Electing representatives to the Chamber of Employees

Last updated more than 5 years ago

In Luxembourg there are two employee chambers, the Chamber of Employees (Chambre des salariés - CSL) and the Chamber of Civil Servants and Public Employees (Chambre des fonctionnaires et employés publics).

The Chamber of Employees includes approximately 400,000 members, and all have the right to vote in social elections. In fact, all employees and retirees, residents and cross-border workers, except civil servants, must be registered with the CSL, regardless of their nationality or place of residence.

Every five years, employees are invited to elect 60 representatives to the Chamber of Employees at the national level. These latter are members of the Plenary Assembly (Assemblée plénière). They determine the guidelines and policies governing the CSL's missions and activities.

The elections of employee and retiree representatives to the CSL are conducted by post. Each voter elects their representatives in the socio-professional group to which they belong.

Who is concerned

  • All resident and non-resident employees working in Luxembourg under private law status
  • Agents of Luxembourg railways (Chemins de fer luxembourgeois - CFL)
  • Retirees receiving a pension for one of these two occupations.

How to proceed

Roll and missions of the Chamber of Employees

The CLS's main mission is to represent and safeguard the interests of employees and retirees working in Luxembourg or who have worked there. Its roles and activities are the following:

  • an advisory role as part of the legislative process through the preparation of opinions on Grand-Ducal draft laws;
  • a representative role, through presence on governmental advisory bodies (Mercy Commission (Commission de grâce), High Council for Statistics (Conseil supérieur de la statistique), etc.);
  • a representative role, through the appointment of employee representatives in social security institutions (National Health Fund (Caisse nationale de santé), National Pension Insurance Fund (Caisse nationale d'assurance pension), etc.) and representatives to labour jurisdictions (labour tribunal - tribunal du travail) and social security jurisdictions.
  • a source of information for topics related to labour and socio-economic issues, through a series of publications;
  • a training role, in both initial and continuing training (organisation of professional training, courses for adults).

An annual contribution, which is automatically deducted at source by the employer or the pension fund (Caisse de pension) allows the CSL to assume its various roles.

Voting procedure

The elections take place between 15 October and 15 November, every fifth calendar year, at a date set by the Minister of Labour (Ministre du Travail).

Members elect 60 representatives and their alternates, in their respective socio-professional categories, based on lists presented by trade unions. Members may vote for a list or a number of individual candidates, corresponding to the number of members to elect in the respective group. Participation in the vote is optional.

Voting takes place by post using anonymous ballots. A ballot corresponding to the voter's professional category is sent to their address by post. Once completed, voters return the ballot to the polling office, before the closing date of the elections, using a pre-stamped envelope.

Permanent and alternate representatives are elected by post for a term of five years and may be re-elected. The elections take place between 15 October and 15 November, every fifth calendar year, at a date set by the Minister of Labour (Ministre du Travail).

Breakdown of socio-professional categories

In order to guarantee professional representation within the CSL, the number of seats allocated to each socio-professional category is determined by the number of employees represented in that category.

The CSL comprises 60 seats, which are allocated as follows:

  • Group 1, iron and steel products: 5 seats
  • Group 2, other industries: 8 seats
  • Group 3, construction: 6 seats
  • Group 4, financial services and intermediation: 8 seats
  • Group 5, services: 14 seats
  • Group 6, public administrations and enterprises: 4 seats
  • Group 7, health and social action: 6 seats
  • Group 8, CFL: 3 seats
  • Group 9, pension holders: 6 seats

Election results

Once the elections have been validated, through the adoption of a closing report, the chairperson of the electoral office for elections of delegates to the Chamber of Employees communicates the results of the vote count.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Die Vertreter der Arbeitnehmerkammer wählen

Vor mehr als 5 Jahren aktualisiert

In Luxemburg gibt es zwei Arbeitnehmervertretungen (Kammern): die Arbeitnehmerkammer (Chambre des salariés - CSL) und die Kammer der Staatsbeamten und -angestellten (Chambre des fonctionnaires et employés publics).

Die Arbeitnehmerkammer (CSL) zählt etwa 400.000 Mitglieder, die alle wahlberechtigt sind. Alle gebietsansässigen und nicht gebietsansässigen Arbeitnehmer und Rentner, mit Ausnahme derjenigen, die unter den Status des öffentlichen Dienstes fallen, sind unabhängig von ihrer Staatsangehörigkeit und ihrem Wohnort automatisch Mitglied der CSL.

Alle 5 Jahre werden die Arbeitnehmer aufgefordert, die 60 Vertreter der Arbeitnehmerkammer auf nationaler Ebene zu wählen. Letztere werden zu Mitgliedern der Vollversammlung, dem höchsten Organ der Kammer. Sie bestimmen die Leitlinien und die Politik der Aufgaben und Tätigkeiten der CSL.

