Contracting financial services offered remotely

The concept of remote financial services includes all services related to banks, credits, investments and payments for which the contracts are entered into by telephone, internet, e-mail or fax, for example.

This excludes services related to insurance and individual retirement services in the form of insurance contracts. The rules governing the distance sales of insurance contracts with consumers are set out in the Law of 27 July 1997 on the insurance contract, as amended.

All of these distance contracts related to financial services must comply with the same rules.

These services are also subject to other rules pertaining to the nature of the services offered – for example when the financial service is consumer credit.

How to proceed

Definition of a distance contract

A distance contract is:

  • a contract for the provision of services between a professional and a consumer;
  • entered into as part of a distance system organised by the professional;
  • in which the professional and the consumer are not in the same place at the same time during the three phases of a contract:
    • the offer;
    • the negotiation;
    • the conclusion of the contract.
  • in which the only methods of communication used are distance methods.

Examples of distance communication methods:

  • the internet;
  • postal service;
  • fax;
  • telephone;
  • e-mail;
  • SMS.

Examples of distance contracts for financial services:

  • opening a bank account via the internet;
  • investment in units of an investment fund via the internet;
  • acquisition of a credit card;
  • concluding a credit agreement by exchange of e-mails.

Thus, a distance contract may also be a situation in which the consumer goes to a bank simply to collect general information on goods or services (for example, on bond purchases), and then goes home and concludes the contract remotely – by telephone, for example.

On the other hand, the following situations are not distance contracts:

  • a consumer negotiates a credit agreement in a bank branch, then goes home and concludes the contract by telephone, after which the bank sends the loan contract for signature by the consumer;
  • the credit agreement is prepared via an exchange of emails, but is finally signed in the bank's offices.

Prior agreement by the consumer

The professional must obtain the consumer's prior agreement to contact them by:

  • e-mail;
  • automated telephone service, without human involvement;
  • fax;
  • telephone.

The professional must demonstrate that the consumer has agreed to be contacted by one of these means.

Concerning other means of distance communication (e.g. by post), the professional may contact the consumer only if the consumer has not manifestly opted out.

Example: printed materials may not be sent by post is not allowed if the consumer has a sticker on their mailbox saying 'Keng Reklammen w.e.g.' or 'No advertising'.

Right to information and contract on paper

Prior to the conclusion of any contract, the professional must provide a certain amount of information to the consumer.

At any time, until the end of a contract, the consumer has the right to ask the professional to receive the terms and conditions of the contract on paper.

In theory, a consumer also has the right to change the distance communication method used.

Example: in the case of a contract concluded by telephone, a consumer may also send a fax or email to the professional.

Withdrawal

Following the conclusion of a contract, a consumer may withdraw, without providing any reasons, within 14 calendar days, starting:

  • from the day of conclusion of a contract (if it is for the provision of services such as opening of a bank account); or
  • from the day of acceptance of the goods (if the contract pertains to delivery of goods).

If the last day of the time period is not a working day, the time is extended until the next working day. A working day is any day except for Sundays and public holidays.

The effect of withdrawal is that the distance contract is automatically cancelled. The contract is then deemed never to have existed.

The consumer cannot waive their right of withdrawal even if they have signed a clause to that effect in the contract or the general terms and conditions. Such a clause is considered null and void.

How to withdraw from a contract

Within 14 days, the consumer must inform the professional in writing on paper or any other durable medium that they wish to withdraw from the distance contract. The withdrawal notice must be sent before the end of the time period.

The consumer must comply, in all the details, with the precise instructions that the professional provided to them prior to the conclusion of the contract.

Important: If a consumer does not receive the information prior to the conclusion of a contract and the concrete elements of the contract prior to delivery of the goods or conclusion of a contract for financial services, the 14-day period only begins to run on the day of receipt of the information or concrete elements of the contract.

