Applying for an old-age pension as a non-resident (including cross-border workers)

Last update 06.04.2022

Non-resident workers who have paid into a pension insurance scheme in Luxembourg enjoy the same entitlements as do resident workers. In social security matters, the legislation of the country where the person is employed applies.

An insured individual who wishes to receive their pension must apply directly to the relevant institution in their country of residence. That institution will then apply for the pension, on the insured's behalf, to the relevant bodies in the other countries in which they have worked.

If all of the conditions are satisfied, the insured has as many partial pension pots as the number of countries in which they have worked.

Who is concerned

Any worker or self-employed person who has worked and paid into a pension scheme in Luxembourg, but does not live there, is a non-resident.

In general, such people are likely to have worked both in Luxembourg and in one or more other EU Member States. In this context, the umbrella term 'non-resident' covers cross-border workers.

When the person retires, all periods during which they paid into a pension scheme in an EU Member State are added together to calculate the old-age pension to which they are entitled. Through Europe-wide agreements, these rules are extended to Iceland, Norway, Switzerland, Liechtenstein and the United Kingdom.

Prerequisites

Pension from a given State will only be paid if the applicant satisfies the eligibility conditions set forth in that country's legislation. If the insured has paid into pension insurance schemes which mature at different ages, they will begin receiving the pension from the different pots when they reach the age stipulated in the legislation of the country in question.

In order to receive a Luxembourg pension, a non-resident must have worked in Luxembourg for at least one year. If they have worked in Luxembourg for less than a year, then their months of contributions in Luxembourg are taken into account by the country/countries paying towards the pension, but do not entitle the insured to payment from the Luxembourg pension fund.

The eligibility conditions depend on the type of pension being considered:

Deadlines

Pension is not paid automatically. The insured must apply to receive their pension.

If an insured individual:

  • has only ever worked in Luxembourg: they may apply between 2 and 6 months prior to their pension start date;
  • has worked both in Luxembourg and in one or more foreign countries: it is best that they apply at least 6 months prior to the planned start date of their pension.

How to proceed

Filing the application in the country of residence

Non-residents must apply for pension in the country where they live, unless they have never worked in that country. A 'contact organisation' – typically an institution in the country where the non-resident lives – will handle the application.

Exception

If an insured last worked in Luxembourg, they are free to make their application either in Luxembourg or in their country of residence.

The contact organisation will facilitate the exchange of information between the different countries to which the application pertains. Once all of the countries in question have forwarded their decision to the contact organisation, the latter will send the insured a statement listing all of the decisions made.
The insured must provide the necessary supporting documents (certificates or diplomas, formal record of work abroad, etc.) along with their application.

Application processing time

The time taken to process a pension application will depend on the availability and the soundness of the required data. It may range from:

  • a few weeks; to
  • several months, if information needs to be obtained from abroad.

Payment of pension

Each EU Member State in which the person has paid pension insurance contributions for at least one year will pay their old-age pension when they reach the pension age set in that country's legislation.

If, for example, the insured has worked in 3 countries over the course of their career, they will receive 3 different old-age pensions. However, it is important to take account of the fact that the start dates for those pensions may vary depending on national regulations. In such cases, one speaks of a 'hybrid' insurance history.

A non-resident pensioner receiving a Luxembourg pension must declare that pension in their country of residence.

Calculation of pension

Each EU Member State is required to take account of the periods during which contributions were paid in other countries in order to determine pension entitlements and amounts.

This is the principle of aggregation of insurance periods, which guarantees that periods of contribution or work completed in one Member State will be taken into account when determining entitlement to benefits in another Member State.

Work periods in the public sector are also taken into account. On the other hand, certain rules are still domestic, such as the pensionable age.

When the applicant has a hybrid insurance history in at least 2 States, they will receive a partial pension from each State in which they have paid into a pension pot. The amount of each pension is proportional to:

  • the number of insurance years completed; and
  • the relative amount of contributions paid; and
  • the pension calculation rules that apply in the country in question.

Specific case of periods of work outside the European Union: if the insured has worked in one or more countries with which Luxembourg has signed a social security agreement, then the pension is calculated on a case-by-case basis in accordance with each agreement. The same is true if the insured has worked in the EU and in one or more countries with which an agreement is in place.

