Giving evidence in legal proceedings

Last update 19.06.2018

Anyone who is not a party to the proceedings may be asked to give evidence, provided that they are competent to do so.

Special witnesses

Minors

In principle, minors can give evidence. It is up to the judge to assess, on a case by case basis, whether the minor has sufficient understanding to give evidence in legal proceedings in light, in particular, of the age and maturity of the child, their level of understanding, the circumstances of the case and the nature of the dispute.

For example: an adolescent who was over eleven years of age at the time of a road traffic accident, and over fourteen years of age at the time of giving evidence, was deemed—in principle—to be sufficiently mature and able to understand the sequence of events relating to the accident.
Where applicable, the judge can also hear the minor's evidence without the minor having to take an oath. This enables the judge to take the child's evidence, without such evidence being binding. In criminal proceedings, children under the age of fifteen are always heard without taking an oath.

Family members

Contrary to popular belief, family members are also allowed to give evidence when one of their close relatives is involved in legal proceedings.

In fact, children, parents, siblings, spouses, etc. are by no means incompetent to give evidence in disputes involving their close relatives.

The case of spouses giving evidence must, however, be qualified: evidence given by a wife is only admissible if she has no personal interest in the outcome of her husband's case, and vice versa. Such would be the case if a husband and wife were married under the community-of-property regime and one of the them had a clear financial interest in the outcome of the other's legal proceedings.

For example: a father who is a passenger in a car driven by his son may give evidence if the son is involved in a road traffic accident whilst the father is in the car.

Exceptions: descendants (i.e. children and grandchildren), as well as their spouses or partners, can never give evidence in relation to the grievances raised by a spouse in support of a divorce petition.

For example: it would never be admissible for a wife who is petitioning for divorce to ask her children—whether minors or adults—to give evidence to support the case against her husband.

Obligation to give evidence

Giving evidence in legal proceedings is a legal obligation.

When someone is summoned by a judge to appear as a witness in court, they cannot refuse or they may incur a fine.

Employees are not obliged to take leave in order to appear in court. Absence from the work place is not deemed to be unjustified and counts as effective paid working time.

Only spouses, blood relatives or relatives by marriage in the direct line of descent—children, grandchildren, grandparents—of one of the parties may refuse to appear as a witness.

By way of an exception, witnesses can seek to have the date on which they are due to appear postponed if there are serious grounds for doing so (e.g., illness, holiday booked well in advance, etc.).

Witnesses can only give evidence in relation to facts of which they have personal knowledge. They are obliged to tell the truth. Giving false evidence constitutes a criminal offence punishable by imprisonment.

Procedure for giving evidence 

Oral testimony

In line with normal practice, giving evidence consists of making an oral statement before the court. Before giving their statement, witnesses must take an oath to tell the truth: the judge asks them to raise their right hand and say "I do swear (Je le jure)".

Witnesses give their statement in one of the country's 3 official languages—Luxembourgish, German or French— whichever is their best language. For individuals who are unable to speak any of the country's 3 official languages, a sworn interpreter must be summoned to appear at the hearing in order to interpret their account of events.

In criminal proceedings, evidence is given during the course of the trial. It is given in open court attended by all the parties (accused, victim, lawyers) and the general public (spectators, press).

Although all the parties are present at the witness hearing, only the judge may communicate with the witness. Obviously, the parties are able to ask the witness questions, but they must address their questions to the judge who, if the question is deemed relevant, will put them to the witness.

In civil proceedings, evidence is usually given during a witness hearing, which is also held in court. Unlike giving evidence in criminal proceedings, statements are not given during a public hearing, but during a witness hearing which is held in a room that is separate from the court room and is attended only by the judge, the clerk of the court and the parties (or their lawyers).

Oral testimony is recorded by the clerk of the court as the witness answers the questions. At the end of the hearing, the clerk of the court reads the statement out in full to the witness. If all is in order, the judge will ask the witness to sign the statement. The witness is not, however, given a copy of the statement.

Witnesses are entitled to receive a fee which is intended to compensate them for travel expenses. The fee is calculated according to the distance between the court and the witness's home address and is never more than (+/- EUR 20.00).

Written witness statements

In civil proceedings, the parties to the proceedings often contact witnesses to ask them to write a statement.

This statement produces the same effects as an oral testimony, provided that it meets a certain number of legal requirements.