Exceptions

Exception for individual retirement services not in the form of insurance

If a consumer signs a contract for a supplementary pension (at a distance), then they may withdraw from it within 30 calendar days. The short time – as for other distance contracts – starting from conclusion of the contract for provision of financial services (or from the delivery of the goods), or starting from the day when the professional provides the necessary information and the concrete elements of the contract.

Exception for consumer credit agreements

If a consumer concludes a consumer credit agreement (at a distance), special rules apply for the right of withdrawal.

Exception for credits made to finance goods or services ordered remotely

If the goods or service were financed by credit offered to the consumer by the professional, the consumer does not need to expressly withdraw from the credit. The credit is automatically terminated if the consumer withdraws from the contract for the financial service ordered remotely. Credit is also terminated when it has been given to a third party, but following an agreement made between that third party and the professional.

Linked contracts

If a consumer has concluded a distance contract for financial services and if, in addition, they concluded another distance contract for financial services linked to the main contract, when the consumer withdraws from the main contract, the other contract is automatically cancelled.

Example: Opening of a bank account and acquisition of a credit card. If the account is closed, the linked card can no longer be used.

Proof of withdrawal

The consumer must prove that they have withdrawn from the contract within 14 calendar days of the conclusion of the contract. It is advisable to send one's withdrawal by registered mail with acknowledgement of receipt and to keep a written copy.

Cases in which withdrawal is not possible

There are cases in which the consumer does not have the right to withdraw from the contract:

Financial services whose price depends on fluctuations of the financial market that can exist during the retraction time – for example, services relating to the following types of transaction:

  • foreign exchange transactions; Example: conversion from EUR to USD;
  • money market instruments; Example: treasury bonds or certificates of deposit;
  • negotiable securities; Example: company shares; bonds;
  • units in investment funds;
  • forward rate agreements (futures), including similar instruments that will be paid in cash;
  • forward rate agreements (FRA);
  • exchange contracts on interest rates (swaps) or foreign currencies or exchange contracts on amounts related to shares or indices on shares (equity swaps);
  • options to buy or sell one of the instruments mentioned above, including similar instruments paid in cash, and including options on currencies and interest rates;
  • if the consumer expressly asks for the contract to be executed prior to the end of the withdrawal time, they lose the right of withdrawal;
  • credit to finance a building or land;
  • property mortgage credit;
  • declarations made by a consumer to a public official, on condition that the consumer has received all information and conditions to which they are entitled, and that the public official has certified receipt of that information.

Payment

A professional may only demand payment for services that they have actually provided to the consumer. Payments must be proportional to the importance of the service actually provided with respect to all the services determined in the contract.

A professional may provide the goods or services ordered only after the consumer has given their approval.

A professional cannot impose a penalty on the consumer:

  • if, prior to the conclusion of the contract, the professional does not inform the consumer of the amounts that they must pay if they withdraw from the contract; or
  • if they have delivered goods or services without waiting for the end of the withdrawal period (unless at the express request of the consumer: in this case, the professional can claim payment from them).

The consumer must reimburse the professional for any amount received from the professional. They must repay the money and/or return the proceeds within 30 days of the day when they sent the withdrawal notice. If they do not reimburse the professional in this time period, they must pay interest to said professional at the legal rate starting on the day after the end of the 30-day time period.

Reimbursement of consumer

In case of withdrawal, the professional must reimburse the consumer for all amounts that they have paid to said professional, except for the amount corresponding to the service already provided by the professional.

They must do so within 30 days of the day when they received the withdrawal notice. If they do not reimburse the consumer during this time period, they must pay the consumer accrued interest at the legal rate starting from the end of the 30-day period.

Provision of unrequested financial services

If a professional provides financial services that the consumer has not asked for, the consumer is not required to pay for the service. The professional cannot claim compensation whatsoever from the consumer, on pain of criminal fines or administrative sanctions.

If the consumer does not react upon receiving the services, it does not mean that they agree with the provision of the service. Clauses of the type 'unless you indicate otherwise, we consider that you agree with our proposal' are invalid.

It is up to the professional to prove that the consumer has ordered the delivery of a good or the provision of a service.