Each State where the non-resident worker has paid into a pension insurance scheme performs the following calculations:

  • domestic pension: the domestic pension is calculated based on national legislation, and takes into account only those periods worked in the country for longer than the minimum contribution period;
  • theoretical amount: the competent institution calculates the theoretical amount of the old-age pension that would have been payable if the contributor had completed all insurance periods (including those completed abroad) under its legislation;
  • proportional pension: on the basis of the theoretical amount, it determines the actual amount in proportion to the insurance periods actually completed under its legislation.

The appropriate pension fund then pays the higher of the 2 pensions (usually the proportional pension).

We are interested in your opinion

How would you rate the content of this page?

Last update

Eine Altersrente als nichtansässige Person (einschließlich Grenzgänger) beantragen

Nichtansässige Arbeitnehmer, die in Luxemburg Rentenversicherungsbeiträge gezahlt haben, genießen die gleichen Rechte wie gebietsansässige Arbeitnehmer. In Bezug auf die Sozialversicherung gelten die Rechtsvorschriften des Landes des Arbeitsortes.

Versicherte, die in Rente gehen wollen, stellen ihren Antrag direkt beim zuständigen Rentenversicherungsträger ihres Wohnsitzlandes. Dieser kümmert sich um die Einreichung der Rentenanträge bei den zuständigen Rentenversicherungsträgern der anderen betroffenen Länder.

Sind die Bedingungen erfüllt, bezieht die versicherte Person so viele Teilrenten, wie Länder betroffen sind.

Zielgruppe

Jeder Arbeitnehmer oder Selbstständige, der in Luxemburg gearbeitet und Beiträge gezahlt hat, aber nicht dort lebt, ist ein Nichtansässiger.

Im Allgemeinen handelt es sich um Personen, die in Luxemburg und in einem oder mehreren anderen Mitgliedstaaten der Europäischen Union (EU) gearbeitet haben. Der Begriff „Nichtansässiger“ schließt hier die Grenzgänger mit ein.

Beim Renteneintritt werden alle Beitragszeiten in einem Mitgliedstaat der EU zusammengenommen, um den Rentenanspruch zu begründen und die Altersrente zu berechnen. Aufgrund europäischer Abkommen können diese Regeln auf Island, Norwegen, die Schweiz, Liechtenstein und das Vereinigte Königreich ausgeweitet werden.

Voraussetzungen

Die Rente eines Staates wird nur dann gezahlt, wenn die antragstellende Person die von der Gesetzgebung dieses Landes vorgesehenen Bewilligungsbedingungen erfüllt. Hat die versicherte Person in Rentenversicherungssysteme mit unterschiedlichem Renteneintrittsalter eingezahlt, stehen ihr die Leistungen der einzelnen Länder zu, sobald sie die entsprechenden gesetzlichen Bestimmungen zur Altersgrenze erfüllt.

Um Anspruch auf eine luxemburgische Rente zu haben, müssen nichtansässige Personen mindestens ein Jahr in Luxemburg gearbeitet haben. Wird der Zeitraum von einem Jahr nicht erreicht, werden die Beitragsmonate in Luxemburg von dem oder den Ländern berücksichtigt, die eine Leistung zahlen, begründen jedoch keinen Anspruch auf Leistungsbezug vonseiten einer luxemburgischen Rentenkasse.

Die Bewilligungsbedingungen hängen von der Art der Rente ab:

Fristen

Die Gewährung einer Rente erfolgt nicht automatisch. Es muss zwingend ein Antrag gestellt werden.

Wenn eine versicherte Person:

  • ausschließlich in Luxemburg gearbeitet hat, kann sie ihren Antrag zwischen 2 und 6 Monaten vor dem geplanten Beginn der Rente stellen;
  • in Luxemburg und in einem oder mehreren anderen Ländern gearbeitet hat, sollte sie ihren Antrag am besten mindestens 6 Monate vor dem geplanten Beginn der Rente stellen.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Antragstellung im Wohnsitzland

Nichtansässige müssen ihren Rentenantrag in dem Land stellen, in dem sie leben, es sei denn, sie haben dort niemals gearbeitet. Eine „Ansprechbehörde“, normalerweise ein Träger des Landes, in dem die nichtansässige Person lebt, kümmert sich um die Verwaltung des Antrags.

Ausnahme

Hat eine versicherte Person zuletzt in Luxemburg gearbeitet, steht es ihr frei, ihren Antrag entweder in Luxemburg oder in ihrem Wohnsitzland zu stellen.

