Applying for scholastic or educational support at the post-primary level

Update in progress

Scholastic assistance or educational support offered at the post-primary level aims to help students with varying needs and very different life circumstances. For this reason, scholastic assistance or educational support takes various forms and involves actions ranging from supervised study to therapeutic care for adolescent pupils.

Both general and technical secondary schools may organise scholastic assistance initiatives of several types:

  • help with homework;
  • structured learning activities and special classes for students performing poorly at school, with the aim of preventing school exclusion;
  • remedial classes following a failed exam;
  • therapeutic care for students with emotional or mental health difficulties.

In addition, ‘young adult classes’ are organised for students in technical secondary schools who are performing poorly.

Who is concerned

  • Tutoring sessions (help with homework) are available to all students with a need for support in one or more of the main subjects, or who are interested in receiving assistance to perform better in their classroom work.
  • Various structured activities as well as special classes are designed for secondary school students experiencing difficulties with learning or behavioural problems, and for this reason at risk of exclusion from school.
  • Remedial courses are provided for general secondary school students as well as technical secondary school students who have to re-sit one or more exams, or who are given extra work to do or exercises to repeat during the summer holidays, as well as students who simply want to revise the subjects of the previous year or fill gaps in their understanding.
  • "Young adult classes" are for youths under the age of 18 from either general or technical secondary schools, or who have recently arrived from abroad, who are performing poorly at school or need to find a different path for their education.
  • The Early Detection and Intervention Service (Service de détection et d'intervention précoce - SDIP) works with school-going adolescents and young adults who are suffering from psychological vulnerabilities (anxiety, depression, various dependencies, etc.).
  • Assistance is provided in the classroom by a multidisciplinary team of professionals (comprised of psychologists, psychomotor therapists, educational therapists, specialists in pedagogics, etc.) for students with specific educational needs.

How to proceed

Tutoring sessions / Help with homework

Tutoring sessions offer students the opportunity to ask questions about aspects of the curriculum they have difficulty understanding. Tutors are either teachers or interns specialising in the subject at hand.

These sessions are provided throughout the school year in a flexible manner and may take place either during or outside school hours.

Students register with the Psychosocial and Scholastic Assistance Department (Service psycho-social et d'accompagnement scolaires - SePAS) for each tutoring arrangement separately by filling in a form available from the school secretary’s office.

Activities and special classes aimed at preventing school exclusion

A secondary school can organise specific activities as well as special classes with the aim of preventing school exclusion. The types of activities and the design of special classes differ from school to school, depending on the needs of their students.

The activities offered may involve:

  • supervising and supporting students during class hours, either in their usual class or by way of specific instruction or forms of assistance;
  • working with students outside class hours, including during school holidays, notably by offering help to students at home with their school assignments and in preparing for their classes and their classwork;
  • monitoring student learning and advancement through personalised actions.

In addition, special classes with hours, content and pedagogical approaches tailored to student needs may be organised so as to:

  • group students at the same level academically who are all performing poorly at school;
  • bring together students temporarily excluded from their usual classes to address their behavioural or integration problems.

Remedial courses (CePAS)

Programme of remedial courses

Each year, the Psychosocial and Scholastic Assistance Centre (Centre psycho-social et d’accompagnement scolaires - CePAS) organises free remedial courses during the summer for general and technical secondary school students in Luxembourg City.

These courses are held about 2 weeks before the start of the school year and the date of the re-sit exams (in mid-September). They are offered each year in a different secondary school in Luxembourg City.

In mid-August, the students concerned at all secondary schools are notified by post or in the press of the venues and dates for the remedial courses as well as the subjects to be taught.

Registration procedure

The registration form is obtained from the secretary’s office in the student’s usual school and must be returned to the CePAS by post by the end of July (the precise deadline is shown on the registration form). Detailed information on the resit exams and the subjects to be revised must also be included with the form.

Targeted classes / "Young adult classes"

Specific features of "Young adult classes"

"Young adult classes" are held at the Ecole de Commerce et de Gestion (ECG). The aim of the classes is to provide students under the age of 18 who are performing poorly, or need to find a more productive path, with an opportunity to obtain their school-leaving diploma and become active members of society.

These are classes offered during the day and corresponding to the classes of 11e and 12 e of the technical curriculum for the administrative and sales/marketing division. Students may come from:

  • general secondary schools (students performing poorly or changing education pathways in classes of 4e, 3e, 2e and 1re);
  • technical secondary schools (students performing poorly or changing education pathways in classes of 11e, 12e and 13e);
  • foreign secondary schools.

