Tangible guarantees involving movable or immovable assets

A tangible guarantee is a guarantee requested by the creditor and which involves movable or immovable assets. It allows the creditor, in the event of non-payment of the interest incurred or non-repayment of the principal by the debtor, to seize the specific asset and have it sold with a preferential claim over the proceeds, i.e. the right to be repaid before other creditors.

Who is concerned

This concerns any entrepreneur or company which may be asked by their bank to provide tangible guarantees in respect of a financing application.

Prerequisites

The prerequisite for a tangible guarantee is the existence of a movable or immovable asset which may be seized and/or sold. Creditors often ask for an asset that has not yet been provided to a third party as a guarantee.

How to proceed

Mortgage

A mortgage is a right in rem which involves immovable assets allocated to discharge an obligation, in this case, the repayment of a loan.

If a property has to be mortgaged, a mortgage registration deed has to be drawn up before a notary. The notary is responsible for checking if the property is already mortgaged. If it is, the bank, as mortgagee, shall not obtain first rank registration (preferential right which allows the creditor to be paid first in the event of default) and may refuse to grant the loan. The notary is responsible for registering the mortgage and recording it in the Mortgage Registry (Bureau des hypothèques).

The customer is entitled to keep and use the asset. There is therefore no dispossession of the immovable asset that is mortgaged.

Examples: it is possible to mortgage land to be built on or not, constructions, even uncompleted or in the planning stages, off-plan property to be completed in the future (only if the building permit has been granted), rights of usufruct, leasehold rights and rights of superficies.

Although, in principle, the mortgage constitutes a valid guarantee for the bank (valued between 50 % and 80 % of the value of the asset), it nevertheless represents a costly guarantee for the customer because of the costs it involves.

Pledge

A pledge is a contract whereby a debtor provides a tangible or intangible movable asset to a creditor as a guarantee. The pledge must be recorded by a public or private deed. In the case of the pledging of intangible movable assets, the pledge is served and accepted either by notarial deed or private deed.

Example: the asset provided by way of guarantee can be a tangible movable asset (such as transferable securities, machinery, raw materials, goods, vehicles) or an intangible asset, represented by a lien (such as an invoice, commercial papers, insurance policies).

The debtor remains the owner of the pledged asset. As the owner, the debtor is entitled to use the pledged asset and even sell it. However, the creditor has a right of retention over the pledged asset and also a preferential right allowing it to be paid first if the asset is sold.

Types of pledge (not exhaustive):

Pledging of transferable securities

The pledging of transferable securities is a very attractive guarantee, both for the bank (few administrative formalities) and for the debtor (no or few costs). For valuation reasons, banks only accept, as a pledge, securities which are listed on a stock exchange and which have good liquidity. In addition, as the securities listed on a stock exchange can experience significant price fluctuations, the banks apply a hedging coefficient to the different types of securities. Securities are generally pledged by a private deed drawn up between the debtor and the creditor. The securities in question are blocked in a securities account held at the creditor bank.

Pledging of goods

As with securities, only goods or raw materials which have a value that can be determined because they are quoted on organised markets (for example oil, energy, certain metals, sugar or coffee) are pledged.

Pledging of cash

With the pledging of cash, valuation is not an issue (at least if the currency is the same as that of the loan to be covered). As with the pledging of transferable securities, a pledge agreement is signed between the debtor and the creditor and a clearly defined amount is blocked on a specific account or deposit account held at the creditor bank.

Pledging of business assets

This is the pledging of the customer base, trade name, brands and/or patents, lease rights, movable assets, goods and road vehicles. This type of pledge is considered to be unpredictable because of the fluctuating value of the elements that it includes and the difficulty in monitoring it. The banks therefore only assign a low guarantee value to it.
Although it must be registered in the Mortgage Register to be enforceable on third parties, the pledging of business assets is still less costly than a mortgage.

Pledging of receivables

The debtor’s receivables constitute intangible assets. The value of this type of guarantee depends on the debtor’s solvency, the reality and the transferability of the receivable and its recoverability. If it is pledged, the receivable remains part of the pledgor’s assets. The bank does not become the owner of the receivable, but has a preferential right over it. It also maintains a right of recourse against the pledgor, who is still its primary debtor.

Pledging of commercial papers

The drawer of a commercial paper (creditor) has two options when it comes to exercising their right:

  • either they need the money straight away and have the commercial papers discounted by their bank;
  • or they keep the commercial papers in their portfolio until the due date of the bill in question.
    The commercial papers which the drawer keeps in their portfolio can be used to improve the business' liquidity by pledging them to the bank in exchange for loans granted.