To be valid, the statement must be written entirely in the witness's own hand (not typewritten). It must be signed and dated. Witnesses must give their details (surname, given names, date and place of birth, domicile, profession). The witness statement must also specify that it has been written with a view to being produced in court and that the witness is aware that giving a false statement may result in criminal sanctions. Finally, a copy of the witness's identity card must be attached to the statement.

As with oral testimony, the written statement can be made in Luxembourgish, German or French, the choice being at the discretion of the witness.

Last update

Zeugenaussage vor Gericht

Jede Person, die nicht Prozesspartei ist, kann aufgefordert werden, vor Gericht auszusagen, es sei denn sie ist zeugnisunfähig.

Besondere Zeugen

Minderjährige

Grundsätzlich sind Minderjährige zeugnisfähig. Es liegt im Ermessen des Richters, je nach Sachlage zu beurteilen, ob ein Minderjähriger ausreichend zurechnungsfähig ist, um vor Gericht auszusagen, dies unter Berücksichtigung des Alters des Kindes, seiner Reife, seiner Auffassungsgabe, der jeweiligen Umstände und der Art des Rechtsstreits.

Beispiel : Ein Jugendlicher, der zum Zeitpunkt eines Unfalls älter als 11 Jahre war und bei seiner Anhörung älter als vierzehn Jahre ist, wurde grundsätzlich für ausreichend reif und fähig befunden um den Ablauf eines Verkehrsunfalls zu verstehen.
Gegebenenfalls kann der Richter Minderjährige auch unvereidigt anhören. So kann er die Aussagen des Kindes unverbindlich anhören und aufnehmen. In Strafsachen werden Minderjährige unter fünfzehn Jahren immer unvereidigt angehört.

Familienangehörige

Entgegen einer weit verbreiteten Meinung sind Familienangehörige ebenfalls befugt, bei einem Prozess eines ihrer Angehörigen als Zeuge auszusagen.

Kinder, Eltern, Geschwister, Ehegatten usw. sind bei Rechtsstreitigkeiten, die ihre Angehörigen betreffen, in keiner Weise zeugnisunfähig.

Der Fall des Ehegatten muss jedoch etwas nuancierter betrachtet werden: die Ehefrau wird nur als Zeugin zugelassen, wenn sie kein persönliches Interesse am Ausgang des Rechtsstreits ihres Ehemannes hat und umgekehrt: das ist beispielsweise der Fall, wenn die Ehegatten unter dem gesetzlichen Güterstand der Gütergemeinschaft verheiratet sind und einer der beiden ein offensichtliches finanzielles Interesse am Ausgang des Rechtsstreits des anderen hat.

Beispiel: Ein Vater, der als Insasse in einem von seinen Sohn gesteuerten Wagen saß, kann als Zeuge aussagen, wenn Letzterer zu diesem Zeitpunkt in einen Verkehrsunfall verwickelt war.

Einzige Ausnahme: Nachkommen (d. h. Kinder und Enkel) sowie ihre Ehegatten oder Lebensgefährten können nie als Zeugen angehört werden, wenn es um ein Unrecht geht, das von Ehegatten zur Bekräftigung einer Scheidungsklage geltend gemacht wird.

Beispiel: Eine die Scheidung beantragende Ehefrau kann nicht von ihren Kindern (egal ob es sich dabei um minderjährige oder volljährige Kinder handelt) verlangen, in Bezug auf ein Unrecht auszusagen, das sie ihrem Ehemann vorwirft.

Zeugnispflicht

Die Zeugenaussage vor Gericht ist eine gesetzliche Pflicht.

Wer vom Richter als Zeuge vorgeladen wird, kann sich dieser Pflicht nicht entziehen, da ansonsten eine Geldstrafe verhängt werden kann.

Arbeitnehmer sind nicht gezwungen, einen Tag Urlaub zu beantragen, um vor Gericht auszusagen. Die Abwesenheit vom Arbeitsplatz wird in diesem Fall nicht als ungerechtfertigt angesehen und geleisteter Arbeitszeit gleichgesetzt, für die ein Anspruch auf eine Vergütung besteht.

Lediglich die Ehegatten und Verwandten oder Verschwägerten in gerader Linie (Kinder, Enkel, Eltern, Großeltern) einer der Parteien können die Zeugenaussage verweigern.

