Requesting support at school for basic education

Update in progress

In addition to the identical basic education provided to all pupils between the ages of 4 and 12, specific scholastic support is available in school for children with special needs:

  • educational support during or after school hours for students with learning difficulties;

  • supervised study (or help with homework), provided by some communes after school hours, at which attendance is optional;

  • reception training and classes for foreign and new children arriving in Luxembourg during the school year. In the reception classes, the choice of the languages to teach as well as the follow-up on the languages are decided in accordance with the age of the child and its language skills, the languages known by the parents and the closeness of the child's mother tongue with the first foreign language taught in class.

Who is concerned

Children from 4 to 12 years of age with difficulties in keeping up with the normal pace in class can obtain support in the form of homework help or integration in a special education or support class.

How to proceed

Educational support and differentiation

Primary basic education requires cooperation among teachers at the same level, so that they can adapt their teaching to their pupils' needs.

This is known as 'differentiation'. For example, additional help, called educational support, may be provided to pupils experiencing difficulties: it may be provided individually by the teacher or to a group of pupils having similar difficulties, during or after school hours.

Supervised study (homework help)

A supervised study or homework help service is offered as an option by some communes under the responsibility of the class teacher (the hours may vary from school to school). The homework help service takes place after school hours.

Registration forms with all the practical information are distributed by the class teacher at the beginning of the school year. The form must be signed by a parent or legal guardian and returned to the class teacher (either in person or by post), generally before the end of September. Registration is valid for the entire year.

Depending on the commune, this scholastic support service may be charged.

Reception courses and classes

Newly arrived children between 4 and 5 years of age are integrated in level 1, where they will be taught the Luxembourgish language.

Children between 6 and 11 years of age are integrated in a form class (level 2 to 4) depending on their age, their acquired knowledge (in accordance with the assessments in their country of origin) and the test results obtained in mathematics and in their mother tongue. They will be taught Luxembourgish, German and French and will be enrolled in reception courses.   

Extension of the duration of a school level

In the case of learning difficulties, a level may be extended by one year.

If it is obvious that a child is unable to acquire the required core skills in 2 years, an adapted programme covering a period of 3 years is established by the teaching staff. In these cases, children are not merely held back a year, but receive education adapted to their learning needs.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Eine schulische Unterstützung für den Grundschulunterricht beantragen

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am 18.10.2018

Zusätzlich zum Grundschulunterricht, der für alle Schüler zwischen 4 und 12 Jahren identisch ist, werden für Schüler mit Förderbedarf spezielle schulische Unterstützungsmaßnahmen in den Schulen organisiert:

  • Förderunterricht während oder nach dem Unterricht für Schüler mit Lernschwierigkeiten;

  • fakultative Hausaufgabenbetreuung (oder Hausaufgabenhilfe) nach dem Unterricht – in einigen Gemeinden;

  • Auffangkurse und -klassen für Kinder, die im Laufe des Schuljahres nach Luxemburg einreisen. In den Auffangkursen werden die zu unterrichtenden Sprachen sowie die Reihenfolge der Sprachen unter Berücksichtigung des Alters des Kindes bei seiner Ankunft, seiner Vorkenntnisse, der von den Eltern beherrschten Sprachen und der Ähnlichkeit der Muttersprache mit der ersten zu lernenden Sprache bestimmt.

Zielgruppe

Für Grundschüler, die Schwierigkeiten haben, dem normalen Unterrichtsrhythmus zu folgen, stehen schulische Unterstützungsmaßnahmen in Form von Hausaufgabenbetreuung oder der Aufnahme in eine spezielle Klasse bzw. eine Förderklasse bereit.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Förderunterricht und Differenzierung

Ein Grundsatz der Grundschule ist die Absprache zwischen dem Klassenlehrer und seinen Kollegen aus demselben Zyklus, um den Unterricht an die Bedürfnisse der Schüler anzupassen.

Man spricht hierbei von „Differenzierung“. Demnach kann ein Schüler, der sich mit Schwierigkeiten konfrontiert sieht, eine zusätzliche Unterstützung (Förderunterricht) in Anspruch nehmen: Er kann sich einzeln oder in einer Gruppe von Schülern mit ähnlichen Schwierigkeiten während oder nach dem Unterricht vom Lehrer helfen lassen.

Hausaufgabenbetreuung (Hausaufgabenhilfe)

In einigen Gemeinden wird eine fakultative Hausaufgabenbetreuung oder -hilfe unter der Leitung des Klassenlehrers angeboten (die Uhrzeiten variieren je nach Schule). Diese Hausaufgabenhilfe findet nach dem Unterricht statt.

Zu Beginn des Schuljahres verteilt der Lehrer ein Anmeldeformular mit allen nützlichen Informationen. Die Eltern/Sorgeberechtigten müssen dem Klassenlehrer das unterzeichnete Formular grundsätzlich vor Ende September (persönlich oder per Post) übermitteln. Die Anmeldung gilt für das ganze Jahr.

Je nach Gemeinde kann diese schulische Unterstützungsmaßnahme kostenpflichtig sein.

Auffangkurs und -klasse

Neu eingereiste Kinder zwischen 4 und 5 Jahren werden in Zyklus 1 eingeschult; hier lernen sie Luxemburgisch.

Kinder zwischen 6 und 11 Jahren besuchen unter Berücksichtigung ihres Alters, ihres Bildungsstands (entsprechend den Zeugnissen/Bilanzen aus dem Herkunftsland) und den Ergebnissen der Einstufungstests in Mathematik und der Muttersprache eine Regelklasse (Zyklen 2 bis 4). Dort lernen sie Luxemburgisch, Deutsch und Französisch und besuchen den Auffangkurs.   

Zyklusverlängerung

Bei Lernschwierigkeiten kann ein Zyklus um ein Jahr verlängert werden.

Kann ein Schüler den jeweiligen Bildungsstandard (Kompetenzsockel) nicht innerhalb von 2 Jahren erreichen, arbeitet das pädagogische Team einen angepassten Lehrplan aus, der sich über 3 Jahre erstreckt. In diesem Fall handelt es sich nicht um eine Wiederholung der Klasse als solche, sondern der Schüler erhält einen an seine Lernbedürfnisse angepassten Unterricht.

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am