Being redeployed internally by an employer due to incapacity to perform a job

Internal professional redeployment applies to workers who are incapable of performing their previous job due to health reasons, disability or bodily wear and tear but who are are not eligible for the disability scheme. The purpose of redeployment is to ease the worker's professional reintegration within the company after a period of incapacity for work. Employees may be redeployed to another position or another work arrangement suited to their residual capacity.

Redeployment is granted by the joint committee, which includes the insured person's representatives at work, the employers, the National Employment Agency (Agence pour le développement de l'emploi – ADEM) and the National Health Directorate.

Who is concerned

Internal professional redeployment may be taken by employees who are still covered by their employment contract but who:

  • are unable to continue work in their last position following a prolonged illness, disability or bodily wear and tear but have not been granted disability status by the Social Security Medical Board (Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale – CMSS). Workers who have been employed in a position for less than 3 years must, in order to benefit from professional redeployment, hold a certificate of capacity for this position, which must have been issued by the occupational health practitioner when the worker was hired for said position; or
  • be employed in a hazardous job and, without being considered disabled, be declared unfit for the position by the occupational health practitioner, on condition that they have at least 10 years' length of service with their employer.

Cross-border workers are treated in the same way as resident workers in the context of a professional redeployment measure.

The internal redeployment obligation depends on the size of the company.

How to proceed

Redeployment procedure

After the employee has suffered 6 weeks of incapacity for work, the CMSS assesses the employee's condition in order to direct them to the most appropriate support system.

If the employee in established to be incapable to operate in their former position, the CMSS, in agreement with the insured worker, refers the case to the joint committee and the occupational health practitioner and informs the employer thereof.

In the case of employees who work in hazardous jobs and who are declared unfit for their position by the occupational health practitioner, the latter refers the case to the joint committee. When an employer has fewer than 25 workers, the occupational health practitioner must nonetheless obtain the prior consent of both the worker and the employer.

Following the referral of the case to the joint committee, the occupational health practitioner summons the worker to a medical examination.

There are three possible scenarios:

  • the occupational health practitioner finds an incapacity for work for the last position. The case is referred to the joint committee, which decides on internal or external redeployment;
  • the occupational health practitioner finds a capacity for work for the last position and returns the case to the joint committee, which then decides to refuse professional redeployment. This decision puts an end to the sickness benefits or to the financial accident insurance allowance beginning on the date when the worker was summoned to the medical examination by the occupational health practitioner.
  • or the worker does not report for themedical examination by the occupational health practitioner within the deadline and without valid reason. The occupational health practitioner informs the joint committee and the CMSS of that absence. The joint committee subsequently decides to refuse professional redeployment. This decision puts an end to the sickness benefits or to the financial accident insurance allowance beginning on the date when the worker was summoned to the medical examination by the occupational health practitioner.

Within the framework of internal redeployment, the worker's capacity to fill the new work position must be duly established by the competent occupational health practitioner. In order to do so, the employer must send the following documents to the occupational health practitioner:

  • the employer's application stating the worker's tasks and/or adjustments to the working conditions;
  • a copy of the decision by the joint committee.

the occupational health practitioner will then decide whether a medical check is required to draw up the medical fitness certificate. The certificate attests that the employer has satisfied his obligations with respect to the redeployment.

The occupational health practitioner issues an opinion on:

  • the worker's residual work capacity;
  • a possible reduction of working hours or a decrease in the expected work output;
  • a possible adjustment or change of the workplace;
  • the temporary or permanent character of the incapacity for work;
  • the frequency of reassessments of the worker's medical condition.

The joint committee can prescribe rehabilitation or retraining measures. Workers must comply with these measures or risk losing their status by decision of the joint committee.

Decisions handed down by the Joint Committee can be appealed before the Council of Arbitration of Social Security (Conseil arbitral de la sécurité sociale) within 40 days of the notification of the decision.

Characteristics of internal redeployment

Internal redeployment consists of reintegration within the company, possibly to another position or another work arrangement suited to the worker's residual work capacity. The capacity for this new position must be ascertained by the competent occupational health practitioner.