These rules must not be confused with the case in which a contract is subject to automatic renewal if the consumer does not terminate it at its end. In this case, the contract continues to run and the consumer is not exempted from paying the professional.

The professional cannot claim compensation whatsoever from the consumer, nor to return or to keep the goods, on pain of fines.

Who can consumers turn to if there is a problem? What are the consequences?

In case of an individual problem related to a distance contract for a financial service, a consumer may ask the court to cancel or terminate the contract, or in certain cases, request damages and interest if they can prove that they have suffered harm.

The consumer may, in this situation, also contact various agencies, including the following:

  • Luxembourgish Consumer Protection Association (Union Luxembourgeoise des Consommateurs Nouvelle – ULC – a not-for-profit): The ULC will inform, advise and defend consumers in the case of a problem for a Luxembourg national; The ULC also defends the collective interests of consumers and may ask the court to issue an injunction against certain actions on the part of the professional.
  • European Consumer Centre Luxembourg (Centre Européen des Consommateurs EIG Luxembourg – CEC): The CEC Luxembourg informs consumers and defends their interests if the consumer has a problem with a professional located in another EU country;
  • Luxembourg Financial Sector Supervisory Commission (Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier – CSSF): A consumer may contact the CSSF if they believe that the rules described in this article have not been complied with. The CSSF has authority only if a claim concerns a bank or other financial sector business. The CSSF may then try to find an amicable solution to the claim.

If the collective interests of consumers are at stake: A professional that does not follow the rules on distance contracts for financial services (except for insurance) may be subject to a court order to cease their actions. The court may order any necessary steps to stop an action that is against the law. If the professional does not comply with a court order, they may incur a fine of up to EUR 50,000.

This injunction may be launched at the request

  • of an approved consumer protection organisation; or
  • of the CSSF.

In practice, a consumer facing a problem with a professional may go to a consumer protection organisation or the CSSF, which will then assess the possibility and the opportunity of undertaking a summary procedure against the professional, first determining whether the collective interests of consumers are at stake.

Special case of e-commerce

In addition to the above, a professional risks a prison sentence and a fine of up to EUR 125,000 if they send commercial messages without the consumer's prior approval.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Conclure un service financier offert à distance

La notion de services financiers à distance englobe tous les services ayant trait aux banques, aux crédits, aux investissements et aux paiements dont le contrat a été conclu p.ex. par téléphone, Internet, email ou fax.

Sont ici exclus les services ayant trait à l’assurance ainsi qu’aux retraites individuelles  constituées sous forme de contrat d’assurance. Les règles relatives à la commercialisation à distance des contrats d’assurance conclus avec des consommateurs sont  fixées par la loi modifiée du 27 juillet 1997 sur le contrat d’assurance.

Tous ces contrats à distance et relatifs à des services financiers doivent respecter les mêmes règles.

Ces prestations sont également soumises à d’autres règles ayant trait à la nature du service offerts, par exemple lorsque le service financier est un crédit à la consommation.

Modalités pratiques

Définition du contrat à distance

Un contrat à distance est :

  • un contrat concernant la prestation de services entre un professionnel et un consommateur ;
  • conclu dans le cadre d’un système à distance organisé par le professionnel ;
  • où le professionnel et le consommateur ne sont pas au même moment au même endroit pendant les trois phases d’un contrat:
    • l’offre ;
    • la négociation ;
    • la conclusion du contrat.
  • où les seules techniques de communication utilisées sont des techniques à distance.

Exemples de techniques de communication à distance :

  • internet ;
  • lettre ;
  • fax ;
  • téléphone ;
  • email ;
  • sms.

Exemples de contrats à distance portant sur des services financiers :

  • ouverture d’un compte bancaire sur Internet ;
  • investissement sur Internet dans des parts d’un fonds d’investissement ;
  • acquisition d’une carte de crédit ;
  • conclusion d’un contrat de crédit par échange d’emails.