Die Wahl der Vertreter der Arbeitnehmer und Rentner bei der CSL erfolgt per Briefwahl. Jeder Wähler wählt seine Vertreter aus der Berufsgruppe, der er angehört.

Zielgruppe

  • alle unter dem privatrechtlichen Status in Luxemburg angestellten Arbeitnehmer (gebietsansässig und nicht gebietsansässig)
  • die Angestellten der nationalen Eisenbahngesellschaft (Chemins de fer luxembourgeois - CFL)
  • die Rentner, die aufgrund einer dieser beiden Beschäftigungen eine Rente beziehen

Vorgehensweise und Details

Rolle und Aufgaben der Arbeitnehmerkammer

Die wichtigste Aufgabe der CSL besteht darin, die Interessen der Arbeitnehmer und Rentner, die in Luxemburg arbeiten oder gearbeitet haben, zu vertreten und zu schützen. Sie nimmt folgende Aufgaben und Tätigkeiten wahr:

  • Beratung im Rahmen des Gesetzgebungsverfahrens durch die Ausarbeitung von Stellungnahmen zu Entwürfen von Gesetzen und großherzoglichen Verordnungen;
  • Vertretung in Form der Präsenz in den staatlichen Beratungsgremien (Gnadenkommission, Oberster Statistikrat usw.);
  • Vertretung in Form der Entsendung von Arbeitnehmervertretern in die Sozialversicherungsträger (Nationale Gesundheitskasse, Nationale Rentenversicherungskasse usw.) und von Vertretern bei den Arbeits- und Sozialgerichtsbarkeiten;
  • Information über mit der Arbeitswelt und der sozialwirtschaftlichen Problematik verbundene Themen durch zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen;
  • Erstausbildung und Weiterbildung (Gestaltung der Berufsausbildung, Erwachsenenbildung).

Dank eines automatisch vom Arbeitgeber oder von der Rentenkasse einbehaltenen jährlichen Beitrags kann die CSL ihre verschiedenen Aufgaben wahrnehmen.

Ablauf der Wahlen

Die Wahlen finden jedes 5. Kalenderjahr zwischen dem 15. Oktober und dem 15. November an einem vom Arbeitsminister festgelegten Datum statt.

Die Mitglieder wählen aus den von den Gewerkschaften vorgelegten Listen 60 Vertreter und deren Stellvertreter in ihrer jeweiligen Berufsgruppe. Dabei kann entweder eine ganze Liste oder eine bestimmte Anzahl einzelner Kandidaten, die der Anzahl der in der jeweiligen Gruppe zu wählenden Mitglieder entspricht, gewählt werden. Die Wahlbeteiligung ist fakultativ.

Die Wahl erfolgt per Briefwahl über einen anonymen Stimmzettel. Die Wähler erhalten per Post einen ihrer Berufsgruppe entsprechenden Stimmzettel. Nachdem dieser ausgefüllt wurde, muss der Wähler ihn vor Wahlschluss in einem vorfrankierten Umschlag an das Wahllokal schicken.

Die ordentlichen und stellvertretenden Vertreter werden per Briefwahl für eine Dauer von 5 Jahren gewählt und sind wiederwählbar. Die Wahlen finden jedes 5. Kalenderjahr zwischen dem 15. Oktober und dem 15. November an einem vom Arbeitsminister festgelegten Datum statt.

Verteilung der Berufsgruppen

Um eine gewisse berufliche Repräsentativität innerhalb der CSL zu gewährleisten, wird die Sitzverteilung pro Berufsgruppe anhand der in dieser Gruppe vertretenen Arbeitnehmer bestimmt.

Die CSL zählt 60 Sitze, die wie folgt verteilt sind:

  • Gruppe 1, Eisen- und Stahlindustrie: 5 Sitze
  • Gruppe 2, Sonstige Industrien: 8 Sitze
  • Gruppe 3, Bauwesen: 6 Sitze
  • Gruppe 4, Finanzdienstleistungen: 8 Sitze
  • Gruppe 5, Dienstleistungssektor: 14 Sitze
  • Gruppe 6, Verwaltung und öffentliche Unternehmen: 4 Sitze
  • Gruppe 7, Gesundheit und Soziales: 6 Sitze
  • Gruppe 8, Nationale Eisenbahngesellschaft: 3 Sitze
  • Gruppe 9, Rentner: 6 Sitze

Ergebnisse

Der Vorsitzende des für die Wahl der Vertreter der Arbeitnehmerkammer zuständigen Wahllokals verkündet die Ergebnisse der Auszählung nach Bestätigung der Wahlen durch Annahme eines Abschlussprotokolls.

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am