On the recommendation of the competent occupational health practitioner, internal professional redeployment may include a reduction in working hours of no more than half the working time set in the employment contract in force before the initial decision to redeploy the worker. Nonetheless, the joint committee may, upon reasoned request by the employee or employer, decide to grant a reduction in working hours by up to 75 % of the initial working time.

Protection against dismissal

Except in the case of serious misconduct, workers benefit from special protection against dismissal from when the case is referred to the joint committee until the end of the twelfth month after the employer is notified of the decision mandating internal professional redeployment.

Thus in the event of dismissal during this period, the salaried worker has 15 days to ask the labour tribunal to nullify the dismissal and order their reintegration or retention.

After the 12-month deadline, dismissal with notice becomes possible again.

The 12-month protection does not apply in case of dismissal for serious misconduct resulting from the worker's actions, or if the fixed-term employment contract expires.

Also, the protection does not apply in the case of automatic termination of the employment contract.

Salary reduction following internal redeployment

Should the internal redeployment result in a salary reduction, workers are entitled to a compensatory benefit, which represents the difference between the previous and the new remuneration.

The former salary is calculated on the basis of the average monthly income subject to pension insurance contributions which was received by the employee during the 12 calendar months immediately preceding the redeployment decision. If the employment contract has been in effect for less than 12 months, the former salary is calculated by taking the average of the base amount subject to contributions over the completed calendar months and multiplying it by 12.

The compensatory benefit is subject to social security and tax contributions.

It ends when the right to the early retirement allowance, the disability pension, the early old-age pension and the old-age pension come into force.

Periodic medical reassessment by the occupational health practitioner

Workers on internal professional deployment may be reassessed by the competent occupational health practitioner:

  • either based on the frequency indicated on the recommendation following the referral of the case (if, during a first examination, the health practitioner found that the restrictions were temporary and set a date for a reassessment, within 2 months);
  • or at the request of the chairman of the joint committee.

If an employee has returned to work and a reduction of working hours or new adjustment of the workstation is needed, the occupational health practitioner refers the case to the joint committee for a decision on these adjustments.

When the occupational health practitioner ascertains that the reduction of working hours is no longer medically justified, either in part or in full, the case is referred to the joint committee, which will determine the working time. This decision takes effect after a 6-month notice period following its notification.

If the occupational health practitioner finds that the worker has recovered the capacity for work needed to perform tasks similar to those corresponding to their last position before the decision to internally redeploy them, the case is referred to the joint committee, which decides to revokes the status and, if applicable, to stop paying the compensatory benefit. This decision takes effect after a 6-month notice period following its notification.

Workers who fail to present themselves for the medical reassessment risk losing the status of a worker on professional redeployment and the related cash benefits by decision of the joint committee. Such a decision takes effect on the date on which it is notified.

Impossibility of internal redeployment

When internal redeployment is impossible, the joint committee mandates external redeployment and the employee is automatically registered as a jobseeker with ADEM's Department for Workers with Reduced Working Capacity. The employee is eligible for full unemployment benefits for an external redeployment.

Denial of internal redeployment

If an employer refuses to offer internal professional redeployment and this refusal is duly noted by the joint committee, employees may request that the joint committee decree external professional redeployment.

End of the fixed-term employment contract

Workers on internal professional redeployment who lose their job because of the cessation of their employer's activity or following a collective redundancy measure are entitled to refer their case to the joint committee within 20 days of the end of their employment contract in order to benefit from external professional redeployment.

In case of resignation, they lose their status as a person on professional redeployment.

End of the fixed-term employment contract

The beginning of the internal redeployment procedure does not stand in the way of the expiry of the fixed-term employment contract.

Forms / Online services

Demande d'octroi de l'indemnité compensatoire

Les informations qui vous concernent recueillies sur ce formulaire font l’objet d’un traitement par l’administration concernée afin de mener à bien votre demande.

Ces informations sont conservées pour la durée nécessaire par l’administration à la réalisation de la finalité du traitement

Les destinataires de vos données sont les administrations compétentes dans le cadre du traitement de votre demande. Veuillez-vous adresser à l’administration concernée par votre demande pour connaître les destinataires des données figurant sur ce formulaire. Conformément au règlement (UE) 2016/679 relatif à la protection des personnes physiques à l'égard du traitement des données à caractère personnel et à la libre circulation de ces données, vous bénéficiez d’un droit d’accès, de rectification et le cas échéant d’effacement des informations vous concernant. Vous disposez également du droit de retirer votre consentement à tout moment.