Un contrat à distance peut donc également être la situation où un consommateur va dans une banque simplement pour collecter des informations générales sur des biens ou services, par exemple sur des achats d’obligations, puis rentre chez lui et négocie et conclut le contrat à distance, par exemple par téléphone.

Par contre, les situations suivantes ne sont pas des contrats à distance :

  • le consommateur négocie un crédit dans la banque, puis rentre chez lui et conclut le contrat par téléphone suivi de l’envoi par la banque du contrat de crédit pour signature par le consommateur ;
  • le crédit est préparé par un échange d’emails, mais il est finalement signé dans les locaux de la banque.

Accord préalable du consommateur

Le professionnel doit obtenir l’accord du consommateur avant de le contacter par :

  • email ;
  • automate d’appel, sans intervention humaine ;
  • fax ;
  • téléphone.

Le professionnel doit prouver que le consommateur a consenti à être contacté par un de ces moyens.

Pour ce qui est des autres moyens de communication à distance (p.ex. courrier), le professionnel peut s’adresser au consommateur seulement si le consommateur ne s’y est pas manifestement opposé.

Exemple : un envoi par la poste normale d’imprimés n’est pas permis si le consommateur a un autocollant sur sa boîte à lettre de type "Keng Reklammen w.e.g." ou "Pas de publicité".

Droit à l’information et au contrat sur papier

Avant la conclusion de tout contrat, le professionnel doit obligatoirement donner un certain nombre d’informations au consommateur.

A tout moment, jusqu’à la fin du contrat, le consommateur a le droit de demander au professionnel de recevoir les conditions du contrat sur papier.

En principe, le consommateur a aussi le droit de changer la technique de communication à distance utilisée.

Exemple : dans le cas d’un contrat conclu par téléphone, le consommateur peut aussi envoyer un fax ou email au professionnel.

Rétractation

Après la conclusion du contrat, le consommateur peut se retirer du contrat, sans se justifier, dans un délai de 14 jours calendrier à partir :

  • du jour de la conclusion du contrat (s’il s’agit de la fourniture de services, telle qu’une ouverture d’un compte bancaire), ou
  • du jour de la réception du bien (s’il s’agit d’une livraison de biens).

Si le dernier jour du délai n’est pas un jour ouvrable, le délai est prolongé jusqu’au premier jour ouvrable suivant. Un jour ouvrable est chaque jour sauf les dimanches et jours fériés.

L’effet de la rétractation est que le contrat à distance est annulé automatiquement. Le contrat est réputé n’avoir alors jamais existé.

Le consommateur ne peut pas renoncer à son droit de rétractation même s’il a signé une telle clause dans le contrat ou les conditions générales. Une telle clause est réputée nulle.

Comment se retirer du contrat?

Dans le délai de 14 jours, le consommateur doit informer le professionnel par écrit sur papier ou sur un autre support durable qu’il se rétracte du contrat à distance. Il suffit d’envoyer la rétractation avant la fin du délai.

Le consommateur doit se tenir, pour les détails, sur les instructions précises que le professionnel lui a fournies avant la conclusion du contrat.

Important: Si le consommateur ne reçoit pas les informations avant la conclusion du contrat et les éléments concrets du contrat avant la livraison du bien ou la conclusion du contrat de services financiers, alors le délai de 14 jours commence à courir seulement le jour de la réception de ces informations ou éléments concrets du contrat.

Exceptions

Exception pour les retraites individuelles non constituées sous forme d’assurance

Si le consommateur a conclu un contrat de pension complémentaire (à distance), il peut s’en retirer dans un délai de 30 jours calendrier. Le délai court - comme pour les autres contrats à distance de services financiers - à partir de la conclusion du contrat pour la fourniture de services financiers (ou à partir de la livraison du bien), respectivement à partir du jour où le professionnel fournit les informations nécessaires et les éléments concrets du contrat.

Exception pour les crédits à la consommation

Si le consommateur a conclu un contrat de crédit à la consommation (à distance), des règles spéciales s’appliquent pour le droit de rétractation.

