National health professionals reserve - fixed-term contracts for self-employed general practitioners and specialists

Coronavirus / Covid-19

In the context of the organisation of the health system during the Covid-19 pandemic, a self-employed general practitioner or a person practising a health profession in a self-employed capacity were given the possibility to conclude a fixed-term contract in order to work as an employee of the state from 4 April until 29 May 2020.

This option is now closed.

Further details about the duty lines and the general organisation of the health care system during the Covid-19 pandemic can be found here.

Persons concerned

The option of a fixed-term contract as an employee of the state is open to self-employed general practitioners and specialists available throughout the Grand Duchy who are currently in practice but not included in a duty line, whether at a hospital or elsewhere.

Procedure for doctors to conclude a fixed-term contract as an employee of the state   

Eligibility

To be able to take up this option, the doctor must hold a licence to practise as a doctor issued by the member of the Luxembourg Government with responsibility for health.

These fixed-term contracts are for doctors currently in private practise who, for the duration of their contract as an employee of the state, do not have another contractual relationship as a salaried employee with a monthly workload of more than 50 %. This also applies to parental leave in excess of 50 %.

Duration

Fixed-term contracts may be concluded from 4 April 2020 onwards. The contracts will run until 29 May 2020. The last day for concluding a fixed-term contract was 3 May 2020.

It should be noted that the contract takes effect on the day after signature, on condition that the licence to practise is valid. If a licence has lapsed, the person concerned will be informed that the fixed-term contract will not take effect.

Example: A doctor goes through the procedure on 5 April 2020, and signs and sends on the application the same day. If his/her licence to practice is valid and the application countersigned by the Minister for Health, the contract takes effect on 6 April 2020. The contract will in all cases remain valid until 29 May 2020.

Workload

The workload laid down in the contract corresponds to 16 hours per week, i.e. a minimal workload of 40 %.

If necessary, and if both parties are agreed, the number of work hours may be increased and even reach a workload of 100 % (full-time position). The national medical coordinator may assign the doctors concerned to the various duty lines according to requirements throughout the Grand Duchy.

Remuneration

The remuneration is 560 index points, equivalent to EUR 4,280 gross per month (for a 40 % workload).

Doctors will also receive:

  • an allowance for meals amounting to EUR 204 net, calculated pro rata on the basis of a 40 % workload;
  • as appropriate, a family allowance amounting to EUR 554, calculated pro rata on the basis of a 40 % workload;
  • a doctoral bonus amounting to EUR 382 - calculated pro rata on the basis of a 40 % workload - if the doctoral qualification is listed in the register of certificates and classed as Level 8 in the Grand Duchy's framework of qualifications provided for in the amended Law of 28 October 2016 on the recognition of professional qualifications (compulsory registration document);
  • the proportion of the end-of-year bonus ('13th month') corresponding to the duration of the fixed-term contract.
It should be noted that information on applying for the family allowance and the doctoral bonus will be sent to the doctor by the State Centre for Human Resources and Organisation Management ( Centre de Gestion du Personnel et de l’Organisation de l’Etat - CGPO) once the contract has been concluded.

FAQ

Take a look at the FAQ section for answers to any questions you may have.

Last update

Réserve sanitaire nationale - CDD pour médecins généralistes et médecins spécialistes exerçant une activité libérale

Coronavirus / Covid-19

Dans le contexte de l’organisation du système de santé en période de pandémie COVID-19, un médecin libéral ou une personne exerçant une profession de santé à titre libéral pouvaient conclure un contrat d’employé de l’Etat à durée déterminée à partir du 4 avril jusqu’au 29 mai 2020.

Cette démarche est maintenant clôturée.

Trouvez ici de plus amples détails au sujet des lignes de garde et de manière générale sur l’organisation du système de santé en période de pandémie COVID-19.

Personnes concernées

L’option d’un contrat d’employé de l’Etat d’une durée déterminée est proposée aux médecins généralistes et aux médecins spécialistes disponibles sur le territoire, exerçant actuellement et ne participant ni aux lignes de garde extrahospitalières, ni aux lignes de garde hospitalières.

Modalités de conclusion du contrat d’employé de l’Etat à durée déterminée pour les médecins   

Éligibilité

Pour pouvoir bénéficier de ce CDD, le médecin doit disposer d’une autorisation d’exercer la profession de médecin délivrée par le membre du Gouvernement luxembourgeois ayant dans ses attributions la Santé.

Le CDD s’adresse aux médecins qui exercent actuellement à titre libéral et qui, pendant la durée du contrat à durée déterminée en tant qu’employé de l’Etat, n’ont pas de relation contractuelle en tant que salarié avec une tâche mensuelle supérieure à 50%. Ceci s’applique également au congé parental supérieur à 50%.

Durée

Le CDD peut être conclu à partir du 4 avril 2020. La durée est fixée pour chaque contrat jusqu’au 29 mai 2020. Le dernier jour pour souscrire au CDD est le 3 mai 2020.

A noter que le CDD prend effet le lendemain de la date de votre signature, sous réserve de la validité de votre autorisation d’exercer la profession de médecin. Dans l’hypothèse d’une autorisation d’exercer caduque, vous serez informé que le CDD ne pourra pas prendre effet.

Par exemple : le médecin fait la démarche guichet relative au CDD le 5 avril 2020 et il signe et transmet la demande le même jour. Après validation de son autorisation d’exercer par les services et suite à la contresignature par la Ministre de la Santé, le contrat prendra effet au 6 avril 2020. La fin du contrat est fixée dans tous les cas au 29 mai 2020.

Tâche

La tâche fixée dans le contrat s’élève à 16h par semaine ; il s’agit donc d’une tâche minimale de 40%.
En cas de besoin sanitaire, et d’un commun accord des parties, le temps de travail peut évoluer à la hausse jusqu’à atteindre une tâche complète.
Le coordinateur médical national peut affecter les médecins concernés aux différentes lignes de garde selon les besoins sur le territoire.

Rémunération

La rémunération est de 560 points indiciaires ce qui équivaut à un montant brut de 4.280 €/mois (pour une tâche de 40%).

A ceci s’ajoute :

  • une allocation de repas de 204 € net et qui sera proratisée par rapport au degré d’occupation de 40% ;
  • le cas échéant une allocation de famille de 554 € et qui sera proratisée par rapport au degré d’occupation de 40% ;
  • une prime de doctorat d’un montant de 382 € - proratisée sur 40 % - si le diplôme de doctorat est inscrit au registre des titres de formation et classé au niveau 8 du cadre luxembourgeois des qualifications prévues par la loi modifiée du 28 octobre 2016 relative à la reconnaissance des qualifications professionnelles (pièce d’inscription obligatoire) ;
  • la fraction de l’allocation de fin d’année (« 13e mois ») relative à la durée du contrat à durée déterminée.
A noter que les informations relatives à la demande de l’allocation de famille et de la prime de doctorat parviendront au médecin par le Centre de gestion du personnel et de l’organisation de l’Etat (CGPO) après la conclusion du contrat.

FAQ

Consultez aussi les FAQ pour trouver des réponses à vos questions.

Dernière modification le