General terms and conditions for regional aid

All regional aid measures are based on the law of 17 July 2017 on the implementation of financial aid for regional investments. This law implements some of the provisions of Commission Regulation (EU) No. 651/2014 of 17 June 2014 declaring certain categories of aid as being compatible with the internal market in application of Articles 107 and 108 of the Treaty (GBER).

In addition to the specific terms and conditions associated with the various aid schemes, the issuing authority must ensure that the applicant business meets the following criteria: 

Excluded sectors

Financial aid measures cannot apply to excluded sectors/aids, such as:

  • the fishery and aquaculture sector, with the exception of aid for training, aid intended to facilitate SME access to funding, aid for research and development, aid for SMEs for the purpose of innovation, and aid for disadvantaged and disabled employees;  
  • the primary agriculture sector;
  • the transformation and sale of agricultural products sector:  
    • when the amount of aid is fixed on the basis of the price or quantity of products of this type purchased from primary producers or put on the market by the companies concerned; or
    • if the aid is conditional on being partly or entirely passed on to the primary producers;
  • aid for activities in relation with exports to third countries or Member States;
  • aid granted on the condition that preference is given to the use of national products instead of imported products;
  • aid for businesses in difficulty;
  • financial aid granted in the processing and marketing of agricultural products sector, in the following cases:
    • when the amount of aid is fixed on the basis of the price or quantity of products purchased of this type from primary producers or put on the market by companies; or
    • when the aid is conditional on being partly or entirely passed on to the primary producers.

Excluded persons

Employers who have been convicted for violating provisions prohibiting illegal work, or the employment of illegally resident third-country nationals, on at least 2 occasions in the 4 years prior to the ruling by the competent court, are excluded from benefiting from this law for a period of 3 years from the date of the ruling.

Notification thresholds

Whenever any State aid exceeds a certain threshold, the European Commission must be notified. The applicable threshold is calculated according to a formula in article 5 of the said law.

Deggendorf Principle

The Deggendorf Principle states that the payment of any new aid which has been declared compatible as such, may, in certain circumstances, be suspended until any illegally obtained previous aid to the same business has been reimbursed.

Incentive effect

The incentive effect is satisfied when the company has submitted a full application for aid to the granting authority prior to the commencement of work on the project in question. To this end, the application for financial aid must contain at least the following information:

  • the name and size (small or medium-sized) of the business;
  • a description of the investment project, including its start and end dates;
  • the location of the investment;
  • a list of the costs associated with the investment;
  • a financing plan;
  • the form of the aid (capital grant, etc.) and the amount of aid needed for the investment;
  • any relevant information that will allow the competent ministers to assess the qualities or specific features of the project, programme, activity or investment, and related operations, and its incentive effect.

It is important to note that no binding commitment in respect of the project for which State aid is being sought may be made before the aid application is submitted.

Cumulation rule

A project may not accumulate different forms of State aid for the same costs unless the aid intensity cap for the relevant schemes continues to be observed.

Disclosure of the financial aid

Each individual aid measure exceeding the EUR 500,000 cap must be published on the transparency website of the European Commission. More specifically, the authorities granting aid are required to publish the following information on individual aid measures which exceed the above-mentioned cap:

  • name of the beneficiary;
  • ID (VAT/identification number) of the beneficiary;
  • company type (SME/large business) at the time of granting (signature of the agreement) the financial aid; 
  • the beneficiary's region under NUTS II;
  • NACELUX Rev. 2 group activity sector;
  • the aid element, the amount of aid expressed in local currency;
  • financial aid instrument;
  • date on which the aid is granted;
  • purpose of the aid;
  • the granting authority.

Single economic entity

The applicant company must indicate whether it is a partner company or a company affiliated with one or more other businesses, in accordance with Appendix I of the General Block Exemption Regulation (GBER). Together, these companies form a 'single economic entity'.

