Application for early retirement due to corporate restructuring

Last update 21.08.2018

Early retirement due to corporate restructuring is a social programme. Employers may resort to its use when winding up a business or to avoid dismissals due to job cuts as part of a restructuring programme, or job transformations further to technological changes.

The law allows for early retirement due to corporate restructuring for businesses that have been declared bankrupt, businesses placed under controlled management, and companies undergoing compulsory liquidation.

Early retirement should not be confused with early old-age pension: old-age pension falls within the scope of pension insurance, while early retirement, limited to a term of 3 years, is a mechanism to prevent unemployment. Early retirement is therefore considered to be years of insurance contributions that count toward the old-age pension.

Who is concerned

In certain conditions, if a business closes, or to avoid dismissals due to job cuts as part of a restructuring programme, or job transformations further to technological changes, the employer may apply for approval for their staff to be allowed to take early retirement due to corporate restructuring, through an agreement entered into with the Minister for Employment.

Early retirement due to corporate restructuring, therefore, is reserved for the employees of a business which has been authorised to implement the measure under an agreement between the employer and the Minister of Labour, Employment, and the Social and Solidarity Economy (Ministre du Travail, de l'Emploi et de l'Economie sociale et solidaire), after consultation with the Economic Committee.

Agreements on early retirement due to corporate restructuring are generally for a period of one year.

However, for businesses which have entered into a job protection plan or redundancy plan, the duration of validity of the individual early retirement agreement may be equal to the period of validity of that plan.

For further information, contact the Ministry of Labour, Employment and the Social and Solidarity Economy ( Ministère du Travail, de l'Emploi et de l'Economie sociale et solidaire), Department in charge of early retirement, either by telephone (247-86115, morning only) or fax (247-86325).

Prerequisites

To qualify for early retirement due to corporate restructuring, the employee must:

  • be at least 57 years of age;
  • have been employed in the business in question for at least 5 years. If the business has been declared bankrupt or placed in compulsory liquidation, the minimum number of years of employment in the business is reduced to one year;
  • be eligible to receive an old age pension, or an early old-age pension, no later than 3 years after taking early retirement;
  • on penalty of losing the right to the early retirement allowance, undertake not to engage in a paid activity which, on a monthly basis, exceeds half the applicable social minimum wage in a calendar year.

Persons in receipt of unemployment benefits paid by ADEM may be eligible for early retirement due to corporate restructuring on condition that their last employer was eligible for the programme and that they lost their job as a result of:

  • collective redundancy; or
  • dismissal for reasons not related to the individual themselves; or
  • bankruptcy on the part of the employer; or
  • liquidation of the employer.

Deadlines

An employer applying for approval to implement early retirement due to corporate restructuring is required to file the application with the Minister for Employment no later than 15 days before the Economic Committee meets.

The secretariat of the Economic Committee will investigate the company's eligibility for the early retirement programme.

A copy of the application may be sent directly to the secretariat of the Economic Committee.

Individual applications for approval for early retirement due to corporate restructuring submitted after the signing of the aforementioned agreement must be sent by the employer to the Ministry, preferably before the planned date of early retirement.

How to proceed

Filing an application

To qualify for early retirement due to corporate restructuring, the employee must file an application with their employer.

Along with the application, they must submit their pension entitlement certificate, issued by the National Pension Insurance Fund (Caisse nationale d'assurance pension), stating the dates on which the worker becomes eligible for old-age pension or early old-age pension.

If early retirement is accepted, the end of the normal working relationship is documented in a declaration of departure issued by the employer and sent to the Joint Social Security Centre (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale – CCSS). In this declaration, the employer cites "early retirement" as the reason for the worker's departure.

The employer then needs to register the worker with the CCSS anew as a worker having taken early retirement (new incoming declaration).

Amount of allowance

The monthly allowance for early retirement is calculated on the basis of the gross annual salary (both fixed and variable) which the employee actually received over the course of the 12 months immediately prior to the start of their early retirement benefit.

The following must be included in the reference pay used to calculate the monthly benefit:

13th-month payments are taken into account at a rate of one twelfth per month.

Bonuses are taken into account at a rate of one twelfth per month, based on the mean amount of payments received over the past 3 years.

Overtime pay and allowances for incidental expenses are not taken into account in this calculation.

