Studying abroad with Erasmus+ as part of an undergraduate degree at the University of Luxembourg

The University of Luxembourg has embraced the principle of international mobility for students, which calls for a mandatory period of studies at a university or other institution of higher learning abroad. International mobility gives students an opportunity for genuine academic and personal enrichment, allowing them to experience a different university culture.

The University of Luxembourg offers its students a range of options for study abroad:

Among the university’s mobility offerings, the Erasmus+ exchange programme allows students at the undergraduate level to complete a portion of their studies (coursework or internships) in another European country in order to further their education and/or gain professional experience.

Who is concerned

All students enrolled in a bachelor’s degree programme at the University of Luxembourg are required to spend one semester abroad at a university or other institution of higher learning (usually during their third, fourth or fifth semesters).

Students enrolled in other degree programmes may also spend one semester abroad at a university or other institution of higher learning, although they are not under any obligation to do so, which is the case for bachelor’s students.

Waivers / exemptions from the study-abroad requirement

A waiver is granted by the university dean upon a recommendation from a student’s academic advisor if the student:

  • suffers from an illness requiring a specific treatment and/or has a permanent or temporary disability that impairs mobility;
  • has family obligations making it impossible to leave the family residence for an extended period;
  • is from a country that is not a member of the European Economic Area (EEA), and has earned a secondary school leaving diploma (issued in a non-EEA country);
  • can show proof of employment involving at least 20 hours of work per week for the period in question.

An exemption is granted to any student who has:

  • earned a degree after at least 4 semesters of university study abroad; or
  • earned at least 25 ECTS credits at a foreign university (nearly equivalent to one semester of studies).

Waivers and exemptions are not automatic. Requests must be filed as early as possible with the secretary’s office at the academic department of the university where the student is enrolled.

Prerequisites

Erasmus+ is a European programme that aims to encourage mobility for students in Europe.

The 33 Erasmus+ Programme Countries are:

  • the 28 EU Member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom;
  • 2 candidate countries currently engaged in the EU accession process: Turkey and Macedonia;
  • the 3 EEA EFTA States: Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.
A temporary solution has been put in place for Switzerland, an Erasmus+ Partner Country. Since academic year 2015/2016, the Erasmus+ mobility grants for students studying abroad in this country have been awarded by Switzerland and not by the European Commission. 

To sign up for the Erasmus+ exchange programme, students must be:

  • enrolled at the University of Luxembourg, which remains their home university throughout their stay abroad, and through which all administrative matters must be handled (in most cases, tuition fees are paid to the home university);
  • enrolled for university courses corresponding to at least 30 ECTS credits (equivalent to one semester of studies).

The ECTS (European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System) is a cumulative and transferable point system that facilitates and guarantees the academic recognition of periods of study abroad at institutions participating in the programme.

Deadlines

Through Erasmus+, students spend between 3 and 12 months abroad, at a university or another institution of higher learning, or as an intern in a company, in one of the countries participating in the programme.

How to proceed

Registration procedures for the Erasmus+ programme

Students enrolled at the University of Luxembourg who wish to study abroad under the Erasmus+ programme are required to follow the steps listed below:

Before leaving

  • obtain information on the existing Erasmus bilateral agreements between the University of Luxembourg and foreign institutions, either from the mobility unit of the university’s Studies and Student Affairs Department (Service des Etudes et de la Vie Etudiante - SEVE), or from the resource person for mobility questions within their academic department;
  • inform the university of their desired mobility option. Once the Erasmus selections have been made by the university’s academic advisors on the basis of academic criteria (number of credits obtained and grade point average), the SEVE’s mobility unit contacts the students selected to participate in the programme in order to explain the application procedures;
  • draw up "learning agreements" with their advisors. These agreements specify the courses to be taken at the chosen host institutions. When they return to their home university, the learning outcomes achieved abroad by the students will be validated. The agreements also serve to guarantee that the students receive recognition for the activities successfully completed abroad.

Deadlines:

  • for study abroad during the autumn semester: application procedures must be started in March;
  • for study abroad during the spring semester: application procedures must be started in October.
  • submit, to the SEVE’s mobility unit, the following documents required for the mobility application:
    • a photocopy of their identity card;
    • a photocopy of their student card;
    • a cover letter;
    • a curriculum vitae;
    • copies of transcripts for the previous semesters;
    • a copy of the "learning agreement" signed by the student and their academic advisor;
    • an identity photo;
    • the Erasmus+ grant application form—which may be downloaded from the University of Luxembourg website—properly filled in and signed by the student;
    • a language test (except for French- and German-speaking countries).

These documents together constitute the application file unless otherwise specified. Some foreign institutions require the use of their own forms: the SEVE’s mobility unit will inform the students concerned where this is the case.

