Tax treatment of an employer-sponsored supplementary pension scheme

Some Luxembourg employers choose to set up a supplementary pension scheme (the 'second pillar' of pension insurance) for all of their employees or for only one category of their employees. By doing so, employers can grant their employees benefits intended to supplement those of the legal social security schemes for retirement, death, disability or survival.

Employers can choose between financing the supplementary pension scheme internally—through provisions on the liability side of the employer's balance sheet—or externally—by paying premiums to an insurance company or a pension fund—as part of a defined benefit plan or a defined contribution plan. Employees can make personal contribution payments to the supplementary pension scheme put in place by their employer, if permitted under the terms of the scheme.

Who is concerned

This applies to any person:

  • be they a resident or non-resident, who is or has been an employee in Luxembourg;
  • who receives benefits paid under a supplementary pension scheme (as defined by the Law of 8 June 1999) implemented by their former Luxembourg employer.

How to proceed

Flat-rate tax withholding borne by employer

From a tax point of view, all provisions, insurance premiums, and contributions for the purpose of financing a supplementary pension scheme are taxable as benefits-in-kind from paid employment. These benefits are taxed at a flat rate of 20 %, withheld at source and borne by the employer.

This taxation is final for employees. As such, employees are not required to report these contributions or the tax withholding borne by the employer in their income tax return.

Deduction ceiling for personal contributions

Employees' personal contributions to an employer-sponsored supplementary pension scheme are tax deductible as special expenses up to EUR 1200 per year. Employees' personal contributions may be withheld from their net salary and deducted in the maximum amount EUR 1,200 as part of the taxes withheld from salaries by the employer. These contributions are to be reported in box 1435 of the income tax return form.

Non-taxable benefits

Resident taxpayers

Resident taxpayers who receive benefits paid under an employer-sponsored supplementary pension scheme, as defined by the Law of 8 June 1999, have no tax obligations to discharge since these benefits are not taxable.

Indeed, upon leaving the scheme, supplementary pension benefits in the form of a life annuity or lump-sum capital payment, are fully exempt from income tax. This exemption is explained by the fact that all contributions to the supplementary pension scheme were taxed a flat-rate tax of 20 % when paid.

Non-resident taxpayers

Benefits received by non-resident taxpayers under a Luxembourg employer-sponsored supplementary pension scheme, as defined by the Law of 8 June 1999, are not taxed in Luxembourg. However, such benefits are, in theory, taxable in the taxpayer's country of residence.

Nonetheless, the amendment to the double taxation agreement between Luxembourg and Belgium provides that benefits paid under a Luxembourg supplementary pension scheme are not taxable in Belgium for Belgian-resident taxpayers insofar that the contributions paid by the employer had already been taxed in Luxembourg.

Maintenance or transfer of acquired rights

If an employee leaves their employment before retirement age, all of the rights they acquired under the supplementary pension scheme implemented by their employer must be maintained, even in the case of dismissal for serious misconduct.

These acquired rights in the former employer's supplementary pension plan may be maintained until the employee's retirement.

These acquired rights may be transferred to another supplementary pension scheme in another company or another group of companies, or to a duly authorised external pension scheme (pension fund, insurance company).

They may also be repurchased in the following circumstances:

  • the employee leaves to join a company located outside of Luxembourg;
  • the employee has reached 50 years of age at the time of their departure;
  • the retirement benefits paid in the form of a pension do not exceed one tenth of the monthly social minimum wage for a non-qualified worker of at least 18 years of age.
  • the retirement benefits paid in the form of a lump-sum capital payment do not exceed 10 times the monthly social minimum wage for a non-qualified worker of at least 18 years of age.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Die steuerliche Behandlung einer vom Arbeitgeber gewährten Zusatzrente kennen

Einige luxemburgische Arbeitgeber entscheiden sich dafür, für die Gesamtheit ihrer Arbeitnehmer oder für eine bestimmte Zielgruppe ein Zusatzpensionsregime (2. Säule der Rentenversicherung) einzuführen. Durch die Zusatzrente gewähren die Arbeitgeber ihren Beschäftigten Leistungen, die die Ruhestand-, Todesfall-, Invalidität- oder Hinterbliebenenleistungen der gesetzlichen Sozialversicherungssysteme ergänzen.

Die Arbeitgeber haben dabei die Wahl, ob sie das Zusatzpensionsregime betriebsintern (Rückstellungen auf der Passivseite der Bilanz des Arbeitgebers) oder außerbetrieblich (Prämien an Versicherungsgesellschaften oder Beiträge an Pensionsfonds) im Rahmen festgelegter Leistungen oder festgelegter Beiträge finanzieren. Sofern der Plan des Zusatzpensionsregimes es vorsieht, sind die Arbeitnehmer berechtigt, selbst Beiträge in den Zusatzrentenplan einzuzahlen.