Ausnahmsweise kann einem Zeugen eine Vertagung des Anhörungsdatums gestattet werden, wenn er dafür ernstzunehmende Gründe vorbringt (z. B.: Krankheit, bereits lange im Voraus gebuchter Urlaub usw.).

Ein Zeuge kann nur zu Sachverhalten aussagen, von denen er persönlich Kenntnis besitzt. Er ist verpflichtet, die Wahrheit zu sagen. Eine Falschaussage ist eine Straftat und wird mit einer Haftstrafe bestraft.

Ablauf der Zeugenaussage

Die mündliche Aussage

Klassischerweise besteht die Zeugenaussage aus einer Anhörung vor dem Richter. Vor seiner Anhörung wird der Zeuge vereidigt und verpflichtet sich somit dazu, die Wahrheit zu sagen: der Richter bittet ihn, die rechte Hand zu heben und zu sagen: „Ich schwöre es” (Je le jure).

Der Zeuge sagt in derjenigen der 3 Amtssprachen des Landes (Luxemburgisch, Deutsch, Französisch) aus, die er am besten beherrscht. Für Privatpersonen, die keine der 3 Amtssprachen des Landes beherrschen, muss ein vereidigter Dolmetscher bestellt werden, um ihre Aussagen in der Sitzung zu übersetzen.

In Strafsachen muss die Anhörung im Laufe des Prozesses erfolgen. Dies geschieht dann in einer öffentlichen Sitzung, an der alle Parteien (Beschuldigter, Opfer, Anwälte) und die Öffentlichkeit (Zuschauer, Presse) teilnehmen.

Auch wenn alle Parteien bei der Anhörung des Zeugen anwesend sind, ist der Richter die einzige Person, die sich mit diesem unterhält. Die Parteien haben zwar die Möglichkeit, Fragen an den Zeugen zu stellen, müssen diese aber an den Richter stellen, welcher sie an den Zeugen weitergibt, wenn er sie für relevant erachtet.

In Zivilsachen erfolgt die Anhörung in der Regel im Rahmen einer Ermittlung durch Zeugenaussagen, die ebenfalls vor Gericht stattfinden. Der Unterschied zur Zeugenaussage in Strafsachen besteht darin, dass sie nicht in einer öffentlichen Sitzung stattfindet, sondern im Rahmen einer Ermittlung durch Zeugenaussagen, die in einem separaten Gerichtssaal stattfindet und bei der nur der Richter, der Gerichtsschreiber und die Parteien (oder ihre Anwälte) anwesend sind.

Die mündliche Aussage wird vom Gerichtsschreiber aufgezeichnet, während der Zeuge die Fragen beantwortet. Am Ende der Ermittlung verliest der Gerichtsschreiber dem Zeugen seine gesamte Aussage. Sofern alles dem entspricht, was der Zeuge ausgesagt hat, bittet der Richter ihn, seine Aussage zu unterzeichnen. Der Zeuge erhält jedoch keine Abschrift seiner Aussage.

Der Zeuge hat Anspruch auf eine Entschädigung für seine Fahrtkosten. Sie wird entsprechend der Entfernung zwischen dem Gericht und dem Wohnsitz des Zeugen berechnet und ist nie sehr hoch (+/- 20 Euro).

Die schriftliche Zeugenaussage

In Zivilsachen kommt es häufig vor, dass die Prozessparteien mögliche Zeugen kontaktieren, um sie zu bitten, eine schriftliche Zeugenaussage zu verfassen.

Eine solche Aussage hat die gleiche Wirkung wie eine mündliche Aussage, sofern bestimmte gesetzlich vorgesehene Anforderungen eingehalten werden.

Um gültig zu sein, muss der Zeuge die ganze Aussage handschriftlich verfassen (sie darf also nicht getippt sein). Sie muss zudem ein Datum und seine Unterschrift tragen. Der Zeuge muss seine Personalien (Name, Vorname(n), Geburtsdatum und -ort, Wohnsitz, Beruf) angeben. Zudem muss er auf der Aussage angeben, dass sie im Hinblick auf ihre Vorlage vor Gericht verfasst wurde und der Zeuge weiß, dass er sich durch eine Falschaussage strafbar macht. Schließlich muss der Zeugenaussage eine Kopie des Personalausweises des Zeugen beigefügt werden.

Genau wie die mündliche Zeugenaussage kann die schriftliche Aussage nach Wahl des Zeugen auf Luxemburgisch, Deutsch oder Französisch verfasst werden.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am