Elections for the Chamber of Commerce

Last update 27.11.2018

The composition of the plenary assembly of the Chamber of Commerce is renewed every 5 years.

The Chamber of Commerce comprises 25 regular members and 25 substitute members, divided into 6 electoral groups.

Who is concerned

Legal persons (commercial companies whose registered offices are in Luxembourg), and any branch office of a foreign company established in Luxembourg, that belong to the Chamber of Commerce, vote for one delegate/legal representative who is also eligible (e.g.: manager, director, authorised representative, CEO), and whom they must register on the electoral rolls.

Natural persons, members of the Chamber of Commerce and who carry out their activity in their own name are automatically voters and may not assign their office, but must nevertheless be registered on the electoral rolls.

Voters, delegates and legal representatives must be at least 18 years old on the day on which the vote closes (29 March 2019).

The following people are not permitted to vote:

  • people who have been convicted of criminal offences;
  • people who, for lesser offences, have been stripped of the right to vote;
  • people who have been sentenced for bankruptcy or who are bankrupt;
  • adults under guardianship;
  • subject to exceptions, people exercising their right to vote in another professional chamber.

How to proceed

Overview of the Chamber of Commerce

The Chamber of Commerce comprises 25 regular members and 25 substitute members, divided into 6 electoral groups:

  • group 1: trade and other commercial activities which are not specifically mentioned;
  • group 2: financial holding companies;
  • group 3: industry, SMIs and SMEs;
  • group 4: banks, agricultural credit cooperatives and other financial activities;
  • group 5: insurance companies;
  • group 6: hotels, restaurants and catering businesses (HORECA).

Mission

The Chamber of Commerce brings together all businesses, except for agriculture and crafts, which have their own professional chamber. It reflects all of Luxembourg's economic sectors and has the following missions and roles:

  • promoting general economic interests;
  • acting as an independent spokesperson for the market economy and a critical partner in the field of national, European and international policy;
  • intervening in the legislative procedure;
  • providing services to businesses and to the public.

All natural persons, commercial companies and branch offices of foreign companies established in Luxembourg and carrying out commercial, financial or industrial activities are automatically members of the Chamber of Commerce.

Elections

Registration on the electoral rolls

In late November, the board of the mayor and aldermen sends each member of the Chamber of Commerce a form and a request to verify the basic information on it and return it to the board.

Anyone who wishes to register on the electoral rolls must specify the electoral group which they would like to join. Voters who wish to change electoral groups must attach, to the form, a copy of their business permit or a copy of the articles of association of the legal person.

Natural persons who operate a business in their own name and belong to the Chamber of Commerce are automatically deemed voters and may not assign this right.

The voter or delegate or representative exercising the right to vote for a legal person may be registered on only one electoral roll: the one that corresponds to the electoral group to which the voter belongs.

The Chamber of Commerce sends the board one list per electoral group listing the members of the Chamber of Commerce of their commune, in alphabetical order. One personalised form per member, containing the information held about that member, is attached.

Approval of the electoral rolls

Between 15 December and 10 January, the board of the mayor and aldermen reviews the list of voters and, where applicable, modifies it. In the event of a change of residence during this period, voters, delegates or representatives exercising the right to vote for a legal person are registered on the electoral rolls of the commune of their new residence if they notify the register of the commune they are leaving of their intention within 15 days of the move.

The electoral rolls are approved provisionally on 10 January and may be accessed by the public. Interested parties have until 21 January to submit an appeal with supporting documents to the commune's secretary. The appeals and supporting documents are forwarded to the court magistrate (juge de paix), who rules in a public hearing. The ruling is not subject to appeal. A copy of the electoral rolls that are permanently approved on 7 February is then forwarded by the board to the Minister for the Economy, who then forwards it to the president of the polling station.

