque bien listé, à l’annexe I du règlement (CE) n° 428/2009.

Les autorités douanières ne sont pas tenues d’accepter le code tarif sélectionné par l’opérateur. Pour obtenir la garantie d’un classement tarifaire valable dans toute l'Union européenne, l’opérateur peut introduire une demande de renseignement tarifaire contraignant (RTC) auprès de l’Administration des douanes et accises.

Il n’existe pas de lien direct entre le code NC (nomenclature combinée) du produit et les codes DU des biens à double usage. Toutefois, une table de corrélation indique, pour chaque code NC, une liste de possibles codes DU desquels le produit concerné peut relever. Il s’agit d’un document d’information, juridiquement non contraignant, et il faut que l’opérateur examine, et puisse fournir à l’OCEIT la documentation y relative, pourquoi tel code DU (associé au code NC dans la table de corrélation) correspond, ou ne correspond pas, aux caractéristiques du bien en question.

Un bien (ou une installation) a priori non soumis à contrôle sera soumis s’il contient un composant « soumis à contrôle », et si ce composant est l’élément principal et qu’il peut en pratique en être détaché et utilisé à d’autres fins.

Biens à double usage listés à l’annexe IV du règlement (CE) n° 428/2009

Ils sont classés en 2 parties :

Partie I

  • Biens relevant de la technologie de la furtivité ;
  • Biens relevant du contrôle stratégique communautaire ;
  • Biens relevant du contrôle stratégique communautaire – Cryptographe – catégorie 5 – partie 2 ;
  • Biens relevant de la technologie MTCR.

Partie II

  • Biens relevant de la Convention sur les armes chimiques (tels que ricine, saxitoxine) ;
  • Biens relevant de la technologie du NSG.

Biens à double usage non listés aux annexes I et IV du règlement (CE) n° 428/2009

Même s’ils ne sont pas listés aux annexes I et IV du règlement (CEE) n° 428/2009, les biens à double usage font l’objet de certaines restrictions quant à leur exportation, importation, transit, courtage, assistance technique et transfert intangible de technologie.

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le