Challenging administrative decisions

Last updated more than 5 years ago

Any act by an administrative authority which constitutes a decision liable to adversely affect to a citizen may be the appealed.

Various possible remedies are available to people affected by a decision by a State body, a commune or a public institution.

Some of the explanations below, which are based on hypothetical scenarios, are of limited use and only partially represent or simplify reality. In all cases, it is strongly recommended that you consult a professional advisor before drawing conclusions about your actual legal situation.

Who is concerned

Anyone who believes that they have been adversely affected following a decision made by the Luxembourg authorities may challenge the administrative decision.

Preliminary steps

Before bringing an action before the administrative courts, persons who disagree with an administrative decision that adversely affect them always have the option of filing an internal appeal (or a non-contentious appeal) with the authority to have it modify its initial position with regard to the applicant.

How to proceed

Non-contentious appeals

Non-contentious appeals are filed with the person who took the contested administrative decision or their hierarchical superior. It need not be in any specific format and need not be drafted by a lawyer.

The appeal itself is not subject to any time limit: it can be filed at any time. However, to ensure that the option of bringing an action before the Administrative Tribunal is not lost if a non-contentious appeal is not successful, the non-contentious appeal should be filed before the expiry of the time limit for appeals to the Administrative Tribunal (3 months from the date of notification of the decision, or from the day on which the applicant became aware of the decision).

In fact, within that period, a non-contentious appeal is unique in that it suspends the time limit for filing an appeal with the Administrative Tribunal and sets a new time-limit which starts when notice is given of the new decision.

If no response is made to a non-contentious appeal, the time limit for a legal appeal is not, however, indefinitely suspended. If more than three months have elapsed since the filing of the non-contentious appeal without a new decision, the time limit for bringing a legal appeal begins at the end of the three-month period.

Example

A civil servant was denied promotion by ministerial decision. The civil servant then sends a registered letter to the relevant minister, requesting that the latter reconsider their position.

Legal appeal

As a general rule, appeals to the Administrative Tribunal must be filed within 3 months of the day on which notice was given of the decision to the applicant, or on the day on which the applicant became aware of the decision.

Legal appeals must be made in writing.

Examples

  • A person applies for a building permit, but the permit is refused by the mayor. Since the notice of refusal is, in principle, sent to the applicant by registered letter, the time limit for taking action starts from the day of notification by letter.
  • A building permit is granted. However, the neighbours were not necessarily notified of this decision by the mayor. For them, therefore, the time limit for bringing legal proceedings begins on the day the building permit is posted on the building site.

Although the ability to challenge an administrative decision is not limited to the direct addressee of the measure, not just any third party may challenge an administrative decision: a third party must be personally affected by the administrative act.

Except in the case of direct contributions, any application before the Administrative Tribunal must be signed by a court lawyer.

The purpose of appeals before the administrative courts is:

  • to seek the annulment of the contested decision: the judge merely declares the act illegal and it is the administration's responsibility to decree a new act, drawing lessons from the judicial decision issued;
  • in cases where the law expressly provides for it (such as disputes involving foreigners or the civil service), to seek the reversal of the administrative act: reversal goes further than annulment in that administrative judges do not, as the case may be, merely annul the contested decision but replace them with their own decision by acting in the stead of the authority and redressing the initial defects of the act.

Time limits

By law, the procedure before the administrative courts is a written procedure which operates within very strict time limits.

As a result, at the first instance, the investigation of the case lasts 7 months. Then the Tribunal hands down its judgement. In appeal proceedings before the Administrative Court, the court generally hands down its judgement within 5 months of the judgement of the lower court.

In the case of decisions taken by the social security institutions, there are specific internal appeal procedures for each branch of the social security system—which may be classified as amicable remedies—prior to any legal proceedings phase.

Who to contact

Last update

Eine behördliche Entscheidung anfechten

Vor mehr als 5 Jahren aktualisiert

Jede Amtshandlung, die von einer Verwaltungsbehörde ausgeht und eine Entscheidung darstellt, die einen Bürger beschwert, kann Gegenstand eines Rechtsbehelfs sein.

Personen, die von einer Entscheidung einer staatlichen, kommunalen oder öffentlichen Behörde betroffen sind, stehen verschiedene Rechtsbehelfsmöglichkeiten zur Verfügung.

Einige der nachfolgenden Erläuterungen beruhen auf Annahmen und geben die Realität nur unzureichend oder vereinfacht wieder. In allen Fällen wird dringend empfohlen fachlichen Rat einzuholen, bevor Sie Schlussfolgerungen im Hinblick auf Ihre konkrete rechtliche Situation ziehen.

Zielgruppe

Jeder, der meint aufgrund einer Entscheidung einer luxemburgischen Behörde beschwert zu sein, kann diese behördliche Entscheidung anfechten.

