National health professionals reserve - fixed-term contracts for other self-employed health professionals

Coronavirus / Covid-19

In the context of the organisation of the health system during the Covid-19 pandemic, a self-employed general practitioner or a person practising a health profession in a self-employed capacity were given the possibility to conclude a fixed-term contract in order to work as an employee of the state from 4 April until 29 May 2020.

This option is now closed.

Further details about the duty lines and the general organisation of the health-care system during the Covid-19 pandemic can be found here.

Persons concerned

In order to constitute a health professionals reserve and be able to cope with a possible shortage of health professionals, the state was offering the option of a fixed-term contract as an employee of the state in return for 16 hours' availability per week to the holders of a licence to practise in the following professions:

  • veterinary surgeons;
  • psychotherapists;
  • qualified and graduate nurses;
  • physiotherapists;
  • medical masseurs;
  • chiropodists;
  • psychomotricity therapists;
  • speech therapists;
  • osteopaths;
  • dieticians;
  • occupational therapists;
  • midwives.

Procedure for other health professionals to conclude a fixed-term contract as an employee of the state

Eligibility

To be able to take up this option, the health professional must hold a licence to practise his/her profession issued by the member of the Luxembourg Government with responsibility for health.

These fixed-term contracts are for health professionals currently in private practise who, for the duration of their fixed-term contract as an employee of the state, do not have another contractual relationship as a salaried worker with a monthly workload of more than 50 %. This also applies to parental leave in excess of 50 %.

Duration

Fixed-term contracts may be concluded from 4 April 2020 onwards. The contracts will run until 29 May 2020.
The last day for concluding a fixed-term contract was 3 May 2020.
It should be noted that the contract takes effect on the day after signature, on condition that the licence to practise is valid. If a licence has lapsed, the health professional will be informed that the fixed-term contract will not take effect.

Example: A health professional goes through the procedure on 5 April 2020, and signs and sends on the application the same day. If his/her licence to practice is valid and the application countersigned by the Minister for Health, the contract takes effect on 6 April 2020. The contract will in all cases remain valid until 29 May 2020.

Workload/Tasks

The workload laid down in the contract corresponds to 16 hours per week, i.e. a minimal workload of 40 %.

If necessary, and if both parties are agreed, the number of work hours may be increased and even reach a workload of 100 % (full-time position).

The tasks required of a professional working in the reserve may be different from those normally carried out.

The contract stipulates that "in addition to the care services provided for under their own professional attributions and due to the state of crisis, the employee may be temporarily assigned to administrative, logistical, and stretcher-bearing tasks, as well as participation in basic care for patients or residents such as communication, feeding and hydration, mobilisation, hygiene and comfort care."

Health professionals who opted for the contract as an employee of the state may continue working in private practice beyond their availability for the national health professionals reserve provided that the state has authorised the performance of an ancillary activity (see the FAQ). It should be emphasised that in principle acts carried out in private practice during their availability for the national health professionals reserve are not enforceable on the CNS but are remunerated under the contract as an employee of the state. Acts performed beyond their acts performed as employees of the state shall be remunerated in accordance with the applicable nomenclature.

Remuneration

Depending on their profession, the amounts of the basic remuneration for health professionals are as follows:

Remuneration
Healthcare professions Monthly remuneration (40 % workload)
Veterinary surgeons EUR 4,050
Psychotherapists
EUR 4,050
Graduate nurses
EUR 3,592
Nurses EUR 3,324
Physiotherapists EUR 3,592
Medical masseurs EUR 3,324
Chiropodists EUR 3,592
Psychomotricity therapists EUR 3,592
Speech therapists EUR 3,324
Osteopaths EUR 3,592
Dieticians EUR 3,324
Occupational therapists EUR 3,592
Midwives EUR 3,324
 
Health professionals will also receive:
 
  • an allowance for meals amounting to EUR 204 net, calculated pro rata on the basis of a 40 % workload;
  • as appropriate, a family allowance amounting to EUR 554, calculated pro rata on the basis of a 40 % workload;
  • the proportion of the end-of-year bonus corresponding to the duration of the fixed-term contract.

FAQ

Take a look at the FAQ section for answers to any questions you may have.

Last update

Réserve sanitaire nationale - CDD pour les autres professionnels de santé exerçant une activité libérale

Coronavirus / Covid-19

Dans le contexte de l’organisation du système de santé en période de pandémie COVID-19, un médecin libéral ou une personne exerçant une profession de santé à titre libéral pouvaient conclure un contrat d’employé de l’Etat à durée déterminée à partir du 4 avril jusqu’au 29 mai 2020.

Cette démarche est maintenant clôturée.

Trouvez ici de plus amples détails au sujet des lignes de garde et de manière générale sur l’organisation du système de santé en période de pandémie COVID-19.