En outre et excepté le cas où le traitement de vos données présente un caractère obligatoire, vous pouvez, pour des motifs légitimes, vous y opposer.

Si vous souhaitez exercer ces droits et/ou obtenir communication de vos informations, veuillez-vous adresser à l’administration concernée suivant les coordonnées indiquées dans le formulaire. Vous avez également la possibilité d’introduire une réclamation auprès de la Commission nationale pour la protection des données ayant son siège à 1 Avenue du Rock'n'Roll, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette.

En poursuivant votre démarche, vous acceptez que vos données personnelles soient traitées dans le cadre de votre demande.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Double click to activate the map
Double click to activate the map
Last update

Infolge einer Unfähigkeit, seine letzte Beschäftigung auszuüben, intern bei seinem Arbeitgeber wiedereingegliedert werden

Die berufliche Wiedereingliederung richtet sich an Arbeitnehmer, die aus gesundheitlichen Gründen, wegen einer Behinderung oder aufgrund von Verschleiß unfähig sind, ihre letzte Beschäftigung auszuüben, ohne jedoch eine Invalidenrente zu erhalten. Ziel der Wiedereingliederung ist die Vereinfachung der beruflichen Wiedereingliederung des Arbeitnehmers innerhalb des Unternehmens nach einer Zeit der Arbeitsunfähigkeit. Der Arbeitnehmer kann entsprechend seinen verbleibenden Fähigkeiten einem anderen Arbeitsplatz oder einer anderen Arbeitsregelung zugewiesen werden.

Die Wiedereingliederung wird von der Gemischten Kommission (Commission mixte) bewilligt, die sich unter anderem aus Vertretern der Versicherten, der Arbeitgeber, der Arbeitsagentur (Agence pour le développement de l'emploi) und der Gesundheitsbehörde (Direction de la santé) zusammensetzt.

Zielgruppe

Im Rahmen eines Arbeitsvertrags beschäftigte Arbeitnehmer können in den Genuss einer internen beruflichen Wiedereingliederung gelangen, sofern sie:

  • infolge einer Langzeiterkrankung, aufgrund von Gebrechen oder wegen Verschleißerscheinungen unfähig sind, ihre letzte Beschäftigung auszuüben, und vom Kontrollärztlichen Dienst der Sozialversicherung (Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale - CMSS) nicht als erwerbsunfähig eingestuft werden. Ein Arbeitnehmer, der seine letzte Beschäftigung seit weniger als 3 Jahren ausübt, muss jedoch – um in den Genuss einer internen beruflichen Wiedereingliederung zu kommen – im Besitz einer Eignungsbescheinigung für diese Beschäftigung sein, die vom zuständigen Arbeitsarzt bei seiner Einstellung für diese letzte Beschäftigung ausgestellt wurde;
  • oder eine risikobehaftete Beschäftigung ausüben und – ohne als erwerbsunfähig zu gelten – vom zuständigen Arbeitsarzt für ihre Beschäftigung als ungeeignet erklärt werden, vorausgesetzt jedoch, sie weisen eine Betriebszugehörigkeit von mindestens 10 Jahren bei ihrem Arbeitgeber nach.

Im Rahmen des Verfahrens der beruflichen Wiedereingliederung sind Grenzgänger gebietsansässigen Arbeitnehmern gleichgestellt.

Die Pflicht zur internen Wiedereingliederung hängt von der Größe des Unternehmens ab.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Wiedereingliederungsverfahren

Nach 6-wöchiger Arbeitsunfähigkeit des Arbeitnehmers beurteilt der Kontrollärztliche Dienst der Sozialversicherung die Situation des Betroffenen, um die für ihn am besten geeignete Regelung zu finden.

Wird die Unfähigkeit zur Ausübung der letzten Beschäftigung festgestellt, ruft der CMSS mit Einwilligung des Arbeitnehmers die Gemischte Kommission und den zuständigen Arbeitsarzt an und informiert den Arbeitgeber darüber.