Assignment of an insurance policy

There is a wide range of insurance policies which cover different aspects and which can be taken out to limit the risks incurred by the business:

  • endowment insurance (lump sum payable on maturity of the policy if the insured is still alive);
  • life insurance (lump sum payable on the death of the insured);
  • loan protection insurance or assurance solde restant dû (lump sum corresponding to the insured’s debt at the time of his/her death);
  • key person insurance (insurance covering the death or permanent disability of the business manager);
  • fire insurance (insurance covering damage caused by fire);
  • business interruption insurance (insurance covering an accident preventing the continuation of operations for a certain amount of time. These costs are not, in principle, covered by fire insurance);
  • credit insurance (insurance covering the loss arising from the insolvency of customers).

The cover provided under all these insurance policies can be assigned to the bank. Assigning an insurance policy to the bank is done by simple private deed, normally by an addendum signed by the bank, the policyholder and the insurance company, in which the three parties agree on the rights allocated and the procedure to be complied with.

Endorsement of invoices

The majority of receivables can be assigned or pledged by simple endorsement of the invoice. Endorsement in favour of the bank has the effect of rendering the pledge enforceable on third parties and allowing the bank itself to demand payment from the debtor.

Last update

Garanties réelles portant sur des biens meubles ou immeubles

La garantie réelle est une garantie demandée par le créancier, qui porte sur les biens meubles ou immeubles. Elle permet au créancier en cas de non-paiement des intérêts encourus ou de non-remboursement de l’emprunt par le débiteur de saisir le bien déterminé et de le faire vendre en privilège, c.à.d. d’être remboursé en premier avant les autres créanciers.

Personnes concernées

Sont concernés tout entrepreneur et toute société à qui le banquier peut demander des garanties réelles dans le cadre d’une demande de financement.

Conditions préalables

Le prérequis d’une garantie réelle est un bien meuble ou immeuble qui pourra être saisie et/ou vendu. Les créanciers demandent souvent comme garantie un bien sur lequel n’est pas encore enregistrée une garantie par un tiers.

Modalités pratiques

Hypothèque

L’hypothèque est un droit réel qui porte sur des biens immeubles affectés à l’acquittement d’une obligation, en l’occurrence le remboursement d’un prêt.

Si un immeuble doit être hypothéqué, il y a lieu de passer un acte d’inscription hypothécaire par-devant notaire. Le notaire se charge alors de vérifier si l’immeuble n’est pas déjà grevé par une autre hypothèque. Si tel est le cas, la banque, en sa qualité de créancier hypothécaire, n’obtiendra pas l’inscription en 1er rang (droit de préférence qui permet au créancier d’être payé en premier) en cas de non-remboursement et pourra éventuellement refuser d’octroyer le crédit. Le notaire se charge d’inscrire l’hypothèque et de la transcrire au Bureau des hypothèques.

Pour sa part, le client a le droit de conserver et de faire usage du bien. Il n’y a donc pas dépossession du bien immobilier grevé par une hypothèque.

Exemples : il est possible d’hypothéquer des terrains à bâtir ou non, des constructions même inachevées ou en projet, des ventes en état futur d’achèvement (seulement si l’autorisation de bâtir a été accordée), des droits d’usufruit, d’emphytéose et de superficie.

Bien que l’hypothèque constitue en principe une garantie valable pour la banque (évaluée entre 50 et 80 % de la valeur du bien), elle représente quand même une garantie onéreuse pour le client en raison des frais induits.

Gage

Le gage, aussi appelé nantissement, est un contrat par lequel un débiteur remet à un créancier un bien mobilier corporel ou incorporel destiné à lui servir de garantie. Le gage doit être constaté par un acte public ou sous seing privé. S’il s’agit d’un gage sur des biens meubles incorporels, la notification et l’acceptation du gage s’effectuent soit par un acte authentique, soit par un acte sous seing privé.

Exemple : le bien remis à titre de garantie peut être un bien mobilier corporel (comme des valeurs mobilières, machines, matières premières, marchandises, véhicules) ou un bien incorporel, représenté par un droit de créance (comme une facture, des effets de commerce, polices d’assurance).

Le débiteur reste le propriétaire du bien mis en gage. En tant que propriétaire, il a le droit de disposer du bien gagé et même de le vendre. Néanmoins, le créancier dispose d’un droit de rétention du bien gagé ainsi que d’un droit de privilège et préférence lui permettant de se faire payer en premier en cas de vente du bien.

