Your questions

I have a dog which I would like to take with me on my travel through Europe. I have heard about a European passport for pets. How does it work?

You can freely travel in Europe with your dog, cat or ferret* as long as you have a European pet passport which is issued by veterinarians.

For identification purposes, the animals must be microchipped or have been tattooed in a clear and legible manner before July 2011 (Ireland, Malta und the United Kingdom only accept the microchip). All pets must be vaccinated against rabies which must be stated in their passport. The vaccination must have taken place after the chipping or tattooing.

You must have your dog undergo a specific deworming treatment if you plan to take it to Finland, Norway, Ireland, Malta or the United Kingdom (this measure does not apply to cats or ferrets). The treatment, administered by a veterinarian, must be stated on the pet passport and have been administered no less than one and no more than 5 days before the entry into the country.

*As far as pets are concerned, there is no harmonised regulation on a Community level which means that only national laws apply.

Useful link:

I am a disabled driver. Will my status as such be recognised when I travel within Europe? I'm thinking of parking spaces reserved for the disabled in particular.

Since 2000, parking card for people with disabilities have been standardised throughout Europe (format and colour) and officially referred to as the "European parking card for people with disabilities". This card, which is issued at the national level, is generally recognised in other European countries, but holders remain subject to local regulations, which may differ from country to country. If you still have the old version of the card or sticker, it is likely that they are valid only in your own country.

Useful links:

Does my Luxembourg student card allow me to benefit from reduced transport fares everywhere in Europe?

It all depends on the flexibility of the transport company. Student cards are not automatically recognised and you may be required to show a local student card. This requirement is in total conformity with the principle of equal treatment which implies that you will be treated, as a European citizen, as a student from the country you are visiting.

There is also an international student card, called ISIC (International Student Identity Card) whose objective is to allow students to keep their student status, whatever their country of origin. The cardholder benefits from price reductions in all areas of the student's daily life and allows to reduce his expenses: culture (museums, theatres, etc.), tourism, accommodation (hotels), leisure, etc. The cardholder is also entitled to discounts on travel expenses (by air, rail or rental cars).

The ISIC card, supported by UNESCO, is used in 120 countries. It is a personal card, with a picture, and available to all students (academic and secondary levels). The minimum age for cardholders is 12 and there is no upper limit. The price for the card in Luxembourg is EUR 13. The card is valid for 16 months (from September to December of the following year).

Useful link:

Can I take my wheelchair or crutches with me on an airplane?

Yes. If your flight is within, to (for European transporters) or from the European Union, you have the possibility to bring up to 2 personal assistance devices in the luggage hold.

Bringing these devices into the cabin is subject to safety regulations and conditioned by the size of the airplane. You can not be refused access to an airplane because of your reduced mobility except for safety reasons or the reduced size of the airplane.

If you need free assistance during all the stages of your trip, such as assistance in the air terminal or in order to enter or leave the airplane, you should make sure that you have duly informed the airline company of your status as "passenger with reduced mobility". The same rules apply to travel by boat.

Useful link:

I've just moved. Do I need to inform the SNCA?

Yes, any citizen who owns a motor vehicle registered in the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg must contact the National Society of Automotive Traffic (Société nationale de circulation automobile - SNCA) within 1 month of moving, to have the address on their registration certificate updated.

Last update

J’ai un chien que je voudrais emmener avec moi en voyage en Europe. J’ai entendu parler d’un passeport européen pour animaux de compagnie. Comment ça marche ?

Vous pouvez librement voyager en Europe avec votre chien, votre chat ou votre furet*, dès lors que vous êtes en possession d’un passeport européen pour animaux de compagnie délivré par les vétérinaires.

Aux fins d'identification, les animaux doivent être munis d'une puce électronique, ou avoir été tatoués de façon clairement lisible avant juillet 2011 (l'Irlande, Malte et le Royaume-Uni ne reconnaissent que la puce électronique). Tous les animaux de compagnie doivent être vaccinés contre la rage, ce qui doit figurer dans leur passeport. La vaccination doit être effectuée après l'implantation de la puce ou le tatouage.

