Choosing a primary care physician

The primary care physician system took effect on 1 July 2012. Up until 30 June 2015, various measures will be gradually introduced to complete the implementation of the system. The role of the primary care physician is to provide care and individualised professional monitoring, in particular (but not only) for patients suffering from serious and chronic illnesses. The goal is to offer the most appropriate medical care for the patient's health status.

Who is concerned

During the start-up phase, in other words until 30 June 2015, primary care physicians will primarily serve adults who are enrolled with the Joint Social Security Centre (Centre Commun de la Sécurité Sociale - CCSS), whether voluntarily or by requirement..

Children are not covered, unless they suffer from a serious chronic illness.

Prerequisites

To be able to choose a primary care physician, you must:

  • be older than 18 years of age; or
  • suffer from a serious chronic disease (such as diabetes, Alzheimer's disease or cystic fibrosis).

How to proceed

Duties and tools of the primary care physician

Duties of the primary care physician

Generally, the primary care physician is required to:

  • provide first-level and preventative care;
  • monitor and supervise the patient's healthcare, and notably make them aware of any issues relating to overlapping use, overuse or side effects of medications, exams or treatments;
  • coordinate care in the case of severe or chronic diseases, or for long-term care;
  • and generally, inform, provide guidance and advise the patient in matters relating to their healthcare.

Tools at their disposal

To perform their duties, the primary care physician mainly uses a 'patient summary form'. This provides a complete overview of the health status of the patient, so that care can be provided without interruption. It is regularly updated by the primary care physician.

The 'patient summary' form must be completed by the primary care physician at the latest 3 months after signing the declaration of enrolment. To do so, and upon validation of enrolment, the National Health Fund (Caisse nationale de santé - CNS) sends the patient a history of their healthcare-related benefits (summary of benefits).

Choice of primary care physician

To choose a primary care physician, the patient simply needs to sign a written declaration of 'primary care physician'. This declaration must then be jointly signed by the designated physician (who is free to accept or refuse to be the patient's primary care physician) and sent to the National Health Fund (CNS).

The CNS will then assign a "primary care physician" declaration number. This number must be used in subsequent communications with the CNS for all procedures involving the primary care physician.

The patient may also designate a substitute primary care physician in the 'primary care physician' declaration form, who may then intervene in the event of a prolonged absence of the primary care physician, or if the latter dies.

Revocation of the primary care physician

In theory, the relationship between the primary care physician and the patient is established for an open-ended period of time. Nevertheless, if the patient wishes to revoke their primary care physician, they are free to do so, on the condition that they comply with the following formalities:

  • fill out the 'revocation of primary care physician by mutual consent' form, if the revocation occurs within the first 12 months. This form must then be sent to the CNS. In that case, the patient must still obtain the physician's consent and give 2 months' advance notice. The change in primary care physician will therefore only become effective 2 months after the form is sent to the CNS.
  • fill out the 'unilateral revocation of primary care physician' form if the revocation occurs after the first 12 months. This form must also be sent to the CNS. The patient is not required to obtain the physician's consent in this case, but must merely comply with the requirement to provide 2 months' advance notice.

Once the revocation has been completed, the patient may choose a new primary care physician and sign a new 'primary care physician' declaration with the physician of their choosing. The new primary care physician is entitled to have the previous physician transfer all of the data they need to perform their job.

Termination of the primary care physician's practice

If the primary care physician stops working, the CNS will inform the patient accordingly. The patient is then free to choose another primary care physician.

Death of the primary care physician

Should the primary care physician die, the National Health Fund (CNS) will inform the patient as soon as possible. The relationship between the primary care physician and the patient thus automatically ceases to exist.

A patient who wishes to obtain their medical file may contact the deceased physician's office:

  • by phone; or
  • by post.

The file will then be transferred by the heirs of the deceased physician, or by the professional who has taken over their practice.

Forms / Online services

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Einen Referenzarzt wählen

Am 1. Juli 2012 trat das Referenzarztsystem in Kraft, das über verschiedene Maßnahmen schrittweise bis zum 30. Juni 2015 umgesetzt wird. Die Rolle des Referenzarztes besteht in der zentralen Betreuung und fachlichen Begleitung vor allem, jedoch nicht ausschließlich, von Menschen mit schweren oder chronischen Krankheiten. Ziel ist es dabei, die unter Berücksichtigung des individuellen Gesundheitszustands angemessenste medizinische Versorgung zu gewährleisten.

Zielgruppe

In der Einführungsphase bis zum 30. Juni 2015 richtet sich das Referenzarztsystem vor allem an Erwachsene, die bei der Zentralstelle der Sozialversicherungen (CCSS) freiwillig versichert oder pflichtversichert sind.

Kinder werden zunächst nur berücksichtigt, wenn sie an einer schweren chronischen Krankheit leiden.

Voraussetzungen

Folgende Voraussetzungen müssen erfüllt sein, um einen Referenzarzt wählen zu können:

  • der/die Versicherte ist älter als 18 Jahre; oder
  • der/die Versicherte leidet an einer schweren chronischen Krankheit (z. B. Diabetes, Alzheimer, Mukoviszidose).