Businesses in difficulty

An undertaking that can be considered an undertaking in difficulty is not eligible under the financial aid schemes. A "business in difficulty" refers to any undertaking that fulfils at least one of the following conditions:

  • if it is a limited liability company, a public limited-liability company or a partnership limited by shares, other than an SME that has been in existence for at least 3 years, when over half of its subscribed share capital has been lost due to cumulative losses. This is the case when deduction of accumulated losses from reserves (and all other elements generally considered as part of the own funds of the company) leads to a negative cumulative amount that exceeds half of the subscribed share capital;
  • in the case of a company where at least some members have unlimited liability for the debt of the company (partnerships or limited partnerships) other than an SME that has existed for less than 3 years, where more than half of its own capital as shown in the company accounts has vanished as a result of accumulated losses;
  • where the undertaking is subject to collective insolvency proceedings or fulfils the criteria under its domestic law for being placed in collective insolvency proceedings at the request of its creditors;
  • when the undertaking has received rescue aid and has not yet reimbursed the loan or terminated the guarantee, or has received restructuring aid and is still subject to a restructuring plan.

Definition of an SME

Given the difficulties encountered by SMEs, such as access to capital or a lack of human resources, certain categories of aid under the GBER provide for an increase in the intensity of aid available to them.

To ascertain whether an applicant company qualifies for 'SME' status, the following should be checked:

Criterion

Small business

Medium-sized business

Number of staff 

< 50

< 250

Annual turnover or

< EUR 10 million

< EUR 50 million

Annual balance sheet

< EUR 10 million

< EUR 43 million

 

Only one of the two criteria 'Annual turnover' and 'Annual balance sheet' need be fulfilled. Consideration should be given to the number of staff and annual turnover/balance sheet not only of the applicant company, but also to those of any other economic entity with which the applicant company forms a 'single economic entity'.

Sanctions, repayment and criminal law provisions

The beneficiary will forfeit their entitlement if they:

  • provide false or incomplete information, or do not respect the conditions under which the aid was granted;
  • abandon or transfer to third parties, for no objective reason, all or part of the projects;
  • manage the projects in an improper or inappropriate way;
  • make fundamental changes to the objectives and methods of such projects;
  • dispose of the investments for which the aid was granted before the end of a 5-year period from the payment of the financial aid in full;
  • do not use or cease to use such investments for their intended purpose;
  • are convicted for violating provisions prohibiting illegal work or the employment of illegally resident third-country nationals on at least 2 occasions in the 4 years prior to the ruling of the competent court. The beneficiary is excluded from the aid measure for 3 years from the date of the judgement.

In all of these cases, the beneficiary must repay the amount of aid paid, plus interest, within 3 months of the decision to that effect.

Entitlement to aid will not be forfeited if the disposal, abandonment or change in purpose have been approved in advance by the competent ministers, and are the result of force majeure or circumstances beyond the beneficiary’s control.

Any person who has received financial aid on the basis of incorrect or incomplete information may be punished:

  • by a prison term of between 4 months and 5 years;
  • a fine of between EUR 251 and EUR 30,000.
Last update

Conditions générales applicables aux aides à finalité régionale

Toute aide à finalité régionale repose sur la loi du 17 juillet 2017 ayant pour objet la mise en place d'un régime d'aide à l'investissement à finalité régionale. Cette loi constitue la mise en œuvre de certaines dispositions du règlement européen 651/2014 du 17 juin 2014 déclarant certaines aides compatibles avec le marché intérieur en application des articles 107 et 108 du Traité (RGEC).

Outre les conditions spécifiques liées aux différents régimes d’aides, l’autorité d’octroi doit veiller à ce que l’entreprise requérante remplisse les critères suivants : 

Secteurs exclus

Une mesure d’aide ne peut pas porter sur un(e) des secteurs/aides exclu(e)s, à savoir :

