Controlled management

By requesting to be placed under controlled management (mise sous gestion contrôlée), a trader who is temporarily in difficulty can avoid bankruptcy or an immediate cessation of business and also avoid the drawbacks of a suspension of payments or a scheme of composition with creditors.

The trader places the management of his assets under the control of one or more administrators (commissaires) in order to restructure his business or sell his assets under the best possible conditions.

However, this procedure is little used in practice.

Who is concerned

Controlled management may be granted to:

  • all traders;
  • operators of industrial establishments who are not legally defined as traders.

Prerequisites

To request to be placed under controlled management, the applicant must:

  • be a trader, i.e. any natural or legal person who carries out commercial acts as his profession. This is recognised de facto for any commercial company;
  • have lost creditworthiness or be in a situation that compromises the proper fulfilment of his commitments. Loss of creditworthiness may result from an inability to obtain fresh funds in order to pay debts or from the refusal of creditors to grant extensions to payment periods;
  • be able to demonstrate that it is possible to recover or protect the business;
  • not have been declared bankrupt (court bankruptcy order).

The trader must also be acting in good faith, not only at the time of the request but also throughout the controlled management proceedings.

According to case law, a business may not be placed under controlled management:

  • if its recovery is based on bad debts;
  • or if carrying out orders requires liquidity that it does not have and that it can only obtain from a bank with collateral that it cannot provide.

How to proceed

Submission of the request

The trader must submit a request to be placed under controlled management to the commercial court of the district in which it has its main establishment or registered office, if it is a company.

The request must be justified and well founded. It must indicate:

  • the reasons for the request;
  • the concrete and realistic measures proposed to enable the company to be restructured or improve its business and to contribute to the proper liquidation of its assets.

This request must be accompanied by supporting documents (including a list of creditors) to allow the court to rule on the admissibility of the request and to ensure that the prerequisites to benefit from the scheme are satisfied.

In the case of a company, the request must be presented to the court by a majority of the directors, managers or auditors.

Following consultation with the applicant, the court examines the request in closed session (in camera).

The court will reject a request if it does not believe that being placed under controlled management would result in the gradual recovery and normal operation of the applicant’s business, or ensure better conditions for the liquidation of assets in order to pay creditors.

Appointment of a judge to establish a report

If the court decides that the request is admissible, it appoints a judge to establish a report on the situation of the business of the applicant. The appointed judge, known as the juge délégué (deputy of the presiding judge), can be assisted by an expert.

Between the time this judge is appointed and the final decision of the court on whether or not to grant the request to be placed under controlled management, the applicant:

  • benefits from a suspension of enforcement measures on the part of creditors (mortgages, privileges or pledges): any creditor can start legal proceedings, have the request investigated and obtain a judgement, but cannot have the resulting decision enforced;
  • is forbidden to constitute pledges or mortgages, enter into commitments or receive movable assets without the prior written consent of the juge délégué, on pain of nullity.

Once the report has been established, the juge délégué submits it to the court.

Judgement concerning controlled management

Having consulted the report of juge délégué and consulted with the applicant, the court decides whether or not to reject the request.

At this stage the court may also rule on the status of cessation of payments for the applicant and determine, either in this judgement or in a later judgement, the exact period of the cessation of payments. However, according to case law, the applicant cannot be declared bankrupt until the final decision concerning the request to be placed under controlled management has been handed down.

If it decides to place the trader under controlled management, the court appoints one or more administrators, depending on the complexity and scale of the business and the assets to be managed. The administrators will lodge the decision with the Trade and Companies Register for publication in the electronic compendium of companies and associations.

The task of the administrators

The administrators are remunerated by the applicant. They must protect the interests of the applicant and all of the creditors.

Unlike a bankruptcy, the applicant is not automatically stripped of the right to administer all of his assets. His acts nevertheless remain under the control of the administrators.

The applicant therefore cannot, on pain of nullity, carry out the following acts without the prior consent of the administrators:

  • dispose of, pledge or mortgage movable or immovable assets;
  • plead, compromise, borrow or receive any sum;
  • make any payment or carry out any act of administration.