Depending on their level, they may join the classes of 11e or 12e of technical secondary education. If necessary, students may take advantage of individual remedial lessons in subjects not previously studied (3 hours of tutoring per week).

Items to be included with the registration application

Students are admitted based on their applications. In addition to the properly completed registration form for either day classes or night classes, applicants must send the following documents to ECG by post:

  • copies of their report cards for the current school year;
  • their departure record from the former secondary school;
  • a copy of their ID card/passport;
  • an identity photo;
  • if applicable, a copy of the orientation assessment drawn up at the end of Year 9.

The registration deadline is the same as for all other technical secondary school classes, with the submission of the application by mid-July at the latest.

Conditional admission

Students are admitted provided they agree to adhere to a charter: they must sign an "educational agreement" in which they undertake to make every effort to succeed during the school year. After 3 months (and depending on the case, every quarter subsequently), the faculty jury which validated the admission can decide to terminate the agreement, due to poor results, for example.

Early Detection and Intervention Service (SDIP)

In the event of emotional or mental health difficulties, students are guided to the Early Detection and Intervention Service (Service de détection et d’intervention précoces - SDIP) by their schools, subject to the consent of the parents, or the student if no longer a minor. The consultation with the SDIP may also be requested directly by the parents or by the student themselves.

Over the course of the process of assessment and therapeutic care, the SDIP works closely with the Psychosocial and Scholastic Assistance Department (Service psycho-social et d'accompagnement scolaires - SePAS) of the secondary school attended by the student. The particulars of the support provided by the SDIP and, where applicable, the student’s reintegration in school, are determined in collaboration with the school’s administrative staff.

The SDIP assists the students concerned by offering individually designed therapeutic activities and by initiating psychological care, while allowing the students to continue their scholastic, professional and social activities.

Assistance in class for special-needs students

The student’s parents, or the secondary school, file a request for assistance by the multidisciplinary team with the Medical, Psychological and Pedagogical Commission (Commission médico-psycho-pédagogique nationale - CMPPN). Frequently, assistance has already been arranged since primary school. The continuation of this assistance must be confirmed by the CMPPN when the student advances from the primary to the post-primary level of education.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Double click to activate the map
Double click to activate the map
Double click to activate the map
Last update

Schulische oder pädagogische Unterstützung im Rahmen des Sekundarunterrichts beantragen

Wird derzeit aktualisiert

Die verschiedenen Formen der schulischen und pädagogischen Unterstützung im Sekundarunterricht sollen Schülern mit unterschiedlichen Bedürfnissen und in verschiedenen Lebenssituationen helfen. Demzufolge nimmt diese schulische oder pädagogische Unterstützung verschiedene Betreuungsformen an und bietet Dienste von Hausaufgabenhilfe bis hin zur therapeutischen Betreuung der Jugendlichen an.

Die Schulen des (klassischen und technischen) Sekundarunterrichts können auf verschiedenen Ebenen schulische Unterstützungsmaßnahmen organisieren:

  • Hausaufgabenhilfe;
  • Betreuungsaktivitäten und Sonderklassen für Schüler, die Gefahr laufen, nicht versetzt zu werden, und zwecks Vermeidung der schulischen Ausgrenzung;
  • Nachhilfeunterricht im Falle von nichtbestandenen Prüfungen;
  • therapeutische Betreuung bei psychischen/psychiatrischen Störungen.

Zudem ermöglicht die „Klasse für junge Erwachsene“ (classe jeunes adultes) die Aufnahme von Jugendlichen, die in einem Ausbildungszweig des technischen Sekundarunterrichts mit schulischem Misserfolg konfrontiert werden.

