Investing surplus cash in a current account or a demand deposit account

This page was last modified on 30-01-2013

Managing a cash surplus, even a temporary one, is not always easy. Given that the golden rule is to 'make your money work for you', the best balance between prudent management and good returns must be found.

The principles of sound management should encourage the business to keep the necessary funds at its disposal to meet its short or medium-term financial commitments. Depending on the circumstances, a safety margin of between one and 3 months is usually sufficient (see budget and cash flow plan).

However, while retaining liquidity is essential, a structural cash surplus can be a sign of management deficiency or the end of activity (termination of business/voluntary liquidation).

Banks offer an extensive range of remunerated solutions where returns depend on the duration of the investment considered and therefore on how quickly the funds can be recovered if required.

A current account, also called a demand deposit account, is a bank account which is used to manage bank money payments. It is held with a credit institution and debited or credited with payments made. The current account is the central point for managing all of the business' financial flows in respect of all of its business relationships with clients, suppliers or other third parties.

The objective of a current account is to centralise:

  • cash deposits and withdrawals;
  • collections and payments using a means of payment other than cash (cheque, payment card, transfer, direct debit/standing order, etc.);
  • movements of funds with other accounts and bank products (savings account, savings plan, loan account, securities account, etc.).

Objective: current accounts are used to manage cash and pay invoices or contracts irrespective of the underlying commercial counterparty.

 

Who is concerned

Available to the self-employed and any type of business, a current account is the basic account required for each activity. A current account is opened when a business is set up or when a commercial, industrial or other activity is launched.

A current account can be used in all phases of a business’ life cycle:

  • creation (deposit of capital, notary fees);
  • day-to-day management of the business (payment of expenses and materials, receipt of payments);
  • growth of the business (purchase of new machinery);
  • liquidation of the business (liquidation costs).

Prerequisites

A current account is normally opened in a bank chosen by the entrepreneur. Businesses must present their articles of association (or the draft version thereof if they have not yet been filed with the Trade and Companies Register - Registre de Commerce et des Sociétés) and any other documents required by the bank to prove their source of income and their business activity (balance sheets, list of shareholders, etc.). The bank will also require the list of authorised signatures and the identity documents of the persons with a power of attorney with respect to the account in question.

How to proceed

Description of current accounts

Application terms and conditions

Expenses
  • account opening fees;
  • account management fees;
  • account statement fees;
  • fees for closing the account.
Interest

Debit and credit interest rates depend on the conditions provided by banks.

Holder and proxy: the holder of the current account is called the account holder. The holder can also give power of attorney to third parties who are then called proxies (they are authorised to carry out certain transactions, sometimes within certain limits).

Set-up times

The time required to open a current account depends on various factors, including, for example, the banking relationship between the group and the relevant bank, the legal status of the business or company, the applicable law of the company (Luxembourg or foreign law), etc.

Advantages and disadvantages

Advantages

  • risk-free investment;
  • permanent availability of the money;
  • simplification of cash management;
  • possibility of setting up direct debits and standing orders;
  • accessible by different means of payment (transfers, card withdrawals, cheques, etc.).

Disadvantages

  • in principle, lower interest than on investment accounts (savings account and term deposit);
  • loss of value dates.

Placer l'excédent de trésorerie sur un compte courant ou un compte à vue

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 29-01-2013

Gérer l’abondance de trésorerie, même temporaire, n’est pas toujours aisé. La règle d’or consistant à "ne pas laisser dormir l’argent", il s’agit de trouver le meilleur équilibre entre gestion prudente et recherche de rendement.

Une bonne gestion doit inciter l’entreprise à garder à sa disposition les fonds nécessaires pour faire face à ses engagements financiers à court ou moyen terme. Selon les cas, une marge de sécurité comprise entre un et 3 mois se révèlera suffisante (voir budget et plan de trésorerie).

Mais si rester "liquide" est un impératif, une trésorerie structurellement excédentaire, peut révéler un déficit de gestion ou être le signe précurseur d’une fin d’activité (cessation/liquidation volontaire).

Les banques proposent toute une gamme de solutions rémunérées dont le rendement dépend de la durée du placement envisagé et donc de la rapidité à récupérer les fonds en cas de besoin.

Le compte courant, appelé aussi compte à vue, est un compte en banque qui sert à la gestion des paiements en monnaie scripturale. Il est tenu auprès d’un établissement de crédit et est débité ou crédité des paiements effectués. Le compte courant est l’axe central pour gérer tous les flux financiers de l’entreprise en ce qui concerne toutes ses relations commerciales avec les clients, les fournisseurs ou d’autres tiers.

Le compte courant a comme objectifs de centraliser :

  • les versements et retraits en espèces ;
  • les encaissements et paiements utilisant un autre moyen de paiement que les espèces (chèque, carte de paiement, virement, prélèvement, etc.) ;
  • les mouvements de fonds avec les autres comptes et produits bancaires (compte d'épargne, plan d'épargne, compte de prêt, compte titres etc.).

Objet : le compte courant permet la gestion des liquidités et le paiement de factures ou contrats quel que soit la contrepartie commerciale sous-jacente.

 

Personnes concernées

Accessible aux indépendants et à toutes entreprises, le compte courant constitue le compte de base pour chaque activité. L’ouverture d’un compte courant se fait en principe lors de la création d’une entreprise ou lors du lancement d’une activité commerciale, industrielle ou autre.

L’utilisation du compte courant peut se faire dans toutes les phases de la vie d’une entreprise:

  • création (dépôt de capital, frais de notaire) ;
  • gestion courante de l’entreprise (paiement frais et matériels, réception de paiements) ;
  • croissance de l’entreprise (achat de nouvelles machines) ;
  • liquidation de l’entreprise (frais de liquidation).

Conditions préalables

L’ouverture d’un compte courant se fait normalement dans une banque choisie par l’entrepreneur. Les entreprises doivent présenter leurs statuts (ou bien le projet de leurs statuts au cas où ils ne sont pas encore déposés au Registre de Commerce et des Sociétés) et tout autre documents réclamés par la banque pour justifier leur source de revenus et leur activité (bilans, liste des actionnaires, etc.). La banque réclamera également la liste des signatures autorisées et les pièces d’identités des personnes ayant procuration sur le compte en question.

Modalités pratiques

Description du compte courant

Conditions et modalités d’application

Frais
  • d’ouverture ;
  • de gestion ;
  • d’arrêté de compte ;
  • de liquidation.
Intérêts

Le taux d’intérêt débiteur et créditeur dépendent des conditions affichées par les banques.

Titulaire et mandataire : le client détenteur du compte courant est appelé titulaire du compte. Le titulaire peut également donner une procuration à des tiers qui sont alors mandataires sur le compte (ils sont autorisés à effectuer certaines opérations, éventuellement dans certaines limites).

Délais de mise en place

Le délai d’ouverture d’un compte courant dépend de plusieurs facteurs dont p.ex. l’historique de la relation bancaire que détient le groupe avec la banque en question, le statut juridique de l’entreprise ou de la société, le droit applicable de la société (droit luxembourgeois ou étranger) etc.

Avantages et inconvénients

Avantages

  • placement sans risque ;
  • disponibilité permanente de l’argent ;
  • simplification de la gestion de trésorerie ;
  • possibilité d’instaurer des prélèvements automatiques et des ordres permanents ;
  • accessibilité par différents moyens de paiement (virements, prélèvements carte, chèques, etc).

Inconvénients

  • rémunération en principe moins élevée que sur des comptes de placement (compte d’épargne et dépôt à terme) ;
  • perte de dates de valeur.