  • after their application is accepted, students will also need to visit the office of the SEVE’s mobility unit to sign the mobility contract, which specifies their departure date and destination for study abroad;
  • enrol at both institutions. Applicants in Luxembourg will be officially considered as ‘outgoing’ students (departing from the University of Luxembourg). A University of Luxembourg student card will be issued to each outgoing student for the duration of the mobility period.

Upon arrival at the host institution

  • have the host institution sign their certificate of arrival proving that they have actually begun their mobility period;
  • send that certificate of presence to the SEVE’s mobility unit in order to receive the first instalment of the Erasmus+ grant, calculated on the basis of the estimated end date of their stay.

Upon returning to the home university

  • submit their certificate of completion to the SEVE’s mobility unit. This certificate attests to the duration of their stay and must be signed by the host institution. It can be downloaded from the University of Luxembourg website. Submitting this certificate is an essential step in order to receive payment of the balance of the Erasmus+ grant;
  • complete the final report form. This report is an evaluation of their experience while abroad. It is submitted by email at the end of their stay.
  • meet with their academic advisors to validate the learning outcomes of their mobility period.

Obtaining an Erasmus+ grant

To provide financial assistance for their stay abroad, students may apply for an Erasmus+ grant as a contribution to travel and installation costs. The grant may be combined with other forms of assistance, such as government scholarships.

Eligibility criteria

To obtain an Erasmus+ mobility grant, students must:

  • be enrolled full-time in courses leading to a qualification or a diploma delivered by an institution of higher learning recognised by competent national authorities as eligible for the Erasmus+ programme.

Erasmus+ mobility grants cannot normally be awarded:

  • for stays abroad shorter than 3 months (90 days) and under no circumstances for periods of less than 3 consecutive months spent abroad;
  • for stays abroad of more than one year. In the case of programmes for which the total length of the stay abroad is more than 1 year, the mobility grant only covers the first 12-month period;
  • to students completing their mobility requirement in their country of origin, if they are not temporary residents of Luxembourg.

Example: a student whose official residence is in Metz and who does not have an address in Luxembourg cannot receive funds from the Erasmus+ grant if the mobility requirement is being met in France. However, this student will still be considered an Erasmus student, with access to all the other related advantages.


Amount of the grant

The amount of the grant depends on the length of the mobility period and the country of destination rather than the income level of the student’s parents.


Furthermore, the amount of the grant may be reduced if the length of the mobility period turns out to be shorter than that estimated in the student’s application.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Im Rahmen des Studiums an der Universität Luxemburg am Erasmus+-Programm teilnehmen

Die Universität Luxemburg hat sich dem Grundsatz der internationalen Mobilität der Studierenden angeschlossen, der ein obligatorisches Studiensemester an einer Universität oder Hochschule im Ausland vorschreibt. Die internationale Mobilität der Studierenden stellt eine wahrhaftige akademische und persönliche Bereicherung für den Studierenden dar, welcher auf diese Weise ebenfalls in den Genuss einer anderen Universitätskultur gelangt.

Die Universität Luxemburg bietet ihren Studierenden diesbezüglich verschiedene Möglichkeiten:

Als eines der akademischen Mobilitätsprogramme ermöglicht das Erasmus-Austauschprogramm den Studierenden der Hochschulen, einen Teil ihres Studiums (Ausbildung oder Praktikum) in einem anderen europäischen Land zu absolvieren, um sich weiterzubilden und ihre Ausbildung zu vervollständigen.

Zielgruppe

Die an der Universität Luxemburg für einen Bachelor-Studiengang immatrikulierten Studierenden müssen (in der Regel im Laufe des 3., 4. oder 5. Semesters) ein Semester an einer Universität oder Hochschule im Ausland absolvieren.

Sofern sie es wünschen, können die in einem anderen Hochschulzyklus immatrikulierten Studierenden ebenfalls ein Auslandssemester absolvieren, sind im Gegensatz zu den Bachelor-Studierenden jedoch nicht dazu verpflichtet.

Befreiung vom Auslandssemester:

In folgenden Fällen kann der Dekan nach Stellungnahme des Studiendirektors eine Befreiung gewähren:

  • bei Studierenden mit einer Krankheit, die eine spezielle Behandlung erfordert und/oder bei Studierenden mit einer Behinderung, die ihre Mobilität deutlich einschränkt;
  • bei Studierenden mit familiären Verpflichtungen, die eine Abwesenheit aus der Familie über einen längeren Zeitraum nicht ermöglichen;
  • bei Studierenden aus einem Drittstaat außerhalb des Europäischen Wirtschaftsraums (EWR), die einen (in einem Nicht-Mitgliedstaat des EWR erworbenen) Sekundarabschluss vorweisen können;
  • bei Studierenden, die für den betreffenden Zeitraum einen Nachweis über eine Beschäftigung von mindestens 20 Stunden/Woche erbringen können.

