Embassies and consulates

An embassy is one State's diplomatic representation in another State. A consulate is a diplomatic service located abroad, responsible for the protection and administrative oversight of the nationals of its home country.

A country's embassy (or consulate) in Luxembourg allows its expatriates (both EU and non-EU nationals) to perform a certain number of administrative procedures or obtain certain documents. When necessary, Luxembourg residents must also apply to the embassy or consulate of a country to which they wish to travel, to obtain the necessary documents.

The lists of Luxembourg embassies, permanent representations and consulates general abroad, and the lists of accredited foreign diplomatic missions and consular representations of foreign states in Luxembourg, are available on the Luxembourg Government website.

Last update