Zielgruppe

  • Die Nachhilfe (Hausaufgabenhilfe) richtet sich an alle Schüler mit Förderbedarf in einem oder mehreren Hauptfächern oder die sich bei der Vorbereitung ihrer Hausaufgaben helfen lassen möchten.
  • Verschiedene Betreuungsaktivitäten sowie bestimmte Sonderklassen richten sich an Schüler mit Lernschwierigkeiten oder Verhaltensauffälligkeiten, denen deswegen die schulische Ausgrenzung droht.
  • Der Nachholunterricht richtet sich an Schüler des allgemeinen und technischen Sekundarunterrichts, die mehrere Nachprüfungen ablegen oder eine Ferienarbeit bzw. Wiederholungsarbeit schreiben müssen, sowie an Schüler, die einfach nur den Lernstoff des vergangenen Jahres wiederholen oder einige Wissenslücken schließen möchten.
  • Die „Klasse für junge Erwachsene“ nimmt Jugendliche unter 18 Jahren aus dem allgemeinen oder technischen Sekundarunterricht oder aus dem Ausland auf, die mit schulischem Misserfolg oder einer Umorientierung konfrontiert sind.
  • Die Anlaufstelle für Früherkennung und frühzeitige Intervention (Service de détection et d’intervention précoce - SDIP) betreut psychisch labile Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene (mit Ängsten, Depressionen, verschiedenartigen Süchten usw.).
  • Ein multiprofessionelles Team (bestehend aus Psychologen, Psychomotoriktherapeuten, Erziehern, Pädagogen usw.) unterstützt Schüler mit besonderem Förderbedarf im Unterricht.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Nachhilfe/Hausaufgabenhilfe

Die Nachhilfestunden sind Einheiten, während denen die Schüler die Möglichkeit haben, ihre Fragen bezüglich der nicht verstandenen Teile des Unterrichts zu stellen. Der Unterricht wird von Lehrkräften oder Referendaren der besagten Fächer erteilt.

Diese Kurse können flexibel über das Schuljahr verteilt werden und während oder außerhalb der Schulzeiten stattfinden.

Die Schüler müssen sich für jeden Nachhilfekurs separat beim Dienst für schulpsychologische Beratung und Schulorientierung (Service psycho-social et d'accompagnement scolaires - SePAS) anhand eines im Schulsekretariat erhältlichen Formulars anmelden.

Aktivitäten und Sonderklassen zur Vermeidung der schulischen Ausgrenzung

Ein Gymnasium kann Sonderaktivitäten sowie Sonderklassen zur Vermeidung der schulischen Ausgrenzung organisieren. Die Organisation dieser Aktivitäten und Klassen ist von Gymnasium zu Gymnasium unterschiedlich und hängt von den festgestellten Bedürfnissen ab.

Die angebotenen Aktivitäten können beispielsweise die folgenden sein:

  • die Betreuung der Schüler während des Unterrichts, dies entweder in ihrer Regelklasse oder in speziellen Förderkursen;
  • außerschulische Betreuungsaktivitäten, auch während der Schulferien, mit Hausaufgabenhilfe und Vorbereitung auf den Unterricht und die Klassenarbeiten;
  • die Förderung des Lernprozesses und des schulischen Fortschritts der Schüler durch individualisierte Betreuung.

Ebenso können Sonderklassen mit angepassten Stundenplänen, Lehrplänen und pädagogischen Methoden organisiert werden, um:

  • Schüler mit dem gleichen Bildungsstand zusammenzuführen, die mit schulischem Misserfolg konfrontiert wurden;
  • vorübergehend aus ihrer Regelklasse ausgewiesene Schüler zusammenzuführen, um ihren Verhaltensauffälligkeiten und Integrationsschwierigkeiten abzuhelfen.

Nachholunterricht (CePAS)

Organisation der Nachholkurse

Die Zentralstelle für schulpsychologische Beratung und Schulorientierung (Centre psycho-social et d'accompagnement scolaires - CePAS) organisiert jedes Jahr im Sommer (kostenlose) Nachholkurse für die Schüler des allgemeinen und technischen Sekundarunterrichts der Stadt Luxemburg.

Die Kurse finden etwa 2 Wochen vor Schulbeginn und dem Termin für die Nachprüfungen (Mitte September) statt. Sie werden jedes Jahr in einem anderen Gymnasium der Stadt Luxemburg abgehalten.

Mitte August werden die betreffenden Schüler schriftlich/durch die Presse über die Orte und Termine der Nachholkurse sowie über die behandelten Fächer informiert.

Anmeldemodalitäten

Das entsprechende Anmeldeformular ist im Schulsekretariat der jeweiligen Regelschule der Schüler erhältlich und muss bis Ende Juli (das genaue Datum für die Einreichung ist dem Anmeldeformular zu entnehmen) per Post an die CePAS geschickt werden. Auf dem Anmeldeantrag sind ebenfalls der für die Nachprüfung zu wiederholende Lernstoff oder der Lernstoff des zu überarbeitenden Faches anzugeben.

Angepasste Klassen/„Klassen für junge Erwachsene“

Besonderheit der „Klassen für junge Erwachsene“

Ziel des in der Ecole de commerce et de gestion (ECG) angebotenen Projekts „Klassen für junge Erwachsene“ ist es, den unter 18-jährigen Schülern, die mit einem schulischen Misserfolg konfrontiert sind oder sich in einer Umschulung befinden, die Möglichkeit zu bieten, ihr Abschlusszeugnis zu erwerben sowie sich in Richtung Berufsleben umzuorientieren.