Vote

On 20 March, the president of the polling station sends the people exercising the right to vote a registered letter containing a ballot paper and voting instructions. Each voter has as many votes as there are regular members to be elected in the voter's electoral group. The voter mails back the ballot in the envelope provided no later than 29 March; the postmark date is considered probative. Ballots sent after that date are automatically voided.

Counting the votes

Ballots are sorted into two groups – valid, and null and void – and sent to the minister. The following are deemed null and void:

  • all ballots other than those sent by the president of the polling station to people exercising the right to vote;
  • ballots that do not contain any votes;
  • ballots that contain more votes than there are regular members to elect;
  • ballots that bear any distinguishing marks or symbols or that are sealed in a marked envelope or envelope other than the one issued by the president;
  • ballots on which voters make their identities known.

If one envelope contains multiple ballots, these ballots are also deemed null and void.

The different seats of the regular and substitute members are allocated to the candidates who receive the most votes. In the event of a tie in an electoral group, priority is given to the older candidate.

The names of the elected members are published in the Official Journal of Luxembourg. The date of publication is the date of the election.

All voters registered for the Chamber of Commerce are entitled to protest the election in writing; this complaint must be submitted to the Minister for the Economy within 15 days.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Elections pour la Chambre de Commerce

La composition de l’assemblée plénière de la Chambre de Commerce est renouvelée tous les 5 ans.

La Chambre de Commerce se compose de 25 membres effectifs et 25 membres suppléants répartis en 6 groupes électoraux.

Personnes concernées

Les personnes morales (sociétés commerciales ayant leur siège social au Luxembourg), ainsi que toute succursale d’une société étrangère établie au Luxembourg, ressortissantes de la Chambre de Commerce votent pour un délégué/représentant légal qui est également éligible (exemples: gérant, administrateur, fondé de pouvoir, directeur) et qu'elles doivent inscrire sur les listes électorales.

Les personnes physiques, ressortissantes de la Chambre de Commerce, exerçant leur activité en nom propre ont d'office la qualité d'électeur et ne peuvent pas déléguer leur mandat, mais doivent quand même être inscrites sur les listes électorales.

Les électeurs, délégués et représentants légaux doivent être âgés de 18 ans accomplis au jour de la clôture du scrutin (le 29 mars 2019)

Sont exclus de l’électorat:

  • les condamnés à des peines criminelles ;
  • ceux qui en matière correctionnelle sont privés du droit de vote par condamnation ;
  • ceux qui sont condamnés pour banqueroute ou qui sont en état de faillite ;
  • les majeurs en tutelle ;
  • sauf exception, les personnes qui exercent leur droit de vote dans une autre chambre professionnelle.

Modalités pratiques

Présentation de la Chambre de Commerce

La Chambre de Commerce se compose de 25 membres effectifs et 25 membres suppléants répartis en 6 groupes électoraux :

  • groupe 1 : commerce et autres activités commerciales non spécialement dénommées ;
  • groupe 2 : sociétés de participations financières ;
  • groupe 3 : industrie, PMI et PME ;
  • groupe 4 : banques, caisses rurales et autres activités financières ;
  • groupe 5 : assurances ;
  • groupe 6 : hôtellerie, restauration et cafetiers.

Mission

La Chambre de Commerce regroupe toutes les entreprises, excepté l’agriculture et l’artisanat, qui disposent de leur propre chambre professionnelle. Elle reflète l’ensemble des secteurs économiques luxembourgeois et assure notamment les missions et rôles suivants :

  • promotion de l’intérêt économique général :
  • porte-parole indépendant pour l’économie du marché et partenaire critique des politiques nationale, européenne et internationale ;
  • intervenant dans la procédure législative ;
  • prestataire de services aux entreprises.

Toutes les personnes physiques, sociétés commerciales et succursales de sociétés étrangères établies au Luxembourg et exerçant une activité commerciale, financière ou industrielle, sont d’office ressortissantes de la Chambre de Commerce.

