Elections for the Chamber of Commerce

Last update 27.11.2018

The composition of the plenary assembly of the Chamber of Commerce is renewed every 5 years.

The Chamber of Commerce comprises 25 regular members and 25 substitute members, divided into 6 electoral groups.

Who is concerned

Legal persons (commercial companies whose registered offices are in Luxembourg), and any branch office of a foreign company established in Luxembourg, that belong to the Chamber of Commerce, vote for one delegate/legal representative who is also eligible (e.g.: manager, director, authorised representative, CEO), and whom they must register on the electoral rolls.

Natural persons, members of the Chamber of Commerce and who carry out their activity in their own name are automatically voters and may not assign their office, but must nevertheless be registered on the electoral rolls.

Voters, delegates and legal representatives must be at least 18 years old on the day on which the vote closes (29 March 2019).

The following people are not permitted to vote:

  • people who have been convicted of criminal offences;
  • people who, for lesser offences, have been stripped of the right to vote;
  • people who have been sentenced for bankruptcy or who are bankrupt;
  • adults under guardianship;
  • subject to exceptions, people exercising their right to vote in another professional chamber.

How to proceed

Overview of the Chamber of Commerce

The Chamber of Commerce comprises 25 regular members and 25 substitute members, divided into 6 electoral groups:

  • group 1: trade and other commercial activities which are not specifically mentioned;
  • group 2: financial holding companies;
  • group 3: industry, SMIs and SMEs;
  • group 4: banks, agricultural credit cooperatives and other financial activities;
  • group 5: insurance companies;
  • group 6: hotels, restaurants and catering businesses (HORECA).

Mission

The Chamber of Commerce brings together all businesses, except for agriculture and crafts, which have their own professional chamber. It reflects all of Luxembourg's economic sectors and has the following missions and roles:

  • promoting general economic interests;
  • acting as an independent spokesperson for the market economy and a critical partner in the field of national, European and international policy;
  • intervening in the legislative procedure;
  • providing services to businesses and to the public.

All natural persons, commercial companies and branch offices of foreign companies established in Luxembourg and carrying out commercial, financial or industrial activities are automatically members of the Chamber of Commerce.

Elections

Registration on the electoral rolls

In late November, the board of the mayor and aldermen sends each member of the Chamber of Commerce a form and a request to verify the basic information on it and return it to the board.

Anyone who wishes to register on the electoral rolls must specify the electoral group which they would like to join. Voters who wish to change electoral groups must attach, to the form, a copy of their business permit or a copy of the articles of association of the legal person.

Natural persons who operate a business in their own name and belong to the Chamber of Commerce are automatically deemed voters and may not assign this right.

The voter or delegate or representative exercising the right to vote for a legal person may be registered on only one electoral roll: the one that corresponds to the electoral group to which the voter belongs.

The Chamber of Commerce sends the board one list per electoral group listing the members of the Chamber of Commerce of their commune, in alphabetical order. One personalised form per member, containing the information held about that member, is attached.

Approval of the electoral rolls

Between 15 December and 10 January, the board of the mayor and aldermen reviews the list of voters and, where applicable, modifies it. In the event of a change of residence during this period, voters, delegates or representatives exercising the right to vote for a legal person are registered on the electoral rolls of the commune of their new residence if they notify the register of the commune they are leaving of their intention within 15 days of the move.

The electoral rolls are approved provisionally on 10 January and may be accessed by the public. Interested parties have until 21 January to submit an appeal with supporting documents to the commune's secretary. The appeals and supporting documents are forwarded to the court magistrate (juge de paix), who rules in a public hearing. The ruling is not subject to appeal. A copy of the electoral rolls that are permanently approved on 7 February is then forwarded by the board to the Minister for the Economy, who then forwards it to the president of the polling station.

Vote

On 20 March, the president of the polling station sends the people exercising the right to vote a registered letter containing a ballot paper and voting instructions. Each voter has as many votes as there are regular members to be elected in the voter's electoral group. The voter mails back the ballot in the envelope provided no later than 29 March; the postmark date is considered probative. Ballots sent after that date are automatically voided.

Counting the votes

Ballots are sorted into two groups – valid, and null and void – and sent to the minister. The following are deemed null and void:

  • all ballots other than those sent by the president of the polling station to people exercising the right to vote;
  • ballots that do not contain any votes;
  • ballots that contain more votes than there are regular members to elect;
  • ballots that bear any distinguishing marks or symbols or that are sealed in a marked envelope or envelope other than the one issued by the president;
  • ballots on which voters make their identities known.