The early retirement allowance may not exceed the monthly ceiling for pension insurance contributions (which amounts to 5 times the social minimum wage).

However, the monthly allowance for early retirement is equal to the full unemployment benefit, provided the employee meets the eligibility conditions for early retirement over the period when they are receiving unemployment benefit, in the event of:

  • collective redundancy; or
  • dismissal for reasons not related to the individual themselves; or
  • termination of the working relationship due to the employer's bankruptcy or compulsory liquidation.

The duration of early retirement cannot exceed 3 years, and the payment is spread out over this period with a progressive annual decrease of 5%. Thus, the allowance is equal to:

  • 85% of the worker's gross monthly salary for the first 12 months;
  • 80% of that amount for the second 12 months;
  • for the period remaining until the day the entitlement to the allowance expires, 75% of that amount.

The early retirement allowance must be adjusted to reflect changes in the cost of living, pursuant to the provisions of Article 11, paragraph (1) of the amended law of 22 June 1963 establishing the compensation scheme for civil servants.

The early retirement allowance is paid for no more than 3 years, and in principle, ceases to be paid on the day before the beneficiary's 63rd birthday.

However, if so stipulated in the agreement between the business and the Minister for Employment, the allowance may be extended to the day before the beneficiary's 65th birthday, provided the amount of the early old-age pension does not exceed the minimum amount of a personal pension. Even in that case, though, the early retirement allowance can only be paid for a maximum period of 3 years.

It should be noted that a worker who has applied for and been granted early retirement allowance is no longer entitled to severance pay should the working relationship with their employer come to an end.        

Financing of benefits

A business that the Government has deemed to be in a balanced financial and economic position (based on the required opinion of the Economic Committee) is required to contribute to the costs resulting from the payment of early retirement benefit.

The rate of contribution is between 30 and 75% of the amount of early retirement benefit, including the employer's share of the related social charges. This rate may be less than 30 % only if a job-protection scheme authorised by the Minister in charge of Employment is implemented.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Double click to activate the map
Last update

Den Anpassungsvorruhestand beantragen

Der Anpassungsvorruhestand (préretraite-ajustement) stellt eine soziale Maßnahme dar. Arbeitgeber können in folgenden Situationen auf diese Maßnahme zurückgreifen: bei einer Unternehmensschließung oder zur Vermeidung von Entlassungen, die sich aus dem Abbau von Arbeitsplätzen wegen einer betrieblichen Umstrukturierung oder der Umwandlung von Arbeitsplätzen infolge technologischer Veränderungen ergeben.

Das Gesetz erlaubt die Ausdehnung des Anpassungsvorruhestands auf Unternehmen, die sich in Insolvenz, unter Zwangsverwaltung und in gerichtlicher Liquidation befinden.

Dieser Vorruhestand darf nicht mit der vorgezogenen Altersrente verwechselt werden: Die Altersrente gehört zur Rentenversicherung, während der Vorruhestand, der auf 3 Jahre begrenzt ist, ein Instrument zur Bekämpfung von Arbeitslosigkeit darstellt. In dieser Eigenschaft ist er den Versicherungsjahren gleichgestellt, die für die Altersrente angerechnet werden.

Zielgruppe

Unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen kann der Arbeitgeber im Falle der Schließung des Unternehmens oder zur Vermeidung von Entlassungen, die sich aus dem Abbau von Arbeitsplätzen wegen einer betrieblichen Umstrukturierung oder der Umwandlung von Arbeitsplätzen infolge technologischer Veränderungen ergeben, beantragen, dass sein Personal in den Anpassungsvorruhestand einbezogen wird. Dies erfolgt durch eine Vereinbarung mit dem für Beschäftigung zuständigen Minister.

Der Anpassungsvorruhestand ist daher den Arbeitnehmern eines Unternehmens vorbehalten, das im Rahmen einer Vereinbarung zwischen dem Arbeitgeber und dem für Beschäftigung zuständigen Minister und nach Anhörung des Konjunkturausschusses für die Inanspruchnahme des Anpassungsvorruhestands zugelassen wurde.

Die Vereinbarungen über den Anpassungsvorruhestand werden für ein Jahr geschlossen.