The administrators have unlimited rights of supervision and control over all the operations of the trader. In particular they must:

  • draw up an inventory of the assets under controlled management;
  • draw up a statement of the assets and liabilities of the trader and establish the balance sheets required by law or by the articles of association in the case of a company;
  • prescribe measures that appear to be required in the interests of either the trader or the creditors, while keeping in mind their collective interests;
  • cancel all fraudulent acts or payments of creditors;
  • attend the meetings of the board of directors or management board, for which they must receive notices to attend (joint-stock company (société par actions) or cooperative company (société coopérative));
  • call a meeting of the boards;
  • draw up a recovery or liquidation plan (restructuring plan or plan for the realisation and distribution of the assets).

An administrator can be replaced, after having been heard, by decision of the court at the request of the trader or automatically.

Plan for restructuring or liquidating and distributing assets

The applicant's business restructuring plan or asset liquidation and distribution plan must be drawn up within the timeframe determined by the court and must take all the interests at stake into account in a fair manner.

The administrators must therefore respect the ranking of privileges and mortgages and ensure that the contractual clauses concerning expiration, resolution and penalties are invalid in relation to the plan. This implies that all creditors must be in the same situation.

Approval of creditors

The plan must be communicated to the general body of creditors and to the known joint and several co-debtors and guarantors.

In the case of a company, the project will be lodged with the Trade and Companies Register (Registre de commerces et des sociétés - RCS) and published in the electronic compendium of companies and associations (Recueil électronique des sociétés et associations - RESA).

The creditors have 15 days to inform the court of their approval of or opposition to the plan, as of the planned publication or communication date. The plan can only be adopted by the court if more than half of the creditors representing more than half of the liabilities (in terms of receivable debts uncontested by the administrators) approve the plan.

Any abstention will be deemed to be an approval.

Approval by the court

The court must still approve the plan, even if the conditions for approval by the creditors have already been met. To this end, the court must ensure that the plan respects the ranking of privileges and mortgages and that it takes into account in an equitable manner, insofar as possible, all of the interests at stake (creditors and the collective interest).

If the court does not approve the plan, it definitively rejects the request or allows the administrators a brief period to draw up a new plan.

If the court approves the plan, an extract of the judgement made in a public hearing is lodged with the Trade and Companies Register for the purpose of publication in the electronic compendium of companies and associations and in a newspaper designated by the court, under the responsibility of the administrators.

The judgement approving the administrators' plan is binding on the trader and his creditors, as well as on the joint and several co-debtors and guarantors. The judgement handed down (unless it rejects the request) is provisionally enforceable. The trader and his creditors may lodge an appeal within eight days of the date of the judgement. The decision concerning the appeal may not be appealed.

Once the plan has been definitively adopted, the trader once again enjoys his rights, except for the stipulated restrictions, to successfully carry out the plan.

If the court rejects the plan, the business is declared bankrupt.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Gestion contrôlée

En recourant à la gestion contrôlée, le commerçant qui se trouve momentanément en difficulté peut éviter la faillite ou l’arrêt immédiat de son activité, tout en échappant aux inconvénients inhérents au sursis de paiement ou au concordat préventif de faillite.

Le commerçant place ainsi la gestion de son patrimoine sous le contrôle d’un ou de plusieurs commissaires afin de réorganiser son affaire ou de réaliser son actif dans les meilleurs conditions possibles.

Cette procédure reste toutefois peu utilisée dans la pratique.

Personnes concernées

La gestion contrôlée peut être accordée :

  • à tout commerçant ;
  • ainsi qu'aux exploitants d’établissements industriels, non réputés commerçants par la loi.

Conditions préalables

Pour initier une demande de mise en gestion contrôlée, le demandeur doit :

  • avoir la qualité de commerçant, c’est-à-dire toute personne physique ou morale qui exerce des actes de commerce et qui en fait sa profession. Cette qualité est reconnue de facto à toute société commerciale ;
  • être en ébranlement de crédit ou dans une situation qui compromet l’exécution intégrale de ses engagements. L’ébranlement du crédit peut résulter tant de l’impossibilité d’obtenir de l’argent pour payer ses dettes que du refus des créanciers d’accorder des délais de paiement supplémentaires ;
  • pouvoir justifier que son redressement ou sa sauvegarde est possible ;
  • ne pas être en faillite (jugement prononcé de mise en faillite) ;

Le commerçant doit en outre être de bonne foi, non seulement lors de sa demande mais également tout au long de la procédure de mise en gestion contrôlée.