Im Vorfeld zu erledigende Schritte

Vor Anrufung des Verwaltungsgerichts hat die Person, die mit einer behördlichen Entscheidung nicht einverstanden ist, stets die Möglichkeit einen Widerspruch bei der Behörde, die die Entscheidung getroffen hat, einzubringen, damit diese ihre ursprünglich gegenüber dem Antragsteller eingenommene Haltung korrigieren kann.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Außergerichtlicher Rechtsbehelf

Hierbei handelt es sich um einen Widerspruch, der beim Urheber der angefochtenen behördlichen Entscheidung oder bei dessen vorgesetzter Behörde eingelegt wird. Er unterliegt keinen besonderen Formvorschriften und muss nicht von einem Anwalt verfasst werden.

Der Widerspruch ist an keinerlei Fristen gebunden: Er kann jederzeit eingelegt werden. Um nicht die Möglichkeit zu verlieren, das Verwaltungsgericht anzurufen, falls der außergerichtliche Widerspruch erfolglos bleibt, ist es jedoch angebracht, den außergerichtlichen Widerspruch vor Ablauf der Klagefrist beim Verwaltungsgericht (3 Monate ab dem Tag der Zustellung des Verwaltungsakts oder dem Tag, an dem der Antragsteller Kenntnis von dem Verwaltungsakt erlangen konnte) einzulegen.

Erfolgt dieser außergerichtliche Widerspruch innerhalb dieser Frist, hat dies die Aussetzung der Klagefrist beim Verwaltungsgericht zur Folge, d. h. eine neue Frist beginnt mit der Zustellung der neuen Entscheidung.

Bei Ausbleiben einer Antwort auf den außergerichtlichen Widerspruch hin wird die Frist für die gerichtliche Klage jedoch nicht unbegrenzt ausgesetzt: Ist eine Frist von mehr als 3 Monaten seit Einlegung des außergerichtlichen Widerspruchs verstrichen, ohne dass eine neue Entscheidung ergeht, beginnt die Frist für die gerichtliche Klage mit Ablauf des dritten Monats.

Beispiel

Einem Staatsbeamten wurde die Beförderung per ministeriellen Beschluss verweigert. Besagter Beamter wendet sich nun schriftlich (Einschreiben) an den zuständigen Minister und ersucht ihn, seine Haltung zu überdenken.

Gerichtlicher Rechtsbehelf

Im Allgemeinen muss eine gerichtliche Klage innerhalb von 3 Monaten ab dem Tag, an dem die Entscheidung dem Antragsteller zugestellt wurde bzw. er Kenntnis davon erlangen konnte, beim Verwaltungsgericht erhoben werden.

Die gerichtliche Klage bedarf der Schriftform.

Beispiele

  • Jemand beantragt eine Baugenehmigung, die ihm jedoch vom Bürgermeister verwehrt wird. Da der Ablehnungsbescheid dem Antragsteller grundsätzlich per Einschreiben zugestellt wird, beginnt die Frist ab Zustellung des Schreibens.
  • Es wird eine Baugenehmigung erteilt. Den Nachbarn wird diese Entscheidung jedoch nicht automatisch vom Bürgermeister mitgeteilt. Ihrerseits beginnt die Frist für die Einleitung rechtlicher Schritte, sobald die Bekanntmachung der Genehmigung an der Baustelle angebracht ist.

Obwohl das Recht, eine behördliche Entscheidung anzufechten, nicht ausschließlich dem direkt von der Amtshandlung Betroffenen zusteht, ist nicht jede beliebige Person befugt, eine behördliche Entscheidung anzufechten: Dritte müssen persönlich von der Amtshandlung betroffen sein.

Ausgenommen bei Steuerangelegenheiten muss jeder Antrag beim Verwaltungsgericht zwingend von einem Anwalt am Gerichtshof unterzeichnet sein.

Gegenstand der Klage bei den Verwaltungsgerichten ist:

  • die Aufhebung der angefochtenen Entscheidung: Der Richter beschränkt sich darauf, die Amtshandlung für unrechtmäßig zu erklären, wobei es der Behörde obliegt, eine neue Amtshandlung vorzunehmen und den in der gerichtlichen Entscheidung festgestellten Mangel zu beheben;
  • in Fällen, in denen das Gesetz ausdrücklich (z. B. Streitfälle von Ausländern oder des öffentlichen Diensts) die Änderung des Verwaltungsakts vorsieht: die Änderung geht über die Aufhebung hinaus, wobei sich die Verwaltungsrichter erforderlichenfalls nicht nur auf die Aufhebung der angefochtenen Entscheidung beschränken, sondern anstelle der Behörde eine eigene Entscheidung treffen, um die ursprünglichen Mängel des Verwaltungsakts zu beseitigen.

Frist(en)

Von Rechts wegen ist das Verfahren vor den Verwaltungsgerichten ein schriftliches Verfahren, für das strikte Fristen gelten.

Daher nimmt die gerichtliche Untersuchung der Akte in erster Instanz 7 Monate in Anspruch. Anschließend fällt das Gericht sein Urteil. Im Berufungsverfahren entscheidet der Verwaltungsgerichtshof im Allgemeinen innerhalb von 5 Monaten nach dem Urteil der ersten Instanz.

Bei Entscheidungen der Sozialversicherungsträger existieren für jeden Versicherungsbereich besondere interne Widerspruchsmöglichkeiten, die als Mittel der gütlichen Einigung angesehen werden können und stets einem streitigen Verfahren vorgeschaltet sind.

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am