Von der Mobilitätspflicht befreit sind alle Studierenden, die:

  • entweder nach mindestens 4 Universitätssemestern im Ausland ein Diplom erworben haben;
  • oder mindestens 25 ECTS (European Credit Transfer System-Punkte) an einer ausländischen Universität erworben haben (diese ECTS gelten für ein Semester).

Befreiungen/Freistellungen sind nicht automatisch. Sie müssen frühestmöglich beim jeweiligen Studierendensekretariat beantragt werden.

Voraussetzungen

Das Programm Erasmus+ ist ein europäisches Programm zur Förderung der Mobilität der Studierenden in Europa.

Bei den 32 Partnern des Programms handelt es sich um:

  • die 28 EU-Mitgliedstaaten: Deutschland, Österreich, Belgien, Bulgarien, Zypern, Kroatien, Dänemark, Spanien, Estland, Finnland, Frankreich, Griechenland, Ungarn, Irland, Italien, Lettland, Litauen, Luxemburg, Malta, Niederlande, Polen, Portugal, Rumänien, Tschechische Republik, Vereinigtes Königreich, Slowakei, Slowenien, Schweden;
  • die im Aufnahmeverfahren befindlichen Staaten: Türkei, Mazedonien;
  • die 3 EWR-Staaten: Island, Liechtenstein, Norwegen.
Sonderfall der Schweiz: es wurde eine Zwischenlösung gefunden. Die Stipendien 2015-2016 werden von der Schweiz vergeben und nicht von der Europäischen Kommission. 

Um sich für das Erasmus-Austauschprogramm anmelden zu können, müssen die Studierenden:

  • an der Universität Luxemburg immatrikuliert sein, welche ihre Heimatuniversität bleibt und an welcher sie ihre Rückmeldung vornehmen müssen (die Immatrikulationskosten sind in den meisten Fällen an die Heimatuniversität zu entrichten).
  • sich für Universitätskurse mit mindestens 30 ECTS-Credits (Arbeitsvolumen eines Studiensemesters) anmelden.

Das ECTS (European Credit Transfer System) ist ein europäisches System anrechenbarer Studienleistungen, welches die akademische Anerkennung von im Ausland geleisteten Studienzeiträumen zwischen den Partnereinrichtungen erleichtert und gewährleistet.

Fristen

Das Erasmus-Programm ermöglicht den Studierenden, einen Aufenthalt zwischen 3 und 12 Monaten an einer Universität, Hochschule oder in einem Unternehmen im Falle eines Praktikums, in einem am Erasmus-Programm teilnehmenden Land zu verbringen.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Anmeldemodalitäten für das Erasmus-Programm

Die an der Universität Luxemburg immatrikulierten Studierenden, die ein Auslandssemester (Erasmus + - Programm) absolvieren möchten, müssen folgendermaßen vorgehen:

Vor der Abreise:

  • sich entweder bei der Anlaufstelle für Auslandsstudien (Unité Mobilité) des Studierendensekretariats (Service des Etudes et de la Vie Etudiante - SEVE) oder bei der Ansprechperson in der jeweiligen Fakultät über die bilateralen Erasmus-Abkommen der Universität Luxemburg mit ausländischen Universitäten informieren;
  • ihre Wünsche in Sachen Mobilität darlegen. Sobald die Erasmus-Plätze vom Studiendirektor auf der Grundlage der akademischen Kriterien (Anzahl der erzielten Leistungspunkte und Durchschnitt) vergeben wurden, setzt sich das SEVE mit dem Studierenden in Verbindung, um ihm die weitere Vorgehensweise für die Bewerbung zu erklären;
  • gemeinsam mit dem Studiendirektor das „learning agreement” ausarbeiten, in dem der Plan der in der gewählten Einrichtung zu belegenden Kurse enthalten ist und der bei der Rückkehr bestätigt werden muss. Dieses Dokument garantiert dem Studierenden, dass der Auslandsaufenthalt anerkannt und berücksichtigt wird.

Einzuhaltende Fristen:

  • für den Auslandsaufenthalt im Wintersemester sind ab März die nötigen Schritte zu unternehmen;
  • für den Auslandsaufenthalt im Sommersemester sind ab Oktober die nötigen Schritte zu unternehmen.
  • die zur Erstellung der Bewerbungsmappe erforderlichen Unterlagen bei der Anlaufstelle für Auslandsstudien des SEVE einreichen:
    • eine Kopie des Personalausweises;
    • eine Kopie des Studierendenausweises;
    • ein Bewerbungsschreiben;
    • ein Lebenslauf;
    • Kopien der Notenübersichten der vorhergehenden Semester;
    • den vom Studierenden und dem Studiendirektor ausgearbeiteten und unterzeichneten Studienvertrag;
    • ein Passbild;
    • den vom Studierenden ordnungsgemäß ausgefüllten und unterzeichneten Stipendiumsantrag (kann auf der Internetseite der Universität Luxemburg heruntergeladen werden);
    • eine Bescheinigung über einen Sprachentest (mit Ausnahme der französisch- und deutschsprachigen Ländern).

