Availability of the company name

Last update 19.06.2018

Before starting a business or setting up a company, entrepreneurs can check the availability of the commercial brand name or company name they plan to use.

The availability request can be submitted online to the Luxembourg Business Registers (LBR).

When the request has been processed, the entrepreneur has 20 days to download the certificate of availability ("libre") or unavailability ("non libre").

Who is concerned

Each (future) entrepreneur, natural or legal person, who wishes to set up a sole proprietorship under a brand name or to form a company can first check the availability of the name with the LBR.

Preliminary steps

The user must first register on the website of the RCS:

Costs

Applications for certificates confirming the availability of business names are subject to the payment of administrative costs.

These costs are laid down in the RCS table of tariffs.

How to proceed

Application for a certificate of availability

The entrepreneur can check the availability of the company name (brand name or business name) that he wishes to use for his business by submitting an application for a certificate confirming the availability of the company name (electronically) to the Luxembourg Business Registers (LBR).

NB: a trader that is a natural person who uses a trading name must add information concerning his surname and first names.

Downloading the certificate

When the certificate is available, the applicant can be notified by email. The certificate can be downloaded in PDF format during a period of 20 days from the personal space of the applicant on the website www.rcsl.lu. The PDF documents can under no circumstances be delivered by email.

The certificate confirms the availability or not of the company name or names requested with respect to the business names already registered with the RCS.

Certificate types

There are 2 possible responses from the LBR:

  • a 'certificate of unavailability of the company name' confirms that the name requested is not available and that another person is already registered under this name. Only the deregistration from the RCS of a registered legal or natural person makes a company name available again;
  • a 'certificate of availability of the company name' is issued if the name requested has not yet been registered with the RCS. The certificate is valid as soon as it is issued but only until the name is officially registered with the RCS.  However, it does not mean that the name in question is now reserved and it does not prevent another person from registering the same name meanwhile on his own behalf. 

The certificate of availability of the company name does not allow the reservation of the name concerned. Any name available can be taken by the first person who submits an application for its registration with the RCS.

Forms / Online services

Certificat de disponibilité de dénomination

To complete your application, the information about you collected from this form needs to be processed by the public administration concerned.

That information is kept by the administration in question for as long as it is required to achieve the purpose of the processing operation(s).

Your data will be shared with other public administrations that are necessary for the processing of your application. For details on which departments will have access to the data on this form, please contact the public administration you are filing your application with.

Under the terms of Regulation (EU) 2016/679 on the protection of natural persons with regard to the processing of personal data and on the free movement of such data, you have the right to access, rectify or, where applicable, remove any information relating to you. You are also entitled to withdraw your consent at any time.

Additionally, unless the processing of your personal data is compulsory, you may, with legitimate reasons, oppose the processing of such data.

If you wish to exercise these rights and/or obtain a record of the information held about you, please contact the administration in question using the contact details provided on the form. You are also entitled to file a claim with the National Commission for Data Protection (Commission nationale pour la protection des données), headquartered at 1, Avenue du Rock'n'Roll, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette.

By submitting your application, you agree that your personal data may be processed as part of the application process.

Online procedure

Go to the procedure

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Double click to activate the map
Last update

Disponibilité de la dénomination

Dernière modification le 11.06.2018

Avant de créer son entreprise ou de constituer sa société, le créateur d’entreprise peut vérifier la disponibilité de l’enseigne commerciale ou de la dénomination qu’il souhaite utiliser.

Il introduit sa demande de disponibilité de dénomination par internet auprès du Luxembourg Business Registers (LBR).

Une fois la demande traitée, il dispose de 20 jours pour télécharger le certificat de dénomination "libre" ou "non libre".

Personnes concernées

Tout (futur) entrepreneur, personne physique ou morale, qui souhaite créer une entreprise individuelle sous une enseigne commerciale ou constituer une société peut au préalable vérifier la disponibilité de la dénomination envisagée auprès du LBR.

Démarches préalables

L'utilisateur doit au préalable s'enregistrer sur le site du RCS :

Coûts

Les demandes de certificats de disponibilité de dénomination sont soumises au paiement de frais administratifs.

Ces frais sont fixés d’après la grille de tarification du RCS.

Modalités pratiques

Demande de certificat de disponibilité

Le créateur d’entreprise peut vérifier la disponibilité de la dénomination (enseigne commerciale ou raison sociale) qu’il souhaite choisir pour son entreprise en introduisant une demande de certificat de disponibilité de dénomination (par voie électronique) auprès du Luxembourg Business Registers (LBR).

NB : un commerçant personne physique qui prend une enseigne commerciale doit obligatoirement y ajouter l’indication de ses nom et prénoms.

Téléchargement du certificat

Une fois le certificat disponible, le demandeur peut en être averti par Email. Le certificat peut alors être téléchargé en PDF pendant 20 jours depuis l’espace personnel du demandeur, sur le site www.rcsl.lu. Ces documents PDF ne peuvent en aucun cas être délivrés par e-mail.

Le certificat délivré atteste de la disponibilité ou non de la ou des dénominations demandées par rapport aux dénominations des personnes déjà immatriculées au RCS.

Types de certificats de dénomination

Il existe 2 possibilités de réponse de la part du LBR :

  • un "certificat de dénomination non libre" atteste que la dénomination demandée n’est pas disponible et qu’une autre personne est déjà immatriculée sous cette dénomination. Seule la radiation au RCS d’une personne immatriculée rend disponible une dénomination ;
  • un "certificat de dénomination libre" est émis si la dénomination demandée n’est pas encore inscrite au RCS. Il est valide à partir du moment de son émission jusqu’à l’inscription de la dénomination au RCS.  Il ne donne cependant droit à aucune réservation de la dénomination en question et n’évite pas qu’entretemps, une autre personne s’immatricule sous cette même dénomination pour son propre compte. 

Le certificat de dénomination libre ne permet pas de réserver la dénomination concernée. Toute dénomination disponible pourra en effet être prise par la première personne qui en fera la demande lors de son immatriculation au RCS.

Services en ligne / Formulaires

Certificat de disponibilité de dénomination

Les informations qui vous concernent recueillies sur ce formulaire font l’objet d’un traitement par l’administration concernée afin de mener à bien votre demande.

Ces informations sont conservées pour la durée nécessaire par l’administration à la réalisation de la finalité du traitement

Les destinataires de vos données sont les administrations compétentes dans le cadre du traitement de votre demande. Veuillez-vous adresser à l’administration concernée par votre demande pour connaître les destinataires des données figurant sur ce formulaire. Conformément au règlement (UE) 2016/679 relatif à la protection des personnes physiques à l'égard du traitement des données à caractère personnel et à la libre circulation de ces données, vous bénéficiez d’un droit d’accès, de rectification et le cas échéant d’effacement des informations vous concernant. Vous disposez également du droit de retirer votre consentement à tout moment.

En outre et excepté le cas où le traitement de vos données présente un caractère obligatoire, vous pouvez, pour des motifs légitimes, vous y opposer.

Si vous souhaitez exercer ces droits et/ou obtenir communication de vos informations, veuillez-vous adresser à l’administration concernée suivant les coordonnées indiquées dans le formulaire. Vous avez également la possibilité d’introduire une réclamation auprès de la Commission nationale pour la protection des données ayant son siège à 1 Avenue du Rock'n'Roll, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette.

En poursuivant votre démarche, vous acceptez que vos données personnelles soient traitées dans le cadre de votre demande.

Démarche en ligne

Accéder à la Démarche

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le