If one envelope contains multiple ballots, these ballots are also deemed null and void.

The different seats of the regular and substitute members are allocated to the candidates who receive the most votes. In the event of a tie in an electoral group, priority is given to the older candidate.

The names of the elected members are published in the Official Journal of Luxembourg. The date of publication is the date of the election.

All voters registered for the Chamber of Commerce are entitled to protest the election in writing; this complaint must be submitted to the Minister for the Economy within 15 days.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Wahlen für die Handelskammer

Die Zusammensetzung der Vollversammlung der Handelskammer (Chambre de commerce) wird alle 5 Jahre erneuert.

Die Handelskammer setzt sich aus 25 ordentlichen und 25 stellvertretenden Mitgliedern zusammen, die in 6 Wählergruppen aufgeteilt sind.

Zielgruppe

Juristische Personen (Handelsgesellschaften mit Sitz in Luxemburg) sowie alle Niederlassungen von ausländischen Gesellschaften in Luxemburg, die der Handelskammer angehören, wählen einen Delegierten/gesetzlichen Vertreter, der ebenfalls wählbar ist (Beispiele: Geschäftsführer, Verwaltungsratsmitglied, Prokurist, Direktor) und den sie in die Wählerverzeichnisse eintragen müssen.

Natürliche Personen, die der Handelskammer angehören und ihre Tätigkeit in eigenem Namen ausüben, sind automatisch Wähler und können ihr Mandat nicht abtreten, müssen aber trotzdem in den Wählerverzeichnissen eingetragen sein.

Die Wähler, Delegierten und gesetzlichen Vertreter müssen am Abschlusstag der Abstimmung (29. März 2019) das 18. Lebensjahr vollendet haben.

Von der Wählerschaft ausgeschlossen sind:

  • Personen, die wegen eines Verbrechens verurteilt wurden;
  • Personen, die ihr Wahlrecht aufgrund eines Vergehens verloren haben;
  • Personen, die wegen Bankrott verurteilt wurden oder gegen die ein Insolvenzverfahren eröffnet wurde;
  • Volljährige, die unter Vormundschaft stehen;
  • Personen, die ihr Wahlrecht in einer anderen Berufskammer ausüben (außer in Ausnahmefällen).

Vorgehensweise und Details

Vorstellung der Handelskammer

Die Handelskammer setzt sich aus 25 ordentlichen und 25 stellvertretenden Mitgliedern zusammen, die in 6 Wählergruppen aufgeteilt sind:

  • Gruppe 1: Handel und andere nicht näher bezeichnete gewerbliche Aktivitäten;
  • Gruppe 2: Finanzbeteiligungsgesellschaften;
  • Gruppe 3: Industrie, KMI und KMU;
  • Gruppe 4: Banken, Raiffeisenkassen und sonstige finanzielle Aktivitäten;
  • Gruppe 5: Versicherungen;
  • Gruppe 6: Hotelgewerbe und Gaststätten.

Aufgaben

In der Handelskammer sind alle Unternehmen zusammengeschlossen – mit Ausnahme der Landwirtschafts- und Handwerksbetriebe, für die es eine eigene Berufskammer gibt. Die Kammer vertritt alle Wirtschaftssektoren Luxemburgs und hat insbesondere folgende Aufgaben und Rollen:

  • Förderung des allgemeinen wirtschaftlichen Interesses;
  • unabhängiger Wortführer der Marktwirtschaft und kritisch eingestellter Partner der nationalen, europäischen und internationalen Politik;
  • Beteiligung am Gesetzgebungsprozess;
  • Anbieter von Dienstleistungen für Unternehmen.

Alle in Luxemburg ansässigen natürlichen Personen, Handelsgesellschaften und Niederlassungen ausländischer Unternehmen, die einem Handels-, Finanz- oder Industriegewerbe nachgehen, gehören automatisch der Handelskammer an.

Wahlen

Eintragung in die Wählerverzeichnisse

Ende November schickt das Bürgermeister- und Schöffenkollegium jedem Mitglied der Handelskammer ein Formular mit der Aufforderung zu, die darin aufgeführten grundlegenden Informationen zu überprüfen und das Formular dem Kollegium zurückzuschicken.

Jeder, der in die Wählerverzeichnisse eingetragen werden will, muss die Wählergruppe angeben, der er angehören möchte. Ein Wähler, der die Wählergruppe wechseln möchte, muss dem Formular eine Kopie der Niederlassungsgenehmigung oder eine Kopie der Satzung der juristischen Person beilegen.

