Applying for a government employee interest subsidy

Update in progress

Interest subsidies are granted to government employees—i.e., employees who have either general civil servant status, or are covered by the government employee scheme, or by the collective agreement applicable to government workers, who are employed by government administrations and services or by a public institutions—who have taken out a housing loan under certain conditions and according to specific terms.

The interest subsidy is a form of interest aid, provided by the government, that may be granted to reduce the monthly costs incurred when repaying a mortgage taken out for the construction, purchase or transformation of a dwelling used as a primary, permanent residence.

Who is concerned

The subsidy is granted to actively employed government employees with at least one year of service as of 1 January of the year in which the subsidy is requested. If 2 spouses or partners are government employees, the above condition must be met by one of the spouses/partners.

Only one interest subsidy is granted per family or household.

A household is considered to be 2 people living together as a couple, regardless of the legal form of this arrangement.

A government employee may only be granted the interest subsidy once during their employment.

However, if the employee receives this benefit at the moment of their retirement, they will continue to be eligible for the benefit for as long as they have at least one dependant child as of 1 January of the current year.

Prerequisites

A borrower who wishes to receive an interest subsidy must have taken out a mortgage with a banking institution which has been approved in the European Union (EU) and in the European Economic Area (EEA) by no later than 1 January of the year for which they are requesting the subsidy for the purpose of:

  • building;
  • purchasing;
  • transforming;

an owner-occupied dwelling located in the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg.

"Owner-occupied dwelling" means the only real property that the employee/couple possesses (or will possess), and which is (or will be) effectively and permanently occupied by the employee/couple.

The employee and their spouse/partner must not be the owner, co-owner or rightful user (usufructuary) of a building located in the Grand Duchy or abroad on 1 January of the year of the application.

How to proceed

Submission and processing of the application

The subsidy application must be filed before 1 July, using a special form, with the Ministry of the Civil Service and Administrative Reform (ministère de la Fonction publique et de la Réforme administrative) (Service for Interest Subsidies), which establishes an application file.

Requests for interest subsidy forms should be made at the beginning of the year, by telephone or e-mail, specifying the applicant's national identification number.

If the application is returned for the current year, another application is automatically sent in April of the following year.

If the application is not returned, the file remains on standby until the 15 years have elapsed.

The files are closed after 15 years from the year following the date of the first housing loan.

The subsidy is granted for the term of the loan(s) taken out for a given dwelling, and may not exceed a maximum of 15 years.

For the purposes of granting the interest subsidy and applying the amortisation schedule, only those years for which the subsidy was requested and granted are considered. The first application may be made the year following that in which all or part of the loaned amount was made available to the beneficiaries. In the event of several loans for a single dwelling, the same amortisation schedule will apply to all of the loans.

In the dwelling is being built or transformed, it must be occupied or reoccupied within a period of 2 years as of 1 January of the year following that in which the first application was filed. The Minister for the Civil Service and Administrative Reform may grant an exemption.

In the event of the sale of a dwelling for which an interest subsidy was obtained, and the purchase of a new dwelling, or in the event that a household is dissolved, the amortisation plan continues to apply. In the latter case, each of the former partners can continue to receive the subsidy during the remaining term provided for in the amortisation plan, as long as they meet all of the required conditions.

The employee must provide all information and details to confirm they fulfil all of the conditions for the granting of the subsidy. In the event of false statements, inaccurate information, an administrative error or a failure to comply with the 2-year occupancy period, the beneficiary may be required to reimburse the subsidy.

Amount of interest subsidy

To calculate the subsidy, the family status and balance of the home loan(s) on 1 January of the year for which the subsidy is requested are considered.

The amount of the interest subsidy is calculated with a cap of EUR 150,000, with a 15-year amortisation schedule starting from the date on which the first housing loan was taken out. For an employee or household without any dependent children, the subsidy is 0.50 %, calculated on the balance of the loan, multiplied by the rate specified in the amortisation schedule. It is increased by 0.50 % for each dependant child.

A dependant child is a child for whom the applicant receives family benefits, or a child up to the age of 27 who is covered by the applicant's health insurance, who lives with the applicant in the dwelling and who has been declared as living there.

For beneficiaries of an effective interest rate below the 2 % reference rate, the calculated subsidy is decreased by the difference between this reference rate and the effective rate of the loan(s) taken out.

No subsidy is allocated if the total amount calculated is less than EUR 25.

Note that public sector employees may not combine the interest subsidy with favourable rates on mortgages granted to either them or their spouse/partner by their public or private sector employer.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Demander une subvention d'intérêt pour agents publics

En cours de mise à jour

Une subvention d’intérêt est allouée aux agents publics (soumis soit au statut général des fonctionnaires, soit au régime des employés de l’Etat, soit au contrat collectif des ouvriers de l’Etat, en activité de service auprès des administrations et services de l’Etat ou des établissements publics), qui ont contracté un prêt dans l’intérêt du logement sous certaines conditions et suivant des modalités déterminées.

La subvention d’intérêt est une aide en intérêts de l’Etat qui peut être accordée afin de réduire les charges mensuelles pour rembourser un prêt hypothécaire contracté en vue de la construction, de l’acquisition ou de la transformation d'un logement servant d'habitation principale et permanente.

Personnes concernées

La subvention est accordée aux agents de l’Etat en activité de service comptant au moins une année de service au 1er janvier de l’année pour laquelle la subvention est demandée. Au cas où les 2 conjoints ou partenaires sont agents de l'Etat, la condition ci-dessus doit être remplie par l’un des 2 agents.

