Joining the Luxembourg national library

The Luxembourg national library (Bibliothèque nationale de Luxembourg – BnL) holds a copy of all publications in Luxembourg and all writings published abroad which pertain to the Grand Duchy. Besides its mission of conserving publications collectively referred to as 'Luxemburgensia', the BnL offers readers an extensive non-Luxembourgish corpus, including collections of books, newspapers and journals in a wide variety of disciplines. It also houses a media library, with classic audiovisual works and language-learning methods.

Thus, the BnL facilitates access to information for all.

After joining the national library, readers have access to:

  • all of the books in both the Luxembourgish and non-Luxembourgish collections;
  • newspapers and journals, including every publication by the Luxembourg press;
  • Luxembourgish films, audiobooks and music CDs from the media library.

They also have access to 'eluxemburgensia'—i.e. to resources digitised by the BnL, including Tageblatt, Luxemburger Wort, d’Lëtzebuerger Land, and a broad collection of scientific articles and journals in electronic format.

Who is concerned

Anyone, aged 14 or over, resident in Luxembourg or in the surrounding regions (the Asylum seekers who do not yet have a fixed address in Luxembourg may nevertheless access the services of the BnL, provided they satisfy certain preconditions.

Prerequisites

To join the BnL and gain access to the services of the library, interested individuals must:

  • be at least 14 years old and live in Luxembourg or the surrounding regions; or
  • be a student enrolled with a State-approved higher-education institution. 
Asylum seekers must produce a copy of the certificate of application for international protection (pink sheet).

Costs

Registration with the Luxembourg national library is completely free of charge.

How to proceed

Initial registration

The initial registration must be made in person, at the front desk of the BnL. A valid identity document (ID card or passport) will be required. Proof of address may also be required.

Students must also provide proof of enrolment at the institution in question (secondary school, university, college, etc.) and their home address. They may register either for the academic year or for the 2-year BnL registration period.

Asylum seekers must show the certificate of application for international protection (pink sheet).

New users are issued a reader's card when they register.

The validity of the reader's card, and hence of the membership, is 2 years. At the end of the 2-year period, the validity of the card can be extended on request, after confirmation of the details on the registration application.

In the case of asylum seekers, the reader's card is valid for 6 months and can be renewed if needed.

Activating the card

Once they are in possession of their reader's card, users immediately have access to:

Account management

After registering, readers can perform documentary searches using the search engine, a-z.lu. To sign in to the system, the user must provide their reader number (appearing on the card) and a temporary password. It is recommended that users change the temporary password when they first sing in for greater security.

On the website, readers can:

  • search for publications and reserve them online;
  • view their current loans and lending history;
  • view their orders/reservations.

Reregistering

Reader's card can be renewed for free at the front desk of the BnL, or by telephone or e-mail. Readers need only confirm the details in the registration file or report any necessary changes (postal address, telephone number, or e-mail address, for example).

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

S’inscrire à la Bibliothèque nationale de Luxembourg

La Bibliothèque nationale de Luxembourg (BnL) conserve toutes les publications éditées au Luxembourg et celles publiées à l’étranger en rapport avec le Grand-Duché. Au-delà de cette mission de conservation des publications dites Luxemburgensia, la BnL met à disposition de ses lecteurs un large fonds non-luxembourgeois regroupant des collections de livres de journaux et revues de toutes disciplines. S’y ajoute une médiathèque avec les classiques de l’audiovisuel et des méthodes de langues.

Ainsi, la BnL facilite l’accès à l’information pour tous.

Après inscription à la Bibliothèque nationale, le lecteur peut profiter de :

  • tous les livres des fonds luxembourgeois et non-luxembourgeois ;
  • des journaux et revues dont tous les titres de la presse luxembourgeoise ;
  • des films, livres audio et CD musicaux luxembourgeois de la médiathèque.

Il a également accès à eluxemburgensia, c’est-à-dire, aux ressources numérisées par la BnL dont le Tageblatt, Luxemburger Wort, d’Lëtzebuerger Land ainsi qu’à une large collection d’articles et revues scientifiques électroniques.

Personnes concernées

Toute personne, âgée d’au moins 14 ans, résidant au Luxembourg ou dans des régions limitrophes (Grande-Région), peut s’inscrire auprès de la BnL et profiter des services offerts. Les personnes demandeuses de protection internationale et n’ayant donc pas encore de résidence fixe au Luxembourg, peuvent tout de même profiter des services de la BnL sous question de remplir, au préalable, certaines conditions d’accès.

Conditions préalables

Pour profiter des services de la BnL et s’y inscrire, il faut :

  • être âgé d’au minimum 14 ans et résider au Luxembourg ou dans des régions limitrophes ; ou
  • étudiant inscrit auprès d’un organisme de formation supérieur agréé par l’Etat. 
Les demandeurs de protection internationale devront se munir de l’attestation de dépôt d’une demande de protection internationale (fiche rose).

Coûts

L’inscription à la Bibliothèque nationale de Luxembourg est entièrement gratuite.

Modalités pratiques

Première inscription

La première inscription est à faire en personne, à l’accueil de la BnL, sur présentation d’une pièce d’identité valable (carte d’identité ou passeport). Une justification de domicile peut être exigée.

Les étudiants doivent également fournir à la BnL une preuve d’inscription auprès de l’organisme en question (lycée, université, école, etc.) et leur adresse de résidence. Ils peuvent s’inscrire pour une durée d’année académique ou pour la durée de l’inscription à la BnL (2 ans).

Les demandeurs de protection internationale doivent présenter l’attestation de dépôt de leur demande de protection (fiche rose).

Une carte de lecteur est délivrée au nouvel usager une fois son inscription effectuée.

La validité de la carte de lecteur, et donc de l’inscription, est de 2 ans. Une fois ce délai dépassé, la carte peut être prolongée sur demande, après vérification des données du dossier d’inscription.

Dans le cas des demandeurs de protection internationale, la carte de lecteur est valide 6 mois et renouvelable en cas de besoin.

Activation de la carte

Une fois en possession de sa carte de lecteur, l’utilisateur a immédiatement accès :

Gestion du compte

Après s’être inscrit, le lecteur pourra effectuer sa recherche documentaire avec le moteur de recherche a-z.lu. Il s’identifiera grâce à son numéro de lecteur (figurant sur la carte) et son mot de passe provisoire. Il est conseillé de changer celui-ci dès la première utilisation pour plus de sécurité.

Sur le site, le lecteur peut :

  • rechercher des ouvrages et les réserver en ligne ;
  • consulter ses prêts en cours et l’historique des prêts ;
  • consulter ses commandes/ réservations.

Réinscription

Il est possible de renouveler sa carte de lecteur sans frais à l’accueil de la BnL, par téléphone ou par e-mail. Il suffit de confirmer les données du dossier d’inscription ou de communiquer d’éventuels changements (adresse postale, numéro de téléphone, adresse e-mail).

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le