Change of employer: is there a non-compete clause?

Throughout the working relationship, employment contracts must be performed in good faith, both by the employer and by the employee.

At the end of the employment contract, employees regain their independence. Even after their contract has ended, and even in the absence of clauses of this type, employees must refrain from acts of disloyalty and unfair competition in respect of their former employer.

Is it possible to refuse to sign a non-complete clause?

Can employers require employees, once their employment contract has ended, not to engage in any form of competition (including by fair means)? Employees cannot be bound by this type of obligation. It is only by mutual agreement that employers and employees may specify in the employment contract that the employee is to be prohibited, for a period of time after leaving the company, from performing similar activities so as not to prejudice the interests of the former employer by operating as a sole proprietor.

What checks should be made before signing a non-compete clause?

At the time of signing, the non-compete clause must satisfy the following conditions for it to be valid:

  • the employee must be 18 years old or more when the agreement is signed;
  • the employee may be prohibited from competing with their former employer as a self-employed worker, but not as an employee of another company. In fact, employees are free to seek employment, and to highlight their previous professional experience, with other companies in the same sector;
  • the clause must relate to a specific professional sector and to activities similar to those of the employer;
  • the clause must be limited to a period of 12 months from the end of the employment contract;
  • it can cover, at most, the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg (the clause must be geographically restricted to localities where the employee can actually compete with the employer, considering the nature of the company and its reach).

What checks should be carried out after leaving the company?

An employee cannot be bound a the non-compete clause after they have left the company if:

  • their yearly salary or earnings at the time of leaving is less than EUR 50,298.38 (index 737.83); or
  • they are dismissed with immediate effect for serious misconduct and the dismissal with immediate effect has been declared unfair by the labour tribunal; or
  • they are dismissed with notice and the employer has failed to give the notice period required by the Luxembourg Labour Code.

To what extent can an employee be bound by an illegal non-compete clause?

An employee cannot be bound, in any way, by a non-compete clause under the following circumstances:

  • if the clause is constituted by an oral agreement; or
  • if the employee was a minor when the clause was signed; or
  • if the employee's annual earnings at the time of leaving is less than EUR 50,298.38 (index 737.83); or
  • if the employee has been dismissed with immediate effect for serious misconduct and the dismissal with immediate effect has been declared unfair by the labour tribunal; or
  • if the employee has been dismissed with notice and the employer has failed to give the notice period required by the Luxembourg Labour Code.

Under the following circumstances, the clause will not be deemed to be null and void in its entirety, but its effect will be reduced:

  • the ban on working as an employee for a competing company, and from competing with the employer as a self-employed worker, will be reduced to a ban on competing with the employer as a self-employed worker, since the non-compete clause must be limited to the area of entrepreneurship and may not prevent the employee from taking up a job with a new employer. Employees are, therefore, entitled to work for a competitor even if they are bound by a non-compete clause prohibiting them from working for another company in the same sector. In this case, the application of the illegal clause would be reduced and its effect would be limited solely to the activities for which the ban is authorised by law, namely, the operation of a sole proprietorship;
  • non-compete clauses that would prohibit employees from working in any sector in Luxembourg would be reduced to a specific professional sector and to activities similar to those carried out by the employer;
  • non-compete clauses that may extend beyond the territory of Luxembourg would be reduced to localities where employees could actually compete with their former employers and, at the most, to the territory of Luxembourg;
  • clauses that may require employees to refrain from competition for a period of more than 12 months would be reduced to a period of 12 months.
Last update

Wechsel des Arbeitgebers: Gibt es Wettbewerbsklauseln, die einzuhalten sind?

Während des gesamten Arbeitsverhältnisses muss der Arbeitsvertrag sowohl vom Arbeitgeber als auch vom Arbeitnehmer nach Treu und Glauben erfüllt werden.

Am Ende des Arbeitsvertrags ist der Arbeitnehmer wieder unabhängig. Selbst nach Beendigung seines Arbeitsvertrags und selbst in Ermangelung jeder diesbezüglichen Klausel muss der Arbeitnehmer von allen illoyalen Handlungen und jedem unlauteren Wettbewerb gegenüber seinem ehemaligen Arbeitgeber Abstand nehmen.

Ist es möglich, die Unterzeichnung einer Wettbewerbsklausel abzulehnen?

Kann der Arbeitgeber dem Arbeitnehmer nach Beendigung des Arbeitsvertrags vorschreiben, dass ihm Letzterer keine Konkurrenz macht, dies selbst unter Ausschluss eines Wettbewerbs mit loyalen Mitteln? Der Arbeitnehmer muss sich eine solche Verpflichtung nicht vorschreiben lassen. Nur durch eine gemeinsame Vereinbarung können der Arbeitgeber und der Arbeitnehmer im Arbeitsvertrag vorsehen, dass es dem Arbeitnehmer für die Zeit nach seinem Ausscheiden aus dem Unternehmen untersagt ist, vergleichbaren Tätigkeiten nachzugehen, damit die Interessen des ehemaligen Arbeitgebers durch den Betrieb eines eigenen Unternehmens nicht beeinträchtigt werden.

Welche Aspekte sind im Rahmen der Unterzeichnung einer Wettbewerbsklausel zu überprüfen?