  • le secteur de la pêche et de l’aquaculture, exception faite des aides à la formation, des aides visant à favoriser l'accès des PME au financement, des aides à la recherche et au développement, des aides à l'innovation en faveur des PME et des aides en faveur des salariés défavorisés et des salariés handicapés ;  
  • le secteur de la production agricole primaire ;
  • le secteur de la transformation et de la commercialisation de produits agricoles :  
    • si l’aide est fixée sur la base du prix ou de la quantité des produits de ce type achetés à des producteurs primaires ou mis sur le marché par les entreprises concernées ou ;
    • si l’aide est conditionnée au fait d’être partiellement ou entièrement cédée à des producteurs primaires ;
  • les aides en faveur d’activités liées à l’exportation vers des pays tiers ou Etats membres ;
  • les aides subordonnées à l’utilisation de produits nationaux de préférence aux produits importés ;
  • les aides aux entreprises en difficulté ;
  • les aides octroyées dans le secteur de la transformation et de la commercialisation de produits agricoles, dans les cas suivants :
    • lorsque le montant d’aide est fixé sur base du prix ou de la quantité des produits de ce type achetés à des producteurs primaires ou mis sur le marché par les entreprises ou ;
    • lorsque l’aide est conditionnée au fait d’être partiellement ou entièrement cédée à des producteurs primaires.

Personnes exclues

Les employeurs qui ont été condamnés à au moins 2 reprises pour contraventions aux dispositions interdisant le travail clandestin ou aux dispositions interdisant l’emploi de ressortissants de pays tiers en séjour irrégulier, au cours des 4 dernières années précédant le jugement de la juridiction compétente, sont exclus du bénéfice de la présente loi pendant une durée de 3 années à compter de la date de ce jugement.

Seuils de notifications

Les aides étatiques dépassant un certain seuil doivent faire l’objet d’une notification auprès de la Commission européenne. Le seuil applicable se calcule en fonction d'une formule à l'article 5 de ladite loi.

Principe Deggendorf

Principe selon lequel le versement d'une nouvelle aide déclarée en elle-même compatible peut, dans certaines circonstances, être suspendu jusqu'au remboursement d'une aide précédente illégale octroyée à la même entreprise.

Effet incitatif

L’effet incitatif est satisfait lorsque l’entreprise a soumis une demande d’aide complète à l’autorité d’octroi avant le début des travaux du projet en question. A cette fin, la demande d’aide doit au moins contenir les informations suivantes :

  • le nom et la taille (petite ou moyenne ) de l'entreprise ;
  • une description de l’investissement, y compris ses dates de début et de fin ;
  • la localisation de l’investissement ;
  • une liste des coûts de l’investissement ;
  • un plan de financement ;
  • la forme de l’aide (subside en capital, …) et le montant de l’aide nécessaire pour l’investissement ;
  • tout élément pertinent permettant aux ministres compétents d’apprécier les qualités ou spécificités du projet ou programme, de l’activité ou de l’investissement et des opérations connexes et son effet incitatif.

Il importe de préciser qu’aucun engagement contraignant relatif au projet qui est censé faire l’objet d’une aide étatique ne peut avoir lieu avant le dépôt de la demande d’aide.

Règle de cumul

Un projet ne peut pas cumuler différentes aides étatiques portant sur les mêmes coûts à moins que le plafond de l’intensité maximal des régimes en questions demeure respecté.

Publication de l’aide

Chaque aide individuelle dépassant le seuil de 500.000 € doit être publiée sur le site de la transparence de la Commission européenne. Plus précisément, les autorités d’octroi sont obligées de publier les informations suivantes relatives aux aides individuelles dépassant le seuil susmentionné :

  • nom du bénéficiaire ;
  • identifiant (TVA/matricule) du bénéficiaire ;
  • type d'entreprise (PME/grande entreprise) au moment de l'octroi (signature de la convention) de l'aide ; 
  • région du bénéficiaire, au niveau NUTS II ;
  • secteur d'activité au niveau du groupe NACELUX Rev. 2 ;
  • élément d'aide, montant exprimé en monnaie nationale;
  • instrument d'aide ;
  • date d'octroi ;
  • objectif de l'aide ;
  • autorité d'octroi.

Entité économique unique

L’entreprise requérante doit indiquer si elle entretient une relation d’entreprise partenaire ou d’entreprise liée avec une ou plusieurs autres entreprises, conformément à l’annexe I du RGEC. L’ensemble de ces entreprises forment alors une "entité économique unique".

