Application for early retirement for shift-work and night-work employees

Update in progress

Last updated more than 5 years ago

This early retirement model allows employees who can provide proof they have worked for at least 20 years either in a shift job, as part of a work organisation arrangement involving successive shifts, or in a permanent night-work job, to retire early from active service.

Accordingly, the reduction in work time results in a position being vacated which can be filled by an unemployed persons or apprentices.

Early retirement should not be confused with an early old age pension before age 65: old age pension pertains to pension insurance, whereas early retirement, which is restricted to a term of 3 years, constitutes a mechanism to prevent unemployment. Early retirement is therefore considered as insurance years that count toward the old age pension.

Who is concerned

Early retirement for shift-work and night-work employees may be requested by employees:

  • from both the private and public sectors;
  • who have turned 57;
  • who can provide proof of having completed 20 years of shift work in work organisation arrangement involving successive shifts, or 20 years of work in a permanent night-work job.
For further information, contact the Ministry of Labour, Employment and the Social and Solidarity Economy ( Ministère du Travail, de l'Emploi et de l'Economie sociale et solidaire) - Department in charge of early retirement, either by telephone (247-86115, morning only) or fax (247-86325).

Preliminary steps

To be eligible for early retirement for shift-work and night-work employees, the employee must:

  • have turned 57;
  • be able to provide proof of having worked for 20 years in a shift job (in a work organisation arrangement involving successive shifts), or 20 years in a permanent night-work job;
  • for public-sector employees, the years spent serving the Government before being appointed as a public-sector or communal worker are taken into account when calculating the 20 years of shift- or night-work;
  • meet the eligibility criteria for either an old age pension or an early old age pension no later than 3 years after the acceptance of their application for early retirement.
If these conditions are met, early retirement cannot be refused: contrary to other types of early retirement, early retirement for shift-work or night-work employees is a vested right.

Deadlines

An employee who wishes to apply for early retirement for shift-work or permanent night-work employees must submit a written request to their employer no later than 3 months before the expected date of acceptance of their application for early retirement.

How to proceed

Procedure

  1. An employee who wishes to apply for early retirement for early retirement or shift-work or permanent night-work employees submits a written request to their employer no later than 3 months before the expected date of acceptance of their application for early retirement.
  2. Their application should be accompanied by a certificate issued by the competent social security entity(ies) establishing the date they became eligible for old age pension or early old age pension.
  3. The employee is also required to provide all documents, certificates or declarations enabling them to prove that they do indeed meet the specific conditions required for this type of retirement (for example, a certificate from the employer describing the nature of the employee's position).
  4. The employer sends a copy of the application to the business' main staff representative delegation and submits to the Minister in charge of Employment a list of all employees who are eligible for early retirement, no later than one month before they become eligible. The employer is required to post a copy of the statement sent to the Minister in charge of Employment at the main entrances to the workplace, and to send another to the business' main staff representative delegations. The Minister in charge of Employment decides whether or not to approve the early retirement.
  5. If early retirement is approved, the end of the normal working relationship is documented in a 'declaration of departure' issued by the employer and sent to the Joint Social Security Centre (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale - CCSS). In this declaration, the employer specifies "early retirement" as the reason for the worker's departure.
    The decision to grant early retirement—taken by the Minister in charge of Employment—entitles the employee to take early retirement and to collect an early retirement allowance from their employer. It also entitles the employer to receive financial support through the Employment Fund (Fonds pour l'emploi).

Amount of the early retirement allowance

The monthly early retirement allowance is calculated using the gross monthly compensation effectively received by the employee in the 3 months immediately preceding the benefit period. For the variable portion of the compensation, the early retirement allowance must be calculated with respect to a 12-month reference period, when this method of calculation is more favourable for the employee. The reference compensation that is used to calculate the monthly early retirement allowance must include any sickness allowance payments, as well as current supplements and premiums, but not compensation for overtime or any allowances for additional costs incurred.

Bonuses and thirteenth-month payments accrue at a rate of one twelfth per month.

The duration of early retirement cannot exceed 3 years, and the payment is spread out over this period with a progressive annual decrease of 5 %. Therefore, the early retirement allowance is equivalent to:

  • for the first 12 months: 85% of the gross monthly compensation received by the employee in the 3 months immediately preceding the payment period;
  • for the second 12 months: 80 % of this compensation;
  • for the period remaining until the day the right to the allowance ends: 75 % of this compensation.