Zum Zeitpunkt der Unterzeichnung müssen hinsichtlich der Wettbewerbsklausel die folgenden Bedingungen eingehalten werden, damit diese gültig ist:

  • der Arbeitnehmer muss bei Unterzeichnung der Vereinbarung volljährig sein;
  • es kann dem Arbeitnehmer untersagt werden, seinem ehemaligen Arbeitgeber als Selbstständiger Konkurrenz zu machen, nicht jedoch als Arbeitnehmer eines anderen Unternehmens. Dem Arbeitnehmer steht es folglich weiterhin frei, eine Arbeitsstelle zu suchen und seine berufliche Erfahrung bei einem anderen Unternehmen des gleichen Sektors einzusetzen;
  • die Klausel muss sich auf einen bestimmten Tätigkeitssektor und auf Tätigkeiten, die mit denjenigen des Arbeitgebers vergleichbar sind, beziehen;
  • die Klausel muss auf einen Zeitraum von 12 Monaten nach Beendigung des Arbeitsvertrags begrenzt sein;
  • sie darf höchstens das Gebiet des Großherzogtums Luxemburg betreffen (die Klausel muss geografisch auf die Orte beschränkt sein, an denen der Arbeitnehmer dem Arbeitgeber unter Berücksichtigung der Art des Unternehmens und seines Aktionsradius tatsächlich Konkurrenz machen kann).

Welche Aspekte sind nach dem Ausscheiden aus dem Unternehmen zu überprüfen?

Nach dem Ausscheiden des Arbeitnehmers kann ihm die Wettbewerbsklausel nicht entgegen gehalten werden:

  • wenn sein Jahreslohn oder -gehalt zum Zeitpunkt seines Ausscheidens aus dem Unternehmen weniger als 50.298,38 Euro beträgt (Index 737,83); oder
  • wenn ihm wegen einer schwerwiegenden Verfehlung fristlos gekündigt wird und die fristlose Kündigung vom Arbeitsgericht für missbräuchlich erklärt wurde oder
  • wenn der Arbeitgeber im Falle einer ordentlichen Kündigung die im Arbeitsgesetzbuch (Code de travail) vorgesehene Kündigungsfrist nicht eingehalten hat.

In welchem Maß kann der Arbeitnehmer durch eine rechtswidrige Wettbewerbsklausel gebunden bleiben?

Der Arbeitnehmer ist in den folgenden Fällen keinesfalls durch eine Wettbewerbsklausel gebunden:

  • im Falle einer mündlichen Vereinbarung oder
  • wenn er zum Zeitpunkt der Unterzeichnung der Klausel minderjährig war oder
  • wenn das gezahlte Jahresgehalt des Arbeitnehmers zum Zeitpunkt seines Ausscheidens aus dem Unternehmen weniger als 50.298,38 Euro beträgt (Index 737,83) oder
  • wenn ihm wegen einer schwerwiegenden Verfehlung fristlos gekündigt wurde und die fristlose Kündigung vom Arbeitsgericht für missbräuchlich erklärt wurde oder
  • wenn der Arbeitgeber im Falle einer ordentlichen Kündigung die im Arbeitsgesetzbuch vorgesehene Kündigungsfrist nicht einhält.

In den folgenden Fällen ist die Klausel nicht in ihrer Gesamtheit nichtig, sondern eingeschränkt wirksam:

  • ein Verbot, als Arbeitnehmer für ein Konkurrenzunternehmen zu arbeiten und dem Arbeitgeber als Selbstständiger Konkurrenz zu machen, wird auf das Verbot, dem Arbeitgeber als Selbstständiger Konkurrenz zu machen, beschränkt, da sich eine Wettbewerbsklausel auf den Bereich des Unternehmertums beschränken muss und dem Arbeitnehmer nicht untersagen darf, eine nicht selbstständige Tätigkeit bei einem neuen Arbeitgeber aufzunehmen. Der Arbeitnehmer darf demnach bei einem Konkurrenzunternehmen arbeiten, auch wenn er durch eine Wettbewerbsklausel gebunden ist, die ihm verbietet, für ein anderes Unternehmen des gleichen Sektors zu arbeiten. In diesem Fall würde die illegale Klausel eingeschränkt angewandt werden und ihre Wirkung wäre nur auf die Tätigkeiten beschränkt, für die das Verbot gesetzlich zulässig ist, d.h. den Betrieb eines eigenen Unternehmens;
  • eine Wettbewerbsklausel, die dem Arbeitnehmer eine Tätigkeit in sämtlichen Sektoren untersagen würde, würde sich auf einen bestimmten Tätigkeitssektor und auf Tätigkeiten, die mit denjenigen des Arbeitgebers vergleichbar sind, beschränken;
  • eine Wettbewerbsklausel, die über das Großherzogtum Luxemburg hinaus wirksam wäre, würde sich nur auf die Orte, an denen der Arbeitnehmer seinem ehemaligen Arbeitgeber tatsächlich Konkurrenz machen könnte und höchstens auf das luxemburgische Hoheitsgebiet beziehen;
  • eine Klausel, die dem Arbeitnehmer ein Wettbewerbsverbot für einen Zeitraum von mehr als 12 Monaten vorschreiben würde, würde auf eine Dauer von 12 Monaten vermindert werden.
Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am