Entreprise en difficulté

Une entreprise qui peut être qualifiée d’entreprise en difficulté n’est pas éligible sous les régimes d’aides.  Par “entreprise en difficulté ”, on entend toute entreprise qui remplit au moins une des conditions suivantes :

  • s'il s'agit d'une société à responsabilité limitée (s.à r.l., s.a., la société en commandite par actions), autre qu'une PME en existence depuis moins de 3 ans, lorsque plus de la moitié de son capital social souscrit a disparu en raison des pertes accumulées. Tel est le cas lorsque la déduction des pertes accumulées des réserves (et de tous les autres éléments généralement considérés comme relevant des fonds propres de la société) conduit à un montant cumulé négatif qui excède la moitié du capital social souscrit ;
  • s'il s'agit d'une société dont certains associés au moins ont une responsabilité illimitée pour les dettes de la société (la société en nom collectif, la société en commandite simple) autre qu'une PME en existence depuis moins de 3 ans, lorsque plus de la moitié des fonds propres, tels qu'ils sont inscrits dans les comptes de la société, a disparu en raison des pertes accumulées ;
  • lorsque l'entreprise fait l'objet d'une procédure collective d'insolvabilité ou remplit, selon le droit national qui lui est applicable, les conditions de soumission à une procédure collective d'insolvabilité à la demande de ses créanciers ;
  • lorsque l'entreprise a bénéficié d'une aide au sauvetage et n'a pas encore remboursé le prêt ou mis fin à la garantie, ou a bénéficié d'une aide à la restructuration et est toujours soumise à un plan de restructuration .

Définition d’une PME

Vu les difficultés, telles que l’accès au capital ou encore le manque de ressources humaines, rencontrées par les PME, certaines catégories d’aides du RGEC prévoient une majoration de l’intensité d’aide en leur faveur.

Pour vérifier si l’entreprise requérante peut bénéficier du statut "PME", il y a lieu de vérifier si:

Critère

Petite entreprise

Moyenne entreprise

Effectifs 

< 50

< 250

Chiffre d’affaires annuel ou

< 10 millions €

< 50 millions €

Bilan annuel

< 10 millions €

< 43 millions €

 

Concernant les critères "chiffre d’affaires annuel" et "bilan annuel", il suffit qu’une de ces deux conditions soit remplie. Il convient de prendre en considération non seulement l’effectif et le chiffre d’affaires/bilan annuel de l’entreprise requérante, mais aussi ceux de toute autre entité économique avec laquelle l’entreprise requérante forme une "entité économique unique".

Sanctions, restitution et dispositions pénales

Le bénéficiaire perd ses avantages s’il :

  • fournit des renseignements inexacts ou incomplets ou s’il ne se conforme pas aux engagements pris en contrepartie de l’octroi de l’aide ;
  • abandonne ou cède à des tiers, sans raison objective, tout ou partie des projets ;
  • gère les projets de façon impropre ou non conforme ;
  • modifie fondamentalement les objectifs et méthodes de ces projets ;
  • aliène les investissements pour lesquels l’aide a été accordée avant l’expiration d’un délai de 5 ans à partir du versement intégral de l’aide ;
  • n’utilise pas ou cesse d’utiliser ces investissements aux fins convenues ;
  • est condamné à au moins 2 reprises pour contraventions aux dispositions interdisant le travail clandestin ou aux dispositions interdisant l’emploi de ressortissants de pays tiers en séjour irrégulier au cours des 4 dernières années précédant le jugement de la juridiction compétente. Le bénéficiaire est exclu de l’aide pendant 3 ans à partir du jugement.

Dans tous ces cas, le bénéficiaire doit rembourser le montant de l’aide versée augmenté des intérêts dans un délai de 3 mois suivant la décision de remboursement.

Le bénéfice des aides n’est pas perdu si l’aliénation, l’abandon ou le changement d’affectation ont été approuvés au préalable par les ministres compétents et sont la conséquence de forces majeures ou de circonstances indépendantes de la volonté du bénéficiaire.

Toute personne qui a bénéficié d’une aide sur base de renseignements inexacts ou incomplets risque d’être punie :

  • d’un emprisonnement de 4 mois à 5 ans ;
  • d’une amende de 251 à 30.000 euros.
Dernière modification le