Vorgehensweise und Details

Aufgaben und Instrumente des Referenzarztes

Aufgaben des Referenzarztes

Allgemeine Aufgaben des Referenzarztes:

  • Er gewährleistet die medizinische Grundversorgung und präventive Gesundheitsleistungen.
  • Er begleitet und überwacht den Weg des Patienten durch das Gesundheitssystem. Gleichzeitig schärft er das Bewusstsein des Patienten für Themen wie doppelte Untersuchungen und übermäßigen Konsum bzw. Nebenwirkungen von Medikamenten, Untersuchungen oder Behandlungen.
  • Bei schweren bzw. chronischen Krankheiten oder längerfristigen Behandlungen übernimmt er eine Koordinatorenrolle.
  • Allgemein informiert, orientiert und berät er den Patienten bei der Inanspruchnahme von Gesundheitsdienstleistungen.

Instrumente des Referenzarztes

Das wichtigste Instrument des Referenzarztes zur Wahrnehmung seiner Aufgaben ist der „Patienten-Kurzbericht“ (résumé patient). Er ermöglicht einen umfassenden, vollständigen Überblick über den Gesundheitszustand des Patienten und garantiert so eine Versorgungskontinuität. Der Referenzarzt aktualisiert den Patienten-Kurzbericht in regelmäßigen Abständen.

Der Referenzarzt muss den Patienten-Kurzbericht spätestens drei Monate nach der Unterzeichnung der Referenzarzt-Erklärung erstellt haben. Nachdem die Teilnahme am Referenzarztsystem bestätigt wurde, stellt die Nationale Gesundheitskasse (CNS) dem Patienten eine Zusammenfassung der bisherigen Gesundheitsleistungen (résumé des prestations) zur Verfügung, die zur Erstellung des Patienten-Kurzberichts durch den Referenzarzt dient.

Die Wahl des Referenzarztes

Der Patient wählt einen Referenzarzt, indem er eine schriftliche Referenzarzt-Erklärung unterzeichnet. Der Referenzarzt unterschreibt diese Erklärung ebenfalls (ein Arzt ist nicht verpflichtet, Referenzarzt eines Patienten zu werden, er kann dies auch ablehnen). Anschließend wird die Erklärung an die Nationale Gesundheitskasse (CNS) geschickt.

Jede Referenzarzt-Erklärung erhält von der CNS eine Nummer. Diese Nummer ist im künftigen Schriftverkehr mit der CNS im Zusammenhang mit Vorgängen und Unterlagen, die den Referenzarzt betreffen, stets anzugeben.

Ferner kann der Patient in der Referenzarzt-Erklärung einen Ersatz-Referenzarzt angeben, der bei längerer Abwesenheit bzw. beim Tod des Referenzarztes die Referenzarzt-Aufgabe übernimmt.

Widerruf der Referenzarzt-Erklärung

Grundsätzlich ist die Referenzarzt-Patienten-Beziehung auf unbestimmte Dauer angelegt. Der Patient kann die Referenzarzt-Erklärung jedoch widerrufen. Hierzu sind folgende Schritte erforderlich:

  • Erfolgt der Widerruf innerhalb von 12 Monaten nach Unterzeichnung der Referenzarzt-Erklärung, ist das Formular zum Widerruf der Referenzarzt-Erklärung in beiderseitigem Einverständnis auszufüllen und an die CNS zu schicken. Der Patient muss in diesem Fall das Einverständnis des Arztes einholen und eine zweimonatige Kündigungsfrist einhalten. Die Änderung tritt folglich erst zwei Monate nach Verschicken des Formulars an die CNS in Kraft.
  • Erfolgt der Widerruf nach Ablauf von 12 Monaten nach Unterzeichnung der Referenzarzt-Erklärung, ist das Formular zum einseitigen Widerruf der Referenzarzt-Erklärung auszufüllen und an die CNS zu schicken. In diesem Fall muss der Patient lediglich eine Kündigungsfrist von zwei Monaten einhalten; das Einverständnis des Referenzarztes ist nicht erforderlich.

Nach Inkrafttreten des Widerrufs kann der Patient einen neuen Referenzarzt wählen und mit diesem eine neue Referenzarzt-Erklärung unterzeichnen. Der neue Referenzarzt erhält von seinem Vorgänger alle für die Erfüllung seiner Aufgabe erforderlichen Unterlagen.

Einstellung der Tätigkeit als Referenzarzt

Stellt der Arzt seine Tätigkeit als Referenzarzt ein, wird der Patient von der CNS entsprechend informiert. Er kann dann einen neuen Referenzarzt wählen.

Tod des Referenzarztes

Verstirbt der Referenzarzt, wird der Patient von der Nationalen Gesundheitskasse (CNS) entsprechend informiert. Die Referenzarzt-Patienten-Beziehung ist dann automatisch beendet.

Patienten, die ihre Patientenakte haben möchten, können dies der Praxis des verstorbenen Arztes auf folgenden Wegen mitteilen:

  • per Telefon oder
  • per Post.

Die Akte wird dann von den Erben des verstorbenen Arztes oder dem Arzt, der die Praxis übernommen hat, weitergeleitet.

Formulare/Online-Dienste

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am