Quelques types de nantissements ou gages :

Nantissement sur valeurs mobilières

Le gage sur valeurs mobilières constitue une garantie très intéressante, tant pour la banque (peu de formalités administratives) que pour le débiteur (pas ou peu de frais). Pour des raisons d’évaluation, les banques n’acceptent que des valeurs en nantissement qui sont cotées en bourse et qui jouissent d’une bonne liquidité. Par ailleurs, comme les titres cotés en bourse peuvent connaître des fluctuations importantes de prix, les banques appliquent un coefficient de couverture aux différents types de titres. Le nantissement de titres se fait généralement par acte sous seing privé entre le débiteur et le créancier. Les titres en question sont bloqués sur un dépôt-titres (ou compte-titres) auprès de la banque créancière.

Nantissement de marchandises ou gage sur marchandises

Comme pour les valeurs mobilières, seules sont nanties les marchandises ou matières premières qui ont une certaine valeur du fait qu’elles sont cotées sur des marchés organisés (par exemple le pétrole, l’énergie, quelques métaux, le sucre ou le café).

Nantissement d’espèces

Lors du nantissement de liquidités, la question de l’évaluation ne se pose pas (du moins si la devise est la même que celle du crédit à couvrir). Comme pour le nantissement des valeurs mobilières, un acte de nantissement est signé entre le débiteur et le créancier et un montant bien défini est bloqué sur un compte ou un dépôt spécifique auprès de la banque créancière.

Nantissement ou gage sur fonds de commerce

Il s’agit d’un gage sur la clientèle, l’enseigne, les marques et/ou brevets, le droit au bail, le mobilier, les marchandises et le matériel roulant. Le gage est considéré comme aléatoire en raison de la valeur mouvante des éléments qu'il comprend et de la difficulté de sa surveillance. Les banques ne lui attribuent par conséquent qu’une faible valeur de garantie.
Bien qu’il doive être inscrit au bureau des hypothèques pour être opposable aux tiers, le gage sur fonds de commerce reste moins onéreux qu’une hypothèque.

Nantissement de créances

Les créances du débiteur constituent des biens incorporels. La qualité de cette garantie dépend de la solvabilité du débiteur, de la réalité et de la cessibilité de la créance ainsi que de son exigibilité. Si elle est nantie, la créance reste dans le patrimoine du donneur de gage. La banque ne devient pas propriétaire de la créance, mais possède un privilège sur son montant. Elle conserve par ailleurs un droit de recours contre le donneur de gage qui reste son débiteur principal.

Prise en gage d'effets de commerce

Le tireur d’un effet de commerce (créancier) a deux options quant à l’exercice de son droit :

  • soit il a directement besoin d'argent et il escompte les effets de commerce auprès de sa banque ;
  • soit il conserve les effets de commerce dans son portefeuille jusqu’à échéance de la traite en question.
    Les effets de commerce que le tireur conserve dans son portefeuille peuvent servir à améliorer la liquidité de l’entreprise en les donnant en gage à la banque en contrepartie de crédits consentis.

Cession d’une police d’assurance

Il existe une multitude de polices d’assurance qui couvrent différents éléments et qui peuvent être contractées afin de limiter les risques encourus par l’entreprise :

  • l’assurance vie (constitution d’un capital payable à échéance du contrat si l’assuré est en vie) ;
  • l’assurance décès (capital payable au décès de l’assuré) ;
  • l’assurance solde restant dû (capital correspondant à une dette de l’assuré, au moment de son décès) ;
  • l’assurance dirigeant d’entreprise (indemnité couvrant le décès ou d’invalidité permanente du dirigeant de l’entreprise) ;
  • l’assurance incendie (indemnité couvrant les dégâts causés par un incendie) ;
  • l’assurance perte d’exploitation (indemnité couvrant un sinistre empêchant la poursuite de l’exploitation pendant un certain temps. Ces coûts ne sont en principe pas couverts par l’assurance-incendie) ;
  • l’assurance-crédit (indemnité couvrant la perte découlant de l’insolvabilité de la clientèle).

Le bénéfice de toutes ces polices d’assurance peut être cédé à la banque. La cession d’une police d’assurance à la banque se fait par simple acte sous seing privé, normalement par un avenant signé par la banque, le preneur d’assurance et la compagnie d’assurances, dans lequel les trois parties conviennent des droits attribués et de la procédure à respecter.

Endossement de factures

La majorité des créances peut être cédée ou donnée en gage par simple endossement de la facture. L’endossement en faveur de la banque a pour effet de rendre la mise en gage opposable aux tiers et de permettre à la banque d’exiger elle-même le paiement par le débiteur.

Dernière modification le