Was den Arbeitnehmer anbelangt, der eine risikobehaftete Beschäftigung ausübt und vom zuständigen Arbeitsarzt für seine Beschäftigung als ungeeignet erklärt wird, ruft Letzterer die Gemischte Kommission an. Beschäftigt der betreffende Arbeitgeber weniger als 25 Mitarbeiter, muss er jedoch die vorherige Einwilligung des Arbeitnehmers und des Arbeitgebers einholen.

Nach der Anrufung der Gemischten Kommission bestellt der Arbeitsarzt den Betroffenen zu einer Untersuchung ein.

Anschließend gibt es drei verschiedene Möglichkeiten:

  • Der zuständige Arbeitsarzt stellt die Unfähigkeit zur Ausübung der letzten Beschäftigung fest. Die Akte wird an die Gemischte Kommission weitergeleitet, die über eine interne oder externe Wiedereingliederung entscheidet.
  • Der Arbeitsarzt stellt die Fähigkeit zur Ausübung der letzten Beschäftigung fest und verweist die Akte an die Gemischte Kommission zurück, die die berufliche Wiedereingliederung ablehnt. Mit dieser Entscheidung endet der Anspruch auf Krankengeld bzw. der Anspruch auf eine Vollrente der Unfallversicherung, und zwar mit Wirkung ab dem Tag der Einbestellung zum Arbeitsarzt.
  • Der Betroffene versäumt ohne triftigen Grund die ärztliche Untersuchung durch den Arbeitsarzt innerhalb der vorgesehenen Frist. Der Arbeitsarzt informiert die Gemischte Kommission und den CMSS über diese Weigerung. Die Gemischte Kommission lehnt die berufliche Wiedereingliederung ab. Mit dieser Entscheidung endet der Anspruch auf Krankengeld bzw. der Anspruch auf eine Vollrente der Unfallversicherung, und zwar mit Wirkung ab dem Tag der Einbestellung zum Arbeitsarzt.

Im Rahmen der internen Wiedereingliederung muss die Eignung des Arbeitnehmers für den neuen Arbeitsplatz vom zuständigen Arbeitsarzt festgestellt werden. Der Arbeitgeber muss hierzu dem Arbeitsarzt Folgendes zukommen lassen:

  • einen Arbeitgeberantrag mit den Angaben bezüglich der Gestaltung der Arbeitsbedingungen und/oder der dem Arbeitnehmer zugewiesenen Aufgaben;
  • eine Kopie des Beschlusses der Gemischten Kommission.

Der Arbeitsarzt entscheidet über die Notwendigkeit einer medizinischen Untersuchung, um die ärztliche Eignungsbescheinigung auszustellen. Diese Bescheinigung belegt, dass der Arbeitgeber seiner Pflicht der beruflichen Wiedereingliederung nachgekommen ist.

In seiner Empfehlung äußert sich der Arbeitsarzt:

  • zu den verbleibenden Fähigkeiten des Arbeitnehmers;
  • zu einer möglichen Arbeitszeitverminderung oder Leistungsminderung;
  • zu einer möglichen Anpassung der Stelle an die Leistungsfähigkeit des Arbeitnehmers;
  • zum vorübergehenden oder endgültigen Charakter der Arbeitsunfähigkeit;
  • zu den zeitlichen Abständen, in denen sich der Arbeitnehmer zur Neubeurteilung vorstellen muss.

Die Gemischte Kommission kann Rehabilitierungs- oder Umschulungsmaßnahmen anordnen. Der Betroffene muss an diesen Maßnahmen teilnehmen, da die Gemischte Kommission ihm ansonsten seinen Status aberkennen kann.

Gegen Entscheidungen der Gemischten Kommission können innerhalb von 40 Tagen nach der Mitteilung vor dem Schiedsgericht der Sozialversicherung (Conseil arbitral de la sécurité sociale) Rechtsmittel eingelegt werden.

Merkmale der internen Wiedereingliederung

Die interne Wiedereingliederung besteht aus einer Zuweisung des Arbeitnehmers innerhalb des Unternehmens zu einem anderen Arbeitsplatz oder einer anderen Arbeitsregelung, die an seine verbleibenden Fähigkeiten angepasst sind. Die Eignung für diesen neuen Arbeitsplatz muss vom zuständigen Arbeitsarzt festgestellt werden.