Im Falle von Unternehmen, die einen Plan zur Aufrechterhaltung der Beschäftigung oder einen Sozialplan geschlossen haben, kann die Gültigkeitsdauer der individuellen Vorruhestandsvereinbarung jedoch der Gültigkeitsdauer des Sozialplans oder des Plans zur Aufrechterhaltung der Beschäftigung entsprechen.

Weitere Informationen sind beim Ministerium für Arbeit, Beschäftigung sowie Sozial- und Solidarwirtschaft ( Ministère du Travail, de l'Emploi et de l'Economie sociale et solidaire) – Abteilung Vorruhestand ( Service en charge de la préretraite) erhältlich: 247-86115 (Tel.: nur vormittags) / 247-86325 (Fax).

Voraussetzungen

Um in den Genuss des Anpassungsvorruhestands zu gelangen, muss der Arbeitnehmer:

  • das 57. Lebensjahr vollendet haben;
  • seit mindestens 5 Jahren im Unternehmen beschäftigt sein. Hat das Unternehmen Insolvenz angemeldet oder befindet es sich in gerichtlicher Liquidation, wird die Mindestbeschäftigungszeit im Unternehmen auf ein Jahr herabgesetzt;
  • die Kriterien für die Begründung des Anspruchs entweder auf eine Altersrente oder eine vorgezogene Altersrente erfüllen, und zwar spätestens 3 Jahre nach dem Ausscheiden in den Vorruhestand;
  • sich verpflichten, keiner entlohnten Beschäftigung nachzugehen, deren Verdienst während eines Kalenderjahres monatlich die Hälfte des für ihn geltenden sozialen Mindestlohns überschreitet, andernfalls verliert er sein Recht.

Empfängern des von der ADEM gezahlten Arbeitslosengelds kann ebenfalls der Anpassungsvorruhestand bewilligt werden, sofern ihr letzter Arbeitgeber für die Inanspruchnahme des Anpassungsvorruhestands zugelassen wurde und sie ihre Beschäftigung aus folgenden Gründen verloren haben:

  • Massenentlassung oder;
  • Kündigung aus nicht mit der Person zusammenhängenden Gründen oder;
  • Insolvenz des Arbeitgebers oder;
  • Liquidation des Arbeitgebers.

Fristen

Ein Arbeitgeber, der für sein Personal den Anpassungsvorruhestand beantragt, muss den Antrag spätestens 15 Tage vor der Sitzung des Konjunkturausschusses bei dem für Beschäftigung zuständigen Minister stellen.

Das Sekretariat des Konjunkturausschusses ist aufgerufen, eine Untersuchung durchzuführen, die sich auf die Zulässigkeit des Unternehmens in Bezug auf die Vorruhestandsmaßnahme bezieht.

Eine Kopie des Antrags kann ebenfalls direkt an das Sekretariat des Konjunkturausschusses geschickt werden.

Die Einzelanträge auf Bewilligung des Anpassungsvorruhestands sind nach Unterzeichnung der vorgenannten Vereinbarung und vorzugsweise vor dem beabsichtigten Ausscheiden in den Vorruhestand vom Arbeitgeber beim Ministerium zu stellen.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Antragstellung

Um in den Genuss des Anpassungsvorruhestands gelangen zu können, muss der Arbeitnehmer bei seinem Arbeitgeber einen Antrag stellen.

Er muss seinem Antrag eine von der Nationalen Rentenversicherungskasse (Caisse nationale d'assurance pension) auszustellende Bescheinigung über den Rentenanspruch beifügen, der das Datum der Begründung des Rentenanspruchs auf die allgemeine Altersrente oder eine vorgezogene Altersrente zu entnehmen ist.

Bei Bewilligung des Vorruhestandes wird das Ende des Arbeitsverhältnisses durch eine Abmeldebescheinigung dokumentiert, die vom Arbeitgeber ausgestellt und an die Zentralstelle der Sozialversicherungen (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale - CCSS) weitergeleitet wird. In dieser Erklärung muss der Arbeitgeber „Vorruhestand“ als Begründung für das Ausscheiden des Arbeitnehmers angeben.

Der Arbeitgeber muss anschließend eine neue Anmeldung des Arbeitnehmers bei der CCSS als Arbeitnehmer im Vorruhestand tätigen (neue Anmeldung).