Selon la jurisprudence, une entreprise ne mérite pas l’admission au régime de la gestion contrôlée :

  • si son redressement est basé sur des créances douteuses ;
  • ou si la réalisation des commandes nécessite des liquidités dont elle ne dispose pas et qu’elle ne peut obtenir auprès d’un établissement bancaire que moyennant des garanties qu’elle n’est pas en mesure de fournir.

Modalités pratiques

Introduction de la requête

Le commerçant doit présenter sa requête de mise en gestion contrôlée auprès du tribunal de commerce dans l’arrondissement dans lequel il a son principal établissement ou son siège social, s’il s’agit d’une société.

La requête doit être motivée et fondée. Elle indique :

  • les raisons de la demande ;
  • les mesures concrètes et réalistes proposées pour permettre de réorganiser la société ou d’améliorer la marche de ses affaires et de contribuer à la bonne réalisation de ses actifs.

Cette requête doit être appuyée des documents justificatifs (y compris la liste des créanciers) pouvant permettre au tribunal de statuer sur le bien fondé de la demande et de s’assurer que les conditions pré-requises pour bénéficier de ce régime sont remplies.

Dans le cas d’une société, la requête doit être présentée auprès du tribunal par la majorité des administrateurs, gérants ou commissaires.

Après consultation du requérant, le tribunal examine la requête en chambre du conseil (à huit clos).

Toute requête sera rejetée si le tribunal n’a pas la conviction que la mise en gestion contrôlée pourra soit assurer progressivement l’assainissement et l’exercice normal du commerce du requérant, soit rendre meilleures les conditions de la réalisation de l’actif en vue du remboursement des créanciers.

Délégation d’un juge pour faire rapport

Si le tribunal juge la demande du requérant recevable, un juge est nommé pour établir un rapport sur la situation du commerce du requérant. Le juge délégué peut se faire assister par un expert.

A partir de la délégation du juge et jusqu’à la décision finale du tribunal sur l’accord ou le refus d’une mise en gestion contrôlée, le requérant :

  • bénéficie d’un sursis aux actes d’exécution émanant des créanciers (hypothécaires, privilégiés ou gagistes) : tout créancier pourra intenter une action, faire instruire la demande et obtenir jugement sans pouvoir toutefois faire exécuter la décision rendue ;
  • a interdiction de constituer des gages ou hypothèques, de s’engager ou de recevoir un capital mobilier sans autorisation écrite préalable du juge délégué sous peine de nullité.

Une fois son rapport établi, le juge délégué le dépose auprès du tribunal.

Jugement de mise en gestion contrôlée

Après consultation du rapport du juge délégué et consultation du requérant, le tribunal décide s’il rejette ou non la requête.

A ce stade, le tribunal peut également constater l’état de cessation de paiement du demandeur et déterminer, soit par ce jugement, soit par un jugement postérieur, l’époque à laquelle la cessation de paiement a eu lieu. Toutefois, selon la jurisprudence, la faillite du demandeur ne pourra être prononcée que lorsque la décision définitive sur la demande de mise en gestion contrôlée aura été rendue.

S’il décide de placer le commerçant en gestion contrôlée, le tribunal désigne un ou plusieurs commissaires, en fonction de la complexité et de l’importance de l’affaire et du patrimoine à gérer. Ce jugement sera déposé, à charge du ou des commissaires, au registre de commerce et des sociétés aux fins de publication par extrait au Recueil électronique des sociétés et associations.

Mission des commissaires

Les commissaires sont rémunérés par le requérant. Ils doivent assurer la sauvegarde des intérêts du requérant ainsi que de la masse des créanciers.

Contrairement à la faillite, le requérant n’est pas dessaisi de plein droit de l’administration de tous ses biens. Ses actes sont néanmoins sous le contrôle des commissaires.