Personnes concernées

Afin de constituer une réserve sanitaire et pour parer à une éventuelle pénurie de professionnels de la santé, l’Etat offrait la possibilité d’opter pour un contrat d’employé de l’Etat à durée déterminée en contrepartie d’une disponibilité de 16 heures par semaine dans la réserve sanitaire, aux titulaires d’une autorisation d’exercer dans les professions suivantes :

  • médecins vétérinaires ;
  • psychothérapeutes ;
  • infirmiers et infirmiers gradués;
  • kinésithérapeutes ;
  • masseurs ;
  • podologues ;
  • rééducateurs en psychomotricité ;
  • orthophonistes ;
  • ostéopathes ;
  • diététiciens ;
  • ergothérapeutes ;
  • sages-femmes.

Modalités de conclusion du contrat d’employé de l’Etat à durée déterminée pour les autres professionnels de santé

Éligibilité

Pour pouvoir bénéficier de ce CDD, le professionnel de santé doit disposer d’une autorisation d’exercer sa profession, délivrée par le membre du Gouvernement luxembourgeois ayant dans ses attributions la Santé.

Le CDD s’adresse aux professionnels de la santé qui exercent actuellement à titre libéral et qui, pendant la durée du contrat à durée déterminée en tant qu’employé de l’Etat, n’ont pas de relation contractuelle en tant que salarié avec une tâche mensuelle supérieure à 50%. Ceci s’applique également au congé parental supérieur à 50%.

Durée

Le CDD peut être conclu à partir du 4 avril 2020. La durée est fixée pour chaque contrat jusqu’au 29 mai 2020. Le dernier jour pour souscrire au CDD est le 3 mai 2020.
A noter que le CDD prend effet le lendemain de la date de la signature, sous réserve de la validité de l'autorisation d’exercer la profession de santé. Dans l’hypothèse d’une autorisation d’exercer caduque, le professionnel de santé sera informé que le CDD ne pourra pas prendre effet.

Par exemple : le professionnel de santé fait la démarche relative au CDD le 5 avril 2020 et il signe et transmet la demande le même jour. Après validation de son autorisation d’exercer par les services et suite à la contresignature par la Ministre de la Santé, le contrat prendra effet au 6 avril 2020. La fin du contrat est fixée dans tous les cas au 29 mai 2020.

Tâche

La tâche fixée dans le contrat s’élève à 16h par semaine ; il s’agit donc d’une tâche minimale de 40%.

En cas de besoin sanitaire, et d’un commun accord des parties, le temps de travail peut évoluer à la hausse jusqu’à atteindre une tâche complète.

Les tâches attribuées dans le cadre de la réserve sanitaire peuvent diverger des attributions professionnelles respectives.

En effet, le contrat précise que « en sus des prestations de soins prévues dans ses attributions professionnelles propres, l’employé peut être chargé temporairement en raison de l’état de crise sanitaire, de tâches administratives, logistiques, de brancardage et de participation aux soins de base auprès des patients ou des résidents tels que la communication, l’alimentation et l’hydratation, la mobilisation, les soins d’hygiène et de confort. »

Les professionnels de la santé qui ont opté pour le contrat d’employé d’Etat peuvent continuer à exercer à titre libéral au-delà de leur disponibilité pour la réserve sanitaire nationale à condition qu’une activité accessoire ait été autorisée par l’Etat (voir FAQ). A souligner qu’en principe les actes prestés à titre libéral pendant la disponibilité pour la réserve sanitaire nationale ne sont pas opposables à la CNS, mais sont rémunérées sous l’égide du contrat d’employé d’Etat. Les actes prestés au-delà de la disponibilité pour l’Etat sont rémunérés suivant la nomenclature applicable.

Rémunération

En fonction des professions de santé, la rémunération de base est la suivante :

Rémunération
Professions de santé Rémunération mensuelle (tâche de 40%)
Médecins vétérinaires 4.050 Euros
Psychothérapeutes
4.050 Euros
Infirmiers gradués
3.592 Euros
Infirmiers 3.324 Euros
Kinésithérapeutes 3.592 Euros
Masseurs 3.324 Euros
Podologues 3.592 Euros
Rééducateurs en psychomotricité 3.592 Euros
Orthophonistes 3.324 Euros
Ostéopathes 3.592 Euros
Diététiciens 3.324 Euros
Ergothérapeutes 3.592 Euros
Sages-femmes 3.324 Euros
 
A ceci s’ajoute :
 
  • une allocation de repas de 204 € net et qui sera proratisée par rapport au degré d’occupation de 40% ;
  • le cas échéant une allocation de famille de 554 € et qui sera proratisée par rapport au degré d’occupation de 40% ;
  • la fraction de l’allocation de fin d’année relative à la durée du contrat à durée déterminée.

FAQ

Consultez aussi les FAQ pour trouver des réponses à vos questions.

Dernière modification le