Es handelt sich dabei um Tagesunterricht, welcher der 11. und der 12. Klasse des beruflich-technischen Ausbildungszweigs, verwaltungstechnische und kaufmännische Fachrichtung, entspricht. Die Schüler können aus folgenden Ausbildungszweigen kommen:

  • dem technischen Sekundarunterricht (Nichtbestehen oder Umorientierung der 10. (4e), 11. (3e), 12. (2e) oder 13. (1e) Klasse);
  • dem allgemeinen Sekundarunterricht (Nichtbestehen oder Umorientierung der 11., 12 und 13. Klasse);
  • jeglichem Ausbildungszweig aus dem Ausland.

Je nach Bildungsstand werden sie in die 11. oder 12. Klasse des technischen Sekundarunterrichts (EST) aufgenommen. Gegebenenfalls erhalten die Schüler individuelle Nachhilfe in Fächern, die zuvor nicht auf ihrem Lehrplan standen (3 Stunden Nachhilfe pro Woche).

Bewerbungsmappe

Die Bewerber werden nach Überprüfung ihrer jeweiligen Akte zugelassen oder nicht. Zusätzlich zu dem ordnungsgemäß ausgefüllten Anmeldebogen für Tages- oder Abendunterricht müssen sie dem LTECG per Post folgende Unterlagen zukommen lassen:

  • Kopien der Jahreszeugnisse;
  • die Abmeldebescheinigung (fiche de départ) des ehemaligen Gymnasiums;
  • Kopie des Personalausweises oder des Reisepasses;
  • ein Passbild;
  • gegebenenfalls eine Kopie des am Ende der 9. Klasse ausgestellten Orientierungsbescheids.

Die Anmeldefristen sind die gleichen wie für die Regelklassen des technischen Sekundarunterrichts, wobei die Bewerbung spätestens Mitte Juli einzureichen ist.

Bedingte Zulassung

Die Schüler werden nur aufgenommen, wenn sie sich verpflichten, eine Charta einzuhalten: Sie müssen ein „pädagogisches Abkommen“ (Convention pédagogique) unterzeichnen, in welchem sie sich dazu verpflichten, die erforderlichen Bemühungen zu unternehmen, um die jeweilige Klasse zu bestehen. Nach 3 Monaten (und anschließend gegebenenfalls jedes Trimester) kann die Kommission der Lehrkräfte, welche der Aufnahme zugestimmt hatten, beschließen, dem Abkommen, z. B. infolge von schlechten Noten, ein Ende zu setzen.

Anlaufstelle für Früherkennung und frühzeitige Intervention (Service de détection et d’intervention précoce - SDIP)

Bei psychischen oder psychiatrischen Störungen werden die Schüler vorbehaltlich der Zustimmung der Eltern oder des volljährigen Schülers von der jeweiligen Schule an die SDIP verwiesen. Das Gespräch mit der SDIP kann auch direkt von den Eltern oder dem betroffenen Schüler selbst gesucht werden.

Während des gesamten Diagnose- und Therapieprozesses arbeitet die SDIP eng mit dem Dienst für schulpsychologische Beratung und Schulorientierung (Service psycho-social et d'accompagnement scolaires - SePAS) des jeweiligen Gymnasiums zusammen. Die Modalitäten der Betreuung durch die SDIP und gegebenenfalls die schulische Wiedereingliederung der Schüler werden in Absprache mit der Schulleitung festgelegt.

Die SDIP unterstützt die betroffenen Schüler, indem sie ihnen angepasste therapeutische Aktivitäten anbietet und eine psychologische Betreuung beginnt, und ihnen gleichzeitig ermöglicht, ihre schulischen, beruflichen und sozialen Aktivitäten fortzusetzen.

Unterstützung von Schülern mit besonderem Förderbedarf im Unterricht

Die Eltern oder die Schule stellen einen Antrag auf Unterstützung durch das multiprofessionelle Team an die nationale schulmedizinische Kommission (Commission médico-psycho-pédagogique nationale - CMPPN). Oft wird diese Betreuung bereits in der Grundschule gewährleistet, wobei die Fortsetzung der Unterstützung beim Übergang in den weiterführenden Unterricht jedoch von der CMPPN bestätigt werden muss.

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am