The early retirement allowance must be adjusted to changes in the cost of living, pursuant to the provisions of Article 11, paragraph (1) of the amended law of 22 June 1963 establishing the compensation scheme for civil servants.

Financing

The early retirement allowance is paid to the employee by their employer. The Employment fund reimburses the employer for all of the costs and charges in relation to the payment of the early retirement allowance, including the employer's share of the relevant social contributions.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Double click to activate the map
Last update

Den Vorruhestand für Schicht- und Nachtarbeiter beantragen

Wird derzeit aktualisiert

Vor mehr als 5 Jahren aktualisiert

Dieses Vorruhestandsmodell ermöglicht es einem Arbeitnehmer, der nachweislich mindestens 20 Jahre lang in Schicht- oder Nachtarbeit beschäftigt war, sich früher aus dem Berufsleben zurückzuziehen.

Durch die Verminderung der Arbeitszeit wird ein Arbeitsplatz frei und Arbeitslose oder Auszubildende können einfacher vermittelt werden.

Der Vorruhestand darf nicht mit der vorgezogenen Altersrente vor dem 65. Lebensjahr verwechselt werden: Die Altersrente gehört zur Rentenversicherung, während der Vorruhestand, der auf 3 Jahre begrenzt ist, ein Instrument zur Bekämpfung von Arbeitslosigkeit darstellt. In dieser Eigenschaft ist er den Versicherungsjahren gleichgestellt, die für die Altersrente angerechnet werden.

Zielgruppe

Der Vorruhestand für Schicht- und Nachtarbeiter kann von Arbeitnehmern in Anspruch genommen werden, die:

  • im privaten und öffentlichen Sektor tätig sind;
  • das 57. Lebensjahr vollendet haben;
  • 20 Jahre in Schicht- oder Nachtarbeit beschäftigt waren.
Weitere Informationen sind beim Ministerium für Arbeit, Beschäftigung sowie Sozial- und Solidarwirtschaft ( Ministère du Travail, de l'Emploi et de l'Economie sociale et solidaire) - Abteilung Vorruhestand ( Service en charge de la préretraite) erhältlich unter: 247-86115 (Tel.: nur morgens)/247-86325 (Fax).

Im Vorfeld zu erledigende Schritte

Um den Vorruhestand für Schicht- und Nachtarbeiter nutzen zu können, muss der Arbeitnehmer folgende Bedingungen erfüllen:

  • er muss das 57. Lebensjahr vollendet haben;
  • er muss 20 Jahre als Schichtarbeiter (im Rahmen von aneinander anschließenden Schichten) oder 20 Jahre ausschließlich in Nachtarbeit beschäftigt gewesen sein;
  • bei einem Bediensteten des öffentlichen Dienstes werden die vor der Übernahme als Arbeiter des öffentlichen Dienstes oder einer Gemeinde in staatlichem Dienst geleisteten Jahre bei der Berechnung der 20 Jahre Schicht- oder Nachtarbeit mitgezählt;
  • er muss die Kriterien für die Begründung des Anspruchs, d. h. entweder auf eine Altersrente oder eine vorgezogene Altersrente, erfüllen, und zwar spätestens 3 Jahre nach der Bewilligung seines Vorruhestands.
Sind diese Bedingungen erfüllt, kann die Zulassung zum Vorruhestand nicht abgelehnt werden: Im Gegensatz zu anderen Formen des Vorruhestands stellt der Vorruhestand für Schicht- und Nachtarbeiter einen Rechtsanspruch dar.

Fristen

Arbeitnehmer, die die Zulassung zum Vorruhestand für Schicht- oder Nachtarbeiter beantragen, müssen bis spätestens 3 Monate vor dem angenommenen Bewilligungstermin beim Arbeitgeber einen schriftlichen Antrag stellen.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Modalitäten