Natürliche Personen, die ein Unternehmen in eigenem Namen betreiben und Mitglied der Handelskammer sind, gelten automatisch als Wähler und können dieses Recht nicht abtreten.

Der Wähler oder der gesetzliche Vertreter bzw. der Delegierte, der das Wahlrecht für eine juristische Person ausübt, kann nur in einem einzigen Wählerverzeichnis eingetragen sein, nämlich in demjenigen, das der Wählergruppe des Wählers entspricht.

Die Handelskammer schickt dem Kollegium eine Auflistung pro Wählergruppe, in der die in seiner Gemeinde ansässigen Mitglieder der Handelskammer in alphabetischer Reihenfolge aufgeführt sind. Pro Mitglied wird ein individualisiertes Formular mit den Daten des besagten Mitglieds beigelegt.

Festhaltung der Wählerverzeichnisse

Zwischen dem 15. Dezember und dem 10. Januar prüft das Bürgermeister- und Schöffenkollegium das Wählerverzeichnis und ändert es gegebenenfalls. Im Falle eines Wohnsitzwechsels während dieser Zeit wird der Wähler, der gesetzliche Vertreter oder der Delegierte, der das Wahlrecht für eine juristische Person ausübt, in die Wählerverzeichnisse der Gemeinde seines neuen Wohnsitzes eingetragen, wenn er diesen Wunsch binnen 15 Tagen nach dem Wechsel beim Meldeamt der Gemeinde, die er verlässt, zum Ausdruck bringt.

Die Wählerverzeichnisse werden vorläufig zum 10. Januar festgehalten und der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht. Interessenten haben bis zum 21. Januar die Gelegenheit, eine Beschwerde beim Gemeindesekretariat einzulegen, wobei sie die ihrer Beschwerde zugrunde liegenden Belege beibringen müssen. Die Beschwerden und die Belege werden an den in öffentlicher Sitzung tagenden Friedensrichter übermittelt. Gegen dessen Urteil kann keine Berufung eingelegt werden. Anschließend übermittelt das Kollegium eine Kopie der endgültig zum 7. Februar festgehaltenen Wählerverzeichnisse an den für die Wirtschaft zuständigen Minister, der diese an den Vorsitzenden des Wahllokals weiterleitet.

Abstimmung

Am 20. März schickt der Vorsitzende des Wahllokals den Personen, die das Wahlrecht ausüben, per Einschreiben einen Stimmzettel und ein Informationsschreiben mit den Anweisungen für die Wähler zu. Jeder Wähler verfügt über so viele Stimmen, wie es ordentliche Mitglieder in seiner Wählergruppe zu wählen gibt. Er muss den Umschlag mit seinem Stimmzettel spätestens am 29. März bei der Post aufgeben. Der Poststempel ist maßgebend. Nach diesem Datum verschickte Stimmzettel werden automatisch ausgeschlossen.

Auszählung der Stimmen

Die Stimmzettel werden nach gültigen und ungültigen Stimmzetteln sortiert. Als ungültig gelten:

  • alle anderen Stimmzettel als diejenigen, die der Vorsitzende des Wahllokals den Personen zugesandt hat, die das Wahlrecht ausüben;
  • Stimmzettel, auf denen keine Stimme abgegeben wurde;
  • Stimmzettel, auf denen mehr Stimmen abgegeben wurden, als es ordentliche Mitglieder zu wählen gibt;
  • Stimmzettel, die mit einer Markierung oder einem unterscheidenden Zeichen versehen sind oder sich in einem markierten Umschlag bzw. in einem anderen Umschlag als demjenigen befinden, der vom Vorsitzenden bereitgestellt wurde;
  • Stimmzettel, auf denen sich der Wähler zu erkennen gibt.

Enthält ein Umschlag mehrere Stimmzettel, sind diese auch ungültig.

Die einzelnen Sitze der ordentlichen und stellvertretenden Mitglieder werden den Kandidaten mit den meisten Stimmen zugeteilt. Bei Stimmengleichheit in einer Wählergruppe hat der Ältere Vorrang.

Die Namen der gewählten Mitglieder werden im Luxemburgischen Amtsblatt veröffentlicht. Das Veröffentlichungsdatum gilt als Wahldatum.

Jeder für die Handelskammer eingetragene Wähler hat das Recht, binnen 15 Tagen beim Minister für Wirtschaft schriftlich Beschwerde gegen die Wahl einzulegen.

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am