Auf Empfehlung des zuständigen Arbeitsarztes kann die interne berufliche Wiedereingliederung eine Verringerung der Arbeitszeit umfassen, die nicht mehr als die Hälfte der Arbeitszeit betragen kann, die vor der ersten Entscheidung über die berufliche Wiedereingliederung im Arbeitsvertrag des Versicherten vorgesehen war. Die Gemischte Kommission kann jedoch auf begründeten Antrag des Arbeitnehmers oder des Arbeitgebers die Bewilligung einer Arbeitszeitverringerung bis zu 75 % der ursprünglichen Arbeitszeit beschließen.

Kündigungsschutz

Der Arbeitnehmer genießt – ausgenommen bei Kündigung wegen schwerwiegender Verfehlung – ab Anrufung der Gemischten Kommission einen speziellen Kündigungsschutz. Dieser endet nach Ablauf des 12. Monats, der auf die Mitteilung der Entscheidung zur vorgeschriebenen internen beruflichen Wiedereingliederung an den Arbeitgeber folgt.

Im Falle einer Kündigung während des besagten Zeitraums hat der Arbeitnehmer 15 Tage Zeit, um beim Arbeitsgericht die Nichtigerklärung der Kündigung und die Anordnung zur Wiedereingliederung oder zur Aufrechterhaltung seines Beschäftigungsverhältnisses zu beantragen.

Nach Ablauf dieser 12-monatigen Frist ist eine ordentliche Kündigung möglich.

Der Kündigungsschutz von 12 Monaten gilt nicht im Falle einer Kündigung wegen schwerwiegender Verfehlung seitens des Arbeitnehmers oder bei Ablauf eines befristeten Arbeitsvertrags.

Der Schutz gilt auch nicht im Falle einer automatischen Auflösung des Arbeitsvertrags.

Lohnkürzung infolge der internen Wiedereingliederung

Sofern die interne Wiedereingliederung eine Lohnkürzung mit sich bringt, hat der Arbeitnehmer Anspruch auf eine Ausgleichsentschädigung in Höhe der Differenz zwischen seiner alten und seiner neuen Vergütung.

Der alte Lohn wird auf der Grundlage des Durchschnittseinkommens berechnet, das der Arbeitnehmer in den 12 Kalendermonaten vor der Wiedereingliederungsentscheidung bezog. Sollte dieser Arbeitsvertrag seit weniger als 12 Monaten in Kraft sein, wird der alte Lohn berechnet, indem die durchschnittliche Beitragsbemessungsgrenze für die vollen Kalendermonate mit 12 multipliziert wird.

Die Ausgleichsentschädigung ist sozialbeitrags- und steuerpflichtig.

Sie wird eingestellt, wenn die Bedingungen für den Anspruch auf Vorruhestand, Erwerbsminderungsrente, vorgezogene Altersrente oder Altersrente erfüllt sind.

Periodische Neubeurteilung durch den Arbeitsarzt

Ein Arbeitnehmer in interner beruflicher Wiedereingliederung kann vom zuständigen Arbeitsarzt neu beurteilt werden:

  • entweder entsprechend den in der Empfehlung nach der Anrufung angegebenen zeitlichen Abständen (wenn der Arzt bei der ersten Untersuchung davon ausgegangen war, dass die Einschränkungen vorübergehend sind, und einen Zeitpunkt angegeben hatte, zu dem er eine Neubeurteilung innerhalb von höchstens 2 Jahren vornehmen würde);
  • oder auf Antrag des Vorstands der Gemischten Kommission.

Falls der Arbeitnehmer eine neue Arbeit aufgenommen hat und eine Verminderung der Arbeitszeit oder eine Anpassung des Arbeitsplatzes erforderlich wird, ruft der Arbeitsarzt die Gemischte Kommission an, damit diese eine Entscheidung über die Anpassungen trifft.

Stellt der Arbeitsarzt fest, dass die Verminderung der Arbeitszeit medizinisch nur noch teilweise oder in ihrer Gesamtheit nicht mehr begründet ist, ruft er die Gemischte Kommission an, die über die Arbeitszeit befindet. Diese Entscheidung tritt erst nach 6 Monaten nach ihrer Mitteilung in Kraft.