Il n’est versé qu’une seule subvention d’intérêt par famille ou par communauté domestique.

Une communauté domestique est une communauté de vie entre 2 personnes vivant en couple, indépendamment de la forme juridique à la base de cette communauté.

L’agent ne peut bénéficier qu’une seule fois de l’octroi d’une subvention d’intérêt au cours de son activité de service.

Toutefois, et sous réserve de bénéficier de cette allocation lors de sa mise à la retraite, l'intéressé continue à être éligible pour son octroi aussi longtemps qu'il a au moins un enfant à charge au 1er janvier de l’année en cours.

Conditions préalables

L’emprunteur qui désire bénéficier de la subvention d’intérêt doit avoir contracté auprès d'un établissement bancaire agréé dans l'Union européenne (UE) et dans l'Espace économique européen (EEE), au plus tard le 1er janvier de l'année pour laquelle la subvention est demandée, un emprunt hypothécaire en vue soit de :

  • la construction ;
  • l'acquisition ;
  • la transformation ;

d'un logement en propriété se trouvant sur le territoire du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg.

On entend par logement en propriété le seul bien immobilier dont dispose ou disposera l'agent ou la communauté, et qu'il occupe de façon effective et permanente.

L'agent ainsi que son conjoint / partenaire ne doit être ni propriétaire, copropriétaire ou usufruitier d'un immeuble situé au Grand-Duché ou à l'étranger au 1erjanvier de l'année de la demande.

Modalités pratiques

Introduction et traitement de la demande

La demande en vue d’allocation de la subvention est à adresser chaque année avant le 1er juillet, moyennant un formulaire spécial, au ministère de la Fonction publique et de la Réforme administrative (Service des subventions d’intérêt), qui constitue les dossiers d'instruction.

Les demandes de formulaire en vue d’allocation d’une subvention d’intérêt se font au début de l’année par téléphone ou par E-mail en communiquant le numéro d'identification national du demandeur.

Si la demande est renvoyée pour l’année en cours, une nouvelle demande est envoyée automatiquement au mois d'avril de l'année suivante.

Si la demande n'est pas renvoyée, le dossier reste en veille tant que les 15 années ne sont pas révolues.

Les dossiers sont clôturés après 15 ans à partir de l'année consécutive à la date du premier prêt contracté dans l'intérêt du logement.

La subvention est accordée pendant la durée du ou des prêts contractés pour le même logement, sans pouvoir dépasser un maximum de 15 années.

En vue de l'attribution d'une subvention d'intérêt et de l'application du plan d'amortissement, seules les années pour lesquelles une subvention est demandée et accordée à la suite de cette demande sont prises en compte, la 1re demande pouvant être formulée consécutivement à l'année au cours de laquelle toute ou partie du montant emprunté a été mis à la disposition des bénéficiaires. Dans le cas de plusieurs prêts pour le même logement, le même plan d’amortissement s’applique à tous les prêts.

En cas de construction ou de transformation, le logement doit être occupé ou réoccupé dans un délai de 2 ans à compter du 1er janvier de l’année suivant celle de la 1re demande. Une dispense peut être accordée par le Ministre de la Fonction publique et de la Réforme administrative.

En cas de vente du logement pour lequel la subvention d’intérêt a été obtenue, et d’achat d’un nouveau logement ou en cas de dissolution de la communauté domestique, le plan d’amortissement continue à s’appliquer. Dans ce dernier cas, chacun des anciens partenaires peut continuer à bénéficier de la subvention pendant la durée restante prévue au plan d’amortissement, à condition de remplir toutes les conditions requises.

L'agent doit fournir tous les renseignements et données permettant de vérifier s'il remplit les conditions d'octroi. En cas de fausses déclarations, de renseignements inexacts, d’une erreur de l’administration ou du non-respect du délai d’occupation du logement dans les 2 ans, la subvention d’intérêt pourra être à restituer.

Montant de la subvention d'intérêt

Pour le calcul de la subvention, la situation familiale et le solde du ou des prêts logements sont pris en considération au 1er janvier de l’année pour laquelle la subvention est demandée.

Le montant de la subvention d’intérêt est calculé sur un plafond de 150.000 euros avec un plan d’amortissement s’étendant sur 15 ans à partir de la date du premier prêt contracté dans l’intérêt du logement. Pour l’agent ou la communauté domestique n’ayant pas d’enfant à charge, la subvention est de 0,50 %, calculée sur le solde du prêt multiplié par le taux renseigné sur le plan d’amortissement. Elle est majorée de 0,50 % pour chaque enfant à charge.

Est un enfant à charge l’enfant pour lequel le demandeur perçoit des allocations familiales ou l’enfant, jusqu’à l’âge de 27 ans, qui bénéficie de la protection liée à l’affiliation à l’assurance-maladie du demandeur, qui habite avec le demandeur dans le logement et qui y est déclaré.

Pour les bénéficiaires d’un taux d’intérêt effectif en dessous du taux de référence de 2%, la subvention calculée est diminuée de la différence existant entre ce taux de référence et le taux effectif du ou des prêts contractés.

Aucune subvention n'est allouée si le montant total calculé est inférieur à 25 euros.

A noter que les agents du secteur public ne peuvent pas cumuler la subvention d’intérêt avec des taux de faveur sur des prêts hypothécaires consentis soit à eux, soit à leur conjoint / partenaire par leur employeur public ou par leur employeur du secteur privé.

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le