Exception pour les crédits donnés pour financer un bien ou service commandé à distance

Si le bien ou le service ont été financés par un crédit que le professionnel a donné au consommateur, le consommateur n’a pas besoin de se retirer expressément du crédit. Le crédit est automatiquement terminé si le consommateur se rétracte du contrat de service financier commandé à distance. Le crédit est également terminé s’il a été donné par un tiers, mais suite à un accord conclu entre ce tiers et le professionnel.

Contrats rattachés l’un à l’autre

Si le consommateur a conclu un contrat à distance relatif à des services financiers et si, en plus, il a conclu un autre contrat à distance concernant des services financiers, lié au contrat principal, alors si le consommateur se retire du contrat principal, l’autre contrat est automatiquement terminé.

Exemple : Ouverture d’un compte bancaire et acquisition d’une carte de crédit. Si le compte est fermé, les services de la carte ne peuvent plus être utilisés non plus.

Preuve de la rétractation

Le consommateur doit prouver qu’il s’est retiré du contrat  dans un délai de 14 jours calendrier à compter de la conclusion du contrat. Il est conseillé d’envoyer sa rétractation par lettre recommandée avec accusé de réception et de conserver une copie de l’écrit.

Cas où la rétractation n’est pas possible

Il y a des cas où le consommateur n’a pas le droit de se retirer du contrat :

Services financiers dont le prix dépend des fluctuations du marché financier qui peuvent exister pendant le délai de rétractation, par exemple les services relatifs aux opérations suivantes :

  • opérations de change; Exemple: change de EUR en USD
  • instruments du marché monétaire; Exemple. bons de Trésor ou certificats de dépôt;
  • titres négociables; Exemple: actions de sociétés; obligations
  • parts dans des fonds d’investissement;
  • contrats financiers à terme (futures), y compris les instruments similaires qui seront réglés en espèces;
  • contrats à terme sur taux d’intérêt (FRA);
  • contrats d’échange (swaps) sur taux d’intérêt ou sur devises ou contrats d’échange sur des flux liés à des actions ou à des indices d’actions (equity swaps);
  • options pour acheter ou vendre un des instruments mentionnés aux points précédents, y compris les instruments similaires qui seront réglés en espèces, et y compris les options sur devises et sur taux d’intérêt.
  • si le consommateur demande expressément que le contrat soit exécuté avant la fin du délai de rétractation, il perd son droit de rétractation;
  • crédit pour financer un immeuble ou un terrain ;
  • crédit immobilier hypothécaire ;
  • déclarations faites par un consommateur auprès d’un officier public, à condition que le consommateur ait bien reçu toutes les informations et conditions auxquelles il a droit, et que l’officier public en ait attesté la réception.

Paiement

Le professionnel peut exiger uniquement le paiement des services qu’il a effectivement fournis au consommateur. Le paiement doit être proportionnel à l’importance du service effectivement fourni par rapport à l’ensemble des prestations déterminées dans le contrat.

Le professionnel peut fournir le bien ou service commandé uniquement après que le consommateur a donné son accord.

Le professionnel ne peut pas réclamer une pénalité au consommateur :

  • si avant la conclusion du contrat, il ne l’a pas informé des montants qu’il doit payer s’il se retire du contrat, ou
  • s’il a livré le bien ou fourni le service sans attendre la fin du délai de rétractation (sauf s’il l’a fait à la demande expresse du consommateur: dans ce cas le professionnel peut lui réclamer le paiement).

Le consommateur doit rembourser au professionnel toute somme que ce dernier a reçue de la part du professionnel. Il doit rembourser l’argent et/ou retourner le produit dans un délai de 30 jours à partir du jour où il a envoyé la rétractation. S’il ne rembourse pas le professionnel dans ce laps de temps, il doit lui payer des intérêts au taux légal à partir du jour suivant la fin du délai de 30 jours.

Remboursement au consommateur?

En cas de rétractation, le professionnel doit rembourser au consommateur toutes les sommes que ce dernier lui a payées, sauf le montant correspondant au service que ce dernier lui a déjà fourni.