Stellt der Arbeitsarzt fest, dass der Arbeitnehmer die erforderlichen Fähigkeiten zur Ausübung von mit seiner letzten Beschäftigung vergleichbaren Tätigkeiten wiedererlangt hat, bevor die Entscheidung über die interne berufliche Wiedereingliederung getroffen wird, ruft er die Gemischte Kommission an, die über den Verlust des Sonderstatus und gegebenenfalls die Einstellung der Ausgleichsentschädigung entscheidet. Diese Entscheidung tritt erst nach 6 Monaten nach ihrer Mitteilung in Kraft.

Ein Arbeitnehmer, der sich der ärztlichen Neubeurteilung entzieht, muss damit rechnen, dass die Gemischte Kommission ihm den Status einer Person in beruflicher Wiedereingliederung entzieht und die Sperrung der damit verbundenen Geldleistungen verfügt, die mit dem Zeitpunkt der Mitteilung in Kraft tritt.

Unmöglichkeit der internen Wiedereingliederung

Ist eine interne Wiedereingliederung nicht möglich, beschließt die Gemischte Kommission eine externe Wiedereingliederung und der Arbeitnehmer wird von Amts wegen bei der Abteilung für Arbeitnehmer mit eingeschränkter Leistungsfähigkeit der ADEM arbeitsuchend gemeldet. Letzterer gelangt bis zur externen Wiedereingliederung in den Genuss des vollen Arbeitslosengeldes.

Ablehnung einer internen Wiedereingliederung

Lehnt der Arbeitgeber die von der Gemischten Kommission ordnungsgemäß festgestellte interne berufliche Wiedereingliederung ab, kann der Arbeitnehmer von der Gemischten Kommission verlangen, eine Entscheidung zur externen beruflichen Wiedereingliederung zu treffen.

Ende des unbefristeten Arbeitsvertrags

Ein Arbeitnehmer in interner beruflicher Wiedereingliederung, der seinen Arbeitsplatz aufgrund der Einstellung der Geschäftstätigkeit seines Arbeitgebers oder einer Massenentlassung verliert, hat das Recht, innerhalb von 20 Tagen ab dem Ende des Arbeitsvertrags die Gemischte Kommission zwecks externer beruflicher Wiedereingliederung anzurufen.

Kündigt er sein Arbeitsverhältnis, verliert er seinen Status als Person in beruflicher Wiedereingliederung.

Ende des befristeten Arbeitsvertrags

Die Einleitung des Verfahrens zur internen Wiedereingliederung verhindert nicht das Ablaufen eines befristeten Arbeitsvertrags.

Formulare/Online-Dienste

Demande d'octroi de l'indemnité compensatoire

Les informations qui vous concernent recueillies sur ce formulaire font l’objet d’un traitement par l’administration concernée afin de mener à bien votre demande.

Ces informations sont conservées pour la durée nécessaire par l’administration à la réalisation de la finalité du traitement

Les destinataires de vos données sont les administrations compétentes dans le cadre du traitement de votre demande. Veuillez-vous adresser à l’administration concernée par votre demande pour connaître les destinataires des données figurant sur ce formulaire. Conformément au règlement (UE) 2016/679 relatif à la protection des personnes physiques à l'égard du traitement des données à caractère personnel et à la libre circulation de ces données, vous bénéficiez d’un droit d’accès, de rectification et le cas échéant d’effacement des informations vous concernant. Vous disposez également du droit de retirer votre consentement à tout moment.

En outre et excepté le cas où le traitement de vos données présente un caractère obligatoire, vous pouvez, pour des motifs légitimes, vous y opposer.

Si vous souhaitez exercer ces droits et/ou obtenir communication de vos informations, veuillez-vous adresser à l’administration concernée suivant les coordonnées indiquées dans le formulaire. Vous avez également la possibilité d’introduire une réclamation auprès de la Commission nationale pour la protection des données ayant son siège à 1 Avenue du Rock'n'Roll, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette.

En poursuivant votre démarche, vous acceptez que vos données personnelles soient traitées dans le cadre de votre demande.

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am