Your questions

Employment of workforce

I am a company established in the United Kingdom and I would like to post an employee temporarily to Luxembourg after the United Kindgom's withdrawal from the EU. Which provisions in terms of social security will apply?

As EU regulations will no longer be applicable, the provisions applicable will depend on national legislation.

Under Luxembourgish legislation, people who carry out a professional activity on behalf of their employer are covered by the Luxembourg social security scheme. In principle, British workers posted to Luxembourg will therefore be covered by the Luxembourg social security scheme.

However, the Luxembourg legislation provides the exemption from the requirement to join the Luxembourg social security scheme provided that the duration of the temporary assignment in Luxembourg does not exceed one year and the employee is covered by a foreign social security scheme.

If the period of professional activity in Luxembourg exceeds 3 months, the employer will however have to pay the employer’s share of pension contributions (8%). The exemption can be extended for one year by the Common centre of social security and beyond by the Ministry of Social Security.

I am a company established in the United Kingdom and before the United Kindgom's withdrawal from the EU, I posted an employee to work temporarily in Luxembourg for a posting period exceeding that date. Which provisions in terms of social security will apply after the withdrawal date?

As EU regulations will no longer be applicable after the United Kindgom's withdrawal from the EU, the provisions applicable will depend on national legislation.

Under Luxembourg legislation, people who carry out a professional activity on behalf of their employer are covered by the Luxembourg social security scheme. Therefore, British workers posted to Luxembourg will in principle be covered by the Luxembourg social security scheme.

However, Luxembourg legislation provides for the possibility of being exempted from joining the Luxembourg social security scheme upon request, provided the duration of the temporary assignment in Luxembourg does not exceed one year and that the employee is covered by a foreign social security scheme.

If the period of professional activity in Luxembourg exceeds 3 months, the employer will nevertheless have to pay the employer's share of pension contributions (8%). The exemption may be extended for one year by the Centre Commun de la Sécurité Sociale and beyond that date by the Minister of Social Security.

Last update

Vos questions

Emploi de main d'oeuvre

Je suis une entreprise installée au Royaume-Uni et je souhaite envoyer un travailleur salarié travailler temporairement au Luxembourg après le retrait du Royaume-Uni de l'Union européenne. Quelle sera sa situation de sécurité sociale ?

Les règlements européens n’étant plus d’application, la situation dépendra des législations nationales applicables.

En vertu de la législation luxembourgeoise, les personnes qui exercent au Luxembourg une activité professionnelle pour le compte d’autrui contre rémunération sont affiliées à la sécurité sociale luxembourgeoise. Les salariés britanniques envoyés au Luxembourg pour y travailler devront donc en principe être affiliés à la sécurité sociale luxembourgeoise.

La législation luxembourgeoise prévoit cependant la possibilité d’être dispensé de l’affiliation sur demande, à condition que la durée de l’affectation temporaire au Luxembourg ne dépassent pas un an et que le salarié soit couvert par un régime de sécurité sociale étranger.

La dispense peut être prolongée d’un an par le Centre commun de la sécurité sociale et au-delà par le Ministre de la sécurité sociale.

Je suis une entreprise installée au Royaume-Uni et j’ai envoyé un travailleur salarié travailler temporairement au Luxembourg avant la date de retrait pour une période se prolongeant après cette date. Quelle sera sa situation de sécurité sociale après le retrait du Royaume-Uni de l'Union européenne ?

Les règlements européens n’étant plus d’application après le retrait du Royaume-Uni de l'Union européenne, la situation dépendra des législations nationales applicables à partir de cette date.

En vertu de la législation luxembourgeoise, les personnes qui exercent au Luxembourg une activité professionnelle pour le compte d’autrui contre rémunération sont affiliées à la sécurité sociale luxembourgeoise. Les salariés britanniques envoyés au Luxembourg pour y travailler devront donc en principe être affiliés à la sécurité sociale luxembourgeoise.

La législation luxembourgeoise prévoit cependant la possibilité d’être dispensé de l’affiliation sur demande, à condition que la durée de l’affectation temporaire au Luxembourg ne dépasse pas un an et que le salarié soit couvert par un régime de sécurité sociale étranger.

Si la période d’activité professionnelle au Luxembourg excède 3 mois, l’employeur devra néanmoins payer la part patronale des cotisations pension lui incombant (8 %). La dispense peut être prolongée d’un an par le Centre commun de la sécurité sociale et au-delà par le Ministre de la sécurité sociale.

Dernière modification le