Applying for a permit to organise a public event, party or fireworks display

In Luxembourg, elected communal officials are responsible for ensuring the maintenance of good order in places where there are large gatherings of people, such as fairs, markets, festivals, public ceremonies, performances, games, drinking establishments, churches and other public places.

The law and order statutes specific to each commune specifically establish the events and other activities subject to authorisation. As a rule, the authorisation of the mayor is required by any person, association or club that wishes to organise, in the public space, games, contests, fireworks displays, light shows, performances, exhibitions or any other event that could jeopardize good public order.

The authorisation of the mayor is also necessary for fireworks displays on private properties.

Who is concerned

All organisers, associations and clubs are required to fulfil certain obligations if they wish to organise a party in the public space.

How to proceed

Each commune is responsible for defining the events that require a permit. It is therefore advisable to approach one's communal administration before organising an event, and apply for the required authorisations, depending on local requirements.

For the City of Luxembourg, permit applications may be submitted online. 

In addition, during public performances, attractions or shows, an entertainment tax must be paid by the organiser to the City of Luxembourg. Its amount depends on various factors, such as: type of event, opening hours and audience.

For further information on when such taxes must be paid, please refer to the statutes of your commune, or contact your communal administration directly.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map

Eine Genehmigung für die Organisation einer öffentlichen Veranstaltung, eines Festes oder eines Feuerwerks einholen

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am 09.12.2019

In Luxemburg obliegt es den kommunalen Mandatsträgern, die Aufrechterhaltung der Ordnung an Orten, an denen viele Menschen zusammenkommen, sicherzustellen (Volksfeste, Märkte, öffentliche Feierlichkeiten und Gedenkfeiern, Aufführungen, Spiele, Gaststätten, Kirchen und andere öffentliche Orte).

Durch das gemeindespezifische Polizeireglement ist genau festgelegt, welche Veranstaltungen und Aktivitäten eine Genehmigung erfordern. Grundsätzlich muss jeder Veranstalter, jeder Verein oder Club die Genehmigung des Bürgermeisters einholen, wenn auf öffentlichen Straßen und Plätzen Spiele, Wettkämpfe, Feuerwerke, Illuminationen, Aufführungen, Ausstellungen oder andere Ereignisse veranstaltet werden sollen, durch die die öffentliche Ordnung beeinträchtigt werden könnte.

Je nach Wohnortgemeinde ist für Feuerwerke, die auf Privatgrundstücken abgefeuert werden unter Umständen ebenfalls eine Genehmigung des Bürgermeisters einzuholen.

Zielgruppe

Veranstalter, Vereine oder Clubs sind verpflichtet, bei der Durchführung von Festen auf öffentlichen Straßen und Plätzen gewisse Bestimmungen einzuhalten.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Welche Veranstaltungen genehmigungspflichtig sind, wird von der jeweiligen Gemeinde entschieden. Wenn die Organisation eines Ereignisses ansteht, ist es deshalb ratsam, sich zunächst an die Gemeindeverwaltung zu wenden und die je nach Gemeinde erforderlichen Genehmigungen einzuholen.

In Luxemburg-Stadt können die Genehmigungsanträge online gestellt werden.

Bei öffentlichen Darbietungen, Attraktionen oder Vergnügungen erhebt die Stadt Luxemburg eine Vergnügungssteuer. Die Höhe des vom Veranstalter zu zahlenden Betrags hängt von verschiedenen Kriterien ab: Art der Veranstaltung, Öffnungszeiten, Publikum usw.

Weitere Informationen zur Anwendung dieser Steuer finden Sie im Reglement Ihrer Gemeinde. Alternativ können Sie sich auch direkt an Ihre Gemeindeverwaltung wenden.

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren