The credit intermediary concept

A credit intermediary is a person or company authorised to enter into consumer credit agreements in return for money, as part of the intermediary's commercial, industrial, artisanal or professional activities. Credit intermediaries can offer their services either as a main activity or on an ancillary basis (e.g. the car retailer).

Credit intermediaries must hold all the ministerial authorisations required: by the Minister of Finance if they work in the financial sector; by the Minister of the Economy if they primarily work in the commercial or craft sector and only act as a credit intermediary on an ancillary basis.

In addition, the credit intermediary must make sure to be listed on the list held by the Ministry of Consumer Protection by completing their registration form. The form must be duly completed, signed and submitted together with copies of supporting documents (the identity card for natural persons, the agreement with the lender and the credit intermediary, where applicable). The registration form must contain all information pertaining to the lender's identity on behalf of whom the credit intermediary acts or with whom they are collaborating as well as the lender's geographical address.

In the event where the intermediary collaborates with another credit intermediary, they also have to indicate in the registration form the identity and geographical address of the other credit intermediary with whom they work.

A credit intermediary is not the actual lender, but they can:

  • present or offer a loan agreement to the consumer; or
  • assist consumers by preparing loan agreements other than those referred to above; or
  • conclude loan agreements with consumers on behalf of the lender.

Credit intermediaries are subject to the same rules as the lender in the event where they are concluding the loan agreement directly with the consumer:

  • provision of pre-contractual information;
  • provision of explanations which must enable the consumer to determine if the loan agreement is adapted to their needs and financial situation;
  • inform consumers about the consequences of payment default, etc.

There are specific obligations for credit intermediaries:

  • they must indicate, in all advertising and information material for consumers, the extent of their powers and namely if they work with a single or several lenders or if they act as an independent broker. These elements must be stated in a clear, concise and visible manner;
  • standard information to be included in advertising:
    • the borrowing rate and type of interest rate (fixed/variable), and the charges included in the total cost of the credit;
    • the total amount of credit;
    • APR - annual percentage rage;
    • the duration of the contract;
    • in the case of a contract with deferred payment: the cash price and the amount of any advance payment;
    • the total amount payable;
    • the amount of the instalments;
  • they must inform consumers about possible charges for these services. These charges are agreed upon between the consumer and the credit intermediary and are stated on paper or any other durable medium.

However, sellers or service providers who act only as incidental credit intermediaries are not required to provide all this precontractual information to the consumer.

In this case, it is the lender who must provide the information to the consumer. The lender does it in person or agrees with the credit intermediary to provide the information to the consumer in his place in order to ensure that the consumer always receives the information required.

In the event of doorstep selling, the credit intermediary must respect the consumer's choice to refuse doorstep selling ( indicated by a sticker or distinctive sign near the door) and must comply with the consumer's request to leave the premises and/or not to come back. In the event of failure to respect these elements, the credit intermediary runs the risk of facing severe sanctions.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Notion d'intermédiaire de crédit

Dernière modification le 07.12.2018

L’intermédiaire de crédit est une personne (physique ou morale) qui, dans le cadre de son activité commerciale, industrielle, artisanale ou libérale, contre rémunération (pécuniaire ou autre forme), peut intervenir dans la conclusion d’un contrat de crédit à la consommation. L’intermédiaire de crédit peut offrir ses prestations soit à titre principal soit à titre accessoire (p.ex. le vendeur automobile).

L’intermédiaire doit être en possession de toutes les autorisations ministérielles requises : par le ministre des Finances s’il fait partie du secteur financier ; par le ministre de l’Economie s’il est principalement commerçant ou artisan et intermédiaire de crédit à titre accessoire.

Par ailleurs, l’intermédiaire doit se faire inscrire sur une liste auprès du ministre de l’Economie en ayant recours au formulaire d’inscription. Celui-ci doit être envoyé dûment complété et signé et accompagné en annexe d’une copie des documents pertinents (carte d’identité pour les personnes physiques, convention avec le prêteur et le cas échéant avec l’intermédiaire de crédit). Le formulaire d’inscription doit contenir les informations relatives à l’identité du prêteur pour le compte duquel il agit ou avec lequel il collabore ainsi que l’adresse géographique de ce dernier.

Au cas où l’intermédiaire collabore avec un autre intermédiaire de crédit à la consommation, il indique l’identité et l’adresse géographique de l’intermédiaire de crédit avec lequel il travaille dans le formulaire d’inscription.

Celui-ci n’agit pas en qualité de prêteur, mais peut :

  • présenter ou proposer des contrats de crédit aux consommateurs ;
  • assister les consommateurs en réalisant des travaux préparatoires pour des contrats de crédit autres que ceux visés au tiret précédent  ;
  • conclure des contrats de crédit avec des consommateurs pour le compte du prêteur.

L’intermédiaire de crédit est soumis aux mêmes règles que le prêteur lorsqu’il intervient pour conclure un contrat directement avec le consommateur :

  • fourniture des informations précontractuelles ;
  • fourniture des explications permettant au consommateur de déterminer si le contrat de crédit proposé est adapté à ses besoins et à sa situation financière ;
  • informer le consommateur sur les conséquences d’un défaut de paiement du crédit, etc.

Il existe aussi des obligations spécifiques pour l’intermédiaire de crédit :

  • indication, dans les publicités et documents destinés au consommateur, de l’étendue de ses pouvoirs, et notamment s’il travaille à titre exclusif ou avec un ou plusieurs prêteurs, ou s’il travaille en tant que courtier indépendant. Ces éléments doivent être indiqués de manière claire, concise et visible ;
  • communication au consommateur des éventuels frais dus pour ses services. Ces frais sont convenus entre le consommateur et l’intermédiaire de crédit et mis sur support papier ou autre support durable.

Toutefois, si un vendeur ou un prestataire de services agit accessoirement comme intermédiaire de crédit, alors il n’est pas obligé de donner toutes ces informations au consommateur.

Dans ce cas, c’est au prêteur de veiller à fournir toutes les informations au consommateur. Le prêteur le fait lui-même ou se met d’accord avec l’intermédiaire pour que ce dernier informe le consommateur de sorte que ce dernier obtiendra toujours les informations.

En cas de démarchage à domicile, l’intermédiaire de crédit est tenu de respecter le choix du consommateur de refuser d’être démarché ( apposition d’un signe distinctif), et doit respecter la demande du consommateur de quitter les lieux ou de ne pas y revenir. En cas de non-respect de ces éléments, l’intermédiaire de crédit risque de lourdes sanctions.
Dernière modification le