Die Ansprechbehörde erleichtert den Informationsaustausch zwischen den vom Antrag betroffenen Ländern. Sobald alle betroffenen Länder der Ansprechbehörde ihre Entscheidung mitgeteilt haben, schickt diese der versicherten Person ein Schreiben mit einer Zusammenfassung der getroffenen Entscheidungen.
Die versicherte Person muss ihrem Antrag die erforderlichen Nachweise beifügen: Studienbescheinigung oder Diplom, Aufstellung des Verlaufs im Ausland usw.

Bearbeitungsfrist des Antrags

Die Bearbeitungsfrist eines Rentenantrags hängt von der Verfügbarkeit und der Zuverlässigkeit der Daten ab. Sie kann betragen zwischen:

  • einigen Wochen; und
  • mehreren Monaten, wenn das Erheben von Informationen Nachforschungen im Ausland erfordert.

Zahlung der Rente

Jeder EU-Mitgliedstaat, in dem die Person mindestens ein Jahr versichert war, zahlt eine Altersrente, sobald die von diesem Land festgesetzte Altersgrenze erreicht ist.

Hat eine versicherte Person beispielsweise in 3 Ländern gearbeitet, erhält sie 3 verschiedene Altersrenten. Es muss jedoch in Betracht gezogen werden, dass der Beginn dieser Renten entsprechend den verschiedenen nationalen Vorschriften von Land zu Land ein anderer sein kann. In diesen Fällen spricht man von einem „gemischten“ Versicherungsverlauf.

Ein nichtansässiger Rentenempfänger, der eine luxemburgische Rente bezieht, muss diese Rente in seinem Wohnsitzland versteuern.

Rentenberechnung

Jeder EU-Mitgliedstaat muss die Versicherungszeiten aus den anderen Ländern berücksichtigen, um den Rentenanspruch und die Höhe der geschuldeten Rente zu ermitteln.

Durch diese Zusammenrechnung von Versicherungszeiten wird gewährleistet, dass die Zeiten der Versicherung oder Berufstätigkeit in einem Mitgliedstaat berücksichtigt werden, um Leistungsansprüche in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat zu begründen (sollte dies notwendig sein).

Die Beschäftigung im öffentlichen Sektor wird ebenfalls angerechnet. Bestimmte nationale Vorschriften, wie etwa das Renteneintrittsalter, bleiben jedoch bestehen.

Bei einem gemischten Versicherungsverlauf in mindestens 2 Staaten erhält die antragstellende Person von jedem Land, in dem sie versichert war, eine Teilrente. Die Höhe jeder Rente ist anteilig:

  • zur Anzahl der geleisteten Versicherungsjahre; und
  • zum jeweiligen Betrag der gezahlten Beiträge; und
  • zu den Berechnungsregeln des jeweiligen Landes.

Sonderfall bei Berufszeiten außerhalb der Europäischen Union: Hat die versicherte Person in einem oder mehreren Ländern gearbeitet, die ein Sozialversicherungsabkommen mit Luxemburg geschlossen haben, erfolgt die Berechnung der Rente entsprechend dem jeweiligen Abkommen. Das Gleiche gilt, wenn die versicherte Person in der Europäischen Union und in einem oder mehreren Ländern mit einem Abkommen gearbeitet hat.

Jeder Staat, in dem der nichtansässige Arbeitnehmer versichert war, nimmt die folgende Rechnung vor:

  • nationale Rente: Sie wird auf der Grundlage der nationalen Rechtsvorschriften berechnet, wobei nur die Berufszeiten in dem Land berücksichtigt werden, wenn die Mindestmitgliedschaft überschritten wird;
  • theoretischer Betrag: Der zuständige Versicherungsträger berechnet den theoretischen Rentenbetrag, auf den die versicherte Person Anspruch hätte, wenn sie alle Versicherungszeiten (einschließlich der Zeiten im Ausland) nach den nationalen Rechtsvorschriften zurückgelegt hätte;
  • proportionale Rente: Auf der Grundlage des theoretischen Betrages wird der tatsächliche Betrag anteilmäßig nach der Dauer der tatsächlich nach den nationalen Rechtsvorschriften zurückgelegten Versicherungszeiten festgesetzt.

Die zuständige Rentenkasse zahlt dann die höchste der beiden Renten aus (im Allgemeinen die proportionale Rente).

Ihre Meinung interessiert uns

Wie würden Sie den Inhalt dieser Seite bewerten?

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am