Vous devez faire administrer un traitement vermifuge spécifique à votre chien si vous souhaitez l'emmener en Finlande, en Norvège, en Irlande, à Malte ou au Royaume-Uni (cette mesure ne concerne pas les chats ni les furets). Ce traitement, appliqué par un vétérinaire, doit être mentionné sur le passeport pour animaux de compagnie, et le départ peut être effectué entre un et 5 jours après le traitement.

* En ce qui concerne les autres animaux de compagnie, il n'existe pas encore de réglementation harmonisée au niveau communautaire de sorte que ce sont les dispositions nationales qui sont applicables.

Lien utile :

Je suis un conducteur handicapé. Mon statut sera-t-il reconnu lors de mes déplacements en Europe ? Je pense notamment aux places de parking réservées aux handicapés.

Depuis 2000, les cartes de stationnement pour personnes handicapées sont harmonisées au niveau européen (format et couleur) et désignées officiellement sous le terme "carte européenne de stationnement pour personnes handicapées". Cette carte, émise au niveau national, est généralement reconnue dans les autres pays européens mais vous restez soumis aux règlements locaux différents selon les pays. Si vous êtes encore détenteur de l’ancienne carte ou du macaron, il est probable qu’ils ne soient valides que dans votre propre pays.

Lien utile :

Ma carte d’étudiant au Luxembourg me permet-elle de bénéficier de tarifs réduits dans les transports partout en Europe ?

Tout dépend de la flexibilité de la compagnie de transport. Les cartes d’étudiant ne sont pas automatiquement reconnues et l’on pourra vous demander de montrer une carte d’étudiant locale. Cette demande serait en totale conformité avec le principe d’égalité de traitement qui implique que vous soyez traité, en tant que citoyen européen, comme un étudiant du pays visité.

Il existe également une carte d'identité étudiante internationale, appelée carte ISIC (International Student Identity Card) dont l’objectif est de permettre aux étudiants de conserver leur statut quel que soit leur pays d'origine. Elle donne droit à des réductions dans tous les domaines de la vie quotidienne pour accompagner l'étudiant et alléger ses charges : culture (musées, théâtres, etc.), tourisme, hébergement (hôtels), divertissement, etc. Elle permet également une réduction sur les tarifs dans les transports (avion, train, location de voiture).

La carte ISIC, soutenue par l'UNESCO, est utilisée dans 120 pays. C'est une carte individuelle, pourvue d'une photo, et accessible à tous les étudiants, lycéens et collégiens. L'âge minimum pour l'obtenir est de 12 ans et il n'y a pas d'âge maximum pour en bénéficier. Son prix au Luxembourg est de 13 euros. La carte est valable pendant 16 mois (de septembre jusqu'en décembre de l'année suivante).

Lien utile :

Puis-je prendre mon fauteuil roulant ou mes béquilles avec moi à bord d’un avion ?

Oui. Si votre vol a lieu à l’intérieur, en direction (si c’est un transporteur européen) ou à partir de l’Union européenne, vous avez la possibilité de prendre avec vous jusqu’à 2 appareils d’assistance personnelle dans la soute à bagages.

La possibilité de les prendre en cabine est soumise à des règles de sécurité et conditionnée par la taille de l’avion. Vous ne pourrez être interdit d’accès à bord d’un avion du fait de votre mobilité réduite sauf pour des raisons de sécurité ou de taille réduite de l’avion.

Si vous avez besoin d’une assistance gratuite à toutes les étapes de votre voyage, telles que dans les terminaux ou pour monter ou descendre de l’avion, assurez-vous d’avoir signalé à la compagnie aérienne votre qualité de "passager à mobilité réduite". Les mêmes règles s’appliquent aux voyages par bateau.

Lien utile :

Je viens de déménager : dois-je le signaler à la SNCA ?

Oui, tout citoyen détenteur d’un véhicule automoteur immatriculé au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg doit contacter la Société nationale de circulation automobile (SNCA) dans un délai d’un mois suivant le déménagement afin de mettre à jour l’adresse indiquée sur le certificat d’immatriculation.

Dernière modification le