Investing surplus cash in a savings account

This page was last modified on 30-01-2013

A savings account is a demand deposit account held with a bank. It must always have a credit balance and is therefore never associated with a credit line. Generally, a savings account is linked to a current account used for day-to-day transactions. The money deposited in the savings account is permanently accessible and when needed can be transferred to the current account or withdrawn in the bank.

Objective: a savings account is used to manage cash.

Who is concerned

All businesses will have a cash surplus at some point, even if only temporarily. If it is not in a position to determine precisely when it will need the cash, a savings account provides a suitable investment solution.

Prerequisites

To open a savings account with a bank you must have a current account with the same bank. A savings account is opened in the same way as a current account, i.e. presentation of the articles of association (or the draft version thereof if they have not yet been filed with the Trade and Companies Register - Registre de Commerce et des Sociétés) and any other documents required by the bank to prove their source of income and business activity (balance sheets, list of shareholders, etc.). The bank will also require the list of authorised signatures and the identity documents of the persons with a power of attorney with respect to the account in question.

How to proceed

Description of savings accounts

Application terms and conditions

Amount: there is no minimum amount for a savings account. It can even have a zero balance temporarily, but it can never be overdrawn.

Credit interest: a savings account earns credit interest at a higher rate than a current account, but in general at a lower rate than a term deposit for a large amount.

Holder and proxy: the holder of a savings account, called the account holder, can also give power of attorney to third parties, who are then called proxies.

Set-up times

The time required to open a savings account depends on various factors, including, for example, the banking relationship between the business and the relevant bank, the legal status of the business or company, the applicable law of the company (Luxembourg or foreign law), etc.

Advantages and disadvantages

Advantages

  • risk-free investment;
  • permanent availability of the money;
  • flexibility of cash management;
  • low costs;
  • higher interest rate than for an interest-bearing current account.

Disadvantages

  • in principle, lower interest rate than for a term deposit;
  • loss of value dates.

Placer l'excédent de trésorerie en compte épargne

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 29-01-2013

Le compte d'épargne est un dépôt à vue auprès d’une banque. Il doit obligatoirement être créditeur et n’est donc jamais associé à une ligne de crédit. Généralement, le compte d’épargne est accompagné par un compte courant par lequel se font les transactions journalières. L’argent placé au compte d’épargne est accessible en permanence et peut, en cas de besoin, être transféré au compte courant ou retiré dans un guichet de la banque.

Objet : le compte d’épargne permet la gestion des liquidités.

Personnes concernées

Toute entreprise détient tôt ou tard, ne fût-ce que temporairement, un surplus de trésorerie. Si elle n’est pas en mesure de déterminer avec exactitude à quel moment elle aura besoin de cette trésorerie, le compte d’épargne à vue constitue pour elle un produit de placement adapté.

Conditions préalables

Pour ouvrir un compte d’épargne auprès d’une banque, il est nécessaire de détenir un compte courant auprès de cette même banque. L’ouverture d’un compte d’épargne se fait selon les mêmes modalités que pour un compte courant, à savoir la présentation des statuts (ou bien le projet de leurs statuts au cas où ils ne sont pas encore déposés au Registre de Commerce et des Sociétés) et tout autre documents réclamés par la banque pour justifier leur source de revenus et leur activité (bilans, liste des actionnaires, etc.). La banque réclamera également la liste des signatures autorisées et les pièces d’identités des personnes ayant procuration sur le compte en question.

Modalités pratiques

Description du compte d’épargne

Conditions et modalités d’application

Montant : pas de montant minimum pour un compte d’épargne. Il peut même être temporairement à zéro, mais ne jamais être débiteur.

Intérêts créditeurs : le compte d’épargne est producteur d’intérêts créditeurs, qui sont plus élevés que ceux d’un compte courant, mais en général moins intéressants que ceux d’un dépôt à terme pour un montant important.

Titulaire et mandataire : le client détenteur d’un compte d’épargne, appelé titulaire, peut également donner une procuration à des tiers qui sont alors mandataires sur le compte.

Délais de mise en place

Le délai d’ouverture d’un compte d’épargne dépend de plusieurs facteurs dont p.ex. l’historique de la relation bancaire que détient l’entreprise avec la banque en question, le statut juridique de l’entreprise ou de la société, le droit applicable de la société (droit luxembourgeois ou étranger), etc.

Avantages et inconvénients

Avantages

  • placement sans risque ;
  • disponibilité permanente de l’argent ;
  • flexibilité de la gestion de trésorerie ;
  • frais limités ;
  • rémunération plus intéressante que celle apportée par le compte courant rémunéré.

Inconvénients

  • rémunération en principe moins élevée que sur le dépôt à terme ;
  • perte de dates valeur.