Höhe des Vorruhestandsgelds

Das monatliche Vorruhestandsgeld wird auf der Grundlage des jährlichen Bruttojahresverdienstes (fest und variabel) berechnet, den der Arbeitnehmer während der letzten 12 Monate unmittelbar vor Beginn der Zahlung des Vorruhestandsgelds tatsächlich bezog.

In die Referenzvergütung, die als Grundlage der Berechnung des monatlichen Vorruhestandsgelds dient, fließt Folgendes ein:

Das 13. Monatsgehalt ist in Höhe eines Zwölftels pro Monat zu berücksichtigen.

Der Bonus/die Gratifikation wird pro Monat in Höhe von 1/12 der durchschnittlichen für die letzten 3 Jahre geleisteten Zahlungen berücksichtigt.

Bezahlte Überstunden und Spesen werden bei der Berechnung nicht berücksichtigt.

Das Vorruhestandsgeld darf die monatliche Beitragsbemessungsgrenze für die Rentenversicherung (d. h. das Fünffache des sozialen Mindestlohns) nicht überschreiten.

Das monatliche Vorruhestandsgeld entspricht jedoch der Höhe des Arbeitslosengelds (bei Vollarbeitslosigkeit), wenn der Arbeitnehmer die Bedingungen für den Vorruhestand während des Bezugs von Arbeitslosengeld erfüllt, falls Folgendes vorlag:

  • eine Massenentlassung oder;
  • eine Kündigung aus nicht mit seiner Person zusammenhängenden Gründen oder;
  • eine Beendigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses infolge der Insolvenz oder der gerichtlichen Liquidation des Arbeitgebers.

Die Dauer des Vorruhestandes darf 3 Jahre nicht überschreiten. Von der sich über diesen Zeitraum erstreckenden Zahlung werden progressiv 5 % pro Jahr abgezogen. So entspricht die Vergütung:

  • 85 % des vom Arbeitnehmer für den 1. Zwölfmonatszeitraum bezogenen monatlichen Bruttoverdienstes;
  • 80 % dieses Verdienstes für den zweiten Zwölfmonatszeitraum;
  • 75 % dieses Verdienstes für den verbleibenden Zeitraum bis zu dem Tag, an dem der Leistungsanspruch endet.

Das Vorruhestandsgeld muss gemäß den Bestimmungen von Artikel 11 Absatz 1 des geänderten Gesetzes vom 22. Juni 1963 über die Besoldung von Staatsbeamten an die Lebenshaltungskosten angepasst werden.

Das Vorruhestandsgeld wird maximal 3 Jahre lang gezahlt; die Auszahlung wird grundsätzlich am Tag vor dem 63. Geburtstag des Leistungsempfängers eingestellt.

Falls in der Vereinbarung zwischen dem Unternehmen und dem für die Beschäftigung zuständigen Minister vorgesehen, kann das Vorruhestandsgeld jedoch bis zum Tag vor dem 65. Geburtstag des Vorruheständlers gezahlt werden, sofern die Höhe der vorgezogenen Altersrente nicht über den Betrag der persönlichen Mindestrente hinausgeht. Auch in diesem Fall kann das Vorruhestandsgeld nur maximal 3 Jahre lang gezahlt werden.

Hinweis: Der Arbeitnehmer, der eine Frühverrentung beantragt hat und dem diese bewilligt wurde, kann seinen Anspruch auf Abfindung bei Beendigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses mit dem Arbeitgeber nicht mehr geltend machen.        

Finanzierung des Vorruhestandsgeldes

Ein Unternehmen, dessen wirtschaftliche und finanzielle Lage allerdings auf obligatorische Stellungnahme des Konjunkturausschusses hin von der Regierung als ausgeglichen beurteilt wird, muss sich an den Kosten für das Vorruhestandsgeld beteiligen.

Der Beteiligungssatz liegt grundsätzlich zwischen 30 und 75 % des Vorruhestandsgeldes, einschließlich des Arbeitgeberanteils an den zugehörigen Sozialabgaben. Dieser Satz kann nur unter 30 % liegen, wenn ein Plan zur Aufrechterhaltung der Beschäftigung vorliegt, der von dem für Beschäftigung zuständigen Minister genehmigt wurde.

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am