Le requérant, ne peut donc pas, sous peine de nullité, effectuer les actes suivants sans autorisation préalable du/des commissaires :

  • aliéner, engager ou hypothéquer ses biens, meubles ou immeubles ;
  • plaider, transiger, emprunter, recevoir aucune somme ;
  • effectuer tout paiement ou effectuer tout acte d’administration.

Les commissaires ont un droit illimité de surveillance et de contrôle sur toutes les opérations du commerçant. Ils doivent notamment :

  • dresser l’inventaire des biens dépendant de la gestion contrôlée ;
  • établir un état de la situation active et passive du commerçant et former les bilans prévus soit par la loi, soit par les statuts dans le cas d’une société ;
  • prescrire les mesures que paraissent commander les intérêts soit du commerçant, soit des créanciers tout en gardant l’intérêt collectif ;
  • faire annuler tous actes ou paiements faits en fraude des créanciers,
  • assister aux délibérations du Conseil d’administration ou de gérance, auxquelles ils doivent être convoqués (société par actions ou société coopérative) ;
  • convoquer la réunion de ses conseils ;
  • élaborer un plan de redressement ou de liquidation (projet de réorganisation ou projet de réalisation et de répartition de l’actif).

Un commissaire peut être remplacé, après avoir été entendu, sur décision du tribunal, sur simple demande du commerçant ou d’office.

Projet de réorganisation ou de réalisation et de répartition

Le projet de réorganisation du commerce du requérant ou le projet de réalisation et de répartition de l’actif doit être élaboré dans un délai imparti par le tribunal et doit prendre compte d’une manière équitable, de tous les intérêts en cause.

Les commissaires devront donc respecter le rang des privilèges et des hypothèques et s’assurer que les clauses conventionnelles de déchéance, de résolution et de pénalités sont inopérantes à l’encontre du projet. Ceci sous-entend que tous les créanciers doivent être dans la même situation.

Approbation des créanciers

Le projet doit être communiqué à la masse des créanciers, aux codébiteurs solidaires et cautions connus.

Dans le cas d’une société, le projet sera en outre déposé au registre de commerce et de sociétés et publié par extrait au Recueil électronique des sociétés et associations.

Les créanciers ont 15 jours pour faire parvenir au greffe du tribunal leur adhésion ou leur opposition au projet, à compter de la date de communication ou de publication prévue. Le projet ne pourra être adopté par le tribunal que si plus de la moitié des créanciers représentant (par leurs créances non contestées par les commissaires) plus de la moitié du passif, adhèrent au projet.

Toute abstention compte comme accord.

Approbation par le tribunal

Le tribunal doit encore approuver le projet, même si les conditions d’adhésion des créanciers ont été préalablement remplies. A ce titre, le tribunal doit s’assurer que le projet respecte le rang des privilèges et hypothèques et que ce projet tient équitablement compte, dans toute la mesure du possible, de tous les intérêts en cause (respectivement des créanciers et de l’intérêt collectif).

Si le tribunal n’approuve pas le projet, il rejette définitivement la requête, ou assigne aux commissaires un bref délai pour dresser un nouveau projet.

Si le tribunal approuve le projet, le jugement rendu en audience publique est déposé au registre de commerce et de sociétés et publié par extrait au Recueil électronique des sociétés et associations et dans un journal désigné par le tribunal, à la diligence des commissaires.

Le jugement approuvant le projet des commissaires est obligatoire pour le commerçant et ses créanciers, ainsi que pour les codébiteurs solidaires et les cautions. Le jugement rendu (sauf celui qui rejette la requête) est exécutoire par provision. Le commerçant et ses créanciers ont la possibilité de faire appel dans un délai de huit jours à compter de la date du jugement. L’arrêt rendu sur appel n’est susceptible d’aucun recours.

Une fois le projet définitivement adopté, le commerçant jouit à nouveau de ses droits, sauf restrictions prévues, pour pouvoir mener à bien la bonne exécution du projet.

Si le tribunal rejette le projet, la faillite de l’entreprise est prononcée.

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le