  1. Arbeitnehmer, die die Zulassung zum Vorruhestand für Schicht- oder Nachtarbeiter beantragen, müssen bis spätestens 3 Monate vor dem angenommenen Bewilligungstermin beim Arbeitgeber einen schriftlichen Antrag stellen.
  2. Er muss seinem Antrag eine Bescheinigung über den zeitlichen Beginn des Anspruchs auf Rente oder vorgezogene Altersrente beifügen, die von der bzw. den zuständigen Stelle(n) der Sozialversicherung ausgestellt wird.
  3. Der Arbeitnehmer muss ferner alle Unterlagen, Bescheinigungen oder Erklärungen beibringen, die als Nachweis dafür dienen, dass er die besonderen Bedingungen für diese Form des Vorruhestandes erfüllt (z. B. Bescheinigung des Arbeitgebers über die Art des Arbeitsplatzes).
  4. Der Arbeitgeber wiederum übermittelt eine Kopie des Antrags an den Hauptbetriebsrat des Unternehmens und legt dem für die Arbeit zuständigen Minister spätestens einen Monat vor Entstehung des Rechtsanspruchs die Aufstellung aller Arbeitnehmer vor, die die Bedingungen für die Zulassung zum Vorruhestand erfüllen werden. Der Arbeitgeber muss eine Kopie der an den für die Arbeit zuständigen Minister übermittelten Liste in den Haupteingängen der Arbeitsorte aushängen und eine weitere Kopie an die Hauptbetriebsräte des Unternehmens weiterleiten. Die Entscheidung über die Zulassung zum Vorruhestand wird von dem für die Arbeit zuständigen Minister getroffen.
  5. Sobald der Eintritt in den Vorruhestand feststeht, wird die Beendigung des normalen Arbeitsverhältnisses durch eine vom Arbeitgeber ausgestellte Abmeldung dokumentiert, die an das Sozialversicherungszentrum (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale - CCSS) geschickt wird. In dieser Erklärung muss der Arbeitgeber „Vorruhestand“ als Begründung für das Ausscheiden des Arbeitnehmers angeben.
    Mit der Entscheidung des für die Arbeit zuständigen Ministers auf Zulassung zum Vorruhestand erhält der Arbeitnehmer Anspruch auf Zulassung zum Vorruhestand und auf Zahlung von Vorruhestandsgeld durch den Arbeitgeber, der wiederum Anspruch auf Mittel des Beschäftigungsfonds (Fonds pour l’emploi) erlangt.

Höhe des Vorruhestandsgelds

Das Vorruhestandsgeld wird auf der Grundlage des Bruttomonatsverdienstes berechnet, den der Arbeitnehmer während der letzten 3 Monate vor dem Leistungszeitraum tatsächlich bezog. Das Vorruhestandsgeld muss für den variablen Teil des Verdienstes auf der Grundlage eines Referenzzeitraums von 12 Monaten berechnet werden, falls dieses Berechnungsverfahren sich als vorteilhafter für den Arbeitnehmer erweist. Die Referenzvergütung, die als Grundlage für die Berechnung der monatlichen Leistungen dient, umfasst Krankengeld sowie übliche Prämien und Zulagen, jedoch nicht Überstundenvergütungen und Spesenentschädigungen.

Gratifikationen und das 13. Monatsgehalt sind in Höhe eines Zwölftels pro Monat zu berücksichtigen.

Die Dauer des Vorruhestandes darf 3 Jahre nicht überschreiten. Von der sich über diesen Zeitraum erstreckenden Zahlung werden progressiv 5 % pro Jahr abgezogen. Die Höhe des Vorruhestandsgelds entspricht daher:

  • 85 % des monatlichen Bruttoverdienstes, den der Arbeitnehmer während der 3 Monate unmittelbar vor dem Bezugszeitraum für den ersten Zwölfmonatszeitraum bezog;
  • 80 % dieser Leistung für den zweiten Zwölfmonatszeitraum;
  • 75 % dieser Leistung für den verbleibenden Zeitraum bis zu dem Tag, an dem der Leistungsanspruch endet.

Das Vorruhestandsgeld muss gemäß den Bestimmungen von Artikel 11 Absatz (1) des geänderten Gesetzes vom 22. Juni 1963 über die Besoldung von Staatsbeamten an die Lebenshaltungskosten angepasst werden.

Finanzierung

Das Vorruhestandsgeld wird dem Arbeitnehmer vom Arbeitgeber gezahlt. Der Beschäftigungsfonds erstattet dem Arbeitgeber grundsätzlich die gesamten Kosten, die ihm aus der Zahlung der Vorruhestandsgelder entstehen, einschließlich des Arbeitgeberanteils an den entsprechenden Sozialabgaben.

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am