Vorbehaltlich näherer Erläuterungen bilden diese Unterlagen die Bewerbungsmappe. Verschiedene Einrichtungen verwenden spezielle Formulare: die Anlaufstelle für Auslandsstudien des SEVE erteilt den interessierten Studierenden die entsprechenden Auskünfte.

  • nach Annahme der Bewerbung, ebenfalls in der Anlaufstelle für Auslandsstudien des SEVE vorstellig werden, um den Mobilitätsvertrag (in dem angegeben ist, wo und wann der Studierende sein Auslandssemester absolvieren wird) zu unterzeichnen;
  • sich in den 2 Einrichtungen immatrikulieren. In Luxemburg gilt er als Outgoing-Studierender (Weggang von der Universität Luxemburg). Für die Dauer des Auslandssemesters erhalten sie einen Studierendenausweis der Universität Luxemburg.

Ankunft in der Gasthochschule:

  • die Anwesenheitsbescheinigung, welche die tatsächliche Ankunft des Studierenden in der Gasthochschule bescheinigt, von Letzterer unterzeichnen lassen;
  • diese Bescheinigung der Anlaufstelle für Auslandsstudien des SEVE zukommen lassen, um die erste Zahlung des nach den geschätzten Aufenthaltsdaten berechneten Erasmus-Stipendiums zu veranlassen.

Rückkehr:

  • die von der Gasthochschule unterzeichnete Bescheinigung über die Beendigung des Aufenthalts (kann auf der Internetseite der Universität Luxemburg heruntergeladen werden), welche die Dauer des Aufenthalts des Studierenden bescheinigt, bei der Anlaufstelle für Auslandsstudien des SEVE einreichen. Diese Bescheinigung ist zwingend erforderlich für die Auszahlung des Restbetrags des Erasmus-Stipendiums;
  • den Bericht über die Beendigung des Aufenthalts ausfüllen. Bei diesem Bericht handelt es sich um eine Beurteilung des Studierenden seines Auslandsaufenthalts. Er wird am Ende des Aufenthalts per E-Mail übermittelt;
  • beim jeweiligen Studiendirektor vorstellig werden, um sich das Auslandssemester bestätigen zu lassen.

Ein Erasmus+-Stipendium erhalten

Zwecks Finanzierung ihres Auslandsaufenthalts haben Studierende die Möglichkeit, ein Erasmus+-Stipendium zu erhalten, was sie gegebenenfalls mit weiteren staatlichen Beihilfen erhalten können, um ihre Niederlassungskosten abzudecken.

Auswahlkriterien

Um ein Erasmus-Mobilitätsstipendium (Erasmus+) zu bekommen, müssen die Studierenden:

  • als Vollzeitstudierende in einem Studiengang immatrikuliert sein, der zu einer Qualifizierung oder einem Diplom führt, die/das von einer Hochschule ausgestellt wird, welche von den zuständigen nationalen Behörden zur Teilnahme am Erasmus+-Programm zugelassen ist.

In folgenden Fällen kann ein Erasmus+-Stipendium normalerweise nicht gewährt werden:

  • für Auslandsaufenthalte von weniger als einem Trimester (90 Tage), da die Stipendien keinesfalls für Zeiträume von weniger als 3 aufeinanderfolgenden Monaten gewährt werden;
  • für Auslandsaufenthalte von mehr als einem Jahr. Bei Programmen, in denen die Gesamtdauer des Auslandsaufenthalts mehr als 1 Jahr beträgt, deckt das Stipendium nur den 1. Zeitraum von 12 Monaten ab;
  • für Studierende, die ihren Auslandsaufenthalt in ihrem Herkunftsland absolvieren, wenn sie nicht vorübergehend in Luxemburg leben.

Beispiel: Ein Studierender mit offiziellem Wohnsitz in Metz, der keine Adresse in Luxemburg hat, erhält kein Geld im Rahmen eines Erasmus+-Stipendiums, wenn er seinen Auslandsaufenthalt in Frankreich absolviert. Er behält aber seinen Status als Erasmus-Studierender und alle anderen damit verbundenen Vorteile.


Höhe des Stipendiums

Die Höhe des Stipendiums hängt von der Dauer und dem Land des Auslandsaufenthalts und nicht vom Einkommen der Eltern ab.


Im Übrigen kann die Höhe des Stipendiums reduziert werden, wenn die Dauer des Auslandsaufenthalts kürzer ist als in der Bewerbung des Kandidaten vorgesehen.

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am