Zielgruppe

Folgende Personen sind betroffen:

  • gebietsansässige oder nicht gebietsansässige Arbeitnehmer, die in Luxemburg berufstätig sind bzw. waren;
  • Leistungsempfänger einer Zusatzrente aus dem Zusatzrentensystem ihres ehemaligen luxemburgischen Arbeitgebers gemäß dem Gesetz vom 8. Juni 1999.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Pauschaler Lohnsteuereinbehalt des Arbeitgebers

Die Rückstellungen, Versicherungsprämien und Beiträge zur Finanzierung der Zusatzrente sind als geldwerte Leistungen aus nichtselbständiger Arbeit steuerpflichtig. Diese geldwerten Leistungen sind mit einer Pauschalsteuer in Höhe von 20 % belegt, die vom Arbeitgeber als Quellensteuer einbehalten wird.

Diese Besteuerung hat für die Arbeitnehmer abgeltende Wirkung. Sie brauchen diese Beiträge sowie den Steuereinbehalt des Arbeitgebers nicht mehr in ihrer Einkommensteuererklärung anzugeben.

Höchstbetrag der abzugsfähigen persönlichen Beiträge

Bis zu einem Betrag von 1.200 Euro sind die persönlichen Beiträge eines Arbeitnehmers in das vom Arbeitgeber aufgesetzte Zusatzpensionsregime als Sonderausgabe abzugsfähig. Diese selbstgezahlten Beiträge können vom Nettoverdienst des Arbeitnehmers abgezogen werden und sind bis zu einem Betrag von 1.200 Euro quellensteuerfrei. Diese Beiträge sind im Feld 1435 der Einkommensteuererklärung anzugeben.

Steuerfreie Leistungen

Gebietsansässiger Steuerpflichtiger

Der gebietsansässige Steuerpflichtige, der Leistungen aus einem Zusatzpensionsregime erhält, das gemäß dem Gesetz vom 8. Juni 1999 von seinem Arbeitgeber eingeführt wurde, muss diese nicht versteuern, da diese Leistungen nicht steuerpflichtig sind.

Bei der Auszahlung des Zusatzrentenplans in Form einer Leibrente oder einer einmaligen Kapitalauszahlung sind die Leistungen in ihrer Gesamtheit von der Einkommensteuer befreit. Grund für diese Steuerbefreiung ist die Tatsache, dass die Beiträge zum Zusatzrentenregime bereits bei Einzahlung mit einem pauschalen Steuersatz von 20 % besteuert wurden.

Nicht gebietsansässiger Steuerpflichtiger

Der nicht gebietsansässige Steuerpflichtige, der Leistungen aus einem Zusatzpensionsregime erhält, das gemäß dem Gesetz vom 8. Juni 1999 von seinem luxemburgischen Arbeitgeber eingeführt wurde, ist in Luxemburg in Bezug auf diese Leistungen nicht steuerpflichtig. Dagegen sind diese Einnahmen in seinem Wohnsitzland grundsätzlich steuerpflichtig.

Der Nachtrag zum belgisch-luxemburgischen Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen besagt jedoch, dass die von einem in Belgien ansässigen Steuerpflichtigen bezogenen Leistungen aus einem luxemburgischen Zusatzpensionsregime in Belgien steuerfrei sind, sofern die vom Arbeitgeber eingezahlten Beträge in Luxemburg versteuert wurden.

Wahrung oder Übertragung erworbener Ansprüche

Falls der Arbeitnehmer das Unternehmen vor Erreichung des Renteneintrittsalters verlässt, müssen seine erworbenen Ansprüche am Zusatzpensionsregimes seines Arbeitgebers gewahrt bleiben, auch bei außerordentlicher Kündigung.

Die erworbenen Ansprüche können bis zur Erreichung des Renteneintrittsalters im Zusatzrentenplan des ehemaligen Arbeitgebers verbleiben.

Die erworbenen Ansprüche können in ein anderes Zusatzrentensystem, das von einem anderen Unternehmen bzw. einer anderen Unternehmensgruppe geschaffen wurde, oder in ein zugelassenes externes System (Pensionsfonds, Versicherungsgesellschaft) übertragen werden.

Die erworbenen Ansprüche können unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen auch zurückgekauft werden:

  • Der Arbeitnehmer wechselt zu einem Unternehmen außerhalb Luxemburgs;
  • der Arbeitnehmer hat bei Ende des Arbeitsverhältnisses das 50. Lebensjahr erreicht;
  • der Betrag der in Form einer Rente gezahlten Ruhestandsbezüge überschreitet nicht den 10. Teil des monatlichen Mindestlohnes eines ungelernten Arbeiters von mindestens 18 Jahren;
  • der Betrag der in Form eines Kapitalbetrags gezahlten Ruhestandsbezüge beläuft sich höchstens auf das Zehnfache des monatlichen Mindestlohnes eines ungelernten Arbeiters von mindestens 18 Jahren.

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
  • Steuerverwaltung
    45, boulevard Roosevelt
    L-2982 Luxemburg
    Luxemburg
    Um sich an die zuständige Stelle zu wenden, folgen Sie bitte dem untenstehenden Link.
Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am