Elections

Inscriptions sur les listes électorales

A la fin du mois de novembre, le collège des bourgmestre et échevins envoie à chaque ressortissant de la Chambre de Commerce un formulaire avec invitation à vérifier les informations de base qui y sont répertoriées et à le renvoyer au collège.

Toute personne qui demande à s’inscrire sur les listes électorales doit spécialement désigner le groupe électoral dont elle veut faire partie. L’électeur qui souhaite changer de groupe électoral doit joindre au formulaire reçu une copie de l’autorisation d’établissement ou une copie des statuts de la personne morale.

Les personnes physiques exploitant une entreprise en nom personnel et ressortissantes de la Chambre de Commerce sont d’office considérées comme électeurs et ne peuvent pas déléguer ce droit.

L’électeur ou le représentant légal ou le délégué exerçant le droit de vote pour une personne morale ne peut être inscrit que sur une seule liste électorale, celle correspondant au groupe électoral dont l'électeur fait partie.

La Chambre de Commerce envoie au collège un relevé par groupe électoral reprenant par ordre alphabétique les ressortissants de la Chambre de Commerce de leur commune. Un formulaire individualisé par ressortissant reprenant les données dudit ressortissant est joint.

Arrêt des listes électorales

Entre le 15 décembre et le 10 janvier, le collège des bourgmestre et échevins révise la liste des électeurs et le cas échéant la modifie. En cas de changement de résidence durant cette période, l’électeur, le représentant légal ou le délégué exerçant le droit de vote pour une personne morale, est inscrit sur les listes électorales de la commune de sa nouvelle résidence s’il déclare son intention, dans la quinzaine de ce changement, au registre de la commune qu’il quitte.

Les listes électorales sont arrêtées provisoirement le 10 janvier et sont accessibles au public. Les personnes intéressées ont jusqu’au 21 janvier pour présenter un recours auprès du secrétariat de la commune en y joignant des pièces justifiant leur demande. Les recours et pièces justificatives sont transmises au juge de paix qui statue en audience publique. Le jugement n’est pas susceptible d’appel. Une copie des listes électorales arrêtées définitivement au 7 février est ensuite transmise par le collège au ministre ayant l’Economie dans ses attributions qui les transmet au président du bureau de vote.

Vote

Le 20 mars, le président du bureau de vote envoie aux personnes exerçant le droit de vote un bulletin de vote et une notice contenant les instructions électorales par recommandé. Chaque électeur dispose d’autant de suffrages qu’il y a de membres effectifs à élire dans son groupe électoral. Il remet l’enveloppe avec son bulletin de vote à la poste au plus tard le 29 mars, la date du cachet faisant foi. Les bulletins envoyés après cette date seront exclus d’office.

Dépouillement

Les bulletins de vote sont classés par bulletins valables et bulletins nuls et envoyés au ministre. Sont considérés comme nuls :

  • tous les bulletins autres que ceux envoyés par le président du bureau de vote aux personnes exerçant le droit de vote ;
  • les bulletins ne contenant aucun vote ;
  • les bulletins contenant plus de votes qu’il y a de membres effectifs à élire ;
  • les bulletins portant une marque ou signe distinctif quelconque ou renfermés dans une enveloppe marquée ou autre que celle délivrée par le président ;
  • les bulletins sur lesquels le votant s’est fait connaitre.

Si une enveloppe contient plusieurs bulletins, ceux-ci sont également considérés comme nuls.

Les différents sièges de membres effectifs et suppléants sont attribués aux candidats ayant eu le plus grand nombre de voix. En cas d’égalité dans un groupe électoral, priorité est donnée au plus âgé.

Les noms des membres élus sont publiés au Journal officiel du Luxembourg. La date de publication constitue la date du scrutin.

Tout électeur inscrit pour la Chambre de Commerce a le droit dans réclamer contre l’élection par écrit et celle-ci doit être remise au ministre de l’Economie dans un délai de 15 jours.

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le