United States of America – Sanctions and restrictive measures

European Regulation (EC) 2271/1996 has as a goal to provide protection against the extra-territorial application of certain laws of the United States of America, and against actions based thereon or resulting therefrom, and to counteract the effects thereof, where such application affects the interests of persons engaging in international trade and/or the movement of capital and related commercial activities between the European Union and third countries.

These are:

1. National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 1993, Title XVII – Cuban Democracy Act 1992, sections 1704 et 1706

2. Cuban liberty and Democratic Solidarity Act of 1996

3. Iran Sanctions Act of 1996

4. Iran Freedom and Counter-Proliferation Act of 2012

5. National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2012

6. Iran Threat Reduction and Syria Human Rights Act of 2012

7. Iranian Transactions and Sanctions Regulations

Where the economic and/or financial interests of any person are affected, directly or indirectly, by these laws, or by actions based thereon or resulting therefrom, that person shall inform the European Commission (Directorate General I, rue de la Loi 200, B-1049 Bruxelles, telefax +32 2 295 65 05) within 30 days from the date on which it obtained such information.

Insofar as the interests of a legal person are affected, this obligation applies to the directors, managers and other persons with management responsibilities.

No person shall comply, whether directly or through a subsidiary or other intermediary person, actively or by deliberate omission, with any requirement or prohibition, including requests of foreign courts, based on resulting, directly or indirectly, from these laws of the United States.

Any person shall be entitled to recover any damages, including legal costs, caused to that person by the application of these laws. Such recovery may be obtained from the natural or legal person or any other entity causing the damages or from any person acting on its behalf or intermediary.

Double click to activate the map

European legislation

Luxembourg legislation

Last update

Etats-Unis d'Amérique - Sanctions et mesures restrictives

Le règlement européen (CE) 2271/1996 a pour but d'assurer une protection contre l'application extraterritoriale de certaines lois des Etats-Unis d’Amérique, et contre les actions fondées sur elles ou en découlant, ainsi que d'en contrecarrer les effets, lorsque cette application porte atteinte aux intérêts des personnes qui effectuent des opérations de commerce international et/ou des mouvements de capitaux et des activités commerciales connexes entre l’Union européenne et des pays tiers.

Il s’agit de :

1. National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 1993, Title XVII – Cuban Democracy Act 1992, sections 1704 et 1706

2. Cuban liberty and Democratic Solidarity Act of 1996

3. Iran Sanctions Act of 1996

4. Iran Freedom and Counter-Proliferation Act of 2012

5. National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2012

6. Iran Threat Reduction and Syria Human Rights Act of 2012

7. Iranian Transactions and Sanctions Regulations

Lorsque les intérêts économiques et/ou financiers de toute personne sont affectés, directement ou indirectement, par ces lois, ou par les actions fondées sur elles ou en découlant, cette personne doit en aviser la Commission européenne (Direction générale I, rue de la Loi 200, B-1049 Bruxelles, télécopieur +32 2 295 65 05) dans les 30 jours suivant la date à laquelle elle a obtenu l'information.

Dans la mesure où les intérêts d'une personne morale sont affectés, cette obligation s'applique aux administrateurs, aux directeurs et aux autres personnes exerçant des fonctions de direction.

Aucune personne ne doit se conformer, directement ou par filiale ou intermédiaire interposé, activement ou par omission délibérée, aux prescriptions ou interdictions, y compris les sommations de juridictions étrangères, fondées directement ou indirectement sur ces lois américaines.

Toute personne a le droit de recouvrer les indemnités, y compris les frais de justice, dues pour tout dommage qui lui a été causé du fait de l'application de ces lois. Ce recouvrement peut se faire sur la personne physique ou morale ou toute autre entité qui a causé le dommage ou toute personne agissant en son nom ou en qualité d'intermédiaire.

Double click pour activer la carte

Législation européenne

Législation luxembourgeoise

Dernière modification le