Il doit le faire dans un délai de 30 jours à partir du jour où il a reçu la rétractation. S'il ne rembourse pas le consommateur durant cette période, il doit lui payer des intérêts au taux légal à partir du jour suivant la fin du délai de 30 jours.

Fourniture de services financiers non demandée

Si le professionnel fournit des services financiers alors que le consommateur n’a rien demandé, le consommateur n’est pas obligé de payer le service. Le professionnel ne peut exiger aucune contre-prestation de la part du consommateur, sous peine d’être puni par une amende pénale ou des sanctions administratives

Si le consommateur ne réagit pas à la fourniture, ceci ne signifie pas qu’il est d’accord avec la fourniture du service. Des clauses du genre "sauf avis contraire de votre part, nous considérons que vous êtes d’accord avec notre proposition" n’ont aucune valeur.

Il appartient au professionnel de prouver que le consommateur a commandé la fourniture d’un service.

Ces règles ne doivent pas être confondues avec le cas où un contrat fait l’objet d’une reconduction tacite si le consommateur n’y met pas fin à son terme. Dans ce cas, le contrat continue à courir et le consommateur n’est pas dispensé de payer le professionnel.

Le professionnel ne peut exiger aucune contre-prestation de la part du consommateur, ni le renvoi de la marchandise ou encore sa conservation, sous peine d’être puni par une amende.

A qui s’adresser en cas de problème? Quelles sont les conséquences?

En cas de problème individuel relatif à un contrat à distance portant sur un service financier, le consommateur peut demander au tribunal d’annuler ou de mettre fin au contrat (ou, dans certains cas, de demander des dommages-intérêts s’il peut prouver qu’il a subi un dommage).

Le consommateur peut dans cette situation aussi s’adresser à différents organismes, dont les principaux sont les suivants:

  • ULC (Union Luxembourgeoise des Consommateurs Nouvelle asbl): L’ULC informe, conseille et défend les consommateurs en cas de problème individuel national. L’ULC défend également les intérêts collectifs des consommateurs et peut demander au tribunal de faire cesser certains agissements du professionnel.
  • CEC Luxembourg (Centre Européen des Consommateurs GIE Luxembourg): le CEC Luxembourg informe les consommateurs et défend leurs intérêts si le consommateur a un problème avec un professionnel situé dans un autre pays de l’Union européenne.
  • CSSF (Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier): Le consommateur peut s’adresser à la CSSF s’il est d’avis que les règles décrites dans cet article n’ont pas été respectées. La CSSF est compétente uniquement si la réclamation concerne une banque ou un autre professionnel du secteur financier. La CSSF peut alors essayer de régler la réclamation à l’amiable.

Si les intérêts collectifs des consommateurs sont en jeu: Un professionnel qui ne se tient pas aux règles sur les contrats à distance portant sur des services financiers (hors assurance) risque d’être condamné par le tribunal à mettre fin à ses agissements. Le tribunal peut ordonner toute mesure pour faire cesser un acte contraire à la loi. Si le professionnel ne se conforme pas à la décision du tribunal, il peut être condamné à payer une amende pouvant atteindre un maximum de 50.000,- EUR.

Cette action en cessation peut être lancée à la demande

  • d’une organisation agréée protectrice des intérêts collectifs des consommateurs, ou
  • de la CSSF.

Dans la pratique, un consommateur en face d’un problème avec un professionnel pourra s’adresser soit à une organisation protectrice des consommateurs soit à la CSSF qui apprécieront alors la possibilité et l’opportunité d’agir selon la procédure des référés contre le professionnel, en déterminant d’abord si les intérêts collectifs des consommateurs sont en jeu.

Cas spécial du commerce électronique

en plus de ce qui précède, le professionnel risque une peine de prison et une amende pouvant aller jusqu’à 125.000,- EUR s’il envoie des communications dans un but commercial par email si le